DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the RCE filed on 10/23/25.
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 19-20, 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohuchi, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2012/0002555 A1 in view Zhang, US 2021/0243814 A1.
As to claim 1, Ohuchi teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
the second RACH message including a timing advance (TA) command (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 80; i.e., [0080] transmits to PDSCH a random access response that includes synchronization timing gap information (timing advance));
performing, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) procedure on the second RACH message including failing to receive or decode the second RACH message, and including monitoring for a retransmission of the second RACH message from the BS (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 68-70; i.e., [0068] an acknowledgement (ACK)/a negative acknowledgement (NACK) of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for downlink transmission; [0070] scheduling request (SR) of a mobile station apparatus requesting allocation of resource for transmitting the uplink data (requesting transmission through UL-SCH), and ACK/NACK of HARQ for downlink transmission); and
performing, when the HARQ procedure on the second RACH message fails, at least one of: starting a new RACH procedure; or triggering a radio link failure (RLF) (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; page 8, paragraph 120; i.e., [0084If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions), the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource. The mobile station apparatus temporarily stops the transmission of RACH and the lower layer sets a new parameter and performs reestablishment based on the instruction; [0120] Before the mobile station apparatus 100 receives the message 2 (step s106: NO), if the message 2 reception timer reaches the expiration time (step s107: YES), the timer control portion 140 initializes the message 2 reception timer and restarts the random access procedure (step s108) from the transmission of RACH (Msgl) (step s102 ). If the message 2 is received ( step s l06: YES) before the message 2 reception timer reaches the expiration time).
But Ohuchi failed to teach the claim limitation wherein transmitting, to a base station (BS), a first random access channel (RACH) message of a two-step random access procedure; monitoring, based at least in part on transmitting the first RACH message, for a second RACH message of the two-step random access procedure from the BS.
However, Zhang teaches the limitation wherein transmitting, to a base station (BS), a first random access channel (RACH) message of a two-step random access procedure (Zhang, page 12, paragraph 145; i.e., [0145] The PUSCH resource selection information can also be transmitted to the base station (along with the data transmission) in the form of uplink control information (UCI) using, e.g., a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).); monitoring, based at least in part on transmitting the first RACH message, for a second RACH message of the two-step random access procedure from the BS (Zhang, page 11, paragraph 140; page 13, paragraph 168; i.e., [0140] the set of resource grants are multicast to UEs capable of performing the two-step random access procedure. For example, both UEs capable of performing the two-step random access procedure and UEs capable of only performing the four-step random access procedure; [0168] timer values for two-step and/or four-step random access procedure(s), power control, maximum retransmission number for a random access process, MCS update).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ohuchi to substitute transmission power from Zhang for power from Ohuchi achieve data transmission without a dynamic scheduling grant from the base station (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 9).
As to claim 2, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
establishing, with the BS, a radio resource control (RRC) connection (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] When the RRC layer is notified of the random access problem by the MAC layer, the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource. The mobile station apparatus temporarily stops the transmission of RACH and the lower layer sets a new parameter and performs reestablishment based on the instruction);
wherein at least the transmitting the first RACH message is performed by the RRC-connected UE (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] When the RRC layer is notified of the random access problem by the MAC layer, the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource. The mobile station apparatus temporarily stops the transmission of RACH and the lower layer sets a new parameter and performs reestablishment based on the instruction).
As to claim 3, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
determining, whether a timer has expired (Ohuchi, page 11, paragraph 157; i.e., [0157] detecting timer is expired (step s703: YES));
wherein the performing, when the HARQ procedure on the second RACH message fails, includes:
starting, the new RACH procedure if the timer has expired (Ohuchi, page 11, paragraph 158; i.e., [0158] The RRC layer executes a reestablishment processing).
As to claim 4, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
determining, whether a timer has expired (Ohuchi, page 11, paragraph 157; i.e., [0157] detecting timer is expired (step s703: YES));
wherein the performing, when the HARQ procedure on the second RACH message fails, includes:
triggering, the RLF if the timer has expired (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). When the RRC layer is notified of the random access problem by the MAC layer, the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource. The mobile station apparatus temporarily stops the transmission of RACH and the lower layer sets a new parameter and performs reestablishment based on the instruction.).
As to claim 5, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the UE, whether a timer has expired (Ohuchi, page 11, paragraph 157; i.e., [0157] detecting timer is expired (step s703: YES));
wherein the performing the HARQ procedure includes:
monitoring, for a retransmission of the second RACH message from the BS if the timer has not expired (Ohuchi, page 5, paragraph 68; page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0068] a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indicator (RI)), and an acknowledgement (ACK)/a negative acknowledgement (NACK) of a hybrid automatic repeat
request (HARQ) for downlink transmission; [0084] randomly selected random access preamble, or if a response to RACH (Ll02 and Ll04 of FIG. 4) is not returned from the base station apparatus in certain time, the mobile station apparatus retransmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions)).
As to claim 6, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
determining, whether a threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has been reached (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions));
wherein the performing, when the HARQ procedure on the second RACH message fails, includes at least one of starting, the new RACH procedure if the threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has been reached; or triggering, the RLF if the threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has been reached (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). The mobile station apparatus temporarily stops the transmission of RACH and the lower layer sets a new parameter and performs reestablishment based on the instruction. Even if the maximum number of transmissions of RACH is exceeded, the mobile station apparatus continues transmitting RACH with the same parameter to the base station apparatus until a new instruction is issued from a higher layer).
As to claim 7, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
determining, whether a threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has been reached (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions));
wherein the performing the HARQ procedure includes:
monitoring, for the retransmission of the second RACH message from the BS if the threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has not been reached (Ohuchi, page 5, paragraph 68; page 10, paragraph 135; i.e., [0068] a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indicator (RI)), and an acknowledgement (ACK)/a negative acknowledgement (NACK) of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for downlink transmission; [0135] Each time RACH is transmitted from the M-CC, the mobile station apparatus counts with the random access channel transmission counter and, if the number of transmissions of the RACH reaches a predetermined maximum number of transmissions).
As to claim 10, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein starting, a timer in a first symbol following the transmitting the first RACH message (Ohuchi, page 8, paragraph 120; i.e., [0120] the message 2 (step s106: NO), if the message 2 reception timer reaches the expiration time (step s107: YES), the timer control portion 140 initializes the message 2 reception timer and restarts the random access procedure (step s108) from the transmission of RACH (Msgl) (step s102 )).
As to claim 20, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the user equipment as recited in claim 19, wherein establish a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a base station (BS) (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] When the RRC layer is notified of the random access problem by the MAC layer, the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource. Even if the maximum number of transmissions of RACH is exceeded).
As to claim 24, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the user equipment as recited in claim 20, wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to cause the user equipment to:
determine whether a threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has been reached (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). Even if the maximum number of transmissions of RACH is exceeded); and
start the new RACH procedure or trigger the RLF if the threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has been reached (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). When the RRC layer is notified of the random access problem by the MAC layer, the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource).
As to claim 25, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the user equipment as recited in claim 24, wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination to cause the user equipment to monitor for the retransmission of the second RACH message from the BS if the threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has not been reached (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). When the RRC layer is notified of the random access problem by the MAC layer, the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource. The mobile station apparatus temporarily stops the transmission of RACH and the lower layer sets a new parameter and performs reestablishment based on the instruction).
Claim(s) 19 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 19 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 11-17 & 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohuchi, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2012/0002555 A1 and Zhang, US 2021/0243814 A1, and further in view of Xu, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. 2020/0245360 A1
As to claim 11, Ohuchi teaches a method of wireless communication, comprising:
monitoring, for a first random access channel (RACH) message from the user equipment (UE) (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). When the RRC layer is notified of the random access problem by the MAC layer, the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource. The mobile station apparatus temporarily stops the transmission of RACH and the lower layer sets a new parameter and performs reestablishment based on the instruction);
transmitting, to the UE and at least in part in response to the first RACH message, a second RACH message in response to receiving the first RACH message, the second RACH message including a timing advance (TA) command (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 80; i.e., [0080] transmits to PDSCH a random access response that includes synchronization timing gap information (timing advance));
performing, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) procedure on the second RACH message (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 68-70; i.e., [0068] an acknowledgement (ACK)/a negative acknowledgement (NACK) of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for downlink transmission; [0070] scheduling request
(SR) of a mobile station apparatus requesting allocation of resource for transmitting the uplink data (requesting transmission through UL-SCH), and ACK/NACK of HARQ for
downlink transmission) retransmitting, based at least in part on determining that an acknowledgement to the second RACH message has not been received, the second RACH message to the UE without monitoring again for the first RACH message (Ohuchi, page 5, paragraph 68; page 10, paragraph 135; i.e., [0068] a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indicator (RI)), and an acknowledgement (ACK)/a negative acknowledgement (NACK) of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for downlink transmission; [0135] Each time RACH is transmitted from the M-CC, the mobile station apparatus counts with the random access channel transmission counter and, if the number of transmissions of the RACH reaches a predetermined maximum number of transmissions);.
But Ohuchi failed to teach the claim limitation wherein monitoring, for a first random access channel (RACH) message of a two-step random access procedure; transmitting a second RACH message of the two-step random access procedure; terminating, a current RACH procedure for the UE when the HARQ procedure on the second RACH message fails;.
However, Zhang teaches the limitation wherein monitoring, for a first random access channel (RACH) message of a two-step random access procedure; transmitting a second RACH message of the two-step random access procedure (Zhang, page 11, paragraph 140; page 12, paragraph 145; page 13, paragraph 168; i.e., [0140] the set of resource grants are multicast to UEs capable of performing the two-step random access procedure. For example, both UEs capable of performing the two-step random access procedure and UEs capable of only performing the four-step random access procedure; [0145] The PUSCH resource selection information can also be transmitted to the base station (along with the data transmission) in the form of uplink control information (UCI) using, e.g., a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); [0168] timer values for two-step and/or four-step random access procedure(s), power control, maximum retransmission number for a random access process, MCS update).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ohuchi to substitute transmission power from Zhang for power from Ohuchi achieve data transmission without a dynamic scheduling grant from the base station (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 9).
However, Xu teaches the limitation wherein terminating, a current RACH procedure for the UE when the HARQ procedure on the second RACH message fails (Xu, page 7, paragraph 83; i.e., [0083] FIG. 7 illustrates a possible timeline in which a wireless device deactivates a non-default BWP and activates a default BWP upon expiration of a BWP activation timer regardless of whether this interrupts any ongoing procedures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ohuchi to substitute control information from Xu for number of transmission from Ohuchi to maintain good transmit and receive abilities for improved communications (Xu, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 12, Ohuchi-Zhang-Xu teaches the method as recited in claim 11, wherein establishing, with the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) connection (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). When the RRC layer is notified of the random access problem by the MAC layer, the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource).
As to claim 13, Ohuchi-Zhang-Xu teaches the method as recited in claim 11, further comprising:
determining, whether a timer has expired (Ohuchi, page 11, paragraph 157; i.e., [0157] detecting timer is expired (step s703: YES)).
But Ohuchi-Kubota failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the terminating the current RACH procedure for the UE includes: terminating, the current RACH procedure for the UE if the timer has expired.
However, Xu teaches the limitation wherein the terminating the current RACH procedure for the UE includes: terminating, the current RACH procedure for the UE if the timer has expired (Xu, page 7, paragraph 83; i.e., [0083] FIG. 7 illustrates a possible timeline in which a wireless device deactivates a non-default BWP and activates a default BWP upon expiration of a BWP activation timer regardless of whether this interrupts any ongoing procedures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ohuchi-Kubota to substitute control information from Xu for number of transmission from Ohuchi-Kubota to maintain good transmit and receive abilities for improved communications (Xu, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 14, Ohuchi-Zhang-Xu teaches the method as recited in claim 11, further comprising:
determining, whether a timer has expired (Ohuchi, page 11, paragraph 157; i.e., [0157] detecting timer is expired (step s703: YES));
wherein the performing the HARQ procedure includes:
retransmitting, to the UE, the second RACH message if the timer has not expired (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] randomly selected random access preamble, or if a response to RACH (Ll02 and Ll04 of FIG. 4) is not returned from the base station apparatus in certain time, the mobile station apparatus retransmits RACH. The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). The mobile station apparatus temporarily stops the transmission of RACH and the lower layer sets a new parameter and performs reestablishment based on the instruction).
As to claim 15, Ohuchi-Zhang-Xu teaches the method as recited in claim 11, further comprising:
determining, whether a threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has been reached (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). The mobile station apparatus temporarily stops the transmission of RACH and the lower layer sets a new parameter and performs reestablishment based on the instruction).
But Ohuchi-Kubota failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the terminating the current RACH procedure for the UE includes: terminating, the current RACH procedure for the UE if the threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has been reached.
However, Xu teaches the limitation wherein the terminating the current RACH procedure for the UE includes: terminating, by the BS, the current RACH procedure for the UE if the threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has been reached (Xu, page 7, paragraph 83; i.e., [0083] upon expiration of a BWP activation timer regardless of whether this interrupts any ongoing procedures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ohuchi-Kubota to substitute control information from Xu for number of transmission from Ohuchi-Kubota to maintain good transmit and receive abilities for improved communications (Xu, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 16, Ohuchi-Zhang-Xu teaches the method as recited in claim 11, further comprising:
determining, whether a threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has been reached (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). Even if the maximum number of transmissions of RACH is exceeded, the mobile station apparatus continues transmitting RACH with the same parameter to the base station apparatus until a new instruction is issued from a higher layer);
wherein the performing the HARQ procedure includes:
retransmitting, to the UE, the second RACH message if the threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has not been reached (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). The mobile station apparatus temporarily stops the transmission of RACH and the lower layer sets a new parameter and performs reestablishment based on the instruction).
As to claim 17, Ohuchi-Zhang-Xu teaches the method as recited in claim 11, wherein retransmitting, to the UE, the second RACH message if the BS does not receive an acknowledgment (Ack) or a Nack from the UE (Ohuchi, page 5, paragraph 68-70; page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., ., [0068] an acknowledgement (ACK)/a negative acknowledgement (NACK) of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for downlink transmission; [0070] ACK/NACK of HARQ for downlink transmission [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH).
Claim(s) 27 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 11. Therefore, claim(s) 27 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 11.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohuchi, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2012/0002555 A1 in view of Zhang, US 2021/0243814 A1, and Xu, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. 2020/0245360 A1, and further in view of Morioka, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. 2020/0245360 A1.
As to claim 18, Ohuchi-Zhang-Xu teaches the method as recited in claim 11, wherein the performing the HARQ procedure includes:
receiving, from the UE, an acknowledgement (Ack) associated with the second RACH message (Ohuchi, page 5, paragraph 68-70; page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0068] an acknowledgement (ACK)/a negative acknowledgement (NACK) of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for downlink transmission; [0070]
ACK/NACK of HARQ for downlink transmission; [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH).
But Ohuchi-Zhang-Xu failed to teach the claim limitation wherein resetting, at least one of a timer or a counter based on the receipt of the Ack.
However, Morioka teaches the limitation wherein resetting, at least one of a timer or a counter based on the receipt of the Ack (Morioka, page 2, paragraph 8; i.e., [0008] simple communications terminals such as MTC devices, timing advance information may be communicated to the communications device less often, such
as for example once on power on or device reset. Once the timing advance information is received from the base station, the communications device assumes that its timing advance is correct until a reset condition or power-off).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ohuchi-Zhang-Xu to substitute communication data from Morioka for channel from Ohuchi-Zhang-Xu to receive small data transmissions and send small data transmissions where these data transmissions are generally infrequent and delay-tolerant transmissions (Morioka, page 1, paragraph 3).
Claim(s) 8-9, 21-23, 26, 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohuchi, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2012/0002555 A1, and Zhang, US 2021/0243814 A1, and further in view of Morioka, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. 2020/0245360 A1.
As to claim 8, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein transmitting, to the BS, an acknowledgement (Ack) based on the decoding of the second RACH message being successful (Ohuchi, page 5, paragraph 68-70; page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0068] an acknowledgement (ACK)/a negative acknowledgement (NACK) of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for downlink transmission; [0070] ACK/NACK of HARQ for downlink transmission; [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. When the RRC layer is notified of the random access problem by the MAC layer, the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource).
But Ohuchi-Zhang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein decoding, the second RACH message.
However, Morioka teaches the limitation wherein decoding, the second RACH message (Morioka, page 3, paragraph 41; i.e., [0041] the encoding can be performed are provided further below. In this example, the terminal 101 expects an "ack" message in response to the RACH message sent at the step 602. Such an ack message may for example be carried in a RACH response message or in any other type of suitable message. If however the terminal receives an ack message for the RACH message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ohuchi-Zhang to substitute communication data from Morioka for channel from Ohuchi-Zhang to receive small data transmissions and send small data transmissions where these data transmissions are generally infrequent and delay-tolerant transmissions (Morioka, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 9, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the method as recited in claim 8. But Ohuchi-Zhang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein resetting, at least one of a timer or a counter based on the decoding of the second RACH message being successful.
However, Morioka teaches the limitation wherein resetting, at least one of a timer or a counter based on the decoding of the second RACH message being successful (Morioka, page 2, paragraph 8; i.e., [0008] the communications device less often, such as for example once on power on or device reset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ohuchi-Zhang to substitute communication data from Morioka for channel from Ohuchi-Zhang to receive small data transmissions and send small data transmissions where these data transmissions are generally infrequent and delay-tolerant transmissions (Morioka, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 21, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the user equipment as recited in claim 19. But Ohuchi-Zhang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein decode the second RACH message.
However, Morioka teaches the limitation wherein decode the second RACH message (Morioka, page 3, paragraph 41; i.e., [0041] the encoding can be performed are provided further below. In this example, the terminal 101 expects an "ack" message in response to the RACH message sent at the step 602. Such an ack message may for example be carried in a RACH response message or in any other type of suitable message. If however the terminal receives an ack message for the RACH message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ohuchi-Zhang to substitute communication data from Morioka for channel from Ohuchi-Zhang to receive small data transmissions and send small data transmissions where these data transmissions are generally infrequent and delay-tolerant transmissions (Morioka, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 22, Ohuchi-Zhang-Morioka teaches the user equipment as recited in claim 21, wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to cause the user equipment to further configured to:
determine whether a timer has expired (Ohuchi, page 11, paragraph 157; i.e., [0157] detecting timer is expired (step s703: YES)); and
start the new RACH procedure or trigger the RLF if the timer has expired (Ohuchi, page 11, paragraph 158; i.e., [0158] In response to the notification, the RRC layer recognizes that a radio link failure (RLF) is detected for the component carrier (CC) in which the random access problem is detected (step s707). The RRC layer executes a reestablishment processing).
As to claim 23, Ohuchi-Zhang-Morioka teaches the user equipment as recited in claim 21, wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to cause the user equipment to: determine whether a timer has expired; and monitor for the retransmission of the second RACH message from the BS if the timer has not expired (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). When the RRC layer is notified of the random access problem by the MAC layer, the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource).
As to claim 26, Ohuchi-Zhang teaches the user equipment as recited in claim 24, wherein the transmit, to the BS, an acknowledgement (Ack) based on the decoding of the second RACH message being successful (Ohuchi, page 5, paragraph 68-70; page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0070] scheduling request (SR) of a mobile station apparatus requesting allocation of resource for transmitting the uplink data (requesting transmission through UL-SCH), and ACK/NACK of HARQ for downlink transmission; [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions).).
But Ohuchi-Zhang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein decode the second RACH message; reset at least one of a timer or a counter based on the decoding of the second RACH message being successful.
However, Morioka teaches the limitation wherein decode the second RACH message; reset at least one of a timer or a counter based on the decoding of the second RACH message being successful (Morioka, page 3, paragraph 41; i.e., [0041] the encoding can be performed are provided further below. In this example, the terminal 101 expects an "ack" message in response to the RACH message sent at the step 602. Such an ack message may for example be carried in a RACH response message or in any other type of suitable message. If it has not received any acknowledgement, for example before the expiry of a timer triggered by the transmission of the RACH message, the terminal then goes back to the step 602 to re-send the relevant RACH message. If however the terminal receives an ack message for the RACH message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ohuchi-Zhang to substitute communication data from Morioka for channel from Ohuchi-Zhang to receive small data transmissions and send small data transmissions where these data transmissions are generally infrequent and delay-tolerant transmissions (Morioka, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 28, Ohuchi-Zhang-Morioka teaches the base station as recited in claim 26, wherein one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to cause the user base station to:
determine whether a timer has expired (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). When the RRC layer is notified of the random access problem by the MAC layer, the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource); and
at least one of:
terminate the current RACH procedure for the UE if the timer has expired; or retransmit, to the UE, the second RACH message if the timer has not expired (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). When the RRC layer is notified of the random access problem by the MAC layer, the RRC layer considers that a radio link failure (hereinafter, RLF) occurs, and instructs a lower layer to execute a reestablishment processing such as changing a parameter of RACH and releasing a radio resource. The mobile station apparatus temporarily stops the transmission of RACH and the lower layer sets a new parameter and performs reestablishment based on the instruction).
As to claim 29, Ohuchi-Zhang-Morioka teaches the base station as recited in claim 26, wherein one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to cause the user base station to:
determine whether a threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has been reached (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). Even if the maximum number of transmissions of RACH is exceeded, the mobile station apparatus continues transmitting RACH with the same parameter to the base station apparatus until a new instruction is issued from a higher layer); and
at least one of:
terminate the current RACH procedure for the UE if the threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has been reached; or retransmit the second RACH message to the UE if the threshold number of transmissions of the second RACH message has not been reached (Ohuchi, page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions). The mobile station apparatus temporarily stops the transmission of RACH and the lower layer sets a new parameter and performs reestablishment based on the instruction).
As to claim 30, Ohuchi-Zhang-Morioka teaches the base station as recited in claim 26, wherein one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to cause the user base station to:
receive an acknowledgement (Ack) from the UE based on a decoding of the second RACH message by the UE being successful (Ohuchi, page 5, paragraph 68-70; page 6, paragraph 84; i.e., [0068] an acknowledgement (ACK)/a negative acknowledgement (NACK) of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) for downlink transmission; [0070] ACK/NACK of HARQ for downlink transmission; [0084] The mobile station apparatus uses a random access channel transmission counter to count the number of RACH transmissions each time the mobile station apparatus transmits RACH. If the number of RACH transmissions exceeds a specified value (maximum number of transmissions)).
But Ohuchi-Zhang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein reset at least one of a timer or a counter based on the receipt of the Ack.
However, Morioka teaches the limitation wherein reset at least one of a timer or a counter based on the receipt of the Ack (Morioka, page 2, paragraph 8; i.e., [0008] simple communications terminals such as MTC devices, timing advance information may be communicated to the communications device less often, such as for example once on power on or device reset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Ohuchi-Zhang to substitute communication data from Morioka for channel from Ohuchi-Zhang to receive small data transmissions and send small data transmissions where these data transmissions are generally infrequent and delay-tolerant transmissions (Morioka, page 1, paragraph 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 has/have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant’s arguments include the failure of previously applied art to expressly disclose “monitoring, based at least in part on transmitting the first RACH message, for a second RACH message of the two-step random access procedure from the BS” (see Applicant’s response, 10/23/25, page 14-15). It is evident from the detailed mappings found in the above rejection(s) that Zhang disclosed this functionality (see Zhang, page 13, paragraph 167-168; page 14, paragraph 169). Further, it is clear from the numerous teachings (previously and currently cited) that the provision for “monitoring, based at least in part on transmitting the first RACH message, for a second RACH message of the two-step random access procedure from the BS” was widely implemented in the networking art. Thus, Applicant’s arguments drawn toward distinction of the claimed invention and the prior art teachings on this point are not considered persuasive.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Ly, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20180109976 A1 discloses base station transmitting by the UE.
Murray, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20220191793 A1 discloses failure to receive or properly decode the signal/channel.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416