DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 9/16/2025. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 16, 21, and 30-31 have been amended. Thus, claims 16-35 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding the independent claims on page 7-10:
Applicant argues that the prior art relied upon in the preceding office action does not teach the following limitations of the presently amended independent claims:
"wherein the delivery member cover comprises a single structural trigger configured to trigger the rotational drive unit to move the plunger unit when the delivery member cover is moved distally to the retraction position"
"wherein a single structural trigger operatively associated with the delivery member cover causes the rotational drive unit to move the plunger unit based on movement of the delivery member cover to the retraction position"
Applicants arguments particularly regard the preceding office action's presented interpretation of a trigger in view of the prior art of Marcoz, however examiner notes that the present rejection of the claims relies upon a distinct interpretation of the prior art, particularly considering Marcoz’s switch activation ridge 61 on Marcoz’s needle guard body 25 as the claimed single structural trigger disposed on/operatively associated with the delivery member cover. Thus applicant’s arguments regarding the preceding office action’s interpretation of a single trigger of Marcoz are moot.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding dependent claims on page 9-10:
Applicant argues that their preceding arguments render the independent claims allowable, and consequently likewise the dependent claims are allowable.
See examiner's discussion of the presently amended independent claims above, and prior art rejection below, which details the reasons for why the dependent claims are not considered allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 18-21, 24, 26, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20210077723 A1, henceforth written as Marcoz.
Regarding Claim 16, Marcoz discloses:
A medicament delivery device comprising:
(automatic injector device 1; fig 1)
a proximal disposable part arranged with
(paragraph 94; disposable drug assembly 2; fig 1)
a body
(housing 4; fig 1)
and a delivery member cover telescopically arranged in relation to the body;
(needle guard 24; fig 1)
wherein the proximal disposable part is configured to receive a medicament container; and
(syringe assembly 6; fig 1)
a distal reusable power pack detachably arranged with the proximal disposable part,
(paragraph 94; reusable motorized transmission assembly 3; fig 1)
wherein the delivery member cover has an extension position in which the delivery member cover is extended in a proximal direction to cover a medicament delivery member of the medicament container,
(fig 5)
and a retraction position in which the delivery member cover is retracted in a distal direction to expose the medicament delivery member,
(fig 13+15)
wherein the distal reusable power pack comprises a power unit,
(motor 67; fig 1)
a rotational drive unit
(gear assembly 66; fig 1)
and a plunger unit,
(screw threaded piston 69 ; fig 1)
wherein the rotational drive unit is powered by the power unit and is configured to move the plunger unit upon being triggered,
(paragraph 103+117+120-121)
wherein the plunger unit is configured to move a stopper of the medicament container in the proximal direction upon being moved by the rotational drive unit, so that a medicament contained in the medicament container is expelled, and
(paragraph 103+117+120-121; plunger 13 is moved by gear assembly 66 to expel contents of drug chamber 14; fig 2+13)
wherein the delivery member cover comprises a single structural trigger configured to trigger the rotational drive unit to move the plunger unit when the delivery member cover is moved distally to the retraction position.
(paragraph 101-103+114-120; switch engagement ridge 61, considered the claimed single structural trigger, is disposed on needle guard 24 such that upon guard 24 moving distally into the claimed retraction position the skin sensor circuit 57, comprising microswitches 53 65, transmits signals indicating the needle guard 24 is an injection ready position to the programmable control system 54 for system 54 to command motor 67 and gear assembly 66 to drive screw thread piston 69 forward to engage plunger 13 and expel drug out of the drug container chamber; fig 3-4+8+14)
Regarding Claim 18, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 16, wherein the power unit is a motor.
(motor 67; fig 1)
Regarding Claim 19, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 16, wherein the distal reusable power pack comprises a housing,
(housing 56a 56b; fig 1-2)
the housing being configured to receive the rotational drive unit and the power unit, wherein the housing further comprises a locking element configured to prevent the rotational drive unit from rotating in relation to the housing in a locking position.
(paragraph 97-98+103; needle brake drive motor gear 35, shown in fig 1-2 within housing 56ab, engages gear assembly 66 to prevent its rotation before the needle brake 30 is disengaged)
Regarding Claim 20, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 19, wherein the trigger is configured to release the locking element to move out from the locking position, thereby triggering the rotational drive unit to move the plunger unit.
(paragraph 98-99+101-103+114-118; ridge 61 is considered configured to release needle brake drive motor gear 35 from the locking position due to the axial displacement of ridge 61 biasing microswitches 53 65 such that skin sensor circuit 57 communicates a triggering signal based on received information and needle brake 30 disengages from needle brake drive motor gear 35 to permit movement of piston 69 by assembly 66 and control system 54; fig 1-2)
Regarding Claim 21, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 18, wherein the distal reusable power pack further comprises a switch, and wherein the trigger is configured to trigger the motor by switching the switch.
( paragraph 98-99+101-103+114-117; control system 54, constituting a switch as it controls the motor and gear assemblies of the system to switch between different power rates/levels, as well as communicating operational status as triggered by activation of microswitches 53 65 being biased by ridge 61; fig 1)
Regarding Claim 24, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 18, wherein the motor is configured to reciprocate the movement of the plunger unit.
(claim language of “configured to” implies a functional language and the prior art must at least be capable of performing the recited function; paragraph 94 demonstrates that motorized transmission assembly 3 is reusable, and accordingly to be functional for subsequent uses with further disposable parts, its piston 69 must be returned to its initial position by its motor 67, as shown in fig 2+15-16 with piston 69 in a pre-use and post-use position, it is apparent the motor 67 is capable of translating piston 69 axially in a singular direction while also being capable of stopping and slowing/accelerating the rate of piston 69's translation, therein motor 67 is functionally capable of reciprocating the movement of piston 69)
Regarding Claim 26, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 16, wherein the rotational drive unit comprises a drive nut configured to rotate about a longitudinal axis of the distal reusable power pack.
(gear assembly 66 includes drive gear 72 which rotates about a longitudinal axis; fig 2 )
Regarding Claim 29, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 26, wherein the plunger unit comprises a thread on its external surface.
(paragraph 103; screw threaded piston 69; fig 1)
Regarding Claim 30, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 16, wherein the delivery member cover comprises a rib
(flange 43 on needle guard body 25 on needle guard 24; fig 1)
and the proximal disposable part comprises a rotator configured with a locking tongue,
(assembly 2 further comprises the rotatable longitudinal body 31, and its position locking elements abutments 37 and 46; fig 1+7)
the rotator being configured to be rotated by a linear movement of the delivery member cover, and
(paragraph 116-117; needle guard 24 sliding linearly trigger's activation circuit 51 communicating with control system 54 and therein allows gear assembly 66 to rotate longitudinal body 31 about its axis)
wherein the rotation aligns the locking tongue with the rib, so that the delivery member cover is prevented from moving to the retraction position.
(fig 10-11 demonstrate that rotation of longitudinal body 31 aligns abutments 37 and 46 with flange 43 such that they are aligned in protruding radially outward, away from a central axis, and as detailed in paragraph 122 this position permits flange 43 to fix needle guard 24 such that it cannot be returned to a retracted position after use)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 27-29, and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcoz, in view of US 20130296778 A1, henceforth written as Damgaard.
Regarding Claim 25,
Marcoz discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However, Marcoz is silent regarding:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 16, wherein the rotational drive unit comprises a rotational gear wheel configured to rotate about an orthogonal axis of the distal reusable power pack.
However, Damgaard teaches an autoinjector:
wherein the rotational drive unit comprises a rotational gear wheel configured to rotate about an orthogonal axis of the distal reusable power pack.
(fig 2+7-8 and paragraph 83 demonstrate that piston rod 12 moves orthogonal to a longitudinal injection axis, as actuated by the orthogonally rotating pinion gear 220, which enables a shorter and more compact delivery device, see paragraph 43)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement Damgaard’s teaching of a flexible and arcing piston rod translating orthogonally with the support of a orthogonally rotating gear wheel to the claimed plunger unit and corresponding component(s) of the claimed rotational drive unit disclosed by Marcoz in order to arrive at an invention which advantageously can be of a smaller and more compact shape which can be desirable in some circumstances, see paragraph 43 of Damgaard.
Regarding Claim 27, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 25, wherein the plunger unit has a plurality of teeth, the plunger unit being arranged to connect with the gear wheel by means of the teeth.
(piston 69 is threaded, therein a plurality of radially extending teeth; fig 2)
Regarding Claim 28, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 25, wherein the distal reusable power pack further comprises a damper gear arranged to connect to the gear wheel, the damper gear being configured to slow down the rotational speed of the gear wheel.
(paragraph 98+103+115; needle brake motor gear 35, when engaged to needle brake 30 limits, therein slows down, gear 72 by gear 35's mating with gear assembly 66; fig 1+5)
Regarding Claim 31,
Marcoz discloses:
A medicament delivery device comprising:
(automatic injector device 1; fig 1)
a proximal disposable part comprising
(paragraph 94; disposable drug assembly 2; fig 1)
a body
(housing 4; fig 1)
and a delivery member cover axially having a longitudinal axis and movable relative to the body,
(needle guard 24; fig 1)
wherein the proximal disposable part comprises a medicament container;
(syringe assembly 6; fig 1)
and a distal reusable power pack detachably arranged with the proximal disposable part,
(paragraph 94; reusable motorized transmission assembly 3; fig 1)
wherein the delivery member cover has an extension position in which the delivery member cover is extended in a proximal direction to cover a medicament delivery member fixed to the medicament container,
(see fig 5 illustrating the extension position of the delivery member cover)
and a retraction position in which the delivery member cover is moved distally relative to the medicament container to expose the medicament delivery member,
(see fig 13+15 relative to fig 1+5 illustrating the retraction position where the delivery member cover is moved relative to the syringe 6)
wherein the distal reusable power pack comprises a power unit,
(motor 67; fig 1)
a rotational drive unit,
(gear assembly 66; fig 1)
and a plunger unit that moves -- a stopper within the medicament container in the proximal direction when moved by the rotational drive unit,
(paragraph 103; screw threaded piston 69 pushes against plunger 13 to expel drug from the drug container chamber; fig 1)
and wherein a single structural trigger operatively associated with the delivery member cover causes the rotational drive unit to move the plunger unit based on movement of the delivery member cover to the retraction position.
(paragraph 101-103+114-120; switch engagement ridge 61, considered the claimed single structural trigger, is disposed on needle guard 24 such that upon guard 24 moving distally into the claimed retraction position the skin sensor circuit 57, comprising microswitches 53 65, transmits signals indicating the needle guard 24 is an injection ready position to the programmable control system 54 for system 54 to command motor 67 and gear assembly 66 to drive screw thread piston 69 forward to engage plunger 13 and expel drug out of the drug container chamber; fig 3-4+8+14)
Marcoz discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
a plunger unit that moves transverse to the longitudinal axis to move a stopper within the medicament container
However, Damgaard teaches an autoinjector wherein:
a plunger unit that moves transverse to the longitudinal axis to move a stopper within the medicament container
(fig 2+8 and paragraph 83 demonstrate that piston rod 12 moves transverse to a longitudinal injection axis, as actuated by the transversally rotating pinion gear 220, which enables a shorter and more compact delivery device, see paragraph 43)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Damgaard’s teaching of a flexible and arcing piston rod translating transversally with the support of a transversally rotating gear wheel to the claimed plunger unit and corresponding component(s) of the claimed rotational drive unit disclosed by Marcoz in order to arrive at an invention which advantageously can be of a smaller and more compact shape which can be desirable in some circumstances, see paragraph 43 of Damgaard.
Regarding Claim 32, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device of claim 31 further, wherein the delivery member cover comprises a rib
(flange 43 on needle guard body 25 on needle guard 24; fig 1)
and the proximal disposable part comprises a rotator,
(assembly 2 further comprises the rotatable longitudinal body 31, and its position locking elements abutments 37 and 46; fig 1+7)
where movement of the delivery member cover to the retraction position causes the rib to engage the rotator to rotate the rotator and to activate the power unit such that rotational drive unit rotates.
(paragraph 97+116-117; needle guard 24 sliding linearly trigger's activation circuit 51 of control system 54, such that flange 43 engages body 31 via the abutment 46, see fig 7, and therein allows longitudinal body 31 to begin rotation about its axis enabled by motor 67 actuating gear assembly 66)
Regarding Claim 33, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device of claim 32, wherein the rotator comprises a locking tongue
(assembly 2 further comprises the rotatable longitudinal body 31, and its position locking tongues abutments 37 and 46; fig 1+7)
that is rotated by a linear movement of the delivery member cover such that the locking tongue align with the rib when the delivery member cover has moved from the retraction position to the extension position whereby the delivery member cover is prevented from moving back to the retraction position.
(fig 10-11 demonstrate that rotation of longitudinal body 31 aligns abutments 37 and 46 with flange 43 such that they are aligned in protruding radially outward, away from a central axis, and as detailed in paragraph 122 this position permits flange 43 to fix needle guard 24 such that it cannot be returned to a retracted position after use)
Regarding Claim 34, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device of claim 31, wherein the plunger unit has a plurality of teeth that engage with a gear wheel fixed to the rotational drive unit such that the gear wheel rotates along an axis transverse to the longitudinal axis.
(Marcoz: paragraph 103; piston 69 is threaded, therein a plurality of radially extending teeth, to engage with piston drive gear 72 secured to assembly 66 to rotate along an axis; fig 2)
Examiner notes that in light of the combination made in claim 31 above, the portions of gear assembly 66 which interact with the claimed plunger unit, i.e. piston driver gear 72, are now disposed such that they rotate transversally to a longitudinal axis to support the transversal and arcing shape of the claimed plunger unit
Regarding Claim 35, Marcoz discloses:
The medicament delivery device of claim 31 further comprising a locking element that when in a locking position prevents the rotational drive unit from rotating relative to a housing of the distal reusable power back,
(paragraph 97-98+103; needle brake drive motor gear 35, shown in fig 1-2 within housing 56ab, engages gear assembly 66 to prevent its rotation before the needle brake 30 is disengaged)
wherein the trigger operatively associated with the delivery member cover releases the locking element from the locking position to cause the rotational drive unit to move the plunger unit.
(paragraph 98-99+101-103+114-118; ridge 61 is considered configured to release needle brake drive motor gear 35 from the locking position due to the axial displacement of ridge 61 biasing microswitches 53 65 such that skin sensor circuit 57 communicates a triggering signal based on received information and needle brake 30 disengages from needle brake drive motor gear 35 to permit movement of piston 69 by assembly 66 and control system 54; fig 1-2)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcoz as presented in claim 16, in view of US 20130218128 A1, henceforth written as Cowe.
Regarding Claim 17,
Marcoz discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However, Marcoz is silent regarding:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 16, wherein the power unit is a spring, the spring being configured to deliver a spring force along its circumferential direction.
However, Cowe teaches an autoinjector:
wherein the power unit is a spring, the spring being configured to deliver a spring force along its circumferential direction.
(paragraph 11+81; torsion spring is an art recognized example of rotary energy source adequate for governing an injection; examiner further notes that torsion spring are described in applicants disclosure as a class of springs which deliver a spring force along its circumferential direction)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the power unit as a spring teachings of Cowe for the power unit as motor disclosed by Marcoz, as torsion springs and rotary motors are art recognized equivalents known for the same purpose of providing a rotary force for governing an injection, see MPEP 2144.06 (II) and paragraph 11 of Cowe.
Claim 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcoz in view of Cowe as presented in claim 17, in view of US 20160175524 A1 henceforth written as Henderson.
Regarding Claim 22,
Marcoz in view of Cowe discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However, Marcoz in view of Cowe is silent regarding:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 17, wherein the distal reusable power pack further comprises a reset knob arranged to rotate the rotational drive unit against the restoring force of the spring.
However, Henderson teaches an autoinjector:
wherein the distal reusable power pack further comprises a reset knob arranged to rotate the rotational drive unit against the restoring force of the spring.
(paragraph 52+ 68+70; case 5 is rotatable by a user via its thumb rest 5.2 such that a ratchet drive features 5.1 are engaged and rotate to reset drive spring 15, therein resisting a restoring force; fig 10)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implementing the reusable autoinjector resetting elements taught by Henderson to the reusable autoinjector disclosed by Marcoz in view of Cowe in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which requires manual user resetting and therein ensures a user is aware of the device's reset status for subsequent use, see paragraph 70 of Henderson.
Regarding Claim 23, Marcoz in view of Cowe and Henderson provides:
The medicament delivery device according to claim 22, wherein the rotation of the reset knob actuates the plunger unit to move in the distal direction in relation to the proximal disposable part by the connection between the plunger unit and the rotational drive unit.
Examiner notes in light of the combination made in claim 22 above, rotation of the claimed reset knob, originally of Henderson, results in a resetting of Marcoz's drive mechanism such the claimed plunger unit moves distally as facilitated by the claimed rotational drive unit until the claimed plunger unit returns to the initial position.
Conclusion
/FORREST B DIPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783