Claims 1, 7, 34, 35, 38, 40, 41, 43-47, 51, 54, 58, 61, 62, 68, 91, 93, 96, 119, 123, 124, 126, 127 are pending.
Claims 2-6, 8-33, 36, 37, 39, 42, 48-50, 52, 53, 55-57, 59, 60, 63-67, 69-90, 92, 94, 95, 97-118, 120-122, and 125 are cancelled.
Claims 38, 40, 41, 43-47, 51, 54, 61, 62, 68, 119, 123, and 124 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 7, 58, 91, and 126-127 are amended.
Claims 1, 7, 34, 35, 58, 91, 93, 96, 126 and 127 are currently being examined.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 35 objected to because of the following informalities: the formula "R3-(0-CH2-CH2)n-O-" has the number 0 instead of the letter O. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In regard to claim 7, the “cholesterol or derivative thereof” does not meet the written description provision of 35 USC § 112, first paragraph, due to lacking chemical structural information for what they are and chemical structures are highly variant and encompass a myriad of possibilities. The specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus of derivatives of cholesterol encompassed by the claim, since there is no description of the structural relationship of these derivatives provided in the specification and Applicant has not provided a description as to how the base molecule may be changed while remaining a derivative.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 34, 35, 58, 91, 93, 96 and 126-127 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 77, and 85 of copending Application No. 18/546,131 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending application recites an extracellular vesicle comprising a biologically active molecule covalently linked to the EV via an anchoring moiety (claim 1). The anchoring moiety comprises a linker and spacers (claim 1), including a cholesterol (claim 77), TEG (claim 77), phosphorothioate (claim 85) and phosphodiesterase/phosphodiester (claim 85).
The difference between instant application and the patented claims is that the patent claims include additional limitations. Thus, the invention of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”, and, therefore, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the patent and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 7, 34, 35, 58, 91, 93, 96 and 126-127 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 144 of copending Application No. 18/050,017 (reference application) in view of HARASZTI (Optimized Cholesterol-siRNA Chemistry Improves Productive Loading onto Extracellular Vesicles. Molecular Therapy. 2018.).
The copending application recites an extracellular vesicle comprising an antisense oligonucleotide (ASO), which reads on biologically active molecule (claim 144). The vesicle further comprises a cholesterol (claim 144) an anchoring moiety (claim 144). The anchoring moiety comprises a linker (claim 144), a phosphorothioate (claim 144).
The application does not teach using triethylene glycol (TEG) and phosphodiester.
HARASZTI teaches extracellular vesicles that are conjugated to siRNA, which reads on a biologically active molecule, via a linkage (abstract), which reads on anchoring moiety. The linkage comprises a cholesterol (abstract), which reads on sterol, conjugated to triethylene glycol (TEG) (figure 1), that is further conjugated to a phosphorodiester/phosphodiester (PO) and phosphorothioate (PS) that is then connected to the siRNA (figure 4). TEG provided productive exosomal loading (abstract). The phosphodiester linkage, and the overall linkages in general, can be modified to modulate the rate of cholesterol cleavage (page 1977, paragraph 2)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate TEG and phosphodiester. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because TEG provides productive exosomal loading and phosphodiester linkage, in general all forms of linkage combination, can be modified to modulate the rate of cholesterol cleavage, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as extracellular vesicles delivering biologically active molecules that utilize cholesterol and various linkers/spacers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 7, 34, 35, 58, 91, 93, 96 and 126-127 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 41, 50, and 52 of copending Application No. 18/546,130 (reference application) in view of HARASZTI (Optimized Cholesterol-siRNA Chemistry Improves Productive Loading onto Extracellular Vesicles. Molecular Therapy. 2018.).
The copending application recites an extracellular vesicles comprising an siRNA (claims 1 and 3). The vesicle comprises an anchoring moiety (claim 50) and a phosphorothioate (claim 41), and a linker (claim 52).
The application does not teach using triethylene glycol (TEG), phosphodiester and cholesterol.
HARASZTI teaches extracellular vesicles that are conjugated to siRNA, which reads on a biologically active molecule, via a linkage (abstract), which reads on anchoring moiety. The linkage comprises a cholesterol (abstract), which reads on sterol, conjugated to triethylene glycol (TEG) (figure 1), that is further conjugated to a phosphorodiester/phosphodiester (PO) and phosphorothioate (PS) that is then connected to the siRNA (figure 4). TEG provided productive exosomal loading (abstract). The cholesterol enables efficient and reproductible loading of the vesicle with the siRNA (abstract). The phosphodiester linkage, and the overall linkages in general, can be modified to modulate the rate of cholesterol cleavage (page 1977, paragraph 2)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate TEG, cholesterol and phosphodiester. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because TEG provides productive exosomal loading, the cholesterol enables efficient and reproductible loading of the vesicle with the siRNA and phosphodiester linkage, in general all forms of linkage combination, can be modified to modulate the rate of cholesterol cleavage, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as extracellular vesicles delivering siRNA that utilize various linkers/spacers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 7, 34, 35, 58, 91, 93, 96 and 126-127 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 36, 88, and 90 of copending Application No. 17/635,298 (reference application) in view of HARASZTI (Optimized Cholesterol-siRNA Chemistry Improves Productive Loading onto Extracellular Vesicles. Molecular Therapy. 2018.).
The copending application recites an extracellular vesicle comprising an antisense oligonucleotide (claim 1), which reads on biologically active molecule. The vesicle further comprises an anchoring moiety and linker (claim 36 and 88), which includes TEG and cholesterol (claim 90).
The application does not teach using phosphorothioate and phosphodiester.
HARASZTI teaches extracellular vesicles that are conjugated to siRNA, which reads on a biologically active molecule, via a linkage (abstract), which reads on anchoring moiety. The linkage comprises a cholesterol (abstract), which reads on sterol, conjugated to triethylene glycol (TEG) (figure 1), that is further conjugated to a phosphorodiester/phosphodiester (PO) and phosphorothioate (PS) that is then connected to the siRNA (figure 4). The phosphorothioate modification provided additional stabilization (page 1976, paragraph 1). The phosphodiester linkage, and the overall linkages in general, can be modified to modulate the rate of cholesterol cleavage (page 1977, paragraph 2)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate phosphorothioate and phosphodiester. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the phosphorothioate modification provided additional stabilization and phosphodiester linkage, in general all forms of linkage combination, can be modified to modulate the rate of cholesterol cleavage, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as extracellular vesicles delivering siRNA that utilize various linkers/spacers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 34, 35, 58, 91, 93, and 96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HARASZTI (Optimized Cholesterol-siRNA Chemistry Improves Productive Loading onto Extracellular Vesicles. Molecular Therapy. 2018.).
Regarding claim 1, HARASZTI teaches extracellular vesicles that are conjugated to siRNA, which reads on a biologically active molecule, via a linkage (abstract), which reads on anchoring moiety. The linkage comprises a cholesterol (abstract), which reads on sterol, conjugated to triethylene glycol (TEG) (figure 1), that is further conjugated to a phosphorodiester/phosphodiester (PO) and phosphorothioate (PS) that is then connected to the siRNA (figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, HARASZTI teaches a cholesterol is used (abstract).
Regarding claim 34, HARASZTI teaches using TEG (figure 4), which is a polyethylene glycol.
Regarding claim 35, HARASZTI teaches using TEG (figure 4), which has the formula of H-(O-CH2-CH2)3-O.
Regarding claim 58, HARASZTI teaches that TEG, PO and PS are used (figure 4)
Regarding claim 91, HARASZTI teaches that the siRNA is conjugated onto the extracellular vesicle (abstract), which reads on covalently linked on an exterior surface.
Regarding claims 93 and 96, HARASZTI teaches that the biologically active molecule is an siRNA, which reads on a polynucleotide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 34, 35, 58, 91, 93, 96 and 126-127 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HARASZTI (Optimized Cholesterol-siRNA Chemistry Improves Productive Loading onto Extracellular Vesicles. Molecular Therapy. 2018.) in view of MANAHARAN (US 8,828,956 B2).
HARASZTI teaches Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
HARASZTI does not teach adding a C3 or C6 spacer.
Regarding claim 126 and 127, MANAHARAN teaches a method of delivering siRNA by conjugating it to cholesterol (column 3, paragraph 1 and 3). Various spacers can be used and combined such as C3, C6, and TEG (column 73, paragraph 2). These spacers help to stabilize the composition (column 73, paragraph 2). MANAHARAN further teaches using a phosphodiester and phosphorothioate linkage (column 54, paragraph 8).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a C3 or C6 spacer. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because C3 and C6 and TEG, which is used in HARASZTI, are functional equivalents of spacers commonly used in the pharmaceutical industry for delivering siRNA when it is conjugated to cholesterol. Furthermore these spacers helped to stabilize the composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7, 34, 35, 58, 91, 93, 96, 126 and 127 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Furthermore, as discussed above HARASZTI teaches using a PS linker.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/S.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1618 /JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618