634DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments filed 11/26/2025. Claims 1, 4-6, 10, 12-17 are pending in this application. As directed, claims 1, 4-5, 10, 14-17 have been amended; claims 2-3, 7-9, 11, 18 cancelled.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 09/11/2025.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) & 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 09/11/2025. However, Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 11/26/2025 have created another 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections, see details in the 35 U.S.C. 112 Claim Rejections section below.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 Claim Rejections: Applicant(s)’ arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but are moot based on new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendments because the independent claim 1 is now rejected by newly cited prior arts Hayashi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0330800A1, newly cited) and Zhou et al. (CN 106322454 A, newly cited).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-6, 10, 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “tube-like member” in line 13. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation. Specifically, it is understood what “tube” means; however, it is unclear how “tube-like” is defined. According to Merriam-Webster Dictionary, the definition of “tube” is “any of various usually cylindrical structures or devices”, or “a hollow elongated cylinder” [https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/tube, accessed on 03/05/2026]. However, the slide members 113, 113a, 113b shown in Figs.3-4, 6 of the Instant Application do not appear to be cylindrical structures. Therefore, it is unclear what “tube-like member” means.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the hot air” in line 35. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “hot air” recited previously.
Claims 4-6, 10, 12-17 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 10, 12-14, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0330800 A1, newly cited) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 106322454 A, newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi discloses a pull-out heating cooking apparatus (heating cooker 30, Hayashi Figs.1-30) comprising:
a heating chamber (heating chamber, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) including a heating cooking chamber (cavity 2, Hayashi Fig.20) formed therein;
a cooling fan (cooling unit 5 includes cooling fans 5a-5d, Hayashi Figs.19-20 & Par.0123);
a microwave supply unit (microwave generator 3, Hayashi Fig.20) configured to supply microwave into the heating cooking chamber (cavity 2, Hayashi Fig.20) (Hayashi Par.0070 discloses: “Microwave generator 3 is configured by two magnetrons as described later, and generates microwaves supplied into the cavity 2.”), and including a magnetron (magnetrons 3a & 3b, Hayashi Fig.17);
an air sending unit (convection device 35 includes the hot air generation mechanism 36, Hayashi Figs.5A, 20 & Par.0082) configured to supply hot air into the heating cooking chamber (cavity 2, Hayashi Fig.20) (Hayashi Par.0078 discloses: “Convection device 35 for generating hot air to be supplied into cavity 2”);
a main body outer case (main body outer case, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) configured to accommodate the heating chamber (heating chamber, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below), the cooling fan (cooling unit 5 includes cooling fans 5a-5d, Hayashi Figs.19-20 & Par.0123), the microwave supply unit (microwave generator 3, Hayashi Fig.20), and the air sending unit (convection device 35, Hayashi Fig.20);
a partition plate (partition plate, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) configured to partition a first space (first space, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) and a second space (second space, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) between an outer surface of the heating chamber (outer surface of heating chamber, see the heating chamber in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) and an inner surface of the main body outer case (inner surface of main body outer case, see the main body outer case in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) (Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below show that the partition plate configured to partition the first space and the second space between the outer surface of heating chamber and the inner surface of main body outer case);
wherein:
the heating chamber (heating chamber, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) further includes a panel (panel, Hayashi annotated Fig.22 below) provided with a first through hole part (front grille 31a, Hayashi Fig.22) and a second through hole part (exhaust holes 37, Hayashi Figs.22-23),
the panel (panel, Hayashi annotated Fig.22 below) is disposed on a front face side (front face side, Hayashi annotated Fig.22 below) of the heating chamber (heating chamber, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) (Hayashi annotated Figs.20 & 22 below show that the panel is disposed on front face side of the heating chamber),
the first space (first space, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) is configured to guide air taken from the first through hole part (front grille 31a, Hayashi Fig.22) toward the cooling fan (cooling unit 5 includes cooling fans 5a-5d, Hayashi Figs.19-20 & Par.0123) (see air path in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below, and Hayashi Par.0076 discloses: “Front grill 31 a is an outside air suction port for taking outside air into machine chamber 31. Cooling unit 5 takes the outside air from front grill (Front grille) 31 a of machine chamber 31 to send the outside air backward, so that cooling unit 5 cools inverter unit 4 and microwave generator 3 in order.”),
the second space (second space, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) is configured to guide the air blown from the cooling fan (cooling unit 5 includes cooling fans 5a-5d, Hayashi Figs.19-20 & Par.0123) toward the second through hole part (exhaust holes 37, Hayashi Fig.22) along the outer surface of the heating chamber (outer surface of heating chamber, see the heating chamber in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) (see air path in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below and Par.0138 discloses: “the air that cools fan drive unit 16 to be exhausted from exhaust holes 37”),
the cooling fan (cooling unit 5 includes cooling fans 5a-5d, Hayashi Figs.19-20 & Par.0123) is configured to take in the air from the first through hole part (front grille 31a, Hayashi Fig.22) toward the first space (first space, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) and circulate the air toward the cooling fan (cooling unit 5 includes cooling fans 5a-5d, Hayashi Figs.19-20 & Par.0123) via the first space (first space, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) (see air path in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below, and Hayashi Par.0076 discloses: “Front grill 31 a is an outside air suction port for taking outside air into machine chamber 31. Cooling unit 5 takes the outside air from front grill (Front grille) 31 a of machine chamber 31 to send the outside air backward, so that cooling unit 5 cools inverter unit 4 and microwave generator 3 in order.”), and
the cooling fan (cooling unit 5 includes cooling fans 5a-5d, Hayashi Figs.19-20 & Par.0123) is further configured to blow out the air toward the second space (second space, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) and circulate the air toward the second through hole part (exhaust holes 37, Hayashi Fig.22) via the second space (second space, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) (see air path in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below and Par.0138 discloses: “the air that cools fan drive unit 16 to be exhausted from exhaust holes 37”),
the air sending unit (convection device 35 includes the hot air generation mechanism 36, Hayashi Figs.5A, 20 & Par.0082) includes:
a heater (convection heater 13, Hayashi Fig.5A) configured to heat air,
a centrifugal fan (centrifugal fan 14, Hayashi Fig.5A) (Hayashi Par.0089 discloses the circulation 14 is centrifugal fan) configured to blow the air heated by the heater (convection heater 13, Hayashi Fig.5A) to the heating cooking chamber (cavity 2, Hayashi Figs.5A, 20) to generate the hot air (Hayashi Par.0089 discloses: “Circulation fan 14 is a centrifugal fan that sucks air at a central part, and sends out the sucked air in a centrifugal direction. Circulation fan 14 sucks, into convection device 35, air in cavity 2, and discharges the air in convection device 35 into cavity 2.”, and Hayashi Par.0095 discloses: “Circulation fan 14 spirally sends out the air heated by convection heater 13”), and
a drive unit (fan drive unit 16, Hayashi Fig.5A) (Hayashi Par.0087 discloses: “fan drive unit 16 (refer to FIG. 9 and FIG. 10) that drives circulation fan 14”), that is a motor (Hayashi Par.0110 discloses: “Circulation fan 14 is rotated at a low speed (for example, 2000 rpm), so that the temperature of the inside of cavity 2 makes uniform, and it is possible to prolong life of a motor of circulation fan 14.”), configured to drive the centrifugal fan (centrifugal fan 14, Hayashi Fig.5A)
Hayashi does not explicitly disclose:
a drawer body accommodated in the heating cooking chamber and being capable of being drawn out;
a slide member, that is a tube-like member, attached to an outer side surface of the heating chamber and extending in a front-rear direction, the slide member being located in the second space; and
a first air deflecting plate for the slide member configured to guide air blown out from the cooling fan toward the slide member, and being located in the second space,
the slide member is located, in the second space, above the partition plate and below the first air deflecting plate.
Zhou teaches a pull-out heating cooking apparatus (1, Zhou Figs.1-6) comprising:
a drawer body (drawer body 420, Zhou Figs.3 & 5) accommodated in the heating cooking chamber (cooking cavity 200, Zhou Figs.2-5) and being capable of being drawn out (as shown in Zhou Figs.3-5);
a slide member (slide member, Zhou annotated Fig.3 below), that is a tube-like member (see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections above for rejections of the limitation “tube-like member”; in this case, the tube-like member is being interpreted as elongated shape with hollow body), attached to an outer side surface of the heating chamber (outer side surface of the heating chamber, Zhou annotated Fig.3 below) and extending in a front-rear direction (see front-rear direction in Zhou annotated Fig.3 below), the slide member (slide member, Zhou annotated Fig.3 below) being located in the second space (see the primary reference Hayashi second space in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 above; therefore, in combination, by substituting the Hayashi swing door & its connection mechanism (see the Hayashi door 11 & hinge structures 60 in Hayashi Figs.1-2, 29) with the Zhou drawer & slide rail (see the Zhou drawer 400 & slide rail in Zhou annotated Fig.3 below), in combination, Hayashi in view of Zhou teaches the slide member being located in the second space); and
a first air deflecting plate (air deflecting plate, Zhou annotated Fig.4 below) for the slide member (slide member, Zhou annotated Figs.3, 5 below) configured to guide air blown out from the cooling fan toward the slide member (slide member, Zhou annotated Figs.3, 5 below), and being located in the second space (see the primary reference Hayashi cooling fan 5, second space and air path in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 above, and see the air path in Zhou annotated Fig.4 below; therefore, in combination, by adding the Zhou air deflecting plate to the Hayashi cooking apparatus, in combination, Hayashi in view of Zhou teaches the air deflecting plate for the slide member configured to guide air blown out from the cooling fan toward the slide member, and being located in the second space),
the slide member (slide member, Zhou annotated Fig.3 below) is located, in the second space (see the primary reference Hayashi second space in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 above; therefore, in combination, by substituting the Hayashi swing door & its connection mechanism (see the Hayashi door 11 & hinge structures 60 in Hayashi Figs.1-2, 29) with the Zhou drawer & slide rail (see the Zhou drawer 400 & slide rail in Zhou annotated Fig.3 below), in combination, Hayashi in view of Zhou teaches the slide member being located in the second space), above the partition plate (see the primary reference Hayashi partition plate in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 above; therefore, in combination, by substituting the Hayashi swing door & its connection mechanism (see the Hayashi door 11 & hinge structures 60 in Hayashi Figs.1-2, 29) with the Zhou drawer & slide rail (see the Zhou drawer 400 & slide rail in Zhou annotated Fig.3 below), in combination, Hayashi in view of Zhou teaches the slide member is located above the partition plate) and below the first air deflecting plate (air deflecting plate, Zhou annotated Fig.4 below) (Zhou annotated Fig.4 below shows that the slide member is located below the air deflecting plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Hayashi swing door & its connection mechanism (see the Hayashi door 11 & hinge structures 60 in Hayashi Figs.1-2, 29) with the Zhou drawer & slide rail (see the Zhou drawer 400 & slide rail in Zhou annotated Fig.3 above), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of providing cooking cavity and door mechanism in order to provide enclosure to heat the food that is place inside the cooking cavity. MPEP 2143 I (B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hayashi in view of Zhou, by adding the air deflecting plate for the slide member, as taught by Zhou, in order to prevent overheating of the slide member and protect the user from injury. Because the cooking apparatus generates high heat, the cooling fan must constantly blow air to protect delicate internal components, and the air deflecting plate ensures this cooling air specifically reaches the slide member, which is otherwise susceptible to heat damage.
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi in view of Zhou teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, and Hayashi also discloses:
a second air deflecting plate (partition part 44, Hayashi Fig.21) for the air sending unit (convection device 35 includes the hot air generation mechanism 36, Hayashi Figs.5A, 20 & Par.0082) configured to guide the air blown out from the cooling fan (cooling unit 5 includes cooling fans 5a-5d, Hayashi Figs.19-20) toward the drive unit (fan drive unit 16, Hayashi Fig.21).
Regarding claim 10, Hayashi in view of Zhou teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, and also teaches:
wherein the drawer body (drawer body 420, Zhou annotated Fig.3 below) (as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above) includes a slide rail (slide rail, Zhou annotated Fig.3 below) supported by the slide member (slide member, Zhou annotated Fig.3 below), and
the slide rail (slide rail, Zhou annotated Fig.3 below) slides along the slide member (slide member, Zhou annotated Fig.3 below), while the drawer body (drawer body 420, Zhou Figs.3 & 5) moves in the front-rear direction (see front-rear direction in Zhou annotated Fig.3 below)
Regarding claim 12, Hayashi in view of Zhou teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, and also teaches:
wherein the heating chamber (heating chamber, see Hayashi annotated Fig.20 in the rejection of claim 1 above) further includes an opening part (opening part, Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below) through which the drawer body (drawer body 420, Zhou Figs.3 & 5; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above) passes when the drawer body (drawer body 420, Zhou Figs.3 & 5; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above) is drawn out from the heating cooking chamber (cavity 2, Hayashi Fig.20), and the opening part (opening part, Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below) is disposed between the first through hole part (front grille 31a, Hayashi Fig.4) and the second through hole part (exhaust holes 37, Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below & Figs.22-23).
Regarding claim 13, Hayashi in view of Zhou teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 12, and Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the first through hole part (front grille 31a, Hayashi Fig.4) is disposed on a lower side of the opening part (opening part, Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below), and the second through hole part (exhaust holes 37, Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below & Figs.22-23) is disposed on an upper side of the opening part (opening part, Hayashi annotated Fig.4 below).
Regarding claim 14, Hayashi in view of Zhou teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, and Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the cooling fan (cooling unit 5 includes cooling fans 5a-5d, Hayashi Figs.19-20 & Par.0123) is located at a same height as a height of the first through hole part (front grille 31a, Hayashi Fig.22) (Hayashi Figs.20-22 show the cooling unit 5 and the front grille 31a are located at the same height).
Regarding claim 17, Hayashi in view of Zhou teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, and Hayashi also discloses further comprising:
a duct member (duct 45, Hayashi Fig.20) configured to guide the air blown out from the cooling fan (cooling unit 5 includes cooling fans 5a-5d, Hayashi Figs.19-20 & Par.0123) toward the air sending unit (convection device 35 includes the hot air generation mechanism 36, Hayashi Figs.5A & 20) along a path (see arrows W3 in Hayashi Fig.20) away from the outer surface of the heating chamber (outer surface of the heating chamber, see the heating chamber in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0330800 A1, newly cited) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 106322454 A, newly cited), and further in view of Tcaciuc (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0000539 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi in view of Zhou teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, Hayashi also discloses:
wherein the air sending unit (convection device 35 includes the hot air generation mechanism 36, Hayashi Figs.5A, 20 & Par.0082) includes a first air sending unit (hot air generation mechanism 36, Hayashi Fig.5A & Par.0082)
Hayashi in view of Zhou does not teach:
wherein the air sending unit further includes a second air sending unit.
Tcaciuc discloses a heating cooking apparatus (heating cooking apparatus as shown in Tcaciuc Fig.4):
wherein the air sending unit (air sending unit includes the rear convection fan 14 includes one rear propeller 36, horizontal motor shaft 38, heating element 40, and top convection fan 12 includes upper top propeller 30, lower top propeller 32, vertical motor shaft 34, the heating element 18, Tcaciuc Fig.4) further includes a first air sending unit (first air sending unit includes the rear convection fan 14 includes one rear propeller 36, horizontal motor shaft 38, and heating element 40, Tcaciuc Fig.4) and a second air sending unit (second air sending unit includes the top convection fan 12 includes upper top propeller 30, lower top propeller 32, vertical motor shaft 34, and heating element 18, Tcaciuc Fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hayashi in view of Zhou, by adding the second air sending unit to the top side of the heating chamber, as taught by Tcaciuc, in order to improve airflow inside the oven cavity so that the heat transfer from the heating elements to the food stuff is evenly distributed while reduce cooking time and energy consumption; thus, improving the cooking product, as recognized by Tcaciuc [Tcaciuc, Pars.0002-0003, 0014].
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi in view of Zhou and Tcaciuc teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 5, and also teaches:
wherein the outer surface of the heating chamber (outer surface of the heating chamber, see the heating chamber in Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) includes an upper surface (upper surface of the heating chamber, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) and a rear surface (rear surface of the heating chamber, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below), the first air sending unit (hot air generation mechanism 36 of the convection device 35, Hayashi Figs.5A, 20 & Par.0082) is located on the rear surface of the heating chamber (rear surface of the heating chamber, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below), and the second air sending unit (second air sending unit includes the top convection fan 12 includes upper top propeller 30, lower top propeller 32, vertical motor shaft 34, and heating element 18, Tcaciuc Fig.4; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 5 above) is located on the upper surface of the heating chamber (upper surface of the heating chamber, Hayashi annotated Fig.20 below) (it is noted that in combination, by adding the Tcaciuc second air sending unit to the Hayashi in view of Zhou cooking apparatus, Hayashi in view of Zhou and Tcaciuc teaches the second air sending unit is located on the upper surface of the heating chamber).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0330800 A1, newly cited) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 106322454 A, newly cited, hereinafter Zhou’454), and further in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0086264 A1, newly cited, hereinafter Zhou’264).
Regarding claim 15, Hayashi in view of Zhou’454 teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the cooling fan is located on a rear side of the heating chamber.
Zhou’264 teaches a cooking apparatus (100, Zhou’264 Figs.1-2):
wherein the cooling fan (fan 4, Zhou’264 Fig.2) is located on a rear side of the heating chamber (heating chamber 10, Zhou’264 Fig.2) (Zhou’264 Fig.2 shows the fan 4 is located on the rear side of the heating chamber 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hayashi in view of Zhou’454, by making the cooling fan located on the rear side of the heating chamber, as taught by Zhou’264, in order to efficiently exhaust hot air and moisture away from the internal components such as the magnetron and transformer and to ensure proper airflow through the cooking apparatus, thus, enhance the cooling efficiency of the magnetron and high-voltage transformer while managing heat and steam efficiently.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0330800A1, newly cited) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 106322454 A, newly cited), and further in view of Brant et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0241069 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 16, Hayashi in view of Zhou teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the fan includes a cross flow fan.
Brant teaches a heating cooking apparatus (Brant Fig.5):
wherein the fan (fan 54, Brant Fig.5) includes a cross flow fan (Brant Par.0030 teaches: “the cooling fan 54 is preferably an electrically-operated cooling fan of various types, driven by an electric motor 54B, such as a cross-flow fan (as shown), axial fan, or centrifugal fan.”; therefore, Brant teaches the fan 54 is cross-flow fan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Hayashi in view of Zhou fan (see the Hayashi fan 5 in Hayashi Fig.20) with the Brant fan (see the Brant fan 54 in Brant Fig.5), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of providing a fan configured to suck air from outside of the heating apparatus and configured to provide cooling air to the heating apparatus. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Lee et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,677,770 B2) discloses an oven that effectively cools a door by adjusting a position of a cooling guide includes a casing having at least one inhalation hole and at least one ejection hole; a cooking chamber which has an opening and is placed inside the casing; a door that is rotatably coupled to one portion of the casing so as to open/close the opening; a cooling fan that discharges air introduced into the inhalation hole to the ejection hole placed at a front portion of the casing; and an air guide that is installed adjacent to the ejection hole so as to change a direction of air driven by the cooling fan.
McNamee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0095738 A1) discloses a compact cooking appliance capable of combining radiant, convection and microwave heating techniques to perform a cooking operation.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 03/05/2026
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761