DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 23 recites “a desulfurized lead-containing waste”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of desulfurization is a process of reducing the amount of sulfur in the lead-containing waste. However, the structure of claim 23 will be considered when assessing patentability of claim 23. The process of desulfurization of the lead-containing waste does not mean the structure of claim 23 has near zero lead sulfate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 6 that Tyagi is describing a “pre-sulfated” lead oxide, which would inherently require at least some sulfate to be present. Applicant further argues on pg. 7 that Tyagi describes this “pre-sulfated” material as being useful for producing positive and/or negative battery plates more efficiently, therefore the sulfate component is of clear importance to this material. The material of instant claim 23 are desulfurized lead-containing waste which can be used to allow for more efficient smelting into lead ingot, as a consequence of the low levels of lead sulfate. These properties would not be shared or made obvious by the lead oxide material of Tyagi’s disclosure because it would be expected the lead oxide would comprise lead sulfates as the materials are pre-sulfated.
However, regardless of Tyagi’s use of the term “pre-sulfated”, Tyagi discloses a lead-containing waste in which the percentage of free lead, lead monoxide, lead dioxide and lead sulfate can be accurately controlled ([0016]). The percentages of the individual components could be zero as well ([0016]). Tyagi further discloses an embodiment described herein can be used to accurately control the percentage of sulfate (SO42-) ions in the form of lead sulfate (PbSO4) in the mixture of lead oxides obtained after treatment of the paste, obtained from used lead acid batteries, with the preferred alkali solution ([0019]). Another embodiment described herein provides a method of controlling the de-sulfurization of the paste using an alkali solution, preferably hydroxides or carbonates of sodium or potassium, by optimizing the reaction time, reaction temperature and alkali concentration ([0022]). With this multi-stage alkali treatment process, de-sulfurization in the range of 85%-99.99% may be achieved ([0059]). This may be used in preparing a "pre-sulfated” oxide ([0059]). Therefore, Tyagi discloses a desulfurized lead-containing waste as claimed. While the desulfurized lead-containing waste may be used in preparing a “pre-sulfated” oxide, it is not relevant since Tyagi discloses the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyagi et al (US 20160308261 A1).
Tyagi discloses the recycling of spent lead-acid batteries without smelting and recovering lead in metal and oxide form ([0002], meeting limitation “a lead-containing waste”). Tyagi further discloses high purity lead oxide aPb.xPbO.yPbO2.zPbSO4 in which the percentage of free lead (Pb) (“a”, up-to 35%), lead monoxide (PbO) (“x”, up-to 80%), lead dioxide (PbO2) (“y”, up-to 34%), and lead sulfate (PbSO4) (“z”, up-to 15%) can be accurately controlled… the percentages of the individual components (Pb, PbO, PbO2, and PbSO4) could be zero as well ([0016]).
Regarding the claim limitation “a desulfurized lead-containing waste”, Tyagi discloses another embodiment described herein provides a method of controlling the de-sulfurization of the paste using an alkali solution, preferably hydroxides or carbonates of sodium or potassium, by optimizing the reaction time, reaction temperature and alkali concentration ([0022]). With this multi-stage alkali treatment process, de-sulfurization in the range of 85%-99.99% may be achieved ([0059]).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In the instant case, the range taught by Tyagi (“a”, up-to 35%) overlaps with the claimed range (Pb in an amount of at least 1 %). Therefore, the range in Tyagi renders obvious the claimed range.
In the instant case, the range taught by Tyagi (“x”, up-to 80%) overlaps with the claimed range (PbO in an amount of at least 40 %). Therefore, the range in Tyagi renders obvious the claimed range.
In the instant case, the range taught by Tyagi (“y”, up-to 34%) overlaps with the claimed range (PbO2 in an amount of at least 10 %). Therefore, the range in Tyagi renders obvious the claimed range.
Tyagi further discloses a high purity (99.99%) lead oxide as discussed above. Thus, the amount of lead hydroxide is necessarily equal to or less than 0.01%, which falls within the claimed range of less than 5 %.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738