Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ke et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0229023), herein referred to as “Ke”, in view of Wei et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0038164), herein referred to as “Wei”, held further Mildh and Teyeb (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0120725), herein referred to as “Mildh.” Wei is supported by provisional application 62/734726 dated September 21, 2018.
Regarding Claim 1,
Ke discloses: A routing method for an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) system, comprising: acquiring, by a first communication node, load information of a second communication node, wherein the first communication node is a Donor Central Unit (CU) in an IAB Donor and the second communication node is an IAB node or a Donor Distributed Unit (DU) on the IAB Donor
[0421] FIG. 11 is a schematic diagram of a fifth embodiment of a method of operating and controlling a data flow of the present disclosure. The CP-UP may obtain a resource of the DU in two ways, respectively as shown at steps 11-101 to 11-105 and at steps 11-201 to 11-207.
[0422] At step 11-101, the DU transmits the resource condition report of the DU to the CU-CP. Optionally, the report contains at least resource information of the DU (as described at step 301, such as an identity of the DU, an identity of the cell managed by the DU, a resource condition of the DU, and a resource condition of the cell).
Note: The “load information” is the resource information of the DU contained in the resource condition report transmitted to (“acquired”) the CU.
Ke does not explicitly disclose the following limitations.
Wei discloses sending, by the first communication node, routing configuration information to a second communication node.
[0089] In another example, an example of IAB node's integration procedure phase 2-1: Routing update is shown by FIG. 3g, which may operate as follows: 1. Donor-CU sends F1AP message which includes the routing configuration information towards donor-DU to Donor-DU; 2. Donor-CU sends F1AP message which includes another inner F1AP message contains the routing configuration information towards IAB node 1 to Donor DU; 3. Donor-DU extracts the inner F1AP message contains the routing configuration information towards IAB node1, then sends the Adapt PDU to IAB node 1 via SRB (with architecture 1a) or DRB (with architecture 1b). The mentioned routing configuration information will be used by the routing function in adaptation layer of IAB node1.
[0090] In another example, an example of IAB node's integration procedure phase 2-2: IAB node DU part setup is shown by FIG. 3h which may operate as follows:
3. Donor-DU encapsulates the payload3 in its F1AP message and sends the F1AP message to Donor-CU; 4. Donor-CU extracts payload3, and gets the inner F1AP message (i.e. F1 setup request) sent from IAB node 2, then generates DL F1AP message (i.e. F1 setup response) in response to the IAB node 2's connection request, and encapsulates it to another outer DL F1AP message towards Donor DU; 5. Donor-CU sends the nested F1AP message to Donor DU;
Note: Steps 3-5 of Figure 3h include routing information.
Ke and Wei are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the concept of sending routing configuration information to the DU as taught by Wei so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Mildh further discloses wherein the routing configuration information comprises a routing list configured for data having different granularities and identifiers of the data having different granularities.
[0097] Other exemplary embodiments include methods and/or procedures in IAB donor CU for assigning the IP address(es) to the IAB node and/or notifying the IAB donor DU routing function. In some embodiments, these functions can be performed by the IAB donor CU sending an F1-AP message to the donor DU or second IAB node, the message containing the routing information for an IAB node. The routing information can include, e.g., adaptation layer addressing information, IP address of first IAB node, QoS requirements, etc. In other embodiments, these functions can be performed by the IAB donor CU sending an message via RRC or other signalling protocol (e.g., NAS) to the IAB node via the DU with information about IAB node's IP address.
[0099] In other embodiments, the IAB node could request or generate multiple IP addresses. For instance, different IP addresses could be generated, each associated with a different backhaul bearer or with different QoS class. For example, a particular IP address could be used for end user traffic with a particular QoS requirement, or for a particular QoS flow indication. In other embodiments, the IAB node can send a request for an IP address(es) using MAC-layer CE or PDCP-layer control PDUs. Alternately, the IAB node can send an announcement of its IP address(es) using MAC-layer CE or PDCP-layer control PDUs.
Note: The routing information includes QoS requirements, which is identified by a particular IP address. Also, Applicant states that “different granularities” can include an identifier for QoS category as well as an identifier of a UE (paragraph [0057]), to where “a QoS flow indication” is being used here to read on this element of the limitation.
Mildh also discloses wherein the data having different granularities comprise a Quality of Service (QoS) category; wherein the identifier of the QoS category comprises at least one of the following: flow label information of the IP data packet for the data transmission of the QoS category; an IP address of the IP data packet for the data transmission of the QoS category.
[0099] In other embodiments, the IAB node could request or generate multiple IP addresses. For instance, different IP addresses could be generated, each associated with a different backhaul bearer or with different QoS class. For example, a particular IP address could be used for end user traffic with a particular QoS requirement, or for a particular QoS flow indication. In other embodiments, the IAB node can send a request for an IP address(es) using MAC-layer CE or PDCP-layer control PDUs. Alternately, the IAB node can send an announcement of its IP address(es) using MAC-layer CE or PDCP-layer control PDUs.
Ke and Mildh are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the concept of having a routing list configured for data having different granularities and identifiers of the data having different granularities as taught by Mildh so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Regarding Claim 2,
Ke does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 2.
However, Wei discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the routing list comprises at least one routing Identifier (ID), and the routing ID comprises at least one of the following: a route number, an address of a destination routing node and an address of a routing source node.
[0090] In another example, an example of IAB node's integration procedure phase 2-2: IAB node DU part setup is shown by FIG. 3h which may operate as follows: In this phase, the IAB node DU part is setup via F1 interface setup procedure between IAB node and Donor CU; 1. IAB node2 DU part generates F1AP message and does security protection in PDCP layer to get payload 3, then adds routing information (e.g. IAB node2's address, Donor-CU's address) in adaptation layer.
Ke and Wei are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the concept of having the address of a destination node as taught by Wei so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Regarding Claim 3,
Ke does not disclose all the limitation of claim 3.
However, Mildh discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the identifiers of the data having different granularities further comprise at least one of the following:
an identifier of User Equipment (UE); or
an identifier of the second communication node.
[0111] The exemplary method and/or procedure can include the operations of block 1410, where the CN node can receive a registration request from an integrated access backhaul (IAB) node in the RAN. In some embodiments, the registration request does not include a request for either a packet data connection or protocol data unit (PDU) resources. In some embodiments, the registration request includes one of the following: an identifier of the IAB node; and information that distinguishes the IAB node from a UE.
Note: The information that delineates the IAB node from the UE can be interpreted as an identifier of both an IAB node or the UE.
Ke and Zhu are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the concept of having an identifier of the UE and the DU as taught by Zhu so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Regarding Claim 4,
Ke in view of Wei and Zhu does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 4.
However, Mildh discloses: The method according to claim 3, wherein the identifier of the RB comprises at least one of the following:
a Tunnel Endpoint Identifier (TEID) of a General Packet Radio Service Tunneling Protocol (GTP) data packet for the RB data transmission;
an Internet Protocol (IP) address of the first communication node;
an IP address of a Centralized Unit (CU) of the first communication node;
an IP address of the second communication node;
an IP address of a Mobile Terminal (MT) of the second communication node;
an IP address of a Distributed Unit (DU) of the second communication node; and
Flow Label information in an IP data packet header for the RB data transmission.
[0072] One way to support this functionality is to support IP routing functionality in the gNB-DU as also illustrated in FIG. 8. A resulting problem is a need to assign IP address(s) to the IAB nodes, as well as update the routing functionality in the gNB-DU so that the gNB-DU will route certain packets addressed to the IP address of the IAB nodes to the correct wireless link, as well assigning the right address in the adaptation layer between the gNB-DU and the next IAB node.
Ke in view of Wei, Zhu, and Mildh are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke in view of Wei and Zhu to include the concept of having IP addresses at different communication nodes as taught by Mildh so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Regarding Claim 5,
Ke does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 5.
However, Mildh discloses: The method according to claim 3, wherein the identifier of the second communication node comprises at least one of the following:
an identifier of a distributed unit (DU) in the second communication node;
an IP address of the DU in the second communication node;
an identifier of a Mobile Terminal (MT) in the second communication node; and
an IP address of the MT in the second communication node.
[0072] One way to support this functionality is to support IP routing functionality in the gNB-DU as also illustrated in FIG. 8. A resulting problem is a need to assign IP address(s) to the IAB nodes, as well as update the routing functionality in the gNB-DU so that the gNB-DU will route certain packets addressed to the IP address of the IAB nodes to the correct wireless link, as well assigning the right address in the adaptation layer between the gNB-DU and the next IAB node.
Ke and Mildh are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the concept of having IP addresses at different communication nodes as taught by Mildh so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Regarding Claim 8,
Ke does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 8.
However, Wei discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first communication node sends routing configuration information to the second communication node, comprising: sending, by the first communication node, the routing configuration information to the second communication node through new F1 interface Disclosure Protocol (F1AP) signaling; or, adding, by the first communication node, the routing configuration information to the existing F1AP signaling, and sending the F1AP signaling after adding the routing configuration information to the second communication node; or,
adding, by the first communication node, the routing configuration information to a UE CONTEXT SETUP request in the existing F1AP signaling or a DRB to Be Setup Item Information Element of the UE CONTEXT SETUP request in the existing F1AP signaling, and sending the F1AP signaling after adding the routing configuration information to the second communication node; or, controlling, by the first communication node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message through a new radio resource, and sending the routing configuration information to the second communication node; or adding, by the first communication node, the routing configuration information to the existing RRC message, and sending the RRC message after adding the routing configuration information to the second communication node.
[0090] In another example, an example of IAB node's integration procedure phase 2-2: IAB node DU part setup is shown by FIG. 3h which may operate as follows:
3. Donor-DU encapsulates the payload3 in its F1AP message and sends the F1AP message to Donor-CU; 4. Donor-CU extracts payload3, and gets the inner F1AP message (i.e. F1 setup request) sent from IAB node 2, then generates DL F1AP message (i.e. F1 setup response) in response to the IAB node 2's connection request, and encapsulates it to another outer DL F1AP message towards Donor DU; 5. Donor-CU sends the nested F1AP message to Donor DU;
Ke and Wei are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the concept of using F1AP as taught by Wei so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Ke discloses: A routing method for an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) system, comprising: sending, by a second communication node, load information to a first communication node, wherein the first communication node is a Donor Central Unit (CU) in an IAB Donor and the second communication node is an IAB node or a Donor Distributed Unit (DU) on the IAB Donor
[0421] FIG. 11 is a schematic diagram of a fifth embodiment of a method of operating and controlling a data flow of the present disclosure. The CP-UP may obtain a resource of the DU in two ways, respectively as shown at steps 11-101 to 11-105 and at steps 11-201 to 11-207.
[0422] At step 11-101, the DU transmits the resource condition report of the DU to the CU-CP. Optionally, the report contains at least resource information of the DU (as described at step 301, such as an identity of the DU, an identity of the cell managed by the DU, a resource condition of the DU, and a resource condition of the cell).
Note: The “load information” is the resource information of the DU contained in the resource condition report transmitted to (“acquired”) the CU.
Ke does not explicitly disclose the following limitations.
Wei discloses receiving, by the second communication node, routing configuration information to a second communication node.
[0089] In another example, an example of IAB node's integration procedure phase 2-1: Routing update is shown by FIG. 3g, which may operate as follows: 1. Donor-CU sends F1AP message which includes the routing configuration information towards donor-DU to Donor-DU; 2. Donor-CU sends F1AP message which includes another inner F1AP message contains the routing configuration information towards IAB node 1 to Donor DU; 3. Donor-DU extracts the inner F1AP message contains the routing configuration information towards IAB node1, then sends the Adapt PDU to IAB node 1 via SRB (with architecture 1a) or DRB (with architecture 1b). The mentioned routing configuration information will be used by the routing function in adaptation layer of IAB node1.
[0090] In another example, an example of IAB node's integration procedure phase 2-2: IAB node DU part setup is shown by FIG. 3h which may operate as follows:
3. Donor-DU encapsulates the payload3 in its F1AP message and sends the F1AP message to Donor-CU; 4. Donor-CU extracts payload3, and gets the inner F1AP message (i.e. F1 setup request) sent from IAB node 2, then generates DL F1AP message (i.e. F1 setup response) in response to the IAB node 2's connection request, and encapsulates it to another outer DL F1AP message towards Donor DU; 5. Donor-CU sends the nested F1AP message to Donor DU;
Note: Steps 3-5 of Figure 3h include routing information.
Ke and Wei are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the concept of sending routing configuration information to the DU as taught by Wei so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Mildh further discloses wherein the routing configuration information comprises a routing list configured for data having different granularities and identifiers of the data having different granularities.
[0097] Other exemplary embodiments include methods and/or procedures in IAB donor CU for assigning the IP address(es) to the IAB node and/or notifying the IAB donor DU routing function. In some embodiments, these functions can be performed by the IAB donor CU sending an F1-AP message to the donor DU or second IAB node, the message containing the routing information for an IAB node. The routing information can include, e.g., adaptation layer addressing information, IP address of first IAB node, QoS requirements, etc. In other embodiments, these functions can be performed by the IAB donor CU sending an message via RRC or other signalling protocol (e.g., NAS) to the IAB node via the DU with information about IAB node's IP address.
[0099] In other embodiments, the IAB node could request or generate multiple IP addresses. For instance, different IP addresses could be generated, each associated with a different backhaul bearer or with different QoS class. For example, a particular IP address could be used for end user traffic with a particular QoS requirement, or for a particular QoS flow indication. In other embodiments, the IAB node can send a request for an IP address(es) using MAC-layer CE or PDCP-layer control PDUs. Alternately, the IAB node can send an announcement of its IP address(es) using MAC-layer CE or PDCP-layer control PDUs.
Note: The routing information includes QoS requirements, which is identified by a particular IP address. Also, Applicant states that “different granularities” can include an identifier for QoS category as well as an identifier of a UE (paragraph [0057]), to where “a QoS flow indication” is being used here to read on this element of the limitation.
Mildh also discloses wherein the data having different granularities comprise a Quality of Service (QoS) category; wherein the identifier of the QoS category comprises at least one of the following: flow label information of the IP data packet for the data transmission of the QoS category; an IP address of the IP data packet for the data transmission of the QoS category.
[0099] In other embodiments, the IAB node could request or generate multiple IP addresses. For instance, different IP addresses could be generated, each associated with a different backhaul bearer or with different QoS class. For example, a particular IP address could be used for end user traffic with a particular QoS requirement, or for a particular QoS flow indication. In other embodiments, the IAB node can send a request for an IP address(es) using MAC-layer CE or PDCP-layer control PDUs. Alternately, the IAB node can send an announcement of its IP address(es) using MAC-layer CE or PDCP-layer control PDUs.
Ke and Mildh are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke to include the concept of having a routing list configured for data having different granularities and identifiers of the data having different granularities as taught by Mildh so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Regarding Claim 28,
Ke discloses: A routing device, comprising a processor configured to realize the routing method according to claim 1 when executing a computer program.
Processors are inherent in wireless communications systems.
Regarding Claim 30,
Ke discloses: A computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored in the computer-readable storage medium; and the computer program realizes the routing method according to claim 1.
Memory is inherent in wireless communication systems.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ke in view of Wei and Mildh, held further in view of Zhu (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0092667).
Regarding Claim 6,
Ke in view of Wei and Mildh does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 6.
However, Zhu discloses: The method according to claim 3, wherein the identifier of the QoS category further comprises:
and a 5th Generation (5G) communication QoS Indicator of Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) to which the data packet of QoS category belongs.
[0466] S518: The CU sends a downlink F1AP message (for example, UE context configuration information) to the DU, where the downlink F1AP message may be used to perform a UE-related configuration on the DU. The UE-related configuration includes: an identifier of the UE (for example, a CU F1AP UE ID allocated by the CU to the UE on an F1 interface, an identifier that is allocated by the CU to the UE and that can be identified at the adaptation layer, an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) of the UE, a temporary mobile subscriber identity (TMSI) of the UE, or a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the UE), an identifier of a radio bearer of the UE, a QoS parameter corresponding to the radio bearer of the UE, an ARQ mode corresponding to the UE at an RLC layer or an ARQ mode corresponding to the radio bearer at an RLC layer, a QoS identifier (for example, a 5QI, a QFI, a QCI, or a DSCP) corresponding to a service of the UE, and a QoS parameter corresponding to the QoS identifier. Optionally, the UE-related configuration may further include a QoS mapping rule of the data packet on the DU (for example, a mapping rule from a QoS label or an F1AP message type carried in the data packet on the F1 interface to the radio bearer of the UE or a radio bearer between the DU and the IAB node 1, where the radio bearer may be a DRB or an SRB).
Ke in view of Wei, Mildh, and Zhu are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke in view of Wei and Mildh to include the concept of having a QoS Indicator of DRBs as taught by Zhu so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ke in view of Wei and Mildh, held further in view of Bhakri (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0050306), herein referred to as “Bhakri.”
Regarding Claim 7,
Ke in view of Wei and Mildh does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 7.
However, Bhakri discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the routing configuration information also comprises at least one of the following:
a feature of routes corresponding to the routing list, the feature of the routes comprising at least one of primary route and backup route; priorities of the routes corresponding to the routing list; a QoS identifier list that can be supported by the routes corresponding to the routing list; a backup routing ID corresponding to the routing ID in the routing list; a the number of remaining hops between the second communication node and a destination node in the routes corresponding to the routing list.
[0012] Particularly, the data redundancy allocation system may interface between network nodes associated with the telecommunications network and data repositories that are configured to store data records associated with the network nodes. The data redundancy allocation system may include network node routing list that is used to direct data records associated with the network nodes to one of the available data repositories. In one example, the network node routing list may include a list of multiple data repositories along with a designation of one data repository as an active repository. Additionally, or alternatively, the network node routing list may include a priority assignment for each data repository that designates an order of data repositories that the data redundancy allocation system should adhere to when transmitting data records associated with network nodes.
Ke in view of Wei, Mildh, and Bhakri are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke in view of Wei and Mildh to include the concept of priorities of the routes corresponding to the routing list as taught by Bhakri so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ke in view of Wei and Mildh, held further in view of Sirotkin et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0223078), herein referred to as “Sirotkin”.
Regarding Claim 11,
Ke in view of Wei and Mildh does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 11.
However, Sirotkin discloses: The method according to claim 10, after the second communication node receives the routing configuration information sent by the first communication node, further comprising: selecting a route corresponding to a destination routing list for service data transmission according to the routing configuration information after the second communication node determines that the status of a current radio link is changed.
[0118] At operation 715, the relay 114 may determine a destination for forwarding of the packet. In some embodiments, the relay 114 may determine the destination based on the adaptation layer header, although the scope of embodiments is not limited in this respect. In some embodiments, the destination may be another relay 114 of the IAB or the UE 102.
[0133] In option 2, each IAB node keeps a routing table. In this option, the gNB-CU 106 may update the routing table(s) in some cases, including but not limited to one or more of the following cases: when an IAB node is added/removed; when the UE 102 attaches to an IAB node; when a handover of the UE 102 from one IAB node to another IAB node occurs; when the UE 102 is removed from an IAB node; when a link of one of the IAB node is not available; and/or other. In some embodiments, in option 2, the adaptation header may include a UE ID and UE bearer ID. In some embodiments, the adaptation header may include a source ID and/or source bearer ID.
Ke in view of Wei, Mildh, and Sirotkin are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke in view of Wei and Zhu to include selecting a route corresponding to a destination when the status of a current radio link has changes as taught by Sirotkin so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Regarding Claim 12,
Ke in view of Wei and Mildh does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 12.
However, Sirotkin discloses: The method according to claim 11, wherein selecting the route corresponding to the destination routing list for service data transmission according to the routing configuration information comprises: determining, by the second communication node, the destination routing list according to a priority of the route corresponding to the routing list, and transmitting service data in the route corresponding to the destination routing list; or determining, by the second communication node, the destination routing list according to the number of remaining hops between the second communication node and a destination node in the route corresponding to the routing lists, and transmitting service data in the route corresponding to the destination routing list; or
determining, by the second communication node, the destination routing list according to the QoS identifier list that can be supported by the routes corresponding to the routing lists, and transmitting service data in the route corresponding to the destination routing list; or determining, by the second communication node, the destination routing list according to local radio link information and the routing configuration information, and transmitting service data in the route corresponding to the destination routing list.
[0133] In option 2, each IAB node keeps a routing table. In this option, the gNB-CU 106 may update the routing table(s) in some cases, including but not limited to one or more of the following cases: when an IAB node is added/removed; when the UE 102 attaches to an IAB node; when a handover of the UE 102 from one IAB node to another IAB node occurs; when the UE 102 is removed from an IAB node; when a link of one of the IAB node is not available; and/or other. In some embodiments, in option 2, the adaptation header may include a UE ID and UE bearer ID. In some embodiments, the adaptation header may include a source ID and/or source bearer ID.
Ke in view of Wei, Mildh, and Sirotkin are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke in view of Wei and Zhu to include determining the destination routing list according to local radio link information and the routing configuration information as taught by Sirotkin so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ke in view of Wei, Mildh, and Bhakri, held further in view of Jen et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2018/0295529), herein referred to as “Jen.”
Regarding Claim 16,
Ke in view of Wei, Mildh, and Bhakri does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 16.
However, Jen discloses: The method according to claim 11, wherein selecting the route corresponding to the destination routing list for service data transmission comprises:
selecting routes corresponding to a plurality of destination routing lists for service data transmission when the second communication node determines that the service volume on a current radio link is greater than a specified service volume threshold; and selecting the route corresponding to a destination routing list for service data transmission when the second communication node determines that the service volume on the current radio link is less than or equal to the service volume threshold.
[0059] Additionally, or alternatively, S440 may include fast-filtering poor performing radio links from the radio links that may be considered in the formulation of a proposed fastest route path for a node. For instance, fast-filtering the radio links may include setting a performance threshold for route segments or an overall routing path, possibly based on bit rates, and comparing all links available for a possible route segment to the performance threshold. Thus, any radio link that does not satisfy, exceeds, or falls below the threshold are immediately filtered from a database or list of radio links that can be considered for a proposed fastest route path. Accordingly, fast-filtering the radio links reduces the amount of processing and time required for generating a fastest route path for a subject node.
Ke in view of Wei, Mildh, Bhakri, and Jen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke in view of Wei, Mildh, and Bhakri to include the concept of a threshold as taught by Jen so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ke in view of Wei, Mildh, Bhakri, and Jen, held further in view of Zhang (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2016/0149797), herein referred to as “Zhang.”
Regarding Claim 17,
Ke in view of Wei, Mildh, Bhakri, and Jen does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 17.
However, Zhang discloses: The method according to claim 16, wherein selecting the routes corresponding to the plurality of destination routing lists for service data transmission comprises: equally distributing, by the second communication node, service data to be transmitted to the routes corresponding to the plurality of destination routing lists for transmission; or, determining a distribution proportion, by the second communication node, according to at least one of: the priorities of the routes corresponding to the routing lists, the number of remaining hops between the second communication node and the destination node in the routes corresponding to the routing lists, the QoS identifier list that can be supported by the routes corresponding to the routing lists and the local radio link information; and distributing the data to be transmitted to the routes corresponding to the plurality of destination routing lists according to the distribution proportion for service data transmission.
[0047] In a first possible implementation manner of the second aspect,
[0048] the generating, by the tail node of the first path, the first route message includes:
[0049] when the route that is distributed by the second BGP speaker and is towards the destination reaches the tail node of the first path, adding, by the tail node of the first path, a first priority to the next hop list attribute in the route towards the destination;
[0050] the generating, by the tail node of the second path, the second route message includes:
[0051] when the route that is distributed by the second BGP speaker and is towards the destination reaches the tail node of the second path, adding, by the tail node of the second path, a second priority to the next hop list attribute in the route towards the destination;
[0052] the determining unit is further configured to:
[0053] determine that the quantity of next hops in the first next hop list attribute is equal to the quantity of next hops in the second next hop list attribute; and
[0054] determine that the first priority is higher than the second priority; and
[0055] the generating unit is further configured to:
[0056] generate the route entry according to the path attributes, of the path towards the destination, in the first route message corresponding to the first priority.
Ke in view of Wei, Mildh, Bhakri, Jen, and Zhang, are considered to be analogous because they pertain to routing over network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ke in view of Wei, Mildh, Bhakri, and Jen to include the concept of determining a distribution proportion according to the priorities of routes as taught by Zhang so as to effectively route communication over a network.
Response to Arguments
The following claims were amended: 1, 2, and 9.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-12, 16-17, 28, and 31 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 9 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. To begin, Applicant states that the “sending” step is not met by applying secondary reference Wei. There are two issues with this position. First, Applicant states that Wei does not read on the claims, but then states that Ke does not. See generally page 11. Giving the Applicant the benefit of the doubt, Figure 3h and cited paragraph [0090] in their response is actually from Wei, not Ke. Second, and to respond more fully, Wei does indeed read on the claims. Referring to Figure 3h, the IAB donor contains the DU and CU, where the CY is the first communication note, and the second communication node can be an IAB node. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the CU sends routing configuration information, in particular from step 5 onwards towards the IAB node. Applicant should also consider paragraph [0089] now included in this rejection as it shows similar steps coming from the CU to the IAB node. Therefore, this rejection is maintained.
As for former reference Zhu, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411