DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 22-23, 26-32, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the side wall of the protruding portion" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “the side wall” is intended to refer to the “side surface,” the “structured area,” another element of the “protruding portion,” or an additional surface of the optical lens. As such, it is unclear what structure is required by the claims. Furthermore, it is unclear how the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15°, as it is unclear how a wall can be “offset” by a number of degrees. Specifically, an “offset” implies some distance between the optical axis and the sidewall while 15° is a measure of an angle. It is unclear how any angle should be defined, if such an angle should be formed between the sidewall and the optical axis, or if there is some additional method of determining the “offset.” For the purposes of examination, any side surface of the protruding portion that is angled less than 15° relative to the optical axis will be interpreted as reading on the claimed invention.
Claims 2-8, 22-23, 26-32, and 34-36 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 1 and failing to cure the deficiencies of the rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 22-23, and 26-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2019/0235140) in view of Hsu et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2018/0196171; hereinafter – “Hsu”).
Regarding claim 1, Chou teaches an optical lens, comprising:
a first lens element (111, 211, 311, 411, 511) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (112, 211a, 312, 412, 531) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (111a, 111b, 211b, 311a, 311b, 411a, 511) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108); and
a second lens component (110, 210, 310, 410, 510) comprising a second lens barrel (113, 213, 313, 413, 513) and at least one second lens element (121-125, 221-225, 321-325, 421-425, 521-525) mounted inside the second lens barrel, wherein the at least one second lens element and the first lens element together constitute an imageable optical system (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108);
wherein the first lens element is not mounted in a lens barrel and is directly bonded to the second lens component by the second surface of the first lens element being directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Chou fails to explicitly disclose that the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15°.
However, Hsu teaches an optical lens assembly comprising a first lens element (1200) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (C2) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (1211) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface (1212) of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area, and the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° (See e.g. Figs. 1A-1B; Paragraphs 0035 and 0039-0040).
Hsu teaches this offset side wall as “it maintains the accurate alignment with the optical axis and reduces the failure of the assembling process” (Paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Chou such that the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° as in Hsu as “it maintains the accurate alignment with the optical axis and reduces the failure of the assembling process,” as taught by Hsu (Paragraph 0039), since it has been held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05.I.), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 2, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that a central axis of the first lens element is offset from a central axis of the second lens component (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 3, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that the second surface of the first lens element and the top surface of the second lens barrel are bonded by a first glue material, the first lens element and the second lens component are supported by the first glue material after being cured, so that a relative position of the first lens element and the second lens component is maintained by the cured first glue material (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 4, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area and an outer side surface of the first lens element are each attached with a light-shielding layer (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 5, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 4, as above.
Chou further teaches that the second surface has an optical area for imaging and a second structured area surrounding the optical area, and the second structured area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 6, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that the first lens element (111, 211, 311, 411, 511) is configured as a single lens element, and the at least one second lens element includes a plurality of second lens elements (121-125, 221-225, 321-325, 421-425, 521-525), and the plurality of second lens elements are assembled together through the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 22, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 5, as above.
Chou further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 23, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that an outer side surface of the second lens barrel or the first lens element has a shape wherein at least a part thereof is cut to provide a flat section (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 26, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches a light-shielding member (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) comprising an annular light-shielding portion, and the annular light-shielding portion is disposed above the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 27, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Chou further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as an annular black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 28, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Chou further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as a first lens barrel, a bottom surface of the first lens barrel is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, a top of the first lens barrel extends toward the first lens element to form the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 29, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 28, as above.
Chou further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the annular light-shielding portion and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 30, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Chou further teaches that the light-shielding member comprises an annular support member and a black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, the annular support member surrounds the first lens element, a bottom surface of the annular support member is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to a top surface of the annular support member, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is annular, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet constitutes the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 31, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 30, as above.
Chou further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 32, Chou in view of Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches a camera module (700), characterized in that it comprises: the optical lens of claim 1 (710); and a photosensitive assembly (720), wherein the optical lens is mounted on the photosensitive assembly (See e.g. Fig. 6; Paragraphs 0110-0111).
Claim(s) 1-6, 22-23, 26-32, and 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Chinese Pub. No. 207336891 U; hereinafter – “Wang”) in view of Chou and Hsu. All citations to Wang are directed toward the English machine translation of Wang, provided as a reference.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an optical lens, comprising:
a first lens element (11) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (1111, 1121) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area (1111, 1121) for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (1122) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area (See e.g. Fig. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, and 0117-0118); and
a second lens component (12) comprising a second lens barrel (1221) and at least one second lens element (121) mounted inside the second lens barrel, wherein the at least one second lens element and the first lens element together constitute an imageable optical system (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065, 0067-0068, 0092-0093, 0103, and 0117-0118);
wherein the second surface of the first lens element is bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0076, 0083-0084, 0090, 0098, 0107, 0112, 0115, and 0119).
Wang fails to explicitly disclose that the first lens element is not mounted in a lens barrel and is directly bonded to the second lens component by the second surface of the first lens element being directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel.
However, Chou teaches an imaging lens assembly with dual molded optical element comprising a first lens element (111, 211, 311, 411, 511) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (112, 211a, 312, 412) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (111a, 111b, 211b, 311a, 311b, 411a) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area, a second lens component comprising a second lens barrel and at least one second lens element mounted inside the second lens barrel, and the first lens element is not mounted in a lens barrel and is directly bonded to the second lens component by the second surface of the first lens element being directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Chou teaches this first lens element directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel “so that the generation of stray light can be avoided” (Paragraph 0038), such that “it is not easy to cause reflections inside the imaging lens assembly when stray light enters therein so as to reduce the effects of the stray light” (Paragraph 0063) and “to increase the surface precision of the optical effective section” (Paragraph 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Wang with the first lens element directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel of Chou “so that the generation of stray light can be avoided,” such that “it is not easy to cause reflections inside the imaging lens assembly when stray light enters therein so as to reduce the effects of the stray light” and “to increase the surface precision of the optical effective section,” as in Chou (Paragraphs 0038, 0063, and 0065).
Wang and Chou fail to explicitly disclose that the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15°.
However, Hsu teaches an optical lens assembly comprising a first lens element (1200) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (C2) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (1211) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface (1212) of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area, and the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° (See e.g. Figs. 1A-1B; Paragraphs 0035 and 0039-0040).
Hsu teaches this offset side wall as “it maintains the accurate alignment with the optical axis and reduces the failure of the assembling process” (Paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Wang such that the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° as in Hsu as “it maintains the accurate alignment with the optical axis and reduces the failure of the assembling process,” as taught by Hsu (Paragraph 0039), since it has been held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05.I.), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that a central axis of the first lens element is offset from a central axis of the second lens component (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0033-0036 and 0071-0074).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the second surface of the first lens element and the top surface of the second lens barrel are bonded by a first glue material, the first lens element and the second lens component are supported by the first glue material after being cured, so that a relative position of the first lens element and the second lens component is maintained by the cured first glue material (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0030, 0069-0070, 0076, 0081, 0108, 0112-0115, and 0118-0119).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area and an outer side surface of the first lens element are each attached with a light-shielding layer (113, 1121, 112E) (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0078-0080 and 0114).
Additionally, Chou further teaches that the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area and an outer side surface of the first lens element are each attached with a light-shielding layer (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 4, as above.
Wang further teaches that the second surface has an optical area for imaging and a second structured area surrounding the optical area, and the second structured area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the second surface has an optical area for imaging and a second structured area surrounding the optical area, and the second structured area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the first lens element (111) is configured as a single lens element, and the at least one second lens element includes a plurality of second lens elements (1211, 1212, 1213), and the plurality of second lens elements are assembled together through the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0068, 0092-0093, 0103, and 0117-0118).
Regarding claim 22, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 5, as above.
Wang further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (Paragraph 0078).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 23, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that an outer side surface of the second lens barrel or the first lens element has a shape wherein at least a part thereof is cut to provide a flat section (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0068, 0092-0093, 0103, and 0117-0118).
Regarding claim 26, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the optical lens further comprises a light-shielding member (1121, 113) comprising an annular light-shielding portion, and the annular light-shielding portion is disposed above the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Additionally, Chou further teaches a light-shielding member (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) comprising an annular light-shielding portion, and the annular light-shielding portion is disposed above the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 27, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Wang further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as an annular black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as an annular black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 28, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Wang further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as a first lens barrel, a bottom surface of the first lens barrel is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, a top of the first lens barrel extends toward the first lens element to form the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as a first lens barrel, a bottom surface of the first lens barrel is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, a top of the first lens barrel extends toward the first lens element to form the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 29, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 28, as above.
Wang further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the annular light-shielding portion and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that no glue material is disposed between the annular light-shielding portion and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 30, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Wang further teaches that the light-shielding member comprises an annular support member and a black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, the annular support member surrounds the first lens element, a bottom surface of the annular support member is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to a top surface of the annular support member, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is annular, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet constitutes the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the light-shielding member comprises an annular support member and a black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, the annular support member surrounds the first lens element, a bottom surface of the annular support member is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to a top surface of the annular support member, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is annular, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet constitutes the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 31, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 30, as above.
Wang further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that no glue material is disposed between the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 32, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches a camera module (1), characterized in that it comprises: the optical lens of claim 1 (100); and a photosensitive assembly (200), wherein the optical lens is mounted on the photosensitive assembly (See e.g. Fig. 8; Paragraphs 0121-0123).
Regarding claim 34, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the camera module according to claim 32, as above.
Wang further teaches an under-screen camera assembly, characterized in that it comprises: a display screen (3) having a light-passing hole; and the camera module of claim 32, wherein the protruding portion of the camera module extends into the light-passing hole (See e.g. Figs. 8-9; Paragraphs 0121-0124).
Regarding claim 35, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the under-screen camera assembly according to claim 34, as above.
Wang further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate, and the first structured area of the camera module is located below a bottom surface of the substrate (See e.g. Figs. 8-9; Paragraphs 0121-0124).
Regarding claim 36, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the under-screen camera assembly according to claim 34, as above.
Wang further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate, the substrate has an opening, a diameter of the opening is larger than a diameter of an outer side surface of the first lens element, and the first structured area is located in the opening (See e.g. Figs. 8-9; Paragraphs 0121-0124).
Claim(s) 1-8, 22-23, and 26-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Genda (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2010/0254027) in view of Chou and Hsu.
Regarding claim 1, Genda teaches an optical lens, comprising:
a first lens element (101, 103, and/or 116) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (108) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area (108) for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (103 and/or 116) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface (106) of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0039-0053); and
a second lens component (102, 201, 202) comprising a second lens barrel (102 and/or 116) and at least one second lens element (201, 202) mounted inside the second lens barrel, wherein the at least one second lens element and the first lens element together constitute an imageable optical system (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0039 and 0056-0064);
wherein the second surface of the first lens element is bonded to a top surface (205a or 120) of the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0065-0085, 0088, 0096, 0107-0110, and 0123-0126).
Genda fails to explicitly disclose that the first lens element is not mounted in a lens barrel and is directly bonded to the second lens component by the second surface of the first lens element being directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel.
However, Chou teaches an imaging lens assembly with dual molded optical element comprising a first lens element (111, 211, 311, 411, 511) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (112, 211a, 312, 412) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (111a, 111b, 211b, 311a, 311b, 411a) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area, a second lens component comprising a second lens barrel and at least one second lens element mounted inside the second lens barrel, and the first lens element is not mounted in a lens barrel and is directly bonded to the second lens component by the second surface of the first lens element being directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Chou teaches this first lens element directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel “so that the generation of stray light can be avoided” (Paragraph 0038), such that “it is not easy to cause reflections inside the imaging lens assembly when stray light enters therein so as to reduce the effects of the stray light” (Paragraph 0063) and “to increase the surface precision of the optical effective section” (Paragraph 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Genda with the first lens element directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel of Chou “so that the generation of stray light can be avoided,” such that “it is not easy to cause reflections inside the imaging lens assembly when stray light enters therein so as to reduce the effects of the stray light” and “to increase the surface precision of the optical effective section,” as in Chou (Paragraphs 0038, 0063, and 0065).
Genda and Chou fail to explicitly disclose that the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15°.
However, Hsu teaches an optical lens assembly comprising a first lens element (1200) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (C2) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (1211) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface (1212) of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area, and the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° (See e.g. Figs. 1A-1B; Paragraphs 0035 and 0039-0040).
Hsu teaches this offset side wall as “it maintains the accurate alignment with the optical axis and reduces the failure of the assembling process” (Paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Genda such that the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° as in Hsu as “it maintains the accurate alignment with the optical axis and reduces the failure of the assembling process,” as taught by Hsu (Paragraph 0039), since it has been held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05.I.), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 2, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that a central axis of the first lens element is offset from a central axis of the second lens component (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0039-0064).
Regarding claim 3, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that the second surface of the first lens element and the top surface of the second lens barrel are bonded by a first glue material, the first lens element and the second lens component are supported by the first glue material after being cured, so that a relative position of the first lens element and the second lens component is maintained at a relative position by the cured first glue material (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0065-0085, 0088, 0096, 0107-0110, and 0123-0126 – Genda’s laser welded and melted thermoplastic resin reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “glue material”).
Regarding claim 4, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area and an outer side surface of the first lens element are each attached with a light-shielding layer (103, 116) (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Additionally, Chou further teaches that the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area and an outer side surface of the first lens element are each attached with a light-shielding layer (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 5, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 4, as above.
Genda further teaches that the second surface has an optical area for imaging and a second structured area surrounding the optical area, and the second structured area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0039-0053).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the second surface has an optical area for imaging and a second structured area surrounding the optical area, and the second structured area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 6, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that the first lens element is configured as a single lens element, and the at least one second lens element includes a plurality of second lens elements, and the plurality of second lens elements are assembled together through the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0039-0064).
Regarding claim 7, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that the first lens element (101) is a molded glass lens element (Paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 8, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 7, as above.
Genda further teaches that the top surface of the protruding portion has a transition area, the transition area is located at an edge of the top surface, and the transition area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Regarding claim 22, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 5, as above.
Genda further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 23, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that an outer side surface of the second lens barrel or the first lens element comprises at least one cut surface (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Regarding claim 26, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that the optical lens further comprises a light-shielding member (103, 116) comprising an annular light-shielding portion, and the annular light-shielding portion is disposed above the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Additionally, Chou further teaches a light-shielding member (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) comprising an annular light-shielding portion, and the annular light-shielding portion is disposed above the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 27, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Genda further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as an annular black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as an annular black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 28, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Genda further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as a first lens barrel, a bottom surface of the first lens barrel is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, a top of the first lens barrel extends toward the first lens element to form the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as a first lens barrel, a bottom surface of the first lens barrel is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, a top of the first lens barrel extends toward the first lens element to form the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 29, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 28, as above.
Genda further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the annular light-shielding portion and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that no glue material is disposed between the annular light-shielding portion and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 30, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Genda further teaches that the light-shielding member comprises an annular support member and a black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, the annular support member surrounds the first lens element, a bottom surface of the annular support member is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to a top surface of the annular support member, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is annular, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet constitutes the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the light-shielding member comprises an annular support member and a black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, the annular support member surrounds the first lens element, a bottom surface of the annular support member is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to a top surface of the annular support member, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is annular, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet constitutes the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 31, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 30, as above.
Genda further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that no glue material is disposed between the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 32, Genda in view of Chou and Hsu teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches a camera module, characterized in that it comprises: the optical lens of claim 1; and a photosensitive assembly, wherein the optical lens is mounted on the photosensitive assembly (Paragraphs 0037-0038).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Hsu or Wang in view of Chou and Hsu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Genda.
Regarding claim 7, Chou and Wang in view of Chou and Hsu each teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou and Wang fail to explicitly disclose that the first lens element is a molded glass lens element.
However, Genda teaches an optical apparatus comprising a first lens element (101, 103, and/or 116) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (108) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area (108) for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (103 and/or 116) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface (106) of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0039-0053) wherein the first lens element (101) is a molded glass lens element (Paragraph 0040).
Genda teaches this glass lens element as a suitable lens element “to ensure optical performance can be fixed at a desired position, and the incident angle of light to the first lens 101 can be limited without increasing the number of elements” (Paragraph 0146).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Chou or Wang such that the first lens element is a molded glass lens element as in Genda “to ensure optical performance can be fixed at a desired position, and the incident angle of light to the first lens 101 can be limited without increasing the number of elements,” as taught by Genda (Paragraph 0146), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 8, Chou in view of Hsu and Genda and Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Genda each teaches the optical lens according to claim 7, as above.
Wang further teaches that the top surface of the protruding portion has a transition area, the transition area is located at an edge of the top surface, and the transition area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0078-0080 and 0114).
Additionally, Chou further teaches that the top surface of the protruding portion has a transition area, the transition area is located at an edge of the top surface, and the transition area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108)
Additionally, Genda further teaches that the top surface of the protruding portion has a transition area, the transition area is located at an edge of the top surface, and the transition area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Hsu, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu, or Genda in view of Chou and Hsu, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2005/0226608; hereinafter – “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 22, Chou in view of Hsu, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu, and Genda in view of Chou and Hsu each teaches the optical lens according to claim 5, as above.
Chou further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Wang further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (Paragraph 0078).
Genda further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Nevertheless, Examiner further submits reference Kwon. Kwon teaches a camera lens device for suppressing reflection waves generated by incident waves comprising elements subjected to surface roughening (Paragraphs 0045-0046). Kwon teaches this surface roughening “in order to efficiently absorb optical signals” (Paragraph 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Chou or Wang or Genda with the surface roughening of Kwon “in order to efficiently absorb optical signals” (Paragraph 0045).
Claim(s) 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Hsu, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu, or Genda in view of Chou and Hsu, as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Cheng (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2019/0302833).
Regarding claim 34, Chou in view of Hsu, Wang in view of Chou and Hsu, and Genda in view of Chou and Hsu each teaches the camera module according to claim 32, as above.
Wang further teaches an under-screen camera assembly, characterized in that it comprises: a display screen (3) having a light-passing hole; and the camera module of claim 32, wherein the protruding portion of the camera module extends into the light-passing hole (See e.g. Figs. 8-9; Paragraphs 0121-0124).
Genda fails to explicitly disclose an under-screen camera assembly, characterized in that it comprises: a display screen having a light-passing hole; and the camera module of claim 32, wherein the protruding portion of the camera module extends into the light-passing hole.
However, Cheng teaches a display screen comprising a display screen (21, 22) having a light-passing hole (221); and a camera module, wherein a protruding portion of the camera module extends into the light-passing hole (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Cheng teaches this display screen as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased” (Paragraph 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Chou or Wang or Cheng to be provided within the display screen of Cheng as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased,” as taught by Wang (Paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 35, Chou in view of Cheng and Hsu, Wang in view of Cheng and Hsu, and Genda in view of Cheng and Hsu teaches the under-screen camera assembly according to claim 34, as above.
Wang further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate, and the first structured area of the camera module is located below a bottom surface of the substrate (See e.g. Figs. 8-9; Paragraphs 0121-0124).
Additionally, Cheng teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate (22), and the lens has a first structured area (262) that is located below a bottom surface of the substrate (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Regarding claim 36, Chou in view of Cheng and Hsu, Wang in view of Cheng and Hsu, and Genda in view of Cheng and Hsu each teaches the under-screen camera assembly according to claim 34, as above.
Wang further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate, the substrate has an opening, a diameter of the opening is larger than a diameter of an outer side surface of the first lens element, and the first structured area is located in the opening (See e.g. Figs. 8-9; Paragraphs 0121-0124).
Additionally, Cheng further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate, the substrate has an opening, a diameter of the opening is larger than a diameter of an outer side surface of the first lens element, and the first structured area is located in the opening (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 01/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are moot upon further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made in view of Hsu, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments and detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Nicholas R. Pasko
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/Nicholas R. Pasko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896