Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-11, 21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hidaka, Foreign Patent Document, JPH05278942.
Regarding independent claim 1, Hidaka discloses a speed adjusting cable assembly configured for use with a cable feeder having at least one motor-driven roller to feed at least one cable through the cable feeder (10, Fig. 1), the speed adjusting cable assembly comprising: a frame (12, 46, 50, Fig. 1); a rotatable boom arm assembly pivotally connected to the frame (64, Fig. 1) and adapted for determining an amount of slack in the cable (Paragraph [0005]), the rotatable boom arm assembly comprising: a shaft extending from, and pivotally connected to, the frame (60 extends from 50, Fig. 3); a boom arm connected to the shaft (64 connected to shaft 60, Fig. 1, 3); and a cable guide on the boom arm which is configured to allow the cable to pass therethrough (end of 64 perpendicular to boom arm 64 attached at pivot 60, Fig. 3); a sensor in communication with the boom arm assembly ("a slack detection device", Paragraph [0005], line 4), the sensor measuring a rotational position of the boom arm relative to a horizontal plane that is parallel to an axis about which the shaft rotates (Paragraph [0005], lines 4-7); and a controller configured to automatically adjust a speed setting for operation of the cable feeder during a cable feeding operation to account for downstream usage of the cable by a cable puller by maintaining a preset amount of slack on the cable between the cable feeder and a conduit between the cable feeder and the cable puller (Paragraph [0005]; Paragraph [0032], lines 1-3), the maintaining comprising: receiving the measured rotational position of the boom arm relative to the horizontal plane from the sensor (Paragraph [0032], lines 4-11), comparing the measured rotational position to a defined optimal angle of the boom arm relative to the horizontal plane (Paragraph [0032], lines 4-11), and increasing a speed of the at least one motor-driven feeder roller to increase slack in the cable when the boom arm is vertically above the optimal angle thereby causing the boom arm to move toward the optimal angle (Paragraph [0032], lines 4-11), and decrease the speed of the at least one motor-driven feeder roller to decrease slack in the cable when the boom arm is vertically below the optimal angle thereby causing the boom arm to move toward the optimal angle (Paragraph [0005]; Paragraph [0022], lines 5-7).
Regarding claim 2, Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the cable guide includes a housing which is configured to sit on a top surface of the cable (housing is portion of 64 perpendicular to boom arm 64 extending from 60, sits on top of cable, Fig. 1) and is biased downward by gravity in such manner that an increase in slack causes the boom arm to pivot downwardly under gravity (Paragraph [0022], lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 10, Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the sensor is a potentiometer (Paragraph [0027], line 7).
Regarding claim 11, Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further comprising a storage cradle on the frame (46, Fig. 1), wherein the boom arm is configured to be moved into the storage cradle for storage (position "c", Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the controller is configured to control the speed at which the at least one motor-driven roller rotates to feed the cable through the cable feeder when the boom arm is between an operating zone of - 45 degrees from the horizontal plane and 90 degrees from the horizontal plane (position b; Paragraph [0032], lines 4-11), and wherein the controller is configured to stop the at least one motor-driven roller when not within the operating zone (positions a and c; Paragraph [0005]; Paragraph [0022], lines 5-7).
Regarding claim 24, Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the sensor (90, Fig. 4) is provided on the shaft to which the boom arm is mounted (90, 82, 80, 74, 76 is provided on shaft 60 to which 64 is mounted, Fig. 5, 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 12, 16, 18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka, Foreign Patent Document, JPH05278942 in view of Robertson, US20190023520.
Regarding claim 3, Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 2, and a speed adjusting cable assembly.
Hidaka does not disclose a roller rotatably attached to the housing.
Robertson teaches a speed adjusting cable assembly having a roller (326, Fig. 4) rotatably attached to the housing ("roller bars 326 are mounted on a pivoting bar 328" Paragraph [0049], lines 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the speed adjusting cable assembly of Hidaka to have a roller attached to the housing as taught by Robertson to ensure the cable is not damaged during unwinding and contact with the cable guide. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to ensure smooth paying out of cable during operation and to prevent damage to the cable during operation.
Regarding independent claim 12, Hidaka discloses an assembly comprising: a cable feeder comprising a frame (10, Fig. 1), at least one roller mounted on the frame (26, 27 mounted on 46, 50, Fig. 1, 3) and a motor operatively coupled to the at least one roller to rotate the at least one roller so that cable is paid out (40, Fig. 3); and a speed adjusting cable assembly (10, Fig. 1; Paragraph [0005]) comprising a frame (12, 46, 50, Fig. 1), a rotatable boom arm assembly pivotally connected to the frame (64, Fig. 1) and adapted for determining an amount of slack in the cable (Paragraph [0005]), the rotatable boom arm assembly comprising a shaft extending from, and pivotally connected to, the frame (60 extends from 50, Fig. 3); and a boom arm pivotally connected to the shaft (64 connected to shaft 60, Fig. 1, 3) the boom arm having a housing which is configured to sit on a top surface of the cable (housing is portion of 64 perpendicular to boom arm 64 extending from 60, sits on top of cable, Fig. 1); a sensor in communication with the boom arm assembly ("a slack detection device", Paragraph [0005], line 4) and configured to measure a rotational position of the boom arm relative to a horizontal plane that is parallel to an axis about which the shaft rotates (Paragraph [0005], lines 4-7); and a controller configured to automatically adjust a speed setting for operation of the cable feeder during a cable feeding operation to account for downstream usage of the cable by a cable puller by maintaining a preset amount of slack on the cable between the cable feeder and a conduit between the cable feeder and the cable puller (Paragraph [0005]; Paragraph [0032], lines 1-3), the maintaining comprising: receiving the measured rotational position of the boom arm relative to the horizontal plane from the sensor (Paragraph [0032], lines 4-11), comparing the measured rotational position to a defined optimal angle of the boom arm relative to the horizontal plane (Paragraph [0032], lines 4-11), and increasing a speed of the at least one motor-driven feeder roller to increase slack in the cable when the boom arm is vertically above the optimal angle thereby causing the boom arm to move toward the optimal angle (Paragraph [0032], lines 4-11), and decrease the speed of the at least one motor-driven feeder roller to decrease slack in the cable when the boom arm is vertically below the optimal angle thereby causing the boom arm to move toward the optimal angle (Paragraph [0005]; Paragraph [0022], lines 5-7).
Hidaka does not disclose a roller attached to the housing.
Robertson teaches a speed adjusting cable assembly having a roller (326, Fig. 4) attached to the housing ("roller bars 326 are mounted on a pivoting bar 328" Paragraph [0049], lines 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the speed adjusting cable assembly of Hidaka to have a roller attached to the housing as taught by Robertson to ensure the cable is not damaged during unwinding and contact with the cable guide. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to ensure smooth paying out of cable during operation and to prevent damage to the cable during operation.
Regarding claim 16, modified Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 12, and wherein the sensor is a potentiometer (Paragraph [0027], line 7).
Regarding claim 18, modified Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 12, and wherein the frame of the cable feeder and the frame of the speed adjusting cable assembly are integrally formed (12, 46, 50 are integrally formed, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, modified Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 12, and wherein the controller is configured to control the speed at which the at least one motor-driven roller rotates to feed the cable through the cable feeder when the boom arm is between an operating zone of - 45 degrees from the horizontal plane and 90 degrees from the horizontal plane (position b; Paragraph [0032], lines 4-11), and wherein the controller is configured to stop the at least one motor-driven roller when not within the operating zone (positions a and c; Paragraph [0005]; Paragraph [0022], lines 5-7).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka, Foreign Patent Document, JPH05278942 in view of Dir et al., US20150364903.
Regarding claim 4, Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 2, and a speed adjusting cable assembly having a housing.
Hidaka does not disclose the housing has a pair of angled lead-in walls through which the cable passes.
does not disclose wherein the housing has a pair of angled lead-in walls through which the cable passes.
Dir et al. teaches a cable feeder having a housing wherein the housing (110, Fig. 6) has a pair of angled lead-in walls (175, 175', Fig. 6) through which the cable passes (cable passes over rollers 214, 216, between walls 175, 175', Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the speed adjusting cable assembly of Hidaka to add the angled lead-in walls as taught by Dir et al. to avoid sharp edges on which the cable could be damaged or hung up as it passes under the guide. One would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce friction on the cable as it passes under the guide and to ensure the cable is centered with the cable spool.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka, Foreign Patent Document, JPH05278942 in view of Plummer US6073916.
Regarding claim 5, modified Hidaka teaches the limitations of claim 2 and a speed adjusting cable assembly and a housing.
Hidaka, does not disclose the housing has a plurality of bars forming channels through which the cable can pass.
Plummer teaches a cable feeder having a housing wherein the housing (86, Fig. 1) has a plurality of bars (88, Fig. 1) forming channels (space between 88, Fig. 1)through which the cable can pass (cables pass between bars 88, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the speed adjusting cable assembly of Hidaka, to add a plurality of bars to the cable guide housing in order to keep cables separated as they pass under the housing. One would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce tangling and interference between cables during operation.
Claim(s) 6-8, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka, Foreign Patent Document, JPH05278942 in view of Robertson, US20190023520 and Ripplinger, US20140270673.
Regarding claim 6, Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 1, and a speed adjusting cable assembly wherein the cable guide (64, Fig. 3) includes an upper housing portion (end of 64 perpendicular to boom arm 64 attached at pivot 60 lies above cable, Fig. 3).
Hidaka does not disclose a lower housing portion attached to the upper housing portion, wherein the lower housing portion can be at least partially disengaged from the upper housing portion, and further comprising a releasable lock attached to the cable guide and configured to be unlocked to allow the lower housing portion to rotate relative to the upper housing portion.
Robertson et al., teaches a speed adjusting cable assembly, having an upper housing portion (see upper housing portion as shown in Annotated Figure 4 of Robertson et al. below) and a lower housing portion (see lower housing portion as shown in Annotated Figure 4 of Robertson et al. below) attached to the upper housing portion (upper and lower housing portions are attached, integral, see Annotated Figure 4 of Robertson et al. below).
Annotated Figure 4 of Robertson et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cable guide of Hidaka to have the upper and lower housing as taught by Robertson et al., to ensure the cable is not damaged during unwinding and contact with the cable guide. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to ensure smooth paying out of cable during operation and to prevent damage to the cable during operation.
Ripplinger teaches a cable guide (cable roller 32, Fig. 1) wherein the lower housing portion can be at least partially disengaged from the upper housing portion (lower housing portion 90 is partially disengaged in Figure 4 from upper housing 98, Fig. 4), and further comprising a releasable lock (pins 114, 116, Fig 3, Fig. 4) attached to the cable guide and configured to be unlocked to allow the lower housing portion to rotate relative to the upper housing portion (pins 114, 116, attached to 32, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, and when unlocked allow lower housing portion 90 to rotate relative to the upper housing portion 34, 98, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cable guide of Hidaka to have the lower housing portion partially detach from the upper housing portion as taught by Ripplinger in order to make adjustment and feeding of the cable easier. One would have been motivated to make this modification to more easily access the cable.
Regarding claim 7, modified Hidaka teaches the limitations of claim 6, and the upper housing portion.
Hidaka does not disclose wherein the upper housing portion and the lower housing portion are pivotally attached to each other by a hinge.
Ripplinger teaches a cable guide wherein the upper housing portion (34, Fig. 4) and the lower housing portion (90, Fig. 4) are pivotally attached to each other by a hinge (96, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cable guide of modified Hidaka to make the upper and lower housing portion pivotally attached to each other by a hinge as taught by Ripplinger to “allow for the easy removal of the cable from the cable roller” (Abstract, lines 7-8; Ripplinger). One would have been motivated to make this modification to more easily access the cable.
Regarding claim 8, modified Hidaka teaches the limitations of claim 6, and an upper housing portion.
Hidaka does not disclose further comprising an upper roller rotatably attached to the upper housing portion, and a lower roller rotatably attached to the lower housing portion, wherein the cable passes between the rollers.
Robertson et al. teaches a speed adjusting cable assembly having an upper roller (upper roller 326, Fig. 4) rotatably attached ("roller bars 326 are mounted on a pivoting bar 328" Paragraph [0049], lines 3-4) to the upper housing portion (see upper housing portion as shown in Annotated Figure 4 of Robertson et al. above), and a lower roller (lower roller 326, Fig. 4) rotatably attached ("roller bars 326 are mounted on a pivoting bar 328" Paragraph [0049], lines 3-4) to the lower housing portion (see lower housing portion as shown in Annotated Figure 4 of Robertson et al. above), wherein the cable passes between the rollers ("the cable can pass between the roller bars 326" Paragraph [0049], lines 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cable guide of Hidaka to have the upper and lower housings with rollers as taught by Robertson et al., to ensure the cable is not damaged during unwinding and contact with the cable guide. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to ensure smooth paying out of cable during operation and to prevent damage to the cable.
Regarding claim 13, modified Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 12, and a speed adjusting cable assembly wherein the housing (64, Fig. 3) includes an upper housing portion (end of 64 perpendicular to boom arm 64 attached at pivot 60 lies above cable, Fig. 3).
Hidaka does not disclose a lower housing portion attached to the upper housing portion, wherein the lower housing portion can be at least partially disengaged from the upper housing portion, and further comprising a releasable lock attached to the cable guide and configured to be unlocked to allow the lower housing portion to rotate relative to the upper housing portion.
Robertson et al., teaches a speed adjusting cable assembly, having an upper housing portion (see upper housing portion as shown in Annotated Figure 4 of Robertson et al. above) and a lower housing portion (see lower housing portion as shown in Annotated Figure 4 of Robertson et al. above) attached to the upper housing portion (upper and lower housing portions are attached, integral, see Annotated Figure 4 of Robertson et al. below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cable guide of Hidaka to have the upper and lower housing as taught by Robertson et al., to ensure the cable is not damaged during unwinding and contact with the cable guide. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to ensure smooth paying out of cable during operation and to prevent damage to the cable during operation.
Ripplinger teaches a cable guide (cable roller 32, Fig. 1) wherein the lower housing portion can be at least partially disengaged from the upper housing portion (lower housing portion 90 is partially disengaged in Figure 4 from upper housing 98, Fig. 4), and further comprising a releasable lock (pins 114, 116, Fig 3, Fig. 4) attached to the cable guide and configured to be unlocked to allow the lower housing portion to rotate relative to the upper housing portion (pins 114, 116, attached to 32, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, and when unlocked allow lower housing portion 90 to rotate relative to the upper housing portion 34, 98, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cable guide of Hidaka to have the lower housing portion partially detach from the upper housing portion as taught by Ripplinger in order to make adjustment and feeding of the cable easier. One would have been motivated to make this modification to more easily access the cable.
Regarding claim 15, modified Hidaka teaches the limitations of claim 13, and a speed adjusting cable assembly.
Hidaka does not disclose wherein the roller attached to the housing is an upper roller rotatably attached to the upper housing portion, and further comprising a lower roller rotatably attached to the lower housing portion, wherein the cable passes between the upper and lower rollers.
Robertson et al. teaches a speed adjusting cable assembly, wherein the roller attached to the housing is an upper roller (upper roller 326, Fig. 4) rotatably attached ("roller bars 326 are mounted on a pivoting bar 328" Paragraph [0049], lines 3-4) to the upper housing portion (see upper housing portion as shown in Annotated Figure 4 of Robertson et al. above), and a lower roller (lower roller 326, Fig. 4) rotatably attached ("roller bars 326 are mounted on a pivoting bar 328" Paragraph [0049], lines 3-4) to the lower housing portion (see lower housing portion as shown in Annotated Figure 4 of Robertson et al. above), wherein the cable passes between the rollers ("the cable can pass between the roller bars 326" Paragraph [0049], lines 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cable guide of Hidaka to have the upper and lower housings with rollers as taught by Robertson et al., to ensure the cable is not damaged during unwinding and contact with the cable guide. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to ensure smooth paying out of cable during operation and to prevent damage to the cable.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka, Foreign Patent Document, JPH05278942 and Robertson et al. US20190023520A1, as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Plummer US6073916.
Regarding claim 17, modified Hidaka teaches the limitations of claim 12, and a speed adjusting cable assembly.
Hidaka, does not disclose the cable feeder comprises a pair of motor-driven rollers mounted on the frame of the cable feeder, wherein the cable passes between the pair of motor- driven rollers of the cable feeder, wherein the controller controls rotation of both motor-driven rollers.
Plummer teaches the cable feeder (20, Fig. 1) comprises a pair of motor-driven rollers (rollers 36, 38, driven by motors 64, 66, Fig. 11) mounted on the frame of the cable feeder (44, Fig. 1), wherein the cable passes between the motor- driven rollers of the cable feeder (cables 26, 24, 22 pass between the pair of motor driven rollers 36, 38, Fig. 12), wherein the controller (76, Fig. 11) controls rotation of both motor-driven rollers ("each motor 64, 66 is a variable speed motor and is connected to a controller 76" Column 5, lines 18-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the speed adjusting cable assembly of modified Hidaka, to add a cable feeder as taught by Plummer in order to ensure optimized feeding of the cables. One would have been motivated to make this modification to precisely control the speed at which the cables are fed.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka, Foreign Patent Document, JPH05278942 in view of Logan et al., US20170113897.
Regarding claim 23, Hidaka discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the optimal angle is based at least partially upon cable type information (Paragraph [0006], lines 4-10).
Hidaka does not disclose the controller configured to receive the cable type information as input from a user.
Logan et al. teaches a speed adjusting cable assembly, having a controller configured to receive the cable type information as input from a user (Paragraph [0060], lines 3-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the speed adjusting cable assembly of Hidaka to have the controller configured as taught by Logan et al. in order “maintain proper tension” (Paragraph [0060], Logan et al.). One would have been motivated to make this modification to precisely adjust the slack in the cable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/K.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654