DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 03/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 7-12, 14-20 and 23 are currently pending. Claims 14-20 and 23 were previously withdrawn, and claims 4-5, 21-22 were previously cancelled. Claim 6 has been canceled and claims 1-2, 12, 14, 16, and 18-20 have been amended. New claims 24-26 have been added. Claims 1-3, 7-12, and 24-26 are examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The objections to the claims have been withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
The rejection of claim 1 from the previous office action as being unpatentable over Blainey and Rolland under 35 U.S.C. 103 withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment. The rejection of claims 1-3, 6-12 has been withdrawn based on dependency of all of the limitations of claim 1.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 03/26/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 with regard to a first and third liquid comprising a first and second sample respectively, have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 11-12, filed 03/26/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1, under 35 U.S.C. 103, has been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Blainey does not teach or suggest dispersing a first self-assembled filter element and then forming a second self-assembled filter element from a different second sample suspension,” but rather relies upon the teaching of sequentially adding different bead sizes until the desired porosity has been achieved. Applicant claims that the newly added beads do not include a sample and this step is not performed after dispersing a first self-assembled filter element.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claims have been amended to claim first and second suspensions that include microparticles within a liquid that also contains a first and second sample, respectfully. The Examiner now relies upon a new reference Borch to teach a sample liquid premixed with microbeads before introduced into a non-circular opening. The Examiner also now relies upon Blainey’s statement that “Process 400 can be repeated in part or in its entirety,” ([0185]) which includes steps 402 and 404 of Fig. 4 which teach adding both a cell sample and microbead capture substrate to a holding chamber with a sieve for creating a self-assembled microbead filter and wherein the sieve valve is actuated to release the retained beads with the functionality of using reverse flow ([0227], [0205])(See 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blainey (US 20160215332 A1) and Rolland (Solvent-Resistant Photocurable “Liquid Teflon” for Microfluidic Device Fabrication, 2004), incorporated by reference, in view of Borch et al. (US 20170138939 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Blainey teaches a method for providing a first filter element (microfluidic device generally disclosed herein can be used to capture or separate an analyte using any suitable capture or separation means; [0200]) comprising
(i) providing a first plurality of first microparticles (“loading a capture substrate…into the holding chamber,” wherein “capture substrates may be in the form of a…microbead”; Step 404 of Fig. 4; [0142]) and a first liquid, the first liquid comprising a first sample (“loading a cell into a holding chamber of a microfluidic device,” wherein an example is “a solution of E. coli bacteria cells”; Step 402 of Fig. 4; [0249]),
wherein the first microparticles have a first diameter of between 1 µm and 1000 µm (“1 mm diameter capture beads can be introduced upstream of the deployed sieve valve,” wherein 1 mm corresponds to 1000 µm; [0171]); and
(ii) continuously flowing a desired volume of the first liquid in a first flow direction through at least one non-circular opening with a short dimension and a long dimension (FIG. 2B shows an illustrative diagram of a sieve valve 250 with a column of capture beads 260 and cells 262 trapped at the deflected membrane 256. When the sieve valve 250 is activated, fluid may still continue to flow, for example in direction 258, through the valve; [0170])(The sieve valves are located within the channel 202 of Figs. 2A-2B below, wherein “the channel can have a substantially-rectangular profile,” and “the deflected membrane may have a different profile shape than the microfluidic channel”; [0172])(The at least one non-circular opening is therefore the gap between the inner walls of the channel 202 or 252 of sieve valves 200 or 250 and “the partial seal of the membrane 206 or 256” as shown in Figs. 2A-B below, which could never achieve a circular opening between a rectangle and any other shape; [0170])(A rectangle is structurally defined to have a short dimension and a long dimension),
wherein the short dimension is less than the hydrodynamic diameter of the first microparticles (the capture substrate has a dimension that is…larger than the height of the microfluidic channel 100 at a closed sieve valve, such as any of sieve valves 108a-108i; [0159]; Fig. 2B), and
the long dimension is at least twice the hydrodynamic diameter of the first microparticles (“The channel can have an aspect ratio of height to width selected from the group consisting of: less than about 1:2, less than about 1:5, less than about 1:10, and less than about 1:15; [0030]), so that
the first microparticles accumulate and form a first self-assembled filter element comprising the first microparticles at the non-circular opening (When the sieve valve 250 is activated, fluid may still continue to flow, for example in direction 258, through the valve. Capture beads 260 are trapped at the membrane 256 because they are too large to fit past the partial seal of the membrane 256. As more and more capture beads 260 are trapped at the sieve valve, the capture beads 260 form a column that traps cells 262. The column of capture beads 260 can be used to concentrate cells at a sieve valve 250).
(iii) after flowing the desired volume of the first sample suspension through the at least one non-circular opening (After objects of interest are trapped using the first sieve valve 5100a; [0205]), dispersing the first self-assembled filter element formed in step (ii) by
(a) flowing at least a portion of the first liquid or a second liquid in a second flow direction opposite the first flow direction through the non-circular opening to disperse the first microparticles at the non-circular opening, (“the sieve valve is actuated to release the retained beads. The beads can be seen flowing past the sieve valve,” wherein “the fluid flow direction can then be reversed as depicted in FIG. 53B to flow fluid over the trapped objects of interest…The fluid flowed over the trapped objects of interest can be the same or can be changed to achieve a desired outcome”; [0227], [0205]; See Fig. 53A below),
(iv) providing a second sample suspension different from the first sample suspension comprising a plurality of second microparticles and a third liquid, the third liquid comprising a second sample, (Regarding process 400 of Fig. 4, Blainey teaches “This process, in part or in its entirety, can be repeated” which includes repeating steps 402 and 404, thereby providing another cell sample and capture substrate to the sieve. Blainey also discloses that its different holding cells can correspond to different cell lines which would form a different sample suspension at the at least one non-circular openings or sieves, especially since the cells can be cultured and allowed to divide before being separated in channels 320 and 322 before reaching sieves in the holding chambers (See paragraph [0173]). Therefore, upon repetition of the process, Blainey teaches providing a second sample and microparticles for another iteration of the disclosed process ([0185]),
wherein the second microparticles have a second hydrodynamic diameter of between 1 um and 1000 um (See step (i) above);
(v) after dispersing the first self-assembled filter element in step (iii), continuously flowing a desired volume of the second sample suspension in the first flow direction through the at least one non-circular opening having the short dimension and the long dimension, wherein the short dimension is less than the second hydrodynamic diameter of the second microparticles, and the long dimension is at least twice the second hydrodynamic diameter of the second microparticles, so that the second microparticles accumulate and form a second self-assembled filter element comprising the second microparticles at the non-circular opening (See step (ii) above); and
(vi) after flowing the desired volume of the second sample suspension through the at least one non-circular opening, dispersing the second self-assembled filter element formed in step (v) by (a) flowing at least a portion of the third liquid or a further liquid in the second flow direction opposite the first flow direction through the non-circular opening to disperse the second microparticles at the non-circular opening (See step (iii) above),
Blainey does not explicitly teach that the plurality of first and second microparticles are within the first and second liquids which would form a first and second sample suspension, respectively (Emphasis added), and
the second microparticles have a first and second hydrodynamic diameter between 1 µm and 1000 µm (Emphasis added).
However, the selected physical diameter of the second microparticles or microbeads and the selected first and second liquid or capture reagent can be routinely optimized to create a hydrodynamic diameter (diameter when immersed in the first liquid or capture reagent due to the coating of the microparticles or microbeads) to be within the range of 1 µm and 1000 µm. The height of the channels 202 and 252 of the sieve valves 200 and 250 of Fig. 2A-B is selected between about 5 µm-55 µm ([0030]) so that the “capture beads 260 are trapped at the membrane 256 because they are too large to fit past the partial seal of the membrane 256” ([0170]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blainey to specify the first and second microparticles have a second hydrodynamic diameter between 1 µm and 1000 µm, so as to account for the appropriate true diameter of the microbead while in the capture reagent or any other liquid that would produce the desired result of trapping the microbead within the sieve valve in order to block passage of “capture beads 260 and cells 262” ([0170]) and thereby filter analytes of interest by the microbeads as shown in Fig. 2B. It is also advantageous to select such a diameter so as to achieve the desired porosity to retain a sample component ([0171]).
Modified Blainey does not explicitly teach that the plurality of first and second microparticles are within the first and second liquids which would form a first and second sample suspension, respectively. Blainey instead teaches that both the cell samples and microparticles are added to the holding chamber before the sieve is opened via the deflected membrane, creating a self-assembled filter (See paragraph [0170]).
Borch teaches a first liquid comprises a first sample which causes a first sample suspension to include both a plurality of first microparticles and a sample (the sample comprising the biomarker may be part of the liquid medium in which the tracer substance 9 is suspended, or a part of the liquid medium in which the beads 8 are suspended; [0101]; Fig. 1d).
Borch is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the
same field of endeavor for microfluidic sample separation using microbeads as a self-assembled filter ([0023]). Blainey states that after “a sample comprising cells is loaded into the microfluidic device with beads” that genomic DNA from the cells is captured on the SPRI beads ([0244]). Blainey further notes “that the various steps can be conducted in any suitable order, provided that the cellular components are released for capture by the activated capture substrate” ([0178]). Blainey therefore already recognizes mixing and loading a biological sample with capture beads while permitting reagents to be introduced together or in different orders. Borch provides an advantage for premixing the sample with the spherical microparticles in that “particles may be efficiently mixed with the sample in solution” (Emphasis added) due to the “very large surface to volume ratio” of the particles ([0011]-[0012], [0017]). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the filtering method taught by Blainey by incorporating the teachings of Borch and introducing the capture beads together with the sample as a suspension rather than sequentially because it would facilitate contact and capture between the sample and bead while simplifying their introduction into the microfluidic system, and this involves changes in sequence of adding ingredients (See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C)).
Fig. 1 of Blainey
Fig. 2B of Blainey
Regarding claim 2, Modified Blainey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein (a) step (ii) comprises continuous flowing of the entire desired volume of the first sample suspension in the first direction through the at least one non-circular opening so as to prevent disruption of the first self-assembled filter element during the continuous flowing (Paragraph [0170] of Blainey explains that “When the sieve valve 250 is activated, fluid may still continue to flow,” and that “Capture beads 260 are trapped at the membrane 256” (Emphasis added) as shown in Fig. 2B. Continuous flow of the fluid would therefore flow the entire desired volume of the first sample suspension); or
(b) step (vi) comprises continuous flowing of the entire desired volume of the second sample suspension in the first direction through the at least one non-circular opening so as to prevent disruption of the second self-assembled filter element during the continuous flowing; or
both (a) and (b).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Blainey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the non-circular opening comprises an opening to a conduit (input port 106; Blainey, [0157]; Fig. 1 below) leading to a processing system (mixing circuit 104, see Fig. 1)(“Using this column of beads, cells can be concentrated inside holding chamber 102 before passing the cells to further processing steps inside the mixing circuit 104; Blainey, [0159])( The holding chamber 102 includes individual chambers 103a-103c that are connected to an input port 106 of the mixing circuit 104; Blainey, [0157]).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Blainey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the first microparticles comprise a surface that adsorbs at least one component of the first liquid (the capture substrate can be configured to capture a protein, such as hemoglobin, antibodies, carbohydrates, small molecules, or any other cellular component that can be collected from a cell; Blainey, [0158]); or
the second microparticles comprise a surface that adsorbs at least one component of the third liquid;
both (a) and (b).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Blainey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the first microparticles comprise a surface that does not bind nucleic acids (paragraph [0158] of Blainey explains that the microbeads can be treated with an activation chemical that can selectively bind to a cellular component of interest. The cellular component of interest can be chosen to be a component that is not a nucleic acid.)
the second microparticles comprise a surface that does not bind nucleic acids;
or both (a) and (b).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Blainey teaches the method of claim 3.
Modified Blainey fails to teach the conduit comprises an inner fluorinated surface. However, Blainey does teach that “functionalized photocurable perfluoropolyether (PFPE) is particularly useful as a material for fabricating solvent-resistant microfluidic devices” ([0168])). Figures 2 and 3 of Rolland (incorporated by reference) show inner channels made of a PFPE (page 2323). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Blainey to specify the conduit to comprise an inner fluorinated surface. Doing so will allow the capture reagents and other fluids to travel easily through the conduit with little to no swelling (page 2323, column 1, paragraphs 3, 5) which proves resistance to organic solvents (page 2323, column 2, paragraph 2). Also, photocuring of the inner conduit surface decreases fabrication from several hours to a matter of minutes as compared to PDMS (page 2323, column 2, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Blainey teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the first liquid, the third liquid, or both the first liquid and the third liquid comprise nucleic acid (one or more capture reagents, including…nucleic acid; Blainey, [0050]) and the processing system (mixing circuit 104, see Fig. 4) comprises a polymerase chain reaction system (amplifying the nucleic acid fragments inside the mixing circuit. Amplifying can involve, for example without limitation, polymerase chain reaction (PCR); Blainey, [0059]).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Blainey teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first microparticles, the second microparticles, or both first and second microparticles are spherical (a bead with a diameter is a sphere, see spherical shape of microbead in Fig. 2B) and wherein the non-circular opening has a rectangular shape (“The channel can have a substantially-rectangular profile,” and “the one or more protrusions can each have a substantially rectangular profile”;Blainey, [0030])(See rectangular shape of opening between 256 and 252 blocked by microbeads 260 in Fig. 2B).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blainey (US 20160215332 A1) and Rolland (Solvent-Resistant Photocurable “Liquid Teflon” for Microfluidic Device Fabrication, 2004), incorporated by reference in view of Borch et al. (US 20170138939 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Jurgensen (US 20020090741 A1 ).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Blainey teaches the method of claim 1, and first and second microparticles.
Modified Blainey fails to teach the first, second, or both microparticles have a fluorinated surface.
Jurgensen teaches microparticles having a fluorinated surface (The microbeads are
made of a suitable material that is non-reactive with the target component…Suitable materials include…fluorinated…resins ; [0045]).
Jurgensen is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the
same field of endeavor for microparticle separation using microbeads. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the second microparticles taught by Blainey with microbeads made of a fluorinated resin taught by Jurgensen. Doing so would provide an additional layer of separation for unwanted target analytes. Blainey describes the use of multiple microparticle populations within a microfluidic device to achieve controlled retention of cellular components under flow. In order to facilitate the separation, Blainey employs a capture microbead that “selectively binds a cellular component of interest” ([0158]). The addition of the second fluorinated microbeads of Jurgensen would provide the benefit of allowing the undesired cellular components of the same or subsequent fluid to continue to flow downstream and therefore isolate the components of interest. These undesired cellular components can then become the desired components in another separation process. Combining the binding microbeads of Blainey with Jurgensen’s fluorinated microbeads represents a routine materials optimization that is well-known in the art and would have yielded the predictable result of further separation between cellular components (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blainey (US 20160215332 A1) and Rolland (Solvent-Resistant Photocurable “Liquid Teflon” for Microfluidic Device Fabrication, 2004), incorporated by reference in view of Borch et al. (US 20170138939 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Maeda (US 20030143123 A1).
Regarding claim 24, The method of claim 1.
Modified Blainey fails to teach the first sample suspension is provided in a first sample container and the second sample suspension is provided in a second sample container different from the first sample container.
Maeda teaches a first sample is provided in a first sample container and a second sample is provided in a second sample container different from the first sample container (“Sample vessels 3 each containing a liquid sample to be analyzed are arranged on a rack 31,” wherein “the sampling needle 5 is dipped into the sample vessel 3 and the pump 2 is actuated so that a predetermined amount of the liquid sample is sucked in and collected”; [0006], [0010]; Fig. 3).
Maeda is pertinent to the problem of obtaining successive samples from containers into a sample conduit. Modified Blainey already contemplates receiving samples through input port 316 coupled to a well compatible with a pipette, including a multi-channel pipette (Blainey, [0173]), while Maeda teaches a sampling needle for withdrawing liquid samples from respective sample vessels for subsequent analysis within intermediate rinsing ([0008]). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the filtering method taught by Blainey in view of Borch by incorporating the teachings of Maeda and coupling first and second containers for each suspension to the input port because it would provide a known and predictably means for receiving the sample suspensions during successive iterations of Blainey’s process, and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blainey (US 20160215332 A1) and Rolland (Solvent-Resistant Photocurable “Liquid Teflon” for Microfluidic Device Fabrication, 2004), incorporated by reference in view of Borch et al. (US 20170138939 A1), and Maeda (US 20030143123 A1), as applied to claim 24 above, and in further view of Shukla et al. (US 7276158 B1).
Regarding claim 25, Modified Blainey teaches the method of claim 24.
Modified Blainey is silent to teaching the at least one non-circular opening is an opening of a sample conduit.
Shukla teach at least one non-circular opening is an opening of a sample conduit (a pipette tip designed to perform filtration or sample separation on the basis of one or more perforations, holes or incisions performed on the tip. Such perforation, holes or incisions are large enough to permit the passage of fluids or smaller particles,” wherein the perforation is “The perforations/incisions can be…slits; Abstract, col. 4, ll. 37-39).
Shukla is pertinent to the problem of obtaining successive samples from different sample containers into a sample conduit. Modified Blainey teaches an embodiment where “beads are mixed with DNA, the DNA precipitates on to the surface of the beads, then the beads are filtered through specially patterned valves that hold the beads to wash and elute the DNA off the beads,” ([0258]). This sequence of steps would only require a direct path from the input port to the sieves since Borch already teaches the samples are pre-mixed. Shukla supplies a configuration that achieves this by filtering the sample directly through the end of the pipette tip. Blainey already contemplates using the device with a well compatible with a pipette, including a multi-channel pipette. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the filtering channel taught by Blainey in view of Borch and Maeda by incorporating the teachings of Shukla and positioning the at least one openings at the top of the sieve valve channels because it would provide a known and predictably means for performing sampling and filtering simultaneously, and this involves applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (See MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
Regarding claim 26, Modified Blainey teaches the method of claim 25, further comprising continuously flow the desired volume of the first sample suspension through the at least one non-circular opening, and, after dispersing the first self-assembled filter element to continuously flow the desired volume of the second sample suspension through the at least one non-circular opening.
Modified Blainey fails to teach placing the sample conduit into the first and second sample containers.
However, Modified Blainey already teaches repeating the process of receiving a premixed sample through an inlet port that is coupled to separate sample containers for each sample suspension where reversal of flow for removing the beads is the process. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the filtering method taught by Blainey in view of Borch, Maeda and Shukla by sequentially processing the samples from different containers because it would maintain sample identity and would allow the sampling process to continue after depletion of sample volume from the first container.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Brewer et al., 2017 (instant PTO-892) teaches pipette tips with sorbent and barrier above sorbent.
No claims are allowed.
/V.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796