DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II comprising claims 9 – 12 and new claims 15 – 19 in the reply filed on 9/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 8, 13 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/19/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 does not end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 10 and 15 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 2017/0175063 A1; hereinafter “Smith”).
Regarding claim 9, Smith teaches a method of controlling a plurality of automated process control stations via a central control station (a plurality of automated tissue engineering systems can be operated and networked under the control of a remote computer; Abstract; paragraphs 174 and 240), the method comprising:
establishing network connections with a plurality of computer systems corresponding to a plurality of automated process control stations, each configured to control a plurality of automated cell engineering systems configured for production of cell cultures (paragraphs 8 and 240);
accessing, by the central control station, control information history of a first computer system from the plurality of computer systems (paragraphs 27 and 174); and
providing to the first computer system at least one of a cell culture growth protocol update and a cell engineering software update (paragraphs 27 and 174).
Regarding claim 10, Smith teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising providing the cell engineering software update to the plurality of computer systems (paragraphs 174 and 240).
Regarding claim 15, Smith teaches the method of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of computer systems is configured to control a corresponding plurality of automated cell engineering systems by:
initiating a cell engineering process according to a cell culture growth protocol in the corresponding plurality of automated cell engineering systems (paragraphs 8 and 240);
receiving, at the automated process control system via the plurality of network connections, process information from the corresponding plurality of automated cell engineering systems (paragraphs 27 and 174), and
providing a plurality of control signals to cause the corresponding plurality of automated cell engineering systems to adjust one or more process parameters of the corresponding plurality of automated cell engineering systems in accordance with the cell culture growth protocol based on the process information (paragraphs 27 and 174).
Regarding claim 16, Smith teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising providing to the first computer system the cell culture growth protocol update (paragraphs 174 and 240).
Regarding claim 17, Smith teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising
providing an updated plurality of control signals to cause the plurality of automated cell engineering systems to adjust one or more process parameters of the plurality of automated cell engineering systems in accordance with the cell culture growth protocol update during the cell engineering process (paragraphs 174, 194 and 240).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2017/0175063 A1; hereinafter “Smith”) in view of Seiver et al. (US 2018/0241768 A1; hereinafter “Seiver”).
Regarding claim 11, Smith does not specifically teach the method of claim 9, further comprising analyzing the control information history; and modifying local user access to the first computer system based on the analysis of the control information history.
However, Seiver teaches systems for analyzing information history and modifying local user access based on the information history (paragraphs 23, 49 and 72). These steps would enable process and product information to remain secure and accessible to appropriate personal. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the steps of analyzing the control information history; and modifying local user access to the first computer system based on the analysis of the control information history.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2017/0175063 A1; hereinafter “Smith”) in view of Zalewski et al. (WO 2009/055342 A1; hereinafter “Zalewski”).
Regarding claim 12, Smith does not specifically teach the method of claim 9, further comprising analyzing the control information history to determine local user compliance with best practices.
However, Zalewski teaches analyzing control information history to determine local user compliance with best practices such as accepted community standards (paragraphs 18, 58 and 103). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the step of analyzing the control information history to determine local user compliance with best practices.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2017/0175063 A1; hereinafter “Smith”) in view of Tamura et al. (US 7,487,117 B1; hereinafter “Tamura”).
Regarding claim 18, Smith does not specifically teach the method of claim 9, wherein the cell culture growth protocol update corresponds to an updated cell culture delivery requirement.
Regarding claim 19, Smith teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising monitoring one or more parameters of the cell culture growth protocol associated with an automated cell engineering system of the plurality of automated cell engineering systems (paragraphs 27, 174 and 240), but does not specifically teach the steps of: projecting, according to the monitoring, a cell culture delivery date; and alerting an authorized user in advance of the cell culture delivery date.
However, Tamura teaches a sales support system incorporating delivery projection and delivery updates of products or services (Abstract; col. 12, lines 3 – 5; col. 20, lines 33 – 36) and alerting an authorized user in advance of the delivery date (col. 9, lines 52 – 55). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the cell culture growth protocol update corresponds to an updated cell culture delivery requirement and the steps of: projecting, according to the monitoring, a cell culture delivery date; and alerting an authorized user in advance of the cell culture delivery date to facilitate effective product delivery.
Conclusion
BRIAN J. SINES
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1796
/BRIAN J. SINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796