DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 29 May 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-2 have been amended, claims 3, 7-18, 21, 26, 31, and 35 have been canceled, claims 19-20, 22-25, 27-30, and 32-34 have been withdrawn, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-2 and 4-6 are presently pending examination.
Response to Arguments
I. Objection to the Claims
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 20 May 2026, with respect to the objections to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments. The objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
II. Rejections of the Claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 20 May 2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments. The rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
III. Rejections of the Claims under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant's arguments filed 29 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Kong does not specify the final factor, or range of factors, by which the predicted sensation threshold is multiplied to reach the treatment current intensity. Thus, Kong does not show or suggest the factor being ‘not less than 1.3 and not greater than 1.9’ or ‘not less than 1.1 and not greater than 3.8’, as required in the claim language” (Remarks, page 11).
Although Kong does not explicitly disclose that that A is between 1.3 and 1.9, nor that B is between 1.1 and 3.8, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so, for the purpose of limiting the amount of electrical charge applied to a safe and/or comfortable range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Applicant further argues that “As previously argued, and as clearly defined in paragraph [0099] of the present application as published, current intensity and electrical charge are two distinct parameters” (Remarks, page 12). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0100] states “An electrical charge parameter can have values of total electric charge for a given time period” (emphasis added). The “can have” does not clearly link the term to only that particular meaning and therefore includes the plain meaning. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shakour et al. (WO 2017141257 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Shakour, in view of Kong et al. (US 20200179694 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Kong.
Regarding claim 1, Shakour discloses a method (Abstract) of determining user-specific treatment parameter values (page 13, lines 25-27; page 20, line 1) for a multi-channel transdermal neurostimulation treatment applied at multiple locations on a user's scalp (Fig. 1b, page 14, lines 21-24, electrode array 102), the method comprising:
(a) setting a first set of treatment parameter values for a first electrode array (page 15, lines 18-21, first cathode-anode pair) in engagement with a first portion of the user's scalp for administering electrical pulses thereto (page 3, lines 10-11; page 14, lines 21-23), according to a first correlation that includes a first direct relationship between at least one parameter value of said first set of treatment parameter values and a corresponding at least one parameter value of a set of user-specific sensory-threshold parameter values (page 34, lines 16-30); and
(b) setting a second set of treatment parameter values for a second electrode array (page 15, lines 21-23, second cathode-anode pair) in engagement with a second portion of the user's scalp for administering electrical pulses thereto (page 3, lines 10-11; page 14, lines 21-23), according to a second correlation that includes a second direct relationship between at least one parameter value of said second set of treatment parameter values and said at least one parameter value of said first set of treatment parameter values (page 35, lines 10-12),
wherein (ii) said first portion of the scalp is a posterior portion (Fig. 1b, page 15, lines 9-10, electrodes 104e, 104f, and 104g) and said second portion of the scalp is an anterior portion (Fig. 1b, page 15, lines 10-11, electrodes 104a and 104b).
Shakour further discloses that the electrical charge parameter value is up to 14.3 mA/cm2 (page 24, line 19). Shakour does not disclose that an electrical charge parameter value of said first set of treatment parameter values is equal to an electrical charge parameter value of said set of user-specific sensory-threshold parameter values multiplied by A, where A is not less than 1.3 and not greater than 1.9, not that an electrical charge parameter value of said second set of treatment parameter values is equal to an electrical charge parameter value of said first set of treatment parameter values multiplied by B, where B is not less than 1.1 and not greater than 3.8.
However, Kong teaches an apparatus for assessing the accuracy of a target stimulation intensity level used in transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (Abstract), wherein an electrical charge parameter value is equal to an user-specific sensory-threshold parameter value multiplied by a value between 1.1 and 3.8 (paragraph [0101], "the sensation threshold intensity (the first intensity to evoke electrotactile sensation) and the therapeutic intensity (the strong yet not painful stimulation) can be predicted based on user profile ... In subsequent presentation of test current, the intensity IL(k+1) shall be two times of the previously presented test current intensity IL(k) ... In another embodiment of IL(k+1) modification, the test current intensity is reduced to 110% of the predicted therapeutic intensity: IL(k+1)=1.1*PTI.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shakour with the teachings of Kong so that the multipliers A and B are between 1.3 and 1.9, and between 1.1 and 3.8, respectively, because doing so ensures that the stimulation is effective yet within safety bounds (Kong, paragraph [0101]).
Although Kong does not explicitly disclose that that A is between 1.3 and 1.9, nor that B is between 1.1 and 3.8, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so, for the purpose of limiting the amount of electrical charge applied to a safe and/or comfortable range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 2, the method of claim 1 is obvious over Shakour and Kong, as explained above. Shakour further discloses that each respective set of treatment parameter values includes values for:
an electrical charge parameter having values of total electric charge for a given time period (page 33, line 24), and at least one of:
(i) a value for a current-intensity parameter (page 34, lines 12-16, current density), and
(ii) separate values for each of the pulse duration parameter (page 7, lines 14 and 24; page 14, line 1) and the frequency parameter (page 7, lines 14 and 23; page 14, line 1).
Shakour does not explicitly disclose that the given time period is an integer multiple of an inverse of electrical pulse frequency. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an integer multiple of an inverse of electrical pulse frequency, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 4, the method of claim 1 is obvious over Shakour and Kong, as explained above. Shakour further discloses that second direct relationship is based in part on a relationship between respective electrode surface-areas of said first and second electrode arrays (page 30, lines 3-8).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shakour et al. (WO 2017141257 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Shakour, in view of Kong et al. (US 20200179694 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Kong, and further in view of Wongsarnipoon et al. (US Publication No. 20130204315 A1, previously cited), hereinafter Wongsarnipoon.
Regarding claim 5, the method of claim 1 is obvious over Shakour and Kong, as explained above. Shakour does not explicitly disclose that values of the set of user-specific sensory-threshold parameter values are based on a first user input received during application of a series of electrical pulses to a single one of the first and second portions of the user's scalp. However, Wongsarnipoon teaches a method of brain stimulation (Abstract) wherein values of the set of user-specific sensory-threshold parameter values are based on a first user input received during application of a series of electrical pulses to a single one of the first and second portions of the user's scalp (paragraphs [0054], [0077]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shakour and Kong with the teachings of Wongsarnipoon to use a first user input received during application of a series of electrical pulses to a single one of the first and second portions of the user's scalp to determine values of the set of user-specific sensory-threshold parameter values because doing so makes electrode placement before each treatment session fast, comfortable and accurate (paragraphs [0037], [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, the method of claim 1 is obvious over Shakour and Kong, as explained above. Shakour does not explicitly disclose that said first and second correlations are linear relationships based on respective empirical correlations. However, Wongsarnipoon teaches a method of brain stimulation (Abstract) wherein the correlation between the stimulation intensity and the threshold for discomfort is linear and based on empirical data (paragraphs [0054], [0077]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shakour and Kong with the teachings of Wongsarnipoon to use empirical correlations for said first and second correlations because doing so makes electrode placement before each treatment session fast, comfortable and accurate (paragraphs [0037], [0044]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Toth (US 20190134396 A1) discloses a method comprising receiving monitoring data from at least one sensing device coupled to a subject and analyzing the monitoring data to identify one or more physiologic parameters of the subject, and providing signaling to at least one stimulating device in response to the identified physiologic parameters, the signaling comprising instructions to apply a stimulus to the subject (Abstract), wherein “the stimulating devices are provided with a constant current supply, thus allowing the stimulating devices to have defined charge delivery, the capability of short duration pulses (e.g., 10-20 μs), and be configured to design the duration and charge delivery to stimulate tactile sensation while limiting or completely avoiding pain fiber stimulation. Pain fiber stimulation in some embodiments is limited or prevented through controlling the total charge of the electrical stimulation. The total charge, for example, may be limited to a maximum of 10-20 microcoulombs (μC). The electrical stimulation may also or alternatively be delivered as a multiple pulse train, a burst stimulation or other configuration. The low total charge to avoid pain fiber sensation is designed to be below the threshold for pain but enough to be sensed and reacted” (paragraph [0107], emphasis added).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE SISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/Jennifer Pitrak McDonald/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796