DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114A
Request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 071/19/2026 has been entered.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicants' arguments/remarks filed 07/19/2026 are acknowledged:
The rejection of Claim 6 under 35 USC 103 has been withdrawn in view of the cancelation of the claim.
The rejection of Claims 1-11 under 35 USC 103 by Nangia et al. and Belgamwar et al. is withdrawn due to the amendment of the claim.
Status of Application
Applicants' arguments/remarks filed 07/19/2026 are acknowledged. Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-8 is/are currently amended. Claims 12-13 are newly added. Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are examined on the merits within and are currently pending.
Modified Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nangia et al. (US 9744137 B2) in view of Belgamwar et al. (Belgamwar et al., Formulation and Evaluation of Oral Mucoadhesive Multiparticulate System Containing Metoprolol Tartarate: An In Vitro – Ex Vivo Characterization. Current Drug Delivery, 2009, 6, 113-121) and Jacob et al. (US 20060045865 A1).
Claims 1-3 and 7-8,
Nangia et al. teach:
Pharmaceutical compositions (Abs), refer to pellets, particles, microparticles, or minitablets or any combination thereof (Col. 16, lines 37-40). Certain delayed release (DR) pellets may be coated with EUDRAGIT® L30D-55, which dissolves at about pH 5.5-6.0, i.e., in the upper intestines. (Col. 23, line 15-17). Dosage forms of the invention can be retained in the small intestine (or one or two portions thereof, selected from the duodenum, the jejunum and the ileum) for at least 6 hours, at least 8 hours or at least 12 hours, such as from 16 to 18 hours. (Col. 47, lines 37-41). The upper intestine is the duodenum area. The composition contains a core and an enteric coating surrounding the core. (Col. 1, line 15-17).
The cores or starting seeds can be, sugar spheres or spheres made from microcrystalline cellulose or silicon dioxide or various salt crystals such as sodium citrate. (Col 20, lines 63-67), which are hydrophilic components. The immediate release composition may contain one or more binders to give the pellets cohesiveness. (col. 20, lines 17-18). In certain embodiments, at least a portion of the pellets are individually coated with both the bioadhesive polymer and the enteric coating. (Col 14, line 35-37). In some embodiments, an unbanded capsule is sealed with a sufficient amount of sealing composition. Such sealing compositions comprise a film-forming material, a plasticizer and a filler. The sealed capsule may be further coated with at least one other coating. (col 40, line 25-29).
In another aspect, a pharmaceutical composition comprises suitable pharmaceutically acceptable polymeric carriers include polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), polyethylene glycol (PEG), (col. 26, lines 1-2). Preferred polymeric carriers are one or more of polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), and polyethylene glycol (PEG), wherein a more preferred polymeric carrier is polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) having an average molecular weight of about 2,500 to about 3,000,000. A most preferred polymeric carrier is polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) having an average molecular weight of from about 10,000 to about 450,000. (Col. 26, lines 5-19). They are examples of channel forming agents and they include low molecular weight from as low as 2500 Dalton. Dalton unit (col. 54, line 67).
The modification to the polymer or monomer can performed in the coupling reaction with a crosslinker, carbodiimide (col. 58, line 26-42). The dosage form matrix can be made by procedures known to the polymer art with a cross-linking agent. A suitable polymer backbone can be a known bioadhesive polymer that is hydrophilic or hydrophobic. Hydrophilic polymers include CARBOPOL™, polycarbophil, cellulose esters, and dextran. (Col. 57, lines 6-10). Two classes of polymers have shown useful bioadhesive properties, hydrophilic polymers and hydrogels. In the large class of hydrophilic polymers, those containing carboxylic groups ( e.g., polyacrylic acid) exhibit the best bioadhesive properties, (Col. 48, lines 62-66), while hydrogels are formed by crosslinking. Some polymers derivatives of polyacrylic acids are also taught by Nangia: The step is repeated for each successive layer. Representative polymers suitable for manufacturing the dosage form include poly(methyl acrylate), poly(isobutyl methacrylate ), poly(alginate).(col 39, lines 51-67). Suitable film-forming materials include water-soluble synthetic polymers like poly acrylic acids (Col. 40 lines 30, 49), which are actually also bioadhesive polymers, (Col. 51, line 41; Col. 52, line 62).
The polymers and copolymers that form the backbone of the bioadhesive material include reactive functional groups that interact with the functional groups on the aromatic compound. It is desirable that the polymer or monomer that forms the polymeric backbone contains accessible functional groups that easily react with molecules contained in the aromatic compounds, such as amines and thiols. In a preferred embodiment, the polymer contains amino reactive moieties, such as aldehydes, ketones, carboxylic acid derivatives, (Col. 57, lines 58-67) cyclic anhydrides, alkyl halides, aryl azides, isocyanates, isothiocyanates, succinimidyl esters or a combination
thereof. Preferably, the aromatic compound containing one or more hydroxyl groups is catechol or a derivative thereof. Optionally, the aromatic compound is a polyhydroxy aromatic compound, such as a trihydroxy aromatic compound (e.g., phloroglucinol) or a multihydroxy aromatic compound (e.g., tannin). (Col. 58, lines 1-9). Tannin acts as a generic class, while tannic acid is a specific compound within that class. Nangia teaches a broad genus (tannins), it is obvious to substitute or select a widely known, commercially standard species (tannic acid) from within that genus to achieve predictable results.
Nangia et al. teach HPC in a core. Nangia et al. do not teach HPC as the coating agent and do not teach cross-linker is not active prior to exposure to an aqueous environment exposure to said aqueous environment causes said cross-linker to become active and to induce intermolecular cross-linking within said film forming polymer thereby forming an in-situ cross-linked film.
Belgamwar et al. teach the in vitro release profiles of metoprolol tartarate from microparticles in phosphate buffer of pH 7.2 shown that as the concentration of sodium alginate increases in the formulation, the release of the metoprolol tartarate from the polymer matrix was retarded. The formulation extended the release of the drug for 12 hours. Increasing the concentration of calcium chloride solution also increases the crosslinking of the COOH groups of alginate molecule and thus retards the release of the drug from the alginate matrix. The drug release data of these optimized batches was then explored for the type of release mechanism that they followed. (pg. 120, right col., 2nd par.), to release the drug in a controlled manner, (pg. 114, left col., 2nd. par.).
Belgamwar et al. do not teach HPC as the coating layer.
Jacob et al. teach following gastric emptying, the enteric coating is “triggered” to dissipate, revealing the underlying bioadhesive coating. Suitable triggers include pH and time duration. Typical of enteric polymers utilizing pH as a trigger are Eudragit polymers manufactured by Rohm America: Eudragit L100-55 dissolves at pH values greater than 5.5,
typically found in duodenum; Eudragit L100 dissolves at pH values exceeding 6.0, typically found in jejunum, Eudragit S100 dissolves at pH values exceeding 7.0, typically found
in ileum and the ileocecal junction. (0069). Polymers such as HPMC, HPC, PVP, PVA or combinations of the above may be used as time-delayed, enteric coatings and applying thicker coating weights can increase timing of the dissolution of the coating. (0070). The polymer is a blend of hydrophilic polymers and bioadhesive hydrophobic polymers. Suitable hydrophilic polymers include hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose, hydroxypropylcellulose. (0086). In a preferred embodiment, the bioadhesive polymers contain a water insoluble hydrophobic backbone and nucleophilic functional groups. A compound containing an aromatic group which contains one or more hydroxyl groups, such as catechol, can be grafted onto a polymer or coupled to individual monomers. The polymer or monomer that forms the polymeric backbone may contain accessible functional groups that easily react with molecules contained in the aromatic compounds, Such as amines and thiols. (0087). Polymers that contain a catechol functionality are bioadhesive. (0088). In a preferred embodiment, the aromatic compound containing one or more hydroxyl groups is catechol or a derivative thereof. Optionally the aromatic compound is a polyhydroxy aromatic compound, Such as a trihydroxy aromatic compound (e.g. phloroglucinol, benserazide) or a multihydroxy aromatic compound (e.g. tannin). (0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to prepare the pharmaceutical compositions microparticles containing a core, coated with both the bioadhesive polymer and a film-forming material, especially with hydrophilic polymer containing carboxylic groups polyacrylic acid, which can be crosslinked, to control release the drug in the upper intestines, the cross-linker including tannin taught by Nangia et al, and crosslinker when are exposed to the aqueous environment to induce crosslinking within film forming polymer to reduce drug release, taught by Belgamar et al., and the pH and the environment trigger the coating polymer HPC, the polyadhesive polymer containing tannin to react, taught by Jacop et al. since they have taught it is possible to do so.
With regard to claim 4, Belgamwar et al. teach preparation of mucoadhesive multiparticulate system for oral drug delivery. Microspheres are composed of various mucoadhesive polymers including HPMC, Carbopol and polycarbophil. Cross-linking of sodium alginate with calcium chloride was done which retarded the release of drug from the mucoadhesive polymer. The preliminary mucoadhesive strength studies performed for various polymers using rotating cylindrical method showed that HPMC had greater mucoadhesive properties than carbopol. The prepared formulations also exhibited a good mucoadhesive strength which was determined in in vitro conditions through falling film technique and was compared with ex vivo studies. The microspheres so prepared also exhibited a good swelling index which confirmed the strong mucoadhesive property of the formulation. Metoprolol release from the multiparticulate system was regulated and extended until 12 hours and exhibited a non fickian drug release kinetics approaching to zero order, as evident from the release rate exponent values which varied between 0.57 to 0.73. The stability studies performed on the optimized batches at 40°C / 75% RH for 90 days indicated no significant change in the physicochemical properties. (Abs). Carbopol is a brand name for carbomer or a specific, branded line of carbomers manufactured and sold by Lubrizol Corporation.
With regard to claim 5, Nangia et al. teach: "Bioadhesion" is defined as the ability of a material to adhere to a biological tissue for an extended period of time. Polycarbophils and acrylic acid polymers usually have the best adhesive properties. (col 47, lines 1-2 & 10-11).
With regard to claim 6, Nangia et al. teach: the modification to the polymer or monomer can performed in the coupling reaction with a crosslinker, carbodiimide (col. 58, line 26-42).
With regard to claim 9, Nangia et al. teach: the term "particle" refers to particles that comprise topiramate or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in any suitable size and shape. Typically, particles have a diameter in the range of about 1 micron to about 300 microns. Examples of different particle shapes include rods, granules, planar structures and other regular or irregular shapes. (Col 16, lines 23-27), so products comprise microparticles of different diameters.
With regard to claim 10, Nangia et al. teach: in other embodiments, the topiramate is micronized and the pellet size is less than 5 microns. Particles are formulated to these sizes in order to enable high drug loading when needed. (col. 44, lines 62-65), so microparticles are of substantially similar diameter.
With regard to claim 11, Nangia et al. teach: Active pellets were prepared by extrusion spheronization. Topiramate was blended with Emcocel 90M, Hydroxypropylcellulose EF Pharm, dibasic sodium phosphate, sodium lauryl sulfate, and Povidone K-30 and wet granulated by addition of purified water while mixing in a Hobart mixer. The granulation was then extruded into rods using a Caleva (col. 71, line 62-67).
With regard to claim 12,
Nangia et al. teach tannin in claim 1 above.
Jacob et al. teach optionally, the polymer is a blend of hydrophilic polymers and bioadhesive hydrophobic polymers. Suitable hydrophilic polymers include hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose, hydroxypropylcellulose. (0086). In a preferred embodiment, the bioadhesive polymers contain a water insoluble hydrophobic backbone and nucleophilic functional groups. A compound containing an aromatic group which contains one or more hydroxyl groups, Such as catechol, can be grafted onto a polymer or coupled to individual monomers. The polymer or monomer that forms the polymeric backbone may contain accessible functional groups that easily react with molecules contained in the aromatic compounds, Such as amines and thiols. (0087). Polymers that contain a catechol functionality are bioadhesive. (0088). In a preferred embodiment, the aromatic compound containing one or more hydroxyl groups is catechol or a
derivative thereof. Optionally the aromatic compound is a polyhydroxy aromatic compound, Such as a trihydroxy aromatic compound (e.g. phloroglucinol, benserazide) or a multihydroxy aromatic compound (e.g. tannin). (0089).
Jacob et al. teach: Hydroxypropyl cellulose (Bioadhesive Layers (2) Type A): 3.5% w/w and Eudragit RS PO 22.1% w/w. Jacob et al. have 2 polymers as coating agents. And bioadhesive polymer Poly (Fumaric-co- Bioadhesive Polymer sebacic) anhydride 20:80 polymer 73.9% w/w so the ratio is (3.5+22.1) / 73.9 = 25.1 / 73.9 = 0.34. (Tables 7, 0183).
Claim 12 of instant application, has a weight ratio of hydroxypropyl cellulose and tannic acid to said bioadhesive material in the first coating layer 54:46 = 1.17 and 10:90 = 0.1
With regard to claim 13,
Nangia et al. teach tannin in claim 1 above.
Jacob et al. teach: Hydroxypropyl cellulose (Bioadhesive Layers (2) Type B): 3.5% w/w and Eudragit RS PO 22.1% w/w. Jacob et al. have 2 polymers as coating agents. And bioadhesive polymer Poly (Fumaric-co- Bioadhesive Polymer sebacic) anhydride 20:80 polymer 59.5% w/w so the ratio is (3.5+22.1) / 59.5 = 25.1 / 59.5 = 0.42. (Tables 7, 0183).
Claim 13 of instant application, has a weight ratio of hydroxypropyl cellulose and tannic acid to said bioadhesive material in the first coating layer 30:70 = 0.43
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nangia et al. (US 9744137 B2) in view of Belgamwar et al. (Belgamwar et al., Formulation and Evaluation of Oral Mucoadhesive Multiparticulate System Containing Metoprolol Tartarate: An In Vitro – Ex Vivo Characterization. Current Drug Delivery, 2009, 6, 113-121) in view of Wan (AU 2014210266 B2).
The teachings of Nangia et al. and Belgamwar et al. are described in claim 1 above.
Nangia et al. and Belgamwar et al. do not teach bioadhesive material further comprises carbomer polymer.
Wan teaches the bioadhesive material of the enteric-coated or gastric-coated positioning immediate-release bioadhesive of the invention: can be carbomer (CP). (pg. 13, 2nd last par.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to prepare the pharmaceutical compositions microparticles containing a core, coated with both the bioadhesive polymer and a film-forming material, especially with hydrophilic polymer containing carboxylic groups polyacrylic acid, which can be crosslinked, to control release the drug in the upper intestines, taught by Nangia et al, crosslinker when are exposed to the aqueous environment to induce crosslinking within film forming polymer to reduce drug release, taught by Belgamar et al., and the bioadhesive polymer can be carbomer, taught by Wan, since they have taught it is possible to do so.
Response to Arguments
Response to Arguments/Remarks regarding Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant argues that The Presently Amended Claims Define a Specific Integrated Coating Layer Not Taught or Suggested by Nangia and Belgamwar. Nangia, however, discloses broad lists of materials that may be used as different components in various pharmaceutical dosage forms. Nangia does not identify or suggest a coating layer in which HPC is specifically selected as the film-forming polymer, tannic acid is specifically selected. Belgamwar does not remedy this deficiency. Belgamwar prepares crosslinked sodium alginate microspheres by ionic gelation. as the cross-linker, and both are combined with a crosslinked polyacrylic acid bioadhesive polymer in the arrangement required by amended claim 1. Amended claim I requires a materially different arrangement and mechanism. The claim requires tannic acid and HPC to be present together within the first coating layer before exposure to an aqueous environment, with the tannic acid initially inactive. Belgamwar's manufacturing-stage ionic gelation differs from the mechanism recited in amended claim I in at least four material respects. Applicant lists Belgamwar's teachings differently from applicant’s claim limitations.
This argument has been fully considered and is found persuasive that the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 by Nangia et al. and Belgamwar et al. alone is withdrawn due to the amendment of the claim. The rejection of claim 1 is modified. The modified rejection of claim 1 is now by Nangia et al., Belgamwar et al. and Jacob et al. above. Jacob et al. teach the enteric coating is with the underlying bioadhesive coating. Typical of enteric polymers are Eudragit polymers Eudragit L100-55, Eudragit L100, Eudragit S100, also suitable are cellulosic enteric polymer. (0069). Polymers such as HPMC, HPC, PVP, PVA or combinations of the above may be used as time-delayed, enteric coatings and applying thicker coating weights can increase timing of the dissolution of the coating. (0070). Also, Nangia and Jacob teach tannin. Please see details of the rejection above. And 103 rejection is that no one reference has to teach all the claim limitations for an obvious rejection and therefore several references are combined to render the claims obvious. One with ordinary skill in the art can learn from and select specific parts of several prior arts’ teachings before the effective filing date of the invention to achieve better outcome results even though some prior arts may teach more and may teach different things.
Applicant argues that amended claim I does not merely require a cross-linker that becomes active in water. It requires that tannic acid and HPC be present together in the claimed coating layer while the tannic acid is inactive and that subsequent aqueous exposure activate the tannic acid to induce intermolecular cross-linking within the HPC. Belgamwar does not disclose or suggest this claimed arrangement or sequence of operation. Even assuming, arguendo, that the individual claimed materials were independently known, the Office Action does not identify a reason, grounded in the cited references, why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have selected HPC from Nangia's disclosed film-forming materials, selected tannic acid from its disclosed cross-linkers, and combined those materials with a crosslinked polyacrylic acid bioadhesive polymer in a single coating layer configured to operate in the manner recited in claim 1. Nor does the Office Action establish why such a person would have reasonably expected that this particular combination would form the claimed in situ crosslinked HPC film upon aqueous exposure.
This argument has been fully considered and is found persuasive with the amendment so that the rejection of claim 1 is modified. Nangia still teaches crosslinker and with the amendment, Jacob’s teachings are added that HPC is in the coating layer with adhesive polymer and both Nangia and Jacob teach tannin and Jacop teaches the reaction happens only in the GI tract when the PH changes. Please see more details in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Applicant argues that Example 1 Provides Objective Evidence Supporting Non-Obviousness. Example 1 shows the formulations exhibited different adhesion profiles depending on both their composition and the pH of the surrounding environment; greater adhesion under conditions corresponding to duodenal pH than under conditions corresponding to gastric pH; the coating formulations do not exhibit uniform or indiscriminate adhesion throughout the tested pH range; their bioadhesive behavior varies with the surrounding conditions in a manner consistent with the intended delivery of the pharmaceutical composition to the duodenum. Example 1 shows that the observed adhesive behavior cannot be attributed merely to the presence of HPC, tannic acid, or the bioadhesive polymer considered individually. Sample 1, containing HPC without tannic acid or a bioadhesive polymer. Other samples 1.4-1.7 provides good adhesion forces.
This argument has been fully considered and is found not persuasive that Applicant provides results of sample 1, without tannic acid and without adhesive polymer, then the adhesion force is highest 367 mN, which seems to explain HPC may be a best mucoadhesive polymer. Also, Belgamwar et al. teach preparation of mucoadhesive multiparticulate system for oral drug delivery. Microspheres are composed of various mucoadhesive polymers including HPMC, Carbopol. The preliminary mucoadhesive strength studies performed for various polymers using rotating cylindrical method showed that HPMC had greater mucoadhesive properties than Carbopol. Also, new claims 12 and 13, and samples 1.4-1.7, are taught by Jacob et al., with HPC and bioadhesive polymer and tannin in the coating, even though, Jacob does not teach only one polymer HPC in the coating layer.
Applicant argues that The Office Action Does Not Establish a Reason to Arrive at the Claimed Combination with a Reasonable Expectation of Success.
This argument has been fully considered and is found not persuasive that a reference is presumed operable until applicant provides facts rebutting the presumption of operability. In re Sasse, 629 F.2d 675, 207 USPQ 107 (CCPA 1980)"
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/NGOC-ANH THI NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615