DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claim 93 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 93, lines 6-7: “to to” should be “to”; and
in claim 93, lines 8-9: “from the plurality of PPG waveforms” should be inserted after “a set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 84 and 89-95 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 84 recites “processing, in real-time via the at least one processor, the PPG data signal to determine consistency of the PPG waveforms, the processing comprising determining a relative peak ratio (RPR) for a set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms” in lines 6-8. This recitation conveys that there is a determined result of consistency that involves the intermediate step of determining the RPR. Claim 84 subsequently recites “classifying at least a portion of the PPG data signal according to the determined consistency of the PPG waveforms based on a comparison of the RPR to a threshold, wherein the portion of the PPG data signal is classified as consistent if the RPR exceeds the threshold” in lines 13-15. This recitation seems to convey that the RPR is compared to a threshold, and this comparison is used to classify the portion of the PPG data signal as consistent or not. However, it is not clear how the RPR and the classification relates to the determined result of consistency, which is clearly distinguished as being different from the RPR and the classification. What is the determined consistency’s role in the method? What does the determined result consistency look like? The RPR and its use in the classification step does not seem to rely upon any other determined result, including the determined consistency. Yet, the claim language requires the determination of consistency of the PPG waveforms and the classification of a portion of the PPG data signal is “according to the determined consistency of the PPG waveforms”. Thus, the interplay among the determined consistency, the RPR, and the classification is not clear. These issues render claim 84 indefinite.
Claims 89-92 and 94 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 84.
Claim 93 recites “processing, in real-time via the at least one processor, the plurality of PPG waveforms to to determine consistency of the plurality of PPG waveforms, the processing comprising determining a relative peak ratio (RPR) for a set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms” in lines 6-9. This recitation conveys that there is a determined result of consistency that involves the intermediate step of determining the RPR. Claim 93 subsequently recites “classifying, in real-time via the at least one processor, at least a portion of the PPG data signal according to the determined consistency of the plurality of PPG waveforms based on a comparison of the RPR to a threshold, wherein the portion of the PPG data signal is classified as consistent if the RPR exceeds the threshold” in lines 13-17. This recitation seems to convey that the RPR is compared to a threshold, and this comparison is used to classify the portion of the PPG data signal as consistent or not. However, it is not clear how the RPR and the classification relates to the determined result of consistency, which is clearly distinguished as being different from the RPR and the classification. What is the determined consistency’s role in the method? What does the determined result consistency look like? The RPR and its use in the classification step does not seem to rely upon any other determined result, including the determined consistency. Yet, the claim language requires the determination of consistency of the PPG waveforms and the classification of a portion of the PPG data signal is “according to the determined consistency of the plurality of PPG waveforms”. Thus, the interplay among the determined consistency, the RPR, and the classification is not clear. These issues render claim 93 indefinite.
Claim 95 is rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 93.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 84 and 90-95 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 84 and 90-93 are directed to a method of generating a physiological assessment using a computational algorithm, which is an abstract idea. Claims 84 and 90-93 do not include additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application or that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons provided below which are in line with the 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 79, No. 241, p 74618, December 16, 2014), the July 2015 Update on Subject Matter Eligibility (Federal Register, Vol. 80, No. 146, p. 45429, July 30, 2015), the May 2016 Subject Matter Eligibility Update (Federal Register, Vol. 81, No. 88, p. 27381, May 6, 2016), and the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 4, page 50, January 7, 2019).
The analysis of claim 84 is as follows:
Step 1: Claim 84 is drawn to a process.
Step 2A – Prong One: Claim 84 recites an abstract idea. In particular, claim 84 recites the following limitations:
[A1] 84. A method of generating a blood pressure assessment, the method comprising:
[B1] wherein the PPG data signal comprises a plurality of PPG waveforms;
[C1] processing, in real-time, the PPG data signal to determine consistency of the PPG waveforms, the processing comprising determining a relative peak ratio (RPR) for a set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms, wherein the RPR indicates a degree of consistency of the set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms, and wherein the set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms comprises PPG waveforms in the plurality of PPG waveforms that are temporally adjacent;
[D1] classifying at least a portion of the PPG data signals according to the determined consistency of the PPG waveforms based on a comparison of the RPR to a threshold, wherein the portion of the PPG data signal is classified as consistent if the RPR exceeds the threshold;
[E1] generating, in real-time, the blood pressure assessment for the subject based on only the portion of the PPG data signal classified as consistent, wherein the blood pressure assessment is more accurate than if the entire PPG data signal had been utilized.
These elements [A1]-[E1] of claim 84 are drawn to an abstract idea since (1) they involve mathematical concepts in the form of mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and/or mathematical calculations and/or (2) they involve a mental process that can be practically performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion and using pen and paper.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Claim 84 recites the following limitations that are beyond the judicial exception:
[A2] a wearable device worn by the subject, wherein the wearable device comprises a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor and at least one processor;
[B2] obtaining a PPG data signal from the PPG sensor;
[C2] using the processor for the real-time processing ([C1]) and real-time generating ([E1]); and
[D2] providing the blood pressure assessment for display to the subject.
The elements [A2]-[D2] of claim 84 do not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. In particular, the sensor of the element [A2] and the element [B2] are merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, i.e., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g). The element [C2] and the processor of the element [A2] used for real-time processing are merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f). The element [D2] is merely insignificant extrasolution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., simply displaying the results of the algorithm that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements.
Step 2B: Claim 84 does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. In particular, the sensor of the element [A2] and the element [B2] are merely insignificant extrasolution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with the abstract idea that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements or simply displaying the results of the algorithm that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements. In particular, the PPG sensor worn on the body of the subject is conventional as evidenced by:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0209084 (Bryant)(previously cited) disclosing that photoplethysmographic sensors are commonly available and in use in a variety of fitness, wrist-worn devices, such as the FitBit® and Garmin fitness tracking devices (paragraph 0018 of Bryant);
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0365331 (Tsai)(previously cited) disclosing that it is conventional known to have PPG sensing, processing, and displaying on a wearable device (paragraph 0002 of Tsai); and
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0367657 (Pande)(previously cited) disclosing that wrist-bands, watches, and other wearable heart-rate monitors using PPG sensors are commonly available (paragraph 0002 of Pande).
Further, the element [C2] and the processor of element [A2] used for real-time processing do not qualify as significantly more because this limitation is simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)). Also, the processor worn on the body of the subject is conventional as evidenced by:
Bryant disclosing that photoplethysmographic sensors are commonly available and in use in a variety of fitness, wrist-worn devices, such as the FitBit® and Garmin fitness tracking devices (paragraph 0018 of Bryant);
Tsai disclosing that it is conventional known to have PPG sensing, processing, and displaying on a wearable device (paragraph 0002 of Tsai); and
Pande disclosing that wrist-bands, watches, and other wearable heart-rate monitors using PPG sensors are commonly available (paragraph 0002 of Pande).
The element [D2] is simply displaying the results of the algorithm that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements.
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not integrate the exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
Claims 90-92 and 94 depend from claim 84, and recite the same abstract idea as claim 84. Furthermore, these claims only contain recitations that further limit the abstract idea (that is, the claims only recite limitations that further limit the algorithm) with the exception of the use of the processor. As previously mentioned, the processor does not integrate the exception into a practical application since it is merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f). Also, the processor does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself because the processor worn on the body of the subject is conventional as evidenced by: paragraph 0018 of Bryant, paragraph 0002 of Tsai, and paragraph 0002 of Pande and it is simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)).
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not integrate the exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations of each claim as an ordered combination in conjunction with the claims from which they depend (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
The analysis of claim 93 is as follows:
Step 1: Claim 93 is drawn to a process.
Step 2A – Prong One: Claim 93 recites an abstract idea. In particular, claim 93 recites the following limitations:
[A1] 93. A method of generating a blood pressure assessment of a subject, the method comprising:
[B1] wherein the PPG data signal comprises a plurality of PPG waveforms;
[C1] processing, in real-time, the plurality of PPG waveforms to to determine consistency of the plurality of PPG waveforms, the processing comprising determining a relative peak ratio (RPR) for a set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms, wherein the RPR is a ratio of a second peak associated with the set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms to a first peak associated with the set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms;
[D1] classifying, in real-time, at least a portion of the PPG data signal according to the determined consistency of the plurality of PPG waveforms based on a comparison of the RPR to a threshold, wherein the portion of the PPG data signal is classified as consistent if the RPR exceeds the threshold; and
[E1] processing, in real-time, the portion of the PPG data signal classified as consistent to generate the blood pressure assessment of the subject.
These elements [A1]-[E1] of claim 93 are drawn to an abstract idea since (1) they involve mathematical concepts in the form of mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and/or mathematical calculations and/or (2) they involve a mental process that can be practically performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion and using pen and paper.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Claim 93 recites the following limitations that are beyond the judicial exception:
[A2] a wearable device worn by the subject, wherein the wearable device comprises a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor and at least one processor;
[B2] obtaining a PPG data signal from the PPG sensor; and
[C2] using the processor for the real-time processing ([C1]), the real-time classifying ([D1]), and the real-time processing ([E1]).
The elements [A2]-[C2] of claim 93 do not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. In particular, the sensor of the element [A2] and the element [B2] are merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, i.e., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g). The element [C2] and the processor of the element [A2] used for real-time processing are merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B: Claim 93 does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. In particular, the sensor of the element [A2] and the element [B2] are merely insignificant extrasolution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with the abstract idea that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements. In particular, the PPG sensor worn on the body of the subject is conventional as evidenced by:
Bryant disclosing that photoplethysmographic sensors are commonly available and in use in a variety of fitness, wrist-worn devices, such as the FitBit® and Garmin fitness tracking devices (paragraph 0018 of Bryant);
Tsai disclosing that it is conventional known to have PPG sensing, processing, and displaying on a wearable device (paragraph 0002 of Tsai); and
Pande disclosing that wrist-bands, watches, and other wearable heart-rate monitors using PPG sensors are commonly available (paragraph 0002 of Pande).
Further, the element [C2] and the processor of the element [A2] used for real-time processing do not qualify as significantly more because this limitation is simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)) and/or a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than being stored on a computer readable medium which is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)). Also, the processor worn on the body of the subject is conventional as evidenced by:
Bryant disclosing that photoplethysmographic sensors are commonly available and in use in a variety of fitness, wrist-worn devices, such as the FitBit® and Garmin fitness tracking devices (paragraph 0018 of Bryant);
Tsai disclosing that it is conventional known to have PPG sensing, processing, and displaying on a wearable device (paragraph 0002 of Tsai);
Pande disclosing that wrist-bands, watches, and other wearable heart-rate monitors using PPG sensors are commonly available (paragraph 0002 of Pande).
In view of the above, the additional elements individually do not integrate the exception into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the above-judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination (that is, as a whole) adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taking individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, for example, or improves any other technology. There is no indication that the combination of elements permits automation of specific tasks that previously could not be automated. There is no indication that the combination of elements includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a desired computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provide conventional computer implementation, i.e., the computer is simply a tool to perform the process.
Claim 95 depends from claim 93, and recite the same abstract idea as claim 93. Furthermore, this claim only contains recitations that further limit the abstract idea (that is, the claims only recite limitations that further limit the algorithm) with the exception of the use of the processor. As previously mentioned, the processor does not integrate the exception into a practical application since it is merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f). Also, the processor does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself because the processor worn on the body of the subject is conventional as evidenced by: paragraph 0018 of Bryant, paragraph 0002 of Tsai, and paragraph 0002 of Pande and it is simply appending well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known in the industry (see Electric Power Group, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014); SAP Am. v. InvestPic, 890 F.3d 1016 (Fed. Circ. 2018)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 84 and 91-95 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0326349 (McGonigle)(previously presented), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0123787 (Kitajima)(previously presented), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0073861 (Rodriguez-Llorente)(previously cited).
McGonigle teaches a method comprising:
obtaining a photoplethysmography (PPG) data signal (the PPG signal 416 of McGonigle; abstract and paragraphs 0002-0006, 0071, 0078, 0080, 0084-0086, 0090, 0094, 0097, 0099-100, 0106, 0110, and 0112-0114 of McGonigle) from the PPG sensor (the sensor 418 of FIG. 4 of McGonigle), wherein the PPG data signal comprises a plurality of PPG waveforms;
processing, via the at least one processor, the PPG data signal to determine consistency of the PPG waveforms (determining consistency using the amplitude levels of the signal peaks and/or the time-distance between the signal peaks; abstract and paragraphs 0002-0006, 0078, 0080, 0084-0086, 0090, 0094, 0097, 0099-100, 0106, 0110, and 0112-0114 of McGonigle).
McGonigle further teaches that signal peaks, signal troughs, interpeak distances, and other features may be identified and used to determine consistency (paragraph 0078 of McGonigle). Further, McGonigle teaches that inconsistent features are caused by noise (paragraph 0077 of McGonigle). Kitajima teaches that a ratio of two adjacent peaks is a metric that determines if peaks are of diagnostic significance as opposed to noise (paragraphs 0059-0066 of Kitajima) in PPG sensing (paragraph 0033 of Kitajima). Further, Kitajima teaches the comparison of the ratio of two adjacent peaks to a threshold for the identification of peaks of diagnostic significance (paragraphs 0061-0064, 0066-0068, 0081-0082, 0119, and 0127 of Kitajima). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ratio of two adjacent peaks as a metric to determine consistency and the comparison of the ratio to a threshold for identifying consistency since McGonigle teaches other features may be identified so as to determine consistency and a ratio of two adjacent peaks with its comparison to a threshold is such a feature that determines consistent features of diagnostic significance in PPG signals.
McGonigle teaches the removal of those portions of the signal that are not consistent (abstract, claims 7 and 17, and paragraphs 0006, 0096 and 0109 of McGonigle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the inconsistent portions of the PPG signal before processing since it provides a more accurate signal.
McGonigle teaches a method comprising: obtaining a photoplethysmography (PPG) data signal (the PPG signal 416 of McGonigle; abstract and paragraphs 0002-0006, 0071, 0078, 0080, 0084-0086, 0090, 0094, 0097, 0099-100, 0106, 0110, 0112-0114 of McGonigle) from a PPG sensor (the sensor 418 of FIG. 4 of McGonigle) worn on a body of the subject (paragraph 0040 of McGonigle). Rodriguez-Llorente teaches that blood pressure can be determined from PPG signals (paragraph 0202 of Rodriguez-Llorente) and displayed on a monitor (paragraphs 0184 and 0195 of Rodriguez-Llorente). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine blood pressure from the PPG signal of McGonigle and display it on a monitor since it would provide and convey diagnostic health information about the subject that is useful in determining cardiovascular health.
McGonigle teaches the obtainment of the signal in real time (paragraph 0081 of McGonigle). Kitajima teaches the processing in real-time (paragraphs 0098, 0104, and 0131 of Kitajima). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process the signals in real-time, as suggested by Kitajima, since it provides the blood pressure at the soonest possible time for consideration.
With respect to claim 84, the combination teaches or suggests a method of generating a blood pressure assessment of a subject (the assessment suggested by paragraph 0202 of Rodriguez-Llorente) via a wearable device worn by the subject (paragraph 0040 of McGonigle; FIGS. 2 and 4 of McGonigle), wherein the wearable device comprises a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor (the sensor 418 of FIG. 4 of McGonigle) and at least one processor (the CPU 24 of FIG. 4 of McGonigle), the method comprising:
obtaining a PPG data signal (the PPG signal 416 of McGonigle; abstract and paragraphs 0002-0006, 0071, 0078, 0080, 0084-0086, 0090, 0094, 0097, 0099-100, 0106, 0110, and 0112-0114 of McGonigle) from the PPG sensor (the sensor 418 of FIG. 4 of McGonigle), wherein the PPG data signal comprises a plurality of PPG waveforms;
processing, in real-time via the at least one processor, the PPG data signal to determine consistency of the PPG waveforms, the processing comprising determining a relative peak ratio (RPR) for a set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms, wherein the RPR indicates a degree of consistency of the set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms, and wherein the set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms comprises PPG waveforms in the plurality of PPG waveforms that are temporally adjacent (the comparison of the ratio of two adjacent peaks to a threshold for the identification of the peaks of diagnostic significance of Kitajima; the real-time processing suggested by Kitajima);
classifying at least a portion of the PPG data signals according to the determined consistency of the PPG waveforms based on a comparison of the RPR to a threshold, wherein the portion of the PPG data signal is classified as consistent if the RPR exceeds the threshold (the classification of the peaks meeting the threshold as diagnostic significant as opposed to noise);
generating, in real-time via the at least one processor, the blood pressure assessment for the subject based on only the portion of the PPG data signal classified as consistent (the removal of the inconsistent portions of the PPG signal before the blood pressure determination of Rodriguez-Llorente; the real-time processing suggested by Kitajima), wherein the blood pressure assessment is more accurate than if the entire PPG data signal had been utilized; and
providing the blood pressure assessment for display to the subject (the display of the blood pressure determined from the PPG signals, as suggested by Rodriguez-Llorente).
With respect to claim 91, the combination teaches or suggests that the method further comprises processing, via the at least one processor, the plurality of PPG waveforms in the PPG signal to identify a pattern of one or more subsets of the plurality of PPG waveforms that is indicative of high or low morphological similarity (the comparison of the ratio of two adjacent peaks to a threshold for the identification of the peaks of diagnostic significance of Kitajima which is indicative of high morphological similarity of PPG waveforms to identify a cluster (or pattern) of peaks of diagnostic significance).
With respect to claim 92, Kitajima teaches the comparison of the ratio of two adjacent peaks to a threshold for the identification of peaks of diagnostic significance (paragraphs 0061-0064, 0082, 0119, and 0127 of Kitajima). Kitajima further teaches that the threshold can be arbitrarily set depending on a feature of pulsation of a subject or a predicted symptom (paragraph 0064 of Kitajima). Thus, Kitajima teaches that the threshold is subject to change and can be set based on a feature of pulsation of the subject or the predicted symptom. As such, the threshold value is a results-effective variable that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on a feature of pulsation of a subject or a predicted symptom. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the threshold value so as to obtain the feature of pulsation of the subject or the predicted symptom. Thus, the features of “wherein the threshold is 0.4444” would have been obvious.
With respect to claim 93, the combination teaches or suggests a method of generating a blood pressure assessment of a subject (the assessment suggested by paragraph 0202 of Rodriguez-Llorente) via a wearable device worn by the subject (paragraph 0040 of McGonigle; FIGS. 2 and 4 of McGonigle), wherein the wearable device comprises a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor (the sensor 418 of FIG. 4 of McGonigle) and at least one processor (the CPU 24 of FIG. 4 of McGonigle), the method comprising:
obtaining a PPG data signal (the PPG signal 416 of McGonigle; abstract and paragraphs 0002-0006, 0071, 0078, 0080, 0084-0086, 0090, 0094, 0097, 0099-100, 0106, 0110, and 0112-0114 of McGonigle) from the PPG sensor (the sensor 418 of FIG. 4 of McGonigle), wherein the PPG data signal comprises a plurality of PPG waveforms;
processing, in real-time via the at least one processor, the plurality of PPG waveforms to to determine consistency of the plurality of PPG waveforms, the processing comprising determining a relative peak ratio (RPR) for a set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms, wherein the RPR is a ratio of a second peak associated with the set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms to a first peak associated with the set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms (the comparison of the ratio of two adjacent peaks to a threshold for the identification of the peaks of diagnostic significance of Kitajima; the real-time processing suggested by Kitajima); and
classifying, in real-time via the at least one processor, at least a portion of the PPG data signal according to the determined consistency of the plurality of PPG waveforms based on a comparison of the RPR to a threshold, wherein the portion of the PPG data signal is classified as consistent if the RPR exceeds the threshold (the classification of the peaks meeting the threshold as diagnostic significant as opposed to noise; the real-time processing suggested by Kitajima); and
processing, in real-time via the at least one processor, the portion of the PPG data signal classified as consistent to generate the blood pressure assessment of the subject (using the diagnostically significant peaks in the blood pressure determination of Rodriguez-Llorente; the real-time processing suggested by Kitajima).
With respect to claim 94, Rodriguez-Llorente teaches that blood pressure can be determined from PPG signals (paragraph 0202 of Rodriguez-Llorente) and displayed on a monitor (paragraphs 0184 and 0195 of Rodriguez-Llorente). Rodriguez-Llorente discloses that the subject’s age, weight, and diagnosis may be used to select and provide coefficients for equations from which, for example, pulse rate, blood pressure, and other measurements may be determined based on the PPG signals to determine blood pressure. These equations may contain coefficients that depend upon a subject’s physiological characteristics (paragraph 0202 of Rodriguez-Llorente). Rodriguez-Llorente teaches that neural networks are used to receive the combination of inputs to determine updated coefficients or other parameters as new data is analyzed (paragraph 0686 of Rodriguez-Llorente). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use neural networks to update coefficients when determining blood pressure from PPG signals since it takes into account new data for better accuracy. With respect to claim 94, the combination teaches or suggests using a machine learning model for generating the blood pressure assessment for the subject based on only the portion of the PPG data signal classified as consistent (using the neural networks of Rodriguez-Llorente to update coefficients when determining blood pressure from PPG signals after the removal of the inconsistent portions of the PPG signal).
With respect to claim 95, Rodriguez-Llorente teaches that blood pressure can be determined from PPG signals (paragraph 0202 of Rodriguez-Llorente) and displayed on a monitor (paragraphs 0184 and 0195 of Rodriguez-Llorente). Rodriguez-Llorente discloses that the subject’s age, weight, and diagnosis may be used to select and provide coefficients for equations from which, for example, pulse rate, blood pressure, and other measurements may be determined based on the PPG signals to determine blood pressure. These equations may contain coefficients that depend upon a subject’s physiological characteristics (paragraph 0202 of Rodriguez-Llorente). Rodriguez-Llorente teaches that neural networks are used to receive the combination of inputs to determine updated coefficients or other parameters as new data is analyzed (paragraph 0686 of Rodriguez-Llorente). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use neural networks to update coefficients when determining blood pressure from PPG signals since it takes into account new data for better accuracy. Thus, the combination teaches or suggests using a machine learning model in the processing, in real time via the at least one processor, of the portion of the PPG data signal classified as consistent to generate the blood pressure assessment of the subject (using the neural networks of Rodriguez-Llorente to update coefficients when determining blood pressure from PPG signals; the real-time processing suggested by Kitajima).
Claims 89-90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGonigle, in view of Kitajima, and further in view of Rodriguez-Llorente, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0119314 (Just)(previously cited).
With respect to claim 89, the combination teaches or suggests a step of obtaining a photoplethysmography (PPG) data signal (the PPG signal 416 of McGonigle; abstract and paragraphs 0002-0006, 0071, 0078, 0080, 0084-0086, 0090, 0094, 0097, 0099-100, 0106, 0110, and 0112-0114 of McGonigle) from the PPG sensor (the sensor 418 of FIG. 4 of McGonigle). Just teaches that elevated physical activity sensed by an accelerometer may trigger an actuator to move a PPG sensor module towards the skin of a subject wearing a wearable device (paragraph 0159 of Just). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an accelerometer, an actuator for adjusting the PPG sensor relative to the skin of the subject, and the process of triggering the actuator when the accelerometer senses elevated activity so as to ensure higher quality readings during intensive movement. Thus, the combination teaches or suggests that the wearable device further comprises a motion sensor (the accelerometer of Just) and an actuator (the actuator of Just) configured to adjust a stability of the wearable device relative to a body of the subject (the adjustment of Just), and wherein the method further comprises adjusting the stability of the wearable device in response to a motion signal from the motion sensor during the obtaining of the PPG data signal from the PPG sensor (paragraph 0159 of Just).
With respect to claim 90, the combination teaches or suggests a step of obtaining a photoplethysmography (PPG) data signal (the PPG signal 416 of McGonigle; abstract and paragraphs 0002-0006, 0071, 0078, 0080, 0084-0086, 0090, 0094, 0097, 0099-100, 0106, 0110, and 0112-0114 of McGonigle) from the PPG sensor (the sensor 418 of FIG. 4 of McGonigle). Just teaches that sensor readings from a PPG sensor may be processed to determine the subject’s heart rate and if the heart rate is above an elevated threshold and sensor readings from an inertial sensor 202 (such as an accelerometer) may be processed to determine if the subject is active or at rest (paragraph 0103 of Just). Just further teaches that the results of the PPG sensor information and inertial sensor information trigger blood pressure readings (paragraph 0103 of Just). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process the PPG signal to determine heart rate, determine if the heart rate is above an elevated threshold, and process inertial sensor information to determine physical activity so as to trigger the blood pressure reading based on these results so as to determine if the subject is at a high risk of a cardiac event (paragraph 0103 of Just). Thus, the combination teaches or suggests that the method further comprises processing the obtained PPG signal via the at least one processor to determine a heart rate value for the subject (the heart rate determination of Just), and then proceeding with the generating of the blood pressure assessment in response to determining, via the at least one processor, that the heart rate value is above or below a heart rate threshold (the blood pressure assessment when the heart rate is above an elevated threshold and inertial sensor information indicates an absence of physical activity).
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments filed 7/7/2026 have been fully considered.
Claim objections
In view of the claim amendments filed on 7/7/2026, the previous claim objections are withdrawn. However, there are new grounds of claim objections that were necessitated by the claim amendments filed on 7/7/2026.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph
In view of the claim amendments filed on 7/7/2026, the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn. However, there are new grounds of claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, that were necessitated by the claim amendments filed on 7/7/2026.
35 U.S.C. 101
The Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive. The claims as a whole is the determination of blood assessment using an algorithm that involves mathematical concepts in the form of mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and/or mathematical calculations and/or involves a mental process that can be practically performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion and using pen and paper. Essentially, data is input by routine data gathering. Ratios are formed and compared to thresholds to filter out inconsistency and then the consistent data is used to determine a blood pressure assessment that is displayed.
The Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive. The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As previously mentioned, data is input by routine data gathering. Ratios are formed and compared to thresholds to filter out inconsistency and then the consistent data is used to determine a blood pressure assessment. This is the abstract idea. The input of the data relies on a wearable sensor that is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, i.e., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g). The display of the result is merely insignificant extrasolution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., simply displaying the results of the algorithm that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements. Finally, the processor is merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f).
The Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive. The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As previously mentioned, data is input by routine data gathering. Ratios are formed and compared to thresholds to filter out inconsistency and then the consistent data is used to determine a blood pressure assessment. This is the abstract idea. The input of the data relies on a wearable sensor that is merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, i.e., mere data gathering at a higher level of generality - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g). The display of the result is merely insignificant extrasolution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., simply displaying the results of the algorithm that uses conventional, routine, and well known elements. Finally, the processor is merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f).
Prior art rejections
With respect to the rejection of claim 84, the Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive. Although McGonigle teaches that signal peaks, signal troughs, interpeak distances, and other features may be identified and used to determine consistency (paragraph 0078 of McGonigle), McGonigle also teaches that inconsistent features are caused by noise (paragraph 0077 of McGonigle). Kitajima is relied upon to teach that a ratio of two adjacent peaks is a metric that determines if peaks are of diagnostic significance as opposed to noise (paragraphs 0059-0066 of Kitajima) in PPG sensing (paragraph 0033 of Kitajima). Further, Kitajima teaches the comparison of the ratio of two adjacent peaks to a threshold for the identification of peaks of diagnostic significance (paragraphs 0061-0064, 0066-0068, 0081-0082, 0119, and 0127 of Kitajima). One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Applicant then asserts that Kitajima’s disclosure (1) is limited to notch/noise removal, (2) does not use an RPR for a set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms, and (3) does not describe that the ratio is used as a measure indicating a degree of consistency of the set of temporally neighboring PPG waveforms. This argument is not persuasive. McGonigle teaches that signal peaks, signal troughs, and interpeak distances and other features may be identified and used to determine consistency (paragraph 0078 of McGonigle). Further, McGonigle teaches that inconsistent features are caused by noise (paragraph 0077 of McGonigle). Kitajima teaches that a ratio of two adjacent peaks is a metric that determines if peaks are of diagnostic significance as opposed to noise (paragraphs 0059-0066 of Kitajima) in PPG sensing (paragraph 0033 of Kitajima). Further, Kitajima teaches the comparison of the ratio of two adjacent peaks (an RPR) to a threshold for the identification of peaks of diagnostic significance (paragraphs 0061-0064, 0066-0068, 0081-0082, 0119, and 0127 of Kitajima). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the ratio of two adjacent peaks as a metric to determine consistency and the comparison of the ratio to a threshold for identifying consistency since McGonigle teaches other features may be identified so as to determine consistency and a ratio of two adjacent peaks with its comparison to a threshold is such a feature that determines consistent features of diagnostic significance in PPG signals. Thus, the combination of McGonigle and Kitajima does teach the comparison of an RPR of two adjacent peaks to a threshold so as to remove inconsistent (i.e., noisy) data from the PPG signal.
The Applicant asserts:
As recited in the above rejection, Rodriguez-Llorente is relied upon to teach that blood pressure can be determined from PPG signals (paragraph 0202 of Rodriguez-Llorente) and displayed on a monitor (paragraphs 0184 and 0195 of Rodriguez-Llorente). The combination of McGonigle and Kitajima teaches the comparison of an RPR of two adjacent peaks to a threshold so as to remove inconsistent (i.e., noisy) data from the PPG signal. Thus, the Applicant’s argument is not commensurate with the rejection.
The Applicant asserts that the combined teachings of McGonigle, Kitajima, and Rodriguez-Llorente do not determine an RPR for temporally neighboring PPG waveforms where the RPR indicates a degree of consistency of that set. As previously mentioned, McGonigle and Kitajima teaches the comparison of an RPR of two adjacent peaks to a threshold so as to remove inconsistent (i.e., noisy) data from the PPG signal. Rodriguez-Llorente is relied upon to teach that blood pressure can be determined from PPG signals (paragraph 0202 of Rodriguez-Llorente) and displayed on a monitor (paragraphs 0184 and 0195 of Rodriguez-Llorente.
Further, there is a reason to combine the teachings of McGonigle, Kitajima, and Rodriguez-Llorente, as articulated in the rejection.
For the above reasons, the rejection of claim 84 is proper.
Claims 89-92 and 94 are properly rejected since the rejection of claim 84 is properly rejected and the prior art teaches or suggests all the features of these claims.
With respect to claim 92, the Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive. Kitajima teaches the comparison of the ratio of two adjacent peaks to a threshold for the identification of peaks of diagnostic significance (paragraphs 0061-0064, 0082, 0119, and 0127 of Kitajima). Kitajima further teaches that the threshold can be arbitrarily set depending on a feature of pulsation of a subject or a predicted symptom (paragraph 0064 of Kitajima). Thus, Kitajima teaches that the threshold is subject to change and can be set based on a feature of pulsation of the subject or the predicted symptom. As such, the threshold value is a results-effective variable that would have been optimized through routine experimentation based on a feature of pulsation of a subject or a predicted symptom. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the threshold value so as to obtain the feature of pulsation of the subject or the predicted symptom. Thus, the features of “wherein the threshold is 0.4444” would have been obvious.
The rejection of claim 93 is a new ground of rejection that were necessitated by the claim amendments filed on 7/7/2026. Also, the new rejection of claim 93 is proper for the same reason that the rejection of claim 84 is proper.
Claim 95 is properly rejected since the rejection of claim 93 is properly rejected and the prior art teaches or suggests all the features of this claim.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791