DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 11 have been amended; support is found in previously presented claims 6 and 8.
Claims 3, 6-9 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-12 are currently pending and have been examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 20140070259A) in view of Nagano (JP 2017157529A-cited in the IDS) and Onodera et al. (US 2016/0233510 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode ([0003] secondary battery may be a lithium ion secondary battery; [0051] separator interposed between the positive and negative electrode),
wherein the positive electrode comprises:
a current collector ([0012] positive electrode current collector);
a first positive electrode active material layer disposed on at least one surface of the current collector, and comprising Lix(NiaCobMnc)O2 as a first positive electrode active material ([0012-0014] first positive electrode active material provided on the current collector comprising formula 1 which is LixNiaMnbCocO2 -yDy wherein 1.0 ≦ x ≦ 1.2, 0.5 ≦ a ≦ 1, 0 ≦ b ≦ 0.5, 0 ≦ c ≦ 0.5, 0 ≦ y ≦ 0.1, here y=0 and wherein a+b+c can =0); and
a second positive electrode active material layer disposed on the first positive electrode active material layer, and comprising LiCoO2 or LiFePO4, ([0012-0016] second active material layer consists of LiCoO2 or can be LiFePO4 according to Formula 2). The selection of a known material from a list, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07),
wherein the first positive electrode active material layer has a thickness equal to or larger than a thickness of the second positive electrode active material layer ([0034] the ratio of the thickness of the first active material layer to the second active material layer is 2:1 to 4:1),
wherein the separator comprises a porous polymer substrate ([0054] separator may be a conventional porous polymer film).
The examiner notes that the specific stoichiometry used in the claimed invention and the prior art may differ as the prior art discloses different ranges than the instant invention, however, a skilled artisan can optimize the stoichiometry of each element in the composition to meet charge neutrality constraints as a skilled artisan would want to form a neutrally charged compound for stability purposes.
Modified Park is silent with respect to the second positive electrode active material layer containing an oxide based solid electrolyte.
Nagano discloses an electrode composite having multiple active material layers formed on a current collector and is analogous with the instant invention as being related to cathodes having multiple active material layers. Nagano discloses a cathode has a first active material and a second active material that is applied to the first active material layer. Nagano further discloses wherein a sufficient amount of solid electrolyte may fill in voids produced in the second active material layer in order to achieve a high output and a large capacity when used in lithium batteries ([0010-0016]). Nagano further discloses wherein the solid electrolyte is any one of a polymeric solid electrolyte, a sulfide based, solid electrolyte or an oxide based solid electrolyte or a mixture thereof ([0085-0086] the solid electrolyte being oxide based, sulfide based material as well as other materials). Nagano further discloses wherein the solid electrolyte is an oxide based solid electrolyte comprising one of LLTO (Li0.35La0.55TiO3), LATP (Li1.3Ti1.7Al0.3PO4), LLZO (Li7La3Zr2O12) and the like as well as many other compounds ([0085-0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to modify the second active material layer of Park to include the solid electrolyte such as LLTO, LATP, or LLZO as taught by Nagano such that the second active material layer contains solid electrolyte in order to achieve a high output and large capacity battery. Additionally, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to select an oxide based solid electrolyte from the list provided by Nagano. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). The resulting modification would teach both the first and second positive electrode active material layers as claimed through the modification.
Modified Park discloses wherein the solid electrolyte is provided in the second positive electrode active material layer in a sufficient amount (Nagano [0011]), however, is silent with respect to the weight percentage of the solid electrolyte in the positive electrode active material.
Onodera discloses a secondary battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor. Onodera discloses that is it desirable for the content of a solid electrolyte to be provided in an active material layer between a mass percentage of 5-50 mass % ([0026]. Onodera discloses that if the content of the solid electrolyte is between the range then the solid electrolyte can sufficiently fill in gaps of the active material to increase ionic and electronic conductivity, lower internal resistance, produce a higher discharge capacity, and obtain a preferable energy density ([0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to provide the solid electrolyte of Nagano between 5-50 mass% of the total mass of the second active material layer of Park in order to increase ionic and electronic conductivity, lower internal resistance, produce a higher discharge capacity and obtain a preferable energy density for the battery as taught by Onodera. The resulting modification would overlap with the claimed range and thus would be rendered obvious in view of the combination. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, modified Park discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Nagano further discloses wherein the second positive electrode active material is coated or doped with the solid electrolyte ([0010-0016] solid electrolyte fills in the gaps of the second active material layer).
Regarding claim 10, modified Park discloses a lithium second battery according to claim 1. Park further discloses that the lithium secondary battery is one of a lithium ion secondary battery, a lithium polymer secondary battery, or a lithium ion polymer secondary battery ([0003] secondary battery may be a lithium ion battery).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses a method for manufacturing a lithium secondary battery comprising the steps of:
S1) preparing a positive electrode comprising:
Preparing a current collector ([0012] positive electrode current collector) on which a first positive electrode active material layer comprising Lix(NiaCobMnc)O2 as a first positive electrode active material is coated and dried ([0012-0014] first positive electrode active material provided on the current collector comprising formula 1 which is LixNiaMnbCocO2 -yDy wherein 1.0 ≦ x ≦ 1.2, 0.5 ≦ a ≦ 1, 0 ≦ b ≦ 0.5, 0 ≦ c ≦ 0.5, 0 ≦ y ≦ 0.1, here y=0 and wherein a+b+c can =0; [0017] active material is coated and dried); and
Coating a slurry comprising a second positive electrode active material layer disposed on the first positive electrode active material layer, and comprising LiCoO2 or LiFePO4, onto a surface of the first positive electrode active material layer followed by drying to form a second positive active material layer ([0012-0017] coating a second active material layer consists of LiCoO2 or can be LiFePO4 according to Formula 2; coating and drying). The selection of a known material from a list, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07),
where in the first positive electrode active material layer has a thickness equal to or larger than a thickness of the second positive electrode active material layer ([0034] the ratio of the thickness of the first active material layer to the second active material layer is 2:1 to 4:1), and
S2) assembling the positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode ([0051] separator interposed between the positive and negative electrode),
Wherein the separator comprises a porous polymer substrate ([0054] separator may be a conventional porous polymer film).
The examiner notes that the specific stoichiometry used in the claimed invention and the prior art may differ as the prior art discloses different ranges than the instant invention, however, a skilled artisan can optimize the stoichiometry of each element in the composition to meet charge neutrality constraints as a skilled artisan would want to form a neutrally charged compound for stability purposes.
Modified Park is silent with respect to the second positive electrode active material layer containing a solid electrolyte.
Nagano discloses an electrode composite having multiple active material layers formed on a current collector and is analogous with the instant invention as being related to cathodes having multiple active material layers. Nagano discloses a cathode has a first active material and a second active material that is applied to the first active material layer. Nagano further discloses wherein a sufficient amount of solid electrolyte may fill in voids produced in the second active material layer in order to achieve a high output and a large capacity when used in lithium batteries ([0010-0016]). Nagano further discloses wherein the solid electrolyte is any one of a polymeric solid electrolyte, a sulfide based, solid electrolyte or an oxide based solid electrolyte or a mixture thereof ([0085-0086] the solid electrolyte being oxide based, sulfide based material as well as other materials). Nagano further discloses wherein the solid electrolyte is an oxide based solid electrolyte comprising one of LLTO (Li0.35La0.55TiO3), LATP (Li1.3Ti1.7Al0.3PO4), LLZO (Li7La3Zr2O12) and the like as well as many other compounds ([0085-0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to modify the second active material layer of Park to include the solid electrolyte such as LLTO, LATP, or LLZO as taught by Nagano such that the second active material layer contains solid electrolyte in order to achieve a high output and large capacity battery. Additionally, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to select an oxide based solid electrolyte from the list provided by Nagano. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). A skilled artisan can use the disclosures of Park and Nagano to provide the solid electrolyte material in the process steps of Park such that the solid electrolyte material can be provided in the slurry of the second active material and then applied to the first active material and dried to produce a second active material layer on a surface of the first active material layer. The resulting modification would teach both the first and second positive electrode active material layers as claimed through the modification.
Modified Park discloses wherein the solid electrolyte is provided in the second positive electrode active material layer in a sufficient amount (Nagano [0011]), however, is silent with respect to the weight percentage of the solid electrolyte in the positive electrode active material.
Onodera discloses a secondary battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor. Onodera discloses that is it desirable for the content of a solid electrolyte to be provided in an active material layer between a mass percentage of 5-50 mass % ([0026]. Onodera discloses that if the content of the solid electrolyte is between the range then the solid electrolyte can sufficiently fill in gaps of the active material to increase ionic and electronic conductivity, lower internal resistance, produce a higher discharge capacity, and obtain a preferable energy density ([0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to provide the solid electrolyte of Nagano between 5-50 mass% of the total mass of the second active material layer of Park in order to increase ionic and electronic conductivity, lower internal resistance, produce a higher discharge capacity and obtain a preferable energy density for the battery as taught by Onodera. The resulting modification would overlap with the claimed range and thus would be rendered obvious in view of the combination. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 12, modified Park discloses all the claim limitations of claim 11. Nagano further discloses wherein the second positive electrode active material is coated or doped with the solid electrolyte ([0010-0016] solid electrolyte fills in the gaps of the second active material layer).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 20140070259A) in view of Nagano (JP 2017157529A-cited in the IDS) and Onodera et al. (US 2016/0233510 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (KR 20150060376 A-equivalent KR101792750 B1 cited in the IDS).
Regarding claims 4-5, modified Park discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Park discloses a thickness of the positive electrode active material layers, however, discloses wherein thicknesses of the first layer can be 70-200 micrometers while the thickness of the second positive electrode layer can be 30-90 micrometers ([0034]). Thus Park discloses thickness that are slightly larger than that of the claimed invention and thus is silent with respect to the active material being between 20-60 micrometers and 10-30 micrometers.
Kim discloses a cathode material having a double layer of cathode active material and is analogous with the claimed invention. Kim discloses a similar thickness range to the claimed invention wherein the first active material can have a thickness of 30-300 micrometers and the second positive electrode active material having a thickness between 1-300 micrometers ([0028-0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to modify the thicknesses of the active materials of Park to be between the ranges taught by Kim as a simple change in size of the active material layers. Kim’s ranges for the active material overlap the ranges taught by Park, thus a skilled artisan would have found it obvious that the active material layer can be coated onto the current collector with varying degrees of thicknesses that overlap the claimed invention as the ranges of Kim overlap the claimed invention. Thus through the modification of Park and Kim, the first positive electrode active material can still have the thickness ratio of 2:1 in which the thickness of the first active material layer is thicker than the second active material layer while encompassing the claimed range as taught by Kim. The size of an article is not a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amended claims overcome the rejection of record and claims that the prior art fails to provide the unexpected results as seen in Table 2. Examiner notes the remarks, however, applicant fails to adequately explain the unexpected results and what aspects of the instant invention leads to unexpected results, thus the arguments are not found to be persuasive. The rejection has been updated rendering the arguments moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728