DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohsawa (US20180316018) in view of Sakashita (US20100209773).
Regarding Claim 1, Ohsawa discloses an electrode for power storage devices (positive electrode-[009]), the electrode comprising:
A resin layer having a first surface and a second surface that is located on an opposite side from the first surface (resin current collector is used for positive electrode current collector, [0037], positive current collector- 11 has two sides, Fig. 3, [0037]);
A first electrically-conductive layer having an inner surface and an outer surface is located on an opposite side form the inner surface, the inner surface of the first electrically conductive layer being disposed on the first surface side of the resin layer (positive electrode conductive member-14 acts as first electrically conductive layer, [0037], Fig. 3); and
A first layer of particles that is disposed on the outer surface of the first electrically conductive layer form the resin layer (positive electrode active material layer-13 acts as first layer of particles, [0037], is placed on top of positive conductive material opposite the resin layer, Fig. 3), wherein,
In cross section parallel to the thickness direction of the resin layer, the first electrically-conductive layer has a first shape including a plurality of protrusions that are convexed toward the resin layer and a recess that is disposed between two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions (conductive member-14 forms concavoconvex shape- 11c/13c that provides a plurality of protrusions with recesses formed between protrusions, and where the recesses are convexed into the resin layer, Fig. 3).
Ohsawa does not directly disclose wherein a distance H along the thickness direction from one of the top points of the two adjacent protrusions to a bottom point of the recess is smaller than a thickness of the resin layer. However, Ohsawa discloses wherein the thickness of the resin layer can range from 1 um to 200 um ([0052]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the thickness of the first electrically conductive layer can range from 0.01 um to 30 um ([0069]). Oshawa further discloses that the concavoconex shape is formed so that the average height of the roughness curve elements is not less than 2 um ([0075]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Ohsawa to have wherein a distance H along the thickness direction from one of the top points of the two adjacent protrusions to a bottom point of the recess is smaller than a thickness of the resin layer.
Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein the first electrically layer entirely separates the resin layer and the first layer of particles.
Sakashita discloses an electrode for a secondary battery ([003]). Sakashita further discloses an electrode sheet that includes a resin film that has a conductive layer disposed on the resin film and a positive electrode active material layer disposed on the conductive layer (resin film-1, conductive layer-2, positive electrode active material layer-6, Fig. 1A/Fig. 1B, [0031], [0037]). Sakashita teaches that this structure provides improved capacity density per weight ([0046]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Sakashita to have wherein the first electrically layer entirely separates the resin layer and the first layer of particles. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved capacity density per weight.
Ohsawa does not directly disclose wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length L of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, a maximum value of a distance d2 between a line segment connecting top points of two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions and a point of recess that is located therebetween that is the most distant from the line segment is not less than 0.2 um and not more than 3.0 um, and a value of dm2 which is an arithmetic mean of each distance d2 included in the unit cross section is between 0.18 and 0.71.
Ohsawa discloses wherein the shape of the conductive member is not limited, and be a mesh-like shape or a fiber-like shape ([0062]). Ohsawa further discloses wherein the particle size of the conductive member can be adjusted to optimize contact with the current collector ([0063]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the first shape of the first electrically-conductive layer includes a plurality of recesses (Fig. 3). Oshawa further discloses wherein the number of recesses is determined by the shape of the mold used ([0138]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the mold forms 8 recesses (Fig. 4B). Oshawa further discloses wherein the roughness curve elements which is the average height of the of concavoconvex shapes is 2 um or less ([0075]).
The examiner notes that since the dm2 is total value of distances d2 divided by the total number of d2 measurements, that a d2 value of 0.18 and 0.71 um would meet the claim limitations, which is within the Ohsawa’s discloses d2 of 2 um or less.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length L of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, a maximum value of a distance d2 between a line segment connecting top points of two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions and a point of recess that is located therebetween that is the most distant from the line segment is not less than 0.2 um and not more than 3.0 um, and a value of dm2 which is an arithmetic mean of each distance d2 included in the unit cross section is between 0.18 and 0.71.
Regarding Claim 2, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Ohsawa further discloses a resin layer having a first surface and a second surface that is located on an opposite side from the first surface (resin current collector is used for positive electrode current collector, [0037], positive current collector- 11 has two sides, Fig. 3, [0037]); a first electrically-conductive layer that is disposed on the first surface side of the resin layer (positive electrode conductive member-14 acts as first electrically conductive layer, [0037], Fig. 3); and a first electrically-conductive layer having an inner surface and an outer surface is located on an opposite side form the inner surface, the inner surface of the first electrically conductive layer being disposed on the first surface side of the resin layer (positive electrode active material layer-13 acts as first layer of particles, [0037], is placed on top of positive conductive material opposite the resin layer, Fig. 3, and wherein in a cross section parallel to a thickness direction of the resin, the first electrically-conductive layer has a first shape, the first shape being a first wavy shapes including a plurality of protrusions that are convexed towards the resin layer (conductive member-14 forms concavoconvex shape which is wavy, [0074], Fig. 3), wherein an amplitude of the first wavy shape along the thickness direction is smaller than a thickness of the resin layer (Fig. 3 shows that the amplitude of the wave is much smaller than the thickness of the overall resin layer).
Ohsawa does not directly disclose wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length L of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, a maximum value of a distance d2 between a line segment connecting top points of two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions and a point of recess that is located therebetween that is the most distant from the line segment is not less than 0.2 um and not more than 3.0 um, and a value of dm2 which is an arithmetic mean of each distance d2 included in the unit cross section is between 0.18 and 0.71.
Ohsawa discloses wherein the shape of the conductive member is not limited, and be a mesh-like shape or a fiber-like shape ([0062]). Ohsawa further discloses wherein the particle size of the conductive member can be adjusted to optimize contact with the current collector ([0063]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the first shape of the first electrically-conductive layer includes a plurality of recesses (Fig. 3). Oshawa further discloses wherein the number of recesses is determined by the shape of the mold used ([0138]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the mold forms 8 recesses (Fig. 4B). Oshawa further discloses wherein the roughness curve elements which is the average height of the of concavoconvex shapes is 2 um or less ([0075]).
The examiner notes that since the dm2 is total value of distances d2 divided by the total number of d2 measurements, that a d2 value of 0.18 and 0.71 um would meet the claim limitations, which is within the Ohsawa’s discloses d2 of 2 um or less.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length L of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, a maximum value of a distance d2 between a line segment connecting top points of two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions and a point of recess that is located therebetween that is the most distant from the line segment is not less than 0.2 um and not more than 3.0 um, and a value of dm2 which is an arithmetic mean of each distance d2 included in the unit cross section is between 0.18 and 0.71.
Regarding Claim 3, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa further discloses wherein in a cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the first shape of the first electrically-conductive layer includes two recesses that are located on opposite sides of the one of the plurality of protrusions (Fig. 3 shows the concavoconvex shape has two recessed located on opposite sides of the protrusions); and at least a portion of the particles in the first layer of particles is located between the two recesses (positive electrode active material layer-13 is present in the recesses, Fig. 3, [0037]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa further discloses wherein in a cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the first surface of the resin layer includes a plurality of first concave regions (Fig. 3 shows resin current collector-11 has concave portions); and at least a portion of one of the plurality of protrusions is located inside each of the pluralist of first concave regions (protrusions are placed in between concave portions, Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 5, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa further discloses wherein the first layer of particles contain a plurality of active material particles (positive electrode active material layer-13 acts as first layer of particles, [0037], contain plurality of particles, [0078-0080], [0086]).
Regarding Claim 6, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein in cross section parallel to the thickness direction, one or more gaps exists between the first electrically-conductive layer and the first surface of the resin layer and wherein each gap is located between two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions.
Ohsawa discloses wherein the shape of the conductive member is not limited, and be a mesh-like shape or a fiber-like shape ([0062]). Ohsawa further discloses wherein the particle size of the conductive member can be adjusted to optimize contact with the current collector ([0063]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Ohsawa to have wherein in cross section parallel to the thickness direction, one or more gaps exists between the first electrically-conductive layer and the first surface of the resin layer and wherein each gap is located between two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions.
Regarding Claim 7, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein the first shape of the first electrically-conductive includes a plurality of recesses, each of the plurality of recesses being located between two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions, and a number of recesses among the plurality of recesses that are in contact with the one or more gaps is not less than 1 and not more than 10.
Ohsawa discloses wherein the shape of the conductive member is not limited, and be a mesh-like shape or a fiber-like shape ([0062]). Ohsawa further discloses wherein the particle size of the conductive member can be adjusted to optimize contact with the current collector ([0063]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the first shape of the first electrically-conductive layer includes a plurality of recesses (Fig. 3). Oshawa further discloses wherein the number of recesses is determined by the shape of the mold used ([0138]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the mold forms 8 recesses (Fig. 4B).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, the first shape of the first electrically-conductive includes a plurality of recesses, each of the plurality of recesses being located between two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions, and the number of recesses among the plurality of recesses that are in contact with the one or more gaps is not less than 1 and not more than 10.
Regarding Claim 8, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, a proportion Tw/L of a total Tw of widths wg perpendicular to the thickness direction of the one or more gaps relative to the length L is not less than 0.02 and not more than 0.5.
The examiner notes that this limitation is related to the positioning of the gaps in the first electrically conductive layer and how far apart they are spaced apart. The instant application states that the purpose of the gaps is to reduce the internal stress that occurs during formation of the electrically-conductive layer. Oshawa discloses that the method of forming the conductive member, positive electrode active material, and resin current collector is provided with a concavo-convex shape to allow the conductive member to be formed efficiently and stably, while also improved durability of the conductive member ([0136]). Therefore it is the examiner’s position that the functionality of the first electrically conductive member of Oshawa is the same as the instant first electrically conductive member, and that this limitation is a relative dimension limitation.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality of gap spacing, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length L of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, a proportion Tw/L of a total Tw of widths wg perpendicular to the thickness direction of the one or more gaps relative to the length L is not less than 0.02 and not more than 0.5.
Regarding Claim 9, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa further discloses wherein in a cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the plurality of the protrusion of the first electrically-conductive layer includes two protrusion that are in contact with the first surface of the resin layer (protrusions contact resin current collector-11, Fig. 3)
Oshawa further discloses wherein between two protrusion that are in contact with the first surface, the first electrically-conductive layer includes a first portion that is spaced apart from the first surface (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the first portion is any portion of the first electrically conductive member that is not in contact with the resin layer, that is placed between the protrusions, therefore it is the examiner’s position that since the conductive member-14 has portions that are between two portions that are not in contact with the resin layer, and portion of the conductive member-14 that only contacts the positive electrode active material -13 and not the resin current collector-11 meets this limitation, Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 10, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein the unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length a LX along the width direction, a proportion LX/L of a total LX of lengths along the width direction of the first portion relative to the length L is not less than 0.02 and not more than 0.5.
The examiner notes that this limitation is related to the length of the first portions in the first electrically conductive layer in comparison to a 25 um L, where the first portion can not be less than 0.5 um and not longer than 12.5 um in length in the width direction (obtained from instant ratio) . The instant application states that the first portions are similar to the gap structure, which have the purport of reducing the internal stress that occurs during formation of the electrically-conductive layer. Oshawa discloses that the method of forming the conductive member, positive electrode active material, and resin current collector is provided with a concavo-convex shape to allow the conductive member to be formed efficiently and stably, while also improved durability of the conductive member ([0136]). Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that the functionality of the first electrically conductive member of Oshawa is the same as the instant first electrically conductive member, and that this limitation is a relative dimension limitation.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, a proportion LX/L of a total LX of lengths along the width direction of the first portion relative to the length L is not less than 0.02 and not more than 0.5.
Regarding Claim 11, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, a number of said plurality of protrusions is not less than 2 and not more than 10.
Ohsawa discloses wherein the shape of the conductive member is not limited, and be a mesh-like shape or a fiber-like shape ([0062]). Ohsawa further discloses wherein the particle size of the conductive member can be adjusted to optimize contact with the current collector ([0063]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the first shape of the first electrically-conductive layer includes a plurality of recesses (Fig. 3). Oshawa further discloses wherein the number of recesses is determined by the shape of the mold used ([0138]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the mold forms 8 protrusions (Fig. 4B).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, the number of said plurality of protrusions is not less than 2 and not more than 10.
Regarding Claim 12, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein the unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, a number of said plurality of first concave regions is not less than 1 and not more than 10.
Ohsawa discloses wherein the shape of the conductive member is not limited, and be a mesh-like shape or a fiber-like shape ([0062]). Ohsawa further discloses wherein the particle size of the conductive member can be adjusted to optimize contact with the current collector ([0063]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the first shape of the first electrically-conductive layer includes a plurality of recesses (Fig. 3). Oshawa further discloses wherein the number of concave regions formed by the protrusions is determined by the shape of the mold used ([0138]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the mold forms 8 protrusions and thus 8 concave regions (Fig. 4B).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, the number of said plurality of first concave regions is not less than 1 and not more than 10.
Regarding Claim 13, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein the unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length a Lm along the width direction, the length Lm being a total length of the inner surface of the first electrically-conductive layer in contact with the resin layer, a proportion Lm/L is not less than 1.04 and not more than 1.20.
The examiner notes that this limitation is related to the length of the first portions in the first electrically conductive layer in comparison to a 25 um L, where the first portion cannot be less than 0.5 um and not longer than 12.5 um in length in the width direction (obtained from instant ratio) . The instant application states that the first portions are similar to the gap structure, which have the purport of reducing the internal stress that occurs during formation of the electrically-conductive layer. Oshawa discloses that the method of forming the conductive member, positive electrode active material, and resin current collector is provided with a concavo-convex shape to allow the conductive member to be formed efficiently and stably, while also improved durability of the conductive member ([0136]). Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that the functionality of the first electrically conductive member of Oshawa is the same as the instant first electrically conductive member, and that this limitation is a relative dimension limitation.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein the unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length a Lm along the width direction, the length Lm being a total length of the inner surface of the first electrically-conductive layer in contact with the resin layer, a proportion Lm/L is not less than 1.04 and not more than 1.20.
Regarding Claim 14, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length L of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, a maximum value of a distance d2 between a line segment connecting top points of two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions and point of recess that is located therebetween that is the most distance from the line segment is not less than 0.2 um and not more than 3.0 um.
However, Oshawa discloses wherein the average height of the roughness curve elements, which are directly connected to the height of the protrusions, is not less than 2 um ([0077]), which overlaps the instant claim range 0.2 um and not more than 3.0 um.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length L of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, a maximum value of a distance d2 between a line segment connecting top points of two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions and point of recess that is located therebetween that is the most distance from the line segment is not less than 0.2 um and not more than 3.0 um.
Regarding Claim 15, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein a height hg of each gap taken perpendicular to the thickness direction is greater than 0 but not more than 3 um.
The examiner notes that this limitation is related to the height of the gaps in the first electrically conductive layer. The instant application states that the purpose of the gaps is to reduce the internal stress that occurs during formation of the electrically-conductive layer. Oshawa discloses that the method of forming the conductive member, positive electrode active material, and resin current collector is provided with a concavo-convex shape to allow the conductive member to be formed efficiently and stably, while also improved durability of the conductive member ([0136]). Therefore it is the examiner’s position that the functionality of the first electrically conductive member of Oshawa is the same as the instant first electrically conductive member, and that this limitation is a relative dimension limitation.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality of gap height, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length L of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, a maximum value of a distance d2 between a line segment connecting top points of two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions and point of recess that is located therebetween that is the most distance from the line segment is not less than 0.2 um and not more than 3.0 um.
Regarding Claim 16, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein in the unit cross section, a ratio wg/hg between a height hg of each gap taken along the thickness direction and a width wg of each gap taken perpendicular to the thickness direction and width wg of each gap taken perpendicular to the thickness direction is not less than 1 and not more than 20.
The examiner notes that this limitation is related to the height of the gaps and the spacing of the gpas in the first electrically conductive layer. The instant application states that the purpose of the gaps is to reduce the internal stress that occurs during formation of the electrically-conductive layer. Oshawa discloses that the method of forming the conductive member, positive electrode active material, and resin current collector is provided with a concavo-convex shape to allow the conductive member to be formed efficiently and stably, while also improved durability of the conductive member ([0136]). Therefore it is the examiner’s position that the functionality of the first electrically conductive member of Oshawa is the same as the instant first electrically conductive member, and that this limitation is a relative dimension limitation.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality of gap height, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in the unit cross section, a ratio wg/hg between a height hg of each gap taken along the thickness direction and a width wg of each gap taken perpendicular to the thickness direction and width wg of each gap taken perpendicular to the thickness direction is not less than 1 and not more than 20.
Regarding Claim 17, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, a thinnest portion of the first electrically conductive layer is located at one of the plurality of protrusions. However, Oshawa discloses can range from 0.01 to 60 um ([0069]), and wherein the shape of the conductive member is not particular limited and can be a lump shape ([0062]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the conductive filler material can have varying particle sizes with the purpose of contacting the unevenness on the surface of the current collector ([0063]). Oshawa further teaches that the conductive filler particle size can be optimized to provide better charge-discharge cycle durability ([0065]). Oshawa further teaches that the conductive member provides an electrode wih ahigher durability ([0060]).
The examiner notes that this limitation is the thickness of the first electrically conductive layer. The examiner notes that the instant application states that the thickness of the first electrically conductive layer allows for improved relaxing stress for the first material layer. Therefore it is the examiner’s position that the functionality of the first electrically conductive member of Oshawa is the same as the instant first electrically conductive member, and that this limitation is a relative dimension limitation.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, a thinnest portion of the first electrically conductive layer is located at one of the plurality of protrusions.
Regarding Claim 18, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein in a cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the distance H is less than ½ of the thickness of the resin layer. However, Ohsawa discloses wherein the thickness of the resin layer can range from 1 um to 200 um ([0052]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the thickness of the first electrically conductive layer can range from 0.01 um to 30 um ([0069]). Oshawa further discloses that the concavoconex shape is formed so that the average height of the roughness curve elements is not less than 2 um ([0075]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Ohsawa to have wherein in a cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the distance H is less than ½ of the thickness of the resin layer.
Regarding Claim 19, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein a second electrically-conductive layer is disposed n the second side of the resin layer, and a second layer of particles that are disposed on an opposite side of the second layer of particles that is disposed on an opposite side of the second electrically-conductive layer from the resin layer; and, in a cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the second electrically-conductive layer has a second shape including a plurality of second protrusions that are convexed toward the resin layer.
Oshawa discloses wherein the positive electrode active material layer-13 can be disposed on both surfaces of the current collector ([0027]).
The examiner notes that the second positive electrode active material layer would have the same structure as the first positive electrode active material layer.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using Oshawa to have wherein a second electrically-conductive layer is disposed n the second side of the resin layer, and a second layer of particles that are disposed on an opposite side of the second layer of particles that is disposed on an opposite side of the second electrically-conductive layer from the resin layer; and, in a cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the second electrically-conductive layer has a second shape including a plurality of second protrusions that are convexed toward the resin layer.
Regarding Claim 20, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein in cross section parallel to the thickness direction, regarding the thickness direction, the plurality of second protrusions include a protrusion at least partially overlapping one of the plurality of protrusions in the first shape and one a protrusion not overlapping any of the plurality of protrusions.
The examiner notes that because the second positive electrode structure is the same as the first one that is disclosed, the protrusions through the current collector would also be the same. Therefore since the protrusions do not extend through the current collector thickness, the protrusions from the second set of protrusions would not overlap with the first set of protrusions.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in cross section parallel to the thickness direction, regarding the thickness direction, the plurality of second protrusions include a protrusion at least partially overlapping one of the plurality of protrusions in the first shape and one a protrusion not overlapping any of the plurality of protrusions.
Regarding Claim 21, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein the first electrically-conductive layer is thinner than the resin layer, a thickness of the first electrically conductive layer is not less than 0.3 um and not more than 1.5 um, and the thickness of the resin layer is not less than 3um and not more than 10 um.
Oshawa discloses that the thickness of the first electrically-conductive layer can be 0.1 um to 30 um ([0069]), which overlaps the instant claim range of 0.3 um to 1.5 um. Oshawa further discloses wherein the resin layer thickness can range from 1 to 200 um ([0052]), which overlaps the instant claim range of 0.1 um to 30 um.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein the first electrically-conductive layer is thinner than the resin layer, a thickness of the first electrically conductive layer is not less than 0.3 um and not more than 1.5 um, and the thickness of the resin layer is not less than 3um and not more than 10 um.
Regarding Claim 22, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa further discloses wherein the first electrically conductive layer contains aluminum as a main component (conductive member can be made of aluminum, [0043]); and the resin layer at least contains one of polyethylene terephthalate, polyamide, polyimides, polyethylene, and polystyrene ([0041]).
Regarding Claim 23, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above. Oshawa discloses wherein a lithium-ion secondary battery ([009]) comprising: a positive electrode ([0026]), a negative electrode ([0026]), a separator that is disposed between the negative electrode and the positive electrode ([0111]), a non-aqueous electrolyte containing lithium ions ([0025]), wherein the positive electrode is the electrode for power storage devices of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 24, Ohsawa in view of Sakashita discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Ohsawa does not directly disclose a value of dm2 which is an arithmetic mean of each distance d2 included in the unit cross section is between 0.25 and 0.46.
Ohsawa discloses wherein the shape of the conductive member is not limited, and be a mesh-like shape or a fiber-like shape ([0062]). Ohsawa further discloses wherein the particle size of the conductive member can be adjusted to optimize contact with the current collector ([0063]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the first shape of the first electrically-conductive layer includes a plurality of recesses (Fig. 3). Oshawa further discloses wherein the number of recesses is determined by the shape of the mold used ([0138]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the mold forms 8 recesses (Fig. 4B). Oshawa further discloses wherein the roughness curve elements which is the average height of the of concavoconvex shapes is 2 um or less ([0075]).
The examiner notes that since the dm2 is total value of distances d2 divided by the total number of d2 measurements, that a d2 value of 0.245 and 0.46 um would meet the claim limitations, which is within the Ohsawa’s discloses d2 of 2 um or less.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 10th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that it would not have been obvious to modify Ohsawa with Sakashita to arrive at the claimed electrode because Sakashita does not disclose wherein the first electrically conductive layer entirely separates the resin layer and the first layer of particles. Applicant argues that Sakashita merely states the orders of the layers and describes a folded section that is entirely separates form the other layers. Applicant further argues that Sakashita does not teach an advantage to this structure.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in view of the specifications “the first electrically-conductive layer entirely separates the resin layer and the first layer of particles” can be interpreted to mean any structure where the resin layer and first layer of particles are completely separated by a first electrically conductive layer being placed in between them to prevent contact between the resin layer and first layer of particles.
The examiner notes that Oshawa does not directly disclose wherein the first electrically layer entirely separates the resin layer and the first layer of particles.
Sakashita further discloses an electrode sheet that includes a resin film that has a conductive layer disposed on the resin film and a positive electrode active material layer disposed on the conductive layer (resin film-1, conductive layer-2, positive electrode active material layer-6, Fig. 1A/Fig. 1B, [0031], [0037]). Sakashita teaches that this structure provides improved capacity density per weight ([0046]).
The examiner notes that Sakashita directly discloses a structure with a resin layer, conductive layer, and active material layer acting as first layer of particles, where the resin layer and first layer of particles are entirely separated with the conductive layer disposed in between them. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the advantage provided by Sakashita of improved capacity density per weight is not just related to the folding sections of Sakashita but are advantages provided by the use of the resin film, which are benefits that can be enjoyed by Oshawa.
Therefore it is the examiner’s position that Sakshita discloses a structure where the resin layer and first layer of particles are completely separated by a first electrically conductive layer being placed in between them to prevent contact between the resin layer and first layer of particles, and applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claim language.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Sakashita to have wherein the first electrically layer entirely separates the resin layer and the first layer of particles. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved capacity density per weight.
Applicant argues that the claimed value of dm2 is critical to achieving superior results which is unexpected over the asserted references. Applicant presents Table 2 to show that the dm2 range is critical as it provides improved rate characteristics.
Ohsawa does not directly disclose wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length L of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, a maximum value of a distance d2 between a line segment connecting top points of two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions and a point of recess that is located therebetween that is the most distant from the line segment is not less than 0.2 um and not more than 3.0 um, and a value of dm2 which is an arithmetic mean of each distance d2 included in the unit cross section is between 0.18 and 0.71.
Ohsawa discloses wherein the shape of the conductive member is not limited, and be a mesh-like shape or a fiber-like shape ([0062]). Ohsawa further discloses wherein the particle size of the conductive member can be adjusted to optimize contact with the current collector ([0063]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the first shape of the first electrically-conductive layer includes a plurality of recesses (Fig. 3). Oshawa further discloses wherein the number of recesses is determined by the shape of the mold used ([0138]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the mold forms 8 recesses (Fig. 4B). Oshawa further discloses wherein the roughness curve elements which is the average height of the of concavoconvex shapes is 2 um or less ([0075]). Oshawa further discloses wherein the cycle characteristics and capacity and output characteristics are optimized ([0080-0081]).
The examiner notes that since the dm2 is total value of distances d2 divided by the total number of d2 measurements, that a d2 value of 0.18 and 0.71 um would meet the claim limitations, which is within the Ohsawa’s discloses d2 of 2 um or less.
The examiner notes that Ohsawa discloses an overlapping range from the instant claim range, and that Ohsawa further discloses wherein rate characteristics are optimized. Therefore, Oshawa discloses the “unexpected results” and applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claim language.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Oshawa to have wherein in a unit cross section parallel to the thickness direction, the unit cross section having a length L of 25 um along a width direction that is perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resin layer, a maximum value of a distance d2 between a line segment connecting top points of two adjacent protrusions among the plurality of protrusions and a point of recess that is located therebetween that is the most distant from the line segment is not less than 0.2 um and not more than 3.0 um, and a value of dm2 which is an arithmetic mean of each distance d2 included in the unit cross section is between 0.18 and 0.71.
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728