DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 22-23, 26-32, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole in a display screen reserved for the optical lens.” However, it is unclear if the “light-passing hole” or the “display screen” should be “reserved for the optical lens.” Moreover, it is unclear how any structure can be “reserved for the optical lens” as it is unclear what specific structure is required that allows it to be “reserved” for another element. It is unclear if the hole/screen should be a certain size, a certain shape, or some other physical dimension, or if the limitation is merely intended to require that the optical lens is placed in the hole. As such, it is unclear what structure is required by the claims. For the purposes of examination, any display screen with a light-passing hole will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Furthermore, it is unclear how the side surface of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15°, as it is unclear how a surface can be “offset” by a number of degrees. Specifically, an “offset” implies some distance between the optical axis and the sidewall while 15° is a measure of an angle. It is unclear how any angle should be defined, if such an angle should be formed between the sidewall and the optical axis, or if there is some additional method of determining the “offset.” For the purposes of examination, any side surface of the protruding portion that extends at an angle of less than 15° relative to the optical axis will be interpreted as reading on the claimed invention.
Claims 2-8, 22-23, 26-32, and 34-36 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 1 and failing to cure the deficiencies of the rejected base claim.
Claim 34 recites “a display screen having a light-passing hole.” However, claim 34 ultimately depends upon claim 1 which recites “the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole in a display screen reserved for the optical lens.” As such, it is unclear if the recites “display screen having a light-passing hole” in claim 34 should correspond to the “light-passing hole in a display screen” as recited in claim 1 or if the claim is intended to require an additional display screen and light-passing hole. For the purposes of examination, the display screen and light-passing hole of claim 34 will be interpreted as the display screen and light passing hole recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 22-23, 26-32, and 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2019/0235140) in view of Hsu et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2018/0196171; hereinafter – “Hsu”) and Cheng (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2019/0302833).
Regarding claim 1, Chou teaches an optical lens, comprising:
a first lens element (111, 211, 311, 411, 511) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (112, 211a, 312, 412, 531) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (111a, 111b, 211b, 311a, 311b, 411a, 511) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108); and
a second lens component (110, 210, 310, 410, 510) comprising a second lens barrel (113, 213, 313, 413, 513) and at least one second lens element (121-125, 221-225, 321-325, 421-425, 521-525) mounted inside the second lens barrel, wherein the at least one second lens element and the first lens element together constitute an imageable optical system (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108);
wherein the first lens element is not mounted in a lens barrel and is directly bonded to the second lens component by the second surface of the first lens element being directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Chou fails to explicitly disclose that the side surface of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15°.
However, Hsu teaches an optical lens assembly comprising a first lens element (1200) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (C2) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (1211) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface (1212) of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area, and the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° (See e.g. Figs. 1A-1B; Paragraphs 0035 and 0039-0040).
Hsu teaches this offset side wall as “it maintains the accurate alignment with the optical axis and reduces the failure of the assembling process” (Paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Chou such that the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° as in Hsu as “it maintains the accurate alignment with the optical axis and reduces the failure of the assembling process,” as taught by Hsu (Paragraph 0039), since it has been held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05.I.), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Chou and Hsu fail to explicitly disclose that the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole in a display screen reserved for the optical lens.
However, Cheng teaches a display screen comprising an optical lens with a first lens element (26) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion (261), the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole (221) in a display screen reserved for the optical lens (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Cheng teaches this protruding portion extending into a light-passing hole in a display screen reserved for the optical lens as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased” (Paragraph 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Chou such that the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole in a display screen as in Cheng so “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased,” as taught by Cheng (Paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 2, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that a central axis of the first lens element is offset from a central axis of the second lens component (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 3, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that the second surface of the first lens element and the top surface of the second lens barrel are bonded by a first glue material, the first lens element and the second lens component are supported by the first glue material after being cured, so that a relative position of the first lens element and the second lens component is maintained by the cured first glue material (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 4, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area and an outer side surface of the first lens element are each attached with a light-shielding layer (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 5, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 4, as above.
Chou further teaches that the second surface has an optical area for imaging and a second structured area surrounding the optical area, and the second structured area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 6, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that the first lens element (111, 211, 311, 411, 511) is configured as a single lens element, and the at least one second lens element includes a plurality of second lens elements (121-125, 221-225, 321-325, 421-425, 521-525), and the plurality of second lens elements are assembled together through the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 22, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 5, as above.
Chou further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 23, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that an outer side surface of the second lens barrel or the first lens element has a shape wherein at least a part thereof is cut to provide a flat section (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 26, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches a light-shielding member (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) comprising an annular light-shielding portion, and the annular light-shielding portion is disposed above the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 27, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Chou further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as an annular black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 28, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Chou further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as a first lens barrel, a bottom surface of the first lens barrel is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, a top of the first lens barrel extends toward the first lens element to form the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 29, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 28, as above.
Chou further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the annular light-shielding portion and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 30, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Chou further teaches that the light-shielding member comprises an annular support member and a black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, the annular support member surrounds the first lens element, a bottom surface of the annular support member is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to a top surface of the annular support member, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is annular, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet constitutes the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 31, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 30, as above.
Chou further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 32, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches a camera module (700), characterized in that it comprises: the optical lens of claim 1 (710); and a photosensitive assembly (720), wherein the optical lens is mounted on the photosensitive assembly (See e.g. Fig. 6; Paragraphs 0110-0111).
Regarding claim 34, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the camera module according to claim 32, as above.
Chou fails to explicitly disclose an under-screen camera assembly, characterized in that it comprises: a display screen having a light-passing hole; and the camera module of claim 32, wherein the protruding portion of the camera module extends into the light-passing hole.
However, Cheng teaches a display screen comprising a display screen (21, 22) having a light-passing hole (221); and a camera module, wherein a protruding portion of the camera module extends into the light-passing hole (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Cheng teaches this display screen as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased” (Paragraph 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Chou to be provided within the display screen of Cheng as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased,” as taught by Wang (Paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 35, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the under-screen camera assembly according to claim 34, as above.
Cheng further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate (22), and the lens has a first structured area (262) that is located below a bottom surface of the substrate (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Regarding claim 36, Chou in view of Hsu and Cheng teaches the under-screen camera assembly according to claim 34, as above.
Cheng further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate, the substrate has an opening, a diameter of the opening is larger than a diameter of an outer side surface of the first lens element, and the first structured area is located in the opening (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Claim(s) 1-6, 22-23, 26-32, and 34-36 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Teraoka et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2012/0019905; hereinafter – “Teraoka”) and Cheng.
Regarding claim 1, Chou teaches an optical lens, comprising:
a first lens element (111, 211, 311, 411, 511) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (112, 211a, 312, 412, 531) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (111a, 111b, 211b, 311a, 311b, 411a, 511) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108); and
a second lens component (110, 210, 310, 410, 510) comprising a second lens barrel (113, 213, 313, 413, 513) and at least one second lens element (121-125, 221-225, 321-325, 421-425, 521-525) mounted inside the second lens barrel, wherein the at least one second lens element and the first lens element together constitute an imageable optical system (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108);
wherein the first lens element is not mounted in a lens barrel and is directly bonded to the second lens component by the second surface of the first lens element being directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Chou fails to explicitly disclose that the side surface of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15°.
However, Teraoka teaches a lens unit comprising a first lens element (20) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area surrounding the protruding portion, a side surface of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area, and the side surface (21) of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15°; and a second lens component (10) comprising a second lens barrel (40) and at least one second lens element (10) mounted inside the second lens barrel, wherein the at least one second lens element and the first lens element together constitute an imageable optical system (See e.g. Figs. 4-5, 9-10, 15, 17, 19-20, and 22-26; Paragraphs 0162-0168, 0174, and 0181).
Teraoka teaches this offset side surface such that the lens “has a large outer diameter on the front side and a small outer diameter on the rear side” (Paragraph 0165) in order “to provide a lens unit and a vehicle-mounted infrared lens unit capable of correcting a focal shift due to a temperature change, without a size increase of the apparatus, a complicated production process, and a cost increase” (Paragraph 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Chou such that the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° as in Teraoka such that the lens “has a large outer diameter on the front side and a small outer diameter on the rear side” in order “to provide a lens unit and a vehicle-mounted infrared lens unit capable of correcting a focal shift due to a temperature change, without a size increase of the apparatus, a complicated production process, and a cost increase,” as taught by Teraoka (Paragraphs 0014 and 0165), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Chou and Teraoka fail to explicitly disclose that the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole in a display screen reserved for the optical lens.
However, Cheng teaches a display screen comprising an optical lens with a first lens element (26) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion (261), the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole (221) in a display screen reserved for the optical lens (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Cheng teaches this protruding portion extending into a light-passing hole in a display screen reserved for the optical lens as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased” (Paragraph 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Chou such that the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole in a display screen as in Cheng so “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased,” as taught by Cheng (Paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 2, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that a central axis of the first lens element is offset from a central axis of the second lens component (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 3, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that the second surface of the first lens element and the top surface of the second lens barrel are bonded by a first glue material, the first lens element and the second lens component are supported by the first glue material after being cured, so that a relative position of the first lens element and the second lens component is maintained by the cured first glue material (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 4, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area and an outer side surface of the first lens element are each attached with a light-shielding layer (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 5, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 4, as above.
Chou further teaches that the second surface has an optical area for imaging and a second structured area surrounding the optical area, and the second structured area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 6, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that the first lens element (111, 211, 311, 411, 511) is configured as a single lens element, and the at least one second lens element includes a plurality of second lens elements (121-125, 221-225, 321-325, 421-425, 521-525), and the plurality of second lens elements are assembled together through the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 22, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 5, as above.
Chou further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 23, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches that an outer side surface of the second lens barrel or the first lens element has a shape wherein at least a part thereof is cut to provide a flat section (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 26, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches a light-shielding member (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) comprising an annular light-shielding portion, and the annular light-shielding portion is disposed above the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 27, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Chou further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as an annular black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 28, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Chou further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as a first lens barrel, a bottom surface of the first lens barrel is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, a top of the first lens barrel extends toward the first lens element to form the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 29, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 28, as above.
Chou further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the annular light-shielding portion and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 30, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Chou further teaches that the light-shielding member comprises an annular support member and a black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, the annular support member surrounds the first lens element, a bottom surface of the annular support member is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to a top surface of the annular support member, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is annular, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet constitutes the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 31, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 30, as above.
Chou further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 32, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou further teaches a camera module (700), characterized in that it comprises: the optical lens of claim 1 (710); and a photosensitive assembly (720), wherein the optical lens is mounted on the photosensitive assembly (See e.g. Fig. 6; Paragraphs 0110-0111).
Regarding claim 34, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the camera module according to claim 32, as above.
Chou fails to explicitly disclose an under-screen camera assembly, characterized in that it comprises: a display screen having a light-passing hole; and the camera module of claim 32, wherein the protruding portion of the camera module extends into the light-passing hole.
However, Cheng teaches a display screen comprising a display screen (21, 22) having a light-passing hole (221); and a camera module, wherein a protruding portion of the camera module extends into the light-passing hole (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Cheng teaches this display screen as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased” (Paragraph 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Chou to be provided within the display screen of Cheng as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased,” as taught by Wang (Paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 35, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the under-screen camera assembly according to claim 34, as above.
Cheng further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate (22), and the lens has a first structured area (262) that is located below a bottom surface of the substrate (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Regarding claim 36, Chou in view of Teraoka and Cheng teaches the under-screen camera assembly according to claim 34, as above.
Cheng further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate, the substrate has an opening, a diameter of the opening is larger than a diameter of an outer side surface of the first lens element, and the first structured area is located in the opening (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Claim(s) 1-6, 22-23, 26-32, and 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Chinese Pub. No. 207336891 U; hereinafter – “Wang”) in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng. All citations to Wang are directed toward the English machine translation of Wang, provided as a reference.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an optical lens, comprising:
a first lens element (11) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (1111, 1121) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area (1111, 1121) for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (1122) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area (See e.g. Fig. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, and 0117-0118); and
a second lens component (12) comprising a second lens barrel (1221) and at least one second lens element (121) mounted inside the second lens barrel, wherein the at least one second lens element and the first lens element together constitute an imageable optical system (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065, 0067-0068, 0092-0093, 0103, and 0117-0118);
wherein the second surface of the first lens element is bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0076, 0083-0084, 0090, 0098, 0107, 0112, 0115, and 0119).
Wang fails to explicitly disclose that the first lens element is not mounted in a lens barrel and is directly bonded to the second lens component by the second surface of the first lens element being directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel.
However, Chou teaches an imaging lens assembly with dual molded optical element comprising a first lens element (111, 211, 311, 411, 511) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (112, 211a, 312, 412) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (111a, 111b, 211b, 311a, 311b, 411a) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area, a second lens component comprising a second lens barrel and at least one second lens element mounted inside the second lens barrel, and the first lens element is not mounted in a lens barrel and is directly bonded to the second lens component by the second surface of the first lens element being directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Chou teaches this first lens element directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel “so that the generation of stray light can be avoided” (Paragraph 0038), such that “it is not easy to cause reflections inside the imaging lens assembly when stray light enters therein so as to reduce the effects of the stray light” (Paragraph 0063) and “to increase the surface precision of the optical effective section” (Paragraph 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Wang with the first lens element directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel of Chou “so that the generation of stray light can be avoided,” such that “it is not easy to cause reflections inside the imaging lens assembly when stray light enters therein so as to reduce the effects of the stray light” and “to increase the surface precision of the optical effective section,” as in Chou (Paragraphs 0038, 0063, and 0065).
Wang and Chou fail to explicitly disclose that the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15°.
However, Hsu teaches an optical lens assembly comprising a first lens element (1200) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (C2) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (1211) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface (1212) of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area, and the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° (See e.g. Figs. 1A-1B; Paragraphs 0035 and 0039-0040).
Hsu teaches this offset side wall as “it maintains the accurate alignment with the optical axis and reduces the failure of the assembling process” (Paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Wang such that the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° as in Hsu as “it maintains the accurate alignment with the optical axis and reduces the failure of the assembling process,” as taught by Hsu (Paragraph 0039), since it has been held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05.I.), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Wang, Chou, and Hsu fail to explicitly disclose that the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole in a display screen reserved for the optical lens.
However, Cheng teaches a display screen comprising an optical lens with a first lens element (26) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion (261), the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole (221) in a display screen reserved for the optical lens (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Cheng teaches this protruding portion extending into a light-passing hole in a display screen reserved for the optical lens as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased” (Paragraph 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Wang such that the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole in a display screen as in Cheng so “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased,” as taught by Cheng (Paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that a central axis of the first lens element is offset from a central axis of the second lens component (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0033-0036 and 0071-0074).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the second surface of the first lens element and the top surface of the second lens barrel are bonded by a first glue material, the first lens element and the second lens component are supported by the first glue material after being cured, so that a relative position of the first lens element and the second lens component is maintained by the cured first glue material (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0030, 0069-0070, 0076, 0081, 0108, 0112-0115, and 0118-0119).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area and an outer side surface of the first lens element are each attached with a light-shielding layer (113, 1121, 112E) (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0078-0080 and 0114).
Additionally, Chou further teaches that the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area and an outer side surface of the first lens element are each attached with a light-shielding layer (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 4, as above.
Wang further teaches that the second surface has an optical area for imaging and a second structured area surrounding the optical area, and the second structured area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the second surface has an optical area for imaging and a second structured area surrounding the optical area, and the second structured area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the first lens element (111) is configured as a single lens element, and the at least one second lens element includes a plurality of second lens elements (1211, 1212, 1213), and the plurality of second lens elements are assembled together through the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0068, 0092-0093, 0103, and 0117-0118).
Regarding claim 22, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 5, as above.
Wang further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (Paragraph 0078).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 23, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that an outer side surface of the second lens barrel or the first lens element has a shape wherein at least a part thereof is cut to provide a flat section (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0068, 0092-0093, 0103, and 0117-0118).
Regarding claim 26, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the optical lens further comprises a light-shielding member (1121, 113) comprising an annular light-shielding portion, and the annular light-shielding portion is disposed above the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Additionally, Chou further teaches a light-shielding member (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) comprising an annular light-shielding portion, and the annular light-shielding portion is disposed above the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 27, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Wang further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as an annular black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as an annular black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 28, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Wang further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as a first lens barrel, a bottom surface of the first lens barrel is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, a top of the first lens barrel extends toward the first lens element to form the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as a first lens barrel, a bottom surface of the first lens barrel is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, a top of the first lens barrel extends toward the first lens element to form the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 29, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 28, as above.
Wang further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the annular light-shielding portion and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that no glue material is disposed between the annular light-shielding portion and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 30, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Wang further teaches that the light-shielding member comprises an annular support member and a black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, the annular support member surrounds the first lens element, a bottom surface of the annular support member is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to a top surface of the annular support member, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is annular, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet constitutes the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the light-shielding member comprises an annular support member and a black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, the annular support member surrounds the first lens element, a bottom surface of the annular support member is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to a top surface of the annular support member, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is annular, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet constitutes the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 31, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 30, as above.
Wang further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0065-0066, 0075, 0078-0080, 0092, 0095-0096, 0102, 0114, and 0117-0118).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that no glue material is disposed between the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 32, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches a camera module (1), characterized in that it comprises: the optical lens of claim 1 (100); and a photosensitive assembly (200), wherein the optical lens is mounted on the photosensitive assembly (See e.g. Fig. 8; Paragraphs 0121-0123).
Regarding claim 34, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the camera module according to claim 32, as above.
Wang further teaches an under-screen camera assembly, characterized in that it comprises: a display screen (3) having a light-passing hole; and the camera module of claim 32, wherein the protruding portion of the camera module extends into the light-passing hole (See e.g. Figs. 8-9; Paragraphs 0121-0124).
Additionally, Cheng teaches a display screen comprising a display screen (21, 22) having a light-passing hole (221); and a camera module, wherein a protruding portion of the camera module extends into the light-passing hole (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Cheng teaches this display screen as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased” (Paragraph 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module Wang to be provided within the display screen of Cheng as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased,” as taught by Wang (Paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 35, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the under-screen camera assembly according to claim 34, as above.
Wang further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate, and the first structured area of the camera module is located below a bottom surface of the substrate (See e.g. Figs. 8-9; Paragraphs 0121-0124).
Additionally, Cheng teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate (22), and the lens has a first structured area (262) that is located below a bottom surface of the substrate (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Regarding claim 36, Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the under-screen camera assembly according to claim 34, as above.
Wang further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate, the substrate has an opening, a diameter of the opening is larger than a diameter of an outer side surface of the first lens element, and the first structured area is located in the opening (See e.g. Figs. 8-9; Paragraphs 0121-0124).
Additionally, Cheng further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate, the substrate has an opening, a diameter of the opening is larger than a diameter of an outer side surface of the first lens element, and the first structured area is located in the opening (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Claim(s) 1-8, 22-23, 26-32, and 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Genda (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2010/0254027) in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng.
Regarding claim 1, Genda teaches an optical lens, comprising:
a first lens element (101, 103, and/or 116) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (108) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area (108) for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (103 and/or 116) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface (106) of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0039-0053); and
a second lens component (102, 201, 202) comprising a second lens barrel (102 and/or 116) and at least one second lens element (201, 202) mounted inside the second lens barrel, wherein the at least one second lens element and the first lens element together constitute an imageable optical system (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0039 and 0056-0064);
wherein the second surface of the first lens element is bonded to a top surface (205a or 120) of the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0065-0085, 0088, 0096, 0107-0110, and 0123-0126).
Genda fails to explicitly disclose that the first lens element is not mounted in a lens barrel and is directly bonded to the second lens component by the second surface of the first lens element being directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel.
However, Chou teaches an imaging lens assembly with dual molded optical element comprising a first lens element (111, 211, 311, 411, 511) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (112, 211a, 312, 412) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (111a, 111b, 211b, 311a, 311b, 411a) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area, a second lens component comprising a second lens barrel and at least one second lens element mounted inside the second lens barrel, and the first lens element is not mounted in a lens barrel and is directly bonded to the second lens component by the second surface of the first lens element being directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Chou teaches this first lens element directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel “so that the generation of stray light can be avoided” (Paragraph 0038), such that “it is not easy to cause reflections inside the imaging lens assembly when stray light enters therein so as to reduce the effects of the stray light” (Paragraph 0063) and “to increase the surface precision of the optical effective section” (Paragraph 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Genda with the first lens element directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel of Chou “so that the generation of stray light can be avoided,” such that “it is not easy to cause reflections inside the imaging lens assembly when stray light enters therein so as to reduce the effects of the stray light” and “to increase the surface precision of the optical effective section,” as in Chou (Paragraphs 0038, 0063, and 0065).
Genda and Chou fail to explicitly disclose that the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15°.
However, Hsu teaches an optical lens assembly comprising a first lens element (1200) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (C2) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (1211) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface (1212) of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area, and the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° (See e.g. Figs. 1A-1B; Paragraphs 0035 and 0039-0040).
Hsu teaches this offset side wall as “it maintains the accurate alignment with the optical axis and reduces the failure of the assembling process” (Paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Genda such that the side wall of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15° as in Hsu as “it maintains the accurate alignment with the optical axis and reduces the failure of the assembling process,” as taught by Hsu (Paragraph 0039), since it has been held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05.I.), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Genda, Chou, and Hsu fail to explicitly disclose that the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole in a display screen reserved for the optical lens.
However, Cheng teaches a display screen comprising an optical lens with a first lens element (26) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion (261), the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole (221) in a display screen reserved for the optical lens (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Cheng teaches this protruding portion extending into a light-passing hole in a display screen reserved for the optical lens as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased” (Paragraph 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Genda such that the protruding portion extends into a light-passing hole in a display screen as in Cheng so “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased,” as taught by Cheng (Paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 2, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that a central axis of the first lens element is offset from a central axis of the second lens component (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0039-0064).
Regarding claim 3, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that the second surface of the first lens element and the top surface of the second lens barrel are bonded by a first glue material, the first lens element and the second lens component are supported by the first glue material after being cured, so that a relative position of the first lens element and the second lens component is maintained at a relative position by the cured first glue material (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0065-0085, 0088, 0096, 0107-0110, and 0123-0126 – Genda’s laser welded and melted thermoplastic resin reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “glue material”).
Regarding claim 4, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area and an outer side surface of the first lens element are each attached with a light-shielding layer (103, 116) (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Additionally, Chou further teaches that the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area and an outer side surface of the first lens element are each attached with a light-shielding layer (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 5, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 4, as above.
Genda further teaches that the second surface has an optical area for imaging and a second structured area surrounding the optical area, and the second structured area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0039-0053).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the second surface has an optical area for imaging and a second structured area surrounding the optical area, and the second structured area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 6, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that the first lens element is configured as a single lens element, and the at least one second lens element includes a plurality of second lens elements, and the plurality of second lens elements are assembled together through the second lens barrel (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0039-0064).
Regarding claim 7, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that the first lens element (101) is a molded glass lens element (Paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 8, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 7, as above.
Genda further teaches that the top surface of the protruding portion has a transition area, the transition area is located at an edge of the top surface, and the transition area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Regarding claim 22, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 5, as above.
Genda further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 23, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that an outer side surface of the second lens barrel or the first lens element comprises at least one cut surface (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Regarding claim 26, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches that the optical lens further comprises a light-shielding member (103, 116) comprising an annular light-shielding portion, and the annular light-shielding portion is disposed above the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Additionally, Chou further teaches a light-shielding member (130, 212, 330, 430, 450, 530) comprising an annular light-shielding portion, and the annular light-shielding portion is disposed above the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 27, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Genda further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as an annular black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as an annular black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 28, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Genda further teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as a first lens barrel, a bottom surface of the first lens barrel is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, a top of the first lens barrel extends toward the first lens element to form the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the light-shielding member is configured as a first lens barrel, a bottom surface of the first lens barrel is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, a top of the first lens barrel extends toward the first lens element to form the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 29, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 28, as above.
Genda further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the annular light-shielding portion and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that no glue material is disposed between the annular light-shielding portion and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 30, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 26, as above.
Genda further teaches that the light-shielding member comprises an annular support member and a black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, the annular support member surrounds the first lens element, a bottom surface of the annular support member is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to a top surface of the annular support member, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is annular, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet constitutes the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that the light-shielding member comprises an annular support member and a black thermoplastic light shielding sheet, the annular support member surrounds the first lens element, a bottom surface of the annular support member is bonded to the top surface of the second lens barrel, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is bonded to a top surface of the annular support member, the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet is annular, and the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet constitutes the annular light-shielding portion (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 31, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 30, as above.
Genda further teaches that no glue material is disposed between the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Furthermore, Chou teaches that no glue material is disposed between the black thermoplastic light shielding sheet and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Regarding claim 32, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Genda further teaches a camera module, characterized in that it comprises: the optical lens of claim 1; and a photosensitive assembly, wherein the optical lens is mounted on the photosensitive assembly (Paragraphs 0037-0038).
Regarding claim 34, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the camera module according to claim 32, as above.
Genda fails to explicitly disclose an under-screen camera assembly, characterized in that it comprises: a display screen having a light-passing hole; and the camera module of claim 32, wherein the protruding portion of the camera module extends into the light-passing hole.
However, Cheng teaches a display screen comprising a display screen (21, 22) having a light-passing hole (221); and a camera module, wherein a protruding portion of the camera module extends into the light-passing hole (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Cheng teaches this display screen as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased” (Paragraph 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Cheng to be provided within the display screen of Cheng as “the camera may realize photographing and taking pictures by the first through hole” and “the display area of the display screen may be increased,” as taught by Wang (Paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 35, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the under-screen camera assembly according to claim 34, as above.
Cheng teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate (22), and the lens has a first structured area (262) that is located below a bottom surface of the substrate (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Regarding claim 36, Genda in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng teaches the under-screen camera assembly according to claim 34, as above.
Cheng further teaches that the display screen comprises a substrate, the substrate has an opening, a diameter of the opening is larger than a diameter of an outer side surface of the first lens element, and the first structured area is located in the opening (See e.g. Figs. 3-8; Paragraphs 0067-0072).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Hsu or Teraoka and Cheng or Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Genda.
Regarding claim 7, Chou in view of Hsu or Teraoka and Cheng and Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, and Cheng each teaches the optical lens according to claim 1, as above.
Chou and Wang fail to explicitly disclose that the first lens element is a molded glass lens element.
However, Genda teaches an optical apparatus comprising a first lens element (101, 103, and/or 116) having a first surface located on an object side and a second surface located on an image side, wherein a central region (108) of the first surface protrudes toward the object side to form a protruding portion, a top surface of the protruding portion forms an optical area (108) for imaging, the first surface further has a first structured area (103 and/or 116) surrounding the protruding portion, and a side surface (106) of the protruding portion connects the optical area and the first structured area (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0039-0053) wherein the first lens element (101) is a molded glass lens element (Paragraph 0040).
Genda teaches this glass lens element as a suitable lens element “to ensure optical performance can be fixed at a desired position, and the incident angle of light to the first lens 101 can be limited without increasing the number of elements” (Paragraph 0146).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Chou or Wang such that the first lens element is a molded glass lens element as in Genda “to ensure optical performance can be fixed at a desired position, and the incident angle of light to the first lens 101 can be limited without increasing the number of elements,” as taught by Genda (Paragraph 0146), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 8, Chou in view of Hsu or Teraoka, Cheng, and Genda and Wang in view of Chou, Hsu, Cheng, and Genda each teaches the optical lens according to claim 7, as above.
Wang further teaches that the top surface of the protruding portion has a transition area, the transition area is located at an edge of the top surface, and the transition area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-7; Paragraphs 0078-0080 and 0114).
Additionally, Chou further teaches that the top surface of the protruding portion has a transition area, the transition area is located at an edge of the top surface, and the transition area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108)
Additionally, Genda further teaches that the top surface of the protruding portion has a transition area, the transition area is located at an edge of the top surface, and the transition area is attached with a light-shielding layer (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Hsu or Teraoka and Cheng, Wang in view of Chou, Cheng, and Hsu, or Genda in view of Chou, Cheng, and Hsu, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2005/0226608; hereinafter – “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 22, Chou in view of Hsu or Teraoka and Cheng, Wang in view of Chou, Cheng, and Hsu, and Genda in view of Chou, Cheng, and Hsu each teaches the optical lens according to claim 5, as above.
Chou further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0071-0075, 0077-0083, 0086-0092, 0098, 0100, 0104, 0106, and 0108).
Wang further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (Paragraph 0078).
Genda further teaches that one or more of the side surface of the protruding portion, the first structured area, the outer side surface of the first lens element, and the second structured area are subjected to surface roughening (See e.g. Figs. 2-3 and 5-6; Paragraphs 0051, 0053, 0059-0060, 0068, and 0083).
Nevertheless, Examiner further submits reference Kwon. Kwon teaches a camera lens device for suppressing reflection waves generated by incident waves comprising elements subjected to surface roughening (Paragraphs 0045-0046). Kwon teaches this surface roughening “in order to efficiently absorb optical signals” (Paragraph 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical lens of Chou or Wang or Genda with the surface roughening of Kwon “in order to efficiently absorb optical signals” (Paragraph 0045).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 06/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “it is known in the art that the term ‘offset’ defines something that is at an angle relative to something else.” However, Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that surfaces can extend in three different dimensions and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would not understand how the side surface of the protruding portion could be “offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15°” as required by the claim, because it is unclear how such a surface should extend and where such an offset should be measured from. Examiner respectfully suggests reciting that some portion of the surface extends in a direct that forms an angle with the optical axis of less than 15°.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 7-10, filed 06/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “even if combined, the cited references fail to suggest the presently required first lens element that is directly bonded to a top surface of the second lens barrel, and that contains a protruding portion, and the side surface of the protruding portion of the first lens element is offset from an optical axis of the optical lens by less than 15°” because “the lens element 1200 actually corresponds to the second lens component of the present claims.” However, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, Applicant merely argues features of the lens in Hsu, without considering the teachings of the combination of the references as a whole. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Moreover, the singular elements recited by the claims are not required by Applicant’s claim language to be exclusive. The preamble word “comprising” is open-ended and thus does not require the exclusivity of the recited elements, but allows the reference or combination of references to contain other elements as well. Additionally, “[t]he word ‘comprising’ transitioning from the preamble to the body signals that the entire claim is presumptively open-ended.” In Gillette Co. v. Energizer Holdings Inc., 405 F.3d 1367, 74 USPQ2d 1586 (Fed. Cir. 2005). See also Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“like the term comprising,’ the terms containing’ and mixture’ are open-ended.”), Invitrogen Corp. v. Biocrest Mfg., L.P., 327 F.3d 1364, 1368, 66 USPQ2d 1631, 1634 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (“The transition comprising’ in a method claim indicates that the claim is open-ended and allows for additional steps.”); Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997). (MPEP §2111.02.).
In the instant case, the claims do not preclude an additional lens from being present in the optical lens in addition to the first and second lens. As such, Examiner maintains that Hsu’s lens 1200 reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “first lens element” as the lens 1200 meets all the structural requirements of the claim. Additionally, Hsu teaches further lens elements in, e.g., Fig. 2A and Paragraph 0043, that read on the claimed “second lens element.”
No special definition of “first lens element” is found in the present specification, and, absent a special definition, Examiner is obligated to take the broadest reasonable interpretation not in conflict with the specification. It is noted that the feature upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a first lens element”) has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s interpretation of, “a first lens element,” which states/seems to imply that the first lens element cannot include any additional elements on a top surface thereof. Examiner's interpretation is both reasonable and not in conflict with the specification, and the limitation is met by the prior art.
Thus, Examiner maintains that Hsu’s lens element 1200 reads on the claimed first lens element, and the claimed features would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as detailed previously and above.
Nevertheless, Examiner further submits reference Teraoka. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed 06/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are additionally moot upon further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made in view of Chou, Teraoka, and Cheng.
Conclusion
Nicholas R. Pasko
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/Nicholas R. Pasko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896