Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is not clear what is being referred to by the limitation “having a boiling” in line 14.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Asuncion et al, WO 2017/132156, (equivalent to U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0031808 which is relied on for paragraph numbers) in view of Lundgard, U.S. Patent No. 6,174,427.
Asuncion discloses a thermosetting molding compound. The compound includes a crosslinkable polyester resin as the thermosetting resin. See paragraph 0021. With regard to the claims as amended, the composition can further comprise a styrenic monomer which is an ethylenically unsaturated monomer as claimed. See paragraph 0023. The composition can comprise a free radical initiator containing either a peroxide or azo group in the claimed amounts. See paragraph 0023. Since the same initiator is present in the same amounts, there is a reasonable basis to expect that the initiator would produce the same amount of decomposition products which would have the claimed boiling point as claimed in claim 1. The styrene is present in an amount such as to not produce volatiles. See paragraph 0023. The thermosetting resin is polymerized by free radical polymerization. See paragraph 0024. The compound can further comprise hollow glass microspheres in amounts of 0-80 wt percent. See paragraph 0025. The compound can further comprise carbon fibers. The fibers are present in amounts of 0-80 wt percent. See paragraph 0026. The compound can further comprise a low profile additive such as polystyrene, polyethylene, in amounts of 0-50 total weight percent. See paragraph 0028. The structure can be coated to produce a class A coating which would appear to meet the limitations of claims 9-11 and Asuncion does not appear to require a primer layer.
Asuncion teaches that the low profile additive package can include polyacrylates, but fails to explicitly disclose polymethacrylate.
However, Lundgard discloses an article comprising a thermosetting resin with an electrostatic coating. See col. 1, lines 4-10. Suitable thermosetting resins include polyesters. See col. 2 , lines 55-62. The structure can include styrene as a crosslinking agent. See col. 2, lines 63-65. The structure can include a low profile additive such as polyvinyl acetate, saturated polyesters, polystyrene, polyacrylates, polymethacrylates and saturated polyester urethanes. See col. 3, lines 1-18. The compound can further include hollow glass microspheres. See col. 3, line 42. The structure can further include glass fibers. The fabricated structure can be coated with an e-coating. See col. 5, lines 14-29.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed polymethacrylate instead of the acrylate in Asuncion in view of the teaching of Lundgard of the suitability of polymethacrylates for use as a low profile additive.
Asuncion teaches a free radical initiator containing either a peroxide or azo group in amounts of 0.1-3 total weight percent. See paragraph 0023.
Asuncion teaches a class A finish, which is the same as a blister free finish. See paragraph 0029.
Asuncion does not disclose that the structure emits less than 250 ppm of volatiles after heating to 185 degrees C at a rate of 14 degrees C per minute and held for 1 minute, however, since Asuncion discloses the same composition made by free radical polymerization with a low styrene monomer content so as not to produce volatiles, it is reasonable to expect that the composition of Asuncion would necessarily meet the claimed limitation regarding decomposition products and emission of volatiles.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asuncion in view of Lundgard, U.S. Patent No. 6,174,427 as set forth above, and further in view of Guha et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0376350.
Asuncion differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose that the glass microspheres include a silane coating.
However, Guha teaches applying a silane to glass microspheres which are used in thermosetting resin compounds in order to improve bonding between the microspheres and the matrix resin. See entire document, especially paragraphs 0003, 0006.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used a silane coating in order to improve bonding between the microspheres and the resin in Asuncion.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asuncion in view of Lundgard, U.S. Patent No. 6,174,427 as set forth above, and further in view of Guzauskas, U.S. Patent No. 6,103,779.
Asuncion differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose incorporating thickening agents.
However, Guzauskas disclose that is was known to use alkaline earth thickeners in thermosetting resins used for sheet molding compounds. See col. 2, lines 22-31.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated alkaline earth thickeners as taught by Guzauskas in the composition of Asuncion in order to provide a composition having the desired viscosity.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/25/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Asuncion does not teach the same styrene monomer but instead teaches a styrene monomer covalently bonded to graphene oxide and that the claims as amended exclude the graphene oxide.
However, a monomer is a molecular that can be bonded to other identical molecules to form a polymer. The fact that the monomer is covalently bonded to graphene oxide does not make the monomer into something other than a monomer. A styrene monomer covalently bonded to graphene oxide would still be a styrene monomer. The instant claims do not preclude graphite being present. The claims recite “an ethylenically unsaturated monomer selected from the group consisting of: styrene,…” The styrene monomer of Asuncion meets the limitation of claim 1.
Applicant argues that the combination of reference is wholly silent regarding a free radical initiator containing either a peroxide or azo group present in amounts of from 0.1-3 total weight percent, wherein the initiator contributes less than 100 ppm. However, Asuncion teaches the claimed free radical initiator in the same amounts of 0.1-3 total weight percent at paragraph 0023. Therefore, since the same materials are used in the same amounts, there is a reasonable basis to expect that these materials would also have the claimed contribution of contributing less than 100 ppm of decomposition products, each with at least one decomposition product with a boiling point of between 160-210 degrees C, since like materials must have like properties and the composition of Asuncion is also used to form cured and blister free articles.
With regard to the combination of Lundgren and Asuncion, Applicant argues that if both Lundgren and Asuncion teach polyacrylates, why would one of ordinary skill then substituted polymethacrylates. However, Lundgren teaches that both polyacrylates and polymethacrylates are useful. An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
With regard to claim 3, Applicant argues that the silane coating would increase volatiles. However, there is nothing currently on the record to support this assertion. Additionally, since the silane coating also enhances bonding, the person of ordinary skill would have a rationale to add the silane coating.
With regard to claim 7 asserts the arguments which were set forth with regard to claim 1 which are answered above.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789