DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to amendments filed on 04/28/2025. Claims 11-14 are previously cancelled. Claims 1, 2, 6, and 7 are currently amended. Claims 1-10 are pending for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/28/2025 with respect to claims 1 and 6 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Regarding claim 1 and 6, the applicant has amended the claim limitations. Wherein Huawei still teaches the claim limitations “wherein the first DCI is a DCI format used for notifying power saving information for one or more UEs and comprises awake-up indication for the UE”. See Huawei teaches--- - DCI format(s) of power saving signal/channel activating UE(s), that is related to power saving functionalities. Wherein, the power saving channel carrying wake-up information/indication. (see Page 6-7, section 3.6- 1st, 2nd and last para).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
5. Claim 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory provision obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 5-7 and 10 of application no. 17/635659, hereinafter referred to as “659”.
Instant application
Co-pending Application 17/635659
1.
1.
A method for a discontinuous reception (DRX) operation of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, first configuration information informing of a monitoring occasion for detecting first downlink control information (DCI) including information for whether the UE to wake-up;
receiving second configuration information for an operation to be applied to the UE based on the first DCI not being detected; and
wherein, (i) based on the second configuration information informing the UE to wake-up if the first DCI is not detected and, (ii)based on the first DCI not being detected in the monitoring occasion, the UE monitors a second PDCCH for detecting second DCI other than the first DCI in a next discontinuous reception (DRX) on duration.
3. wherein the operation to be applied to the UE is that the UE wakes up.
1. the UE monitors a second PDCCH for detecting second DCI other than the first DCI in a next discontinuous reception (DRX) on duration.
6. Claims 1, 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 5 and 10 of application no. 17/635659, hereinafter referred to as “659” in view of Pang (US 2020/0351946 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 6, claim 1, 5 and 10 of the “17/635659” does not performing, by a user equipment (UE), synchronization with a base station based on a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), receiving, by the UE, system information from the base station; performing, by the UE, a random access procedure with the base station based on the system information,
However, in an analogous art, Pang recites performing, by a user equipment (UE), synchronization with a base station based on a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) ([0206], UE initially accesses a system includes : (1) an initial synchronization; wherein in Fig. 2, UE obtains/performs time and frequency synchronization based on a PSS and a SSS, with BS.),
receiving, by the UE, system information from the base station ([0206], UE initially accesses a system includes: (2) a network sends basic system information; wherein in Fig. 2, the UE receives a basic system information/SIB, from the BS.);
performing, by the UE, a random access procedure with the base station based on the system information ([0206], UE initially accesses a system includes: (3) a random access process; wherein in Fig. 2, the UE obtains resource configuration information of uplink random access based on the received basic system information provided by the system, and performs an uplink random access procedure.),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Pan and apply them in the claim 1, 5 and 10 of the “17/635659” to provide a solution of how the UE uses a BWP when the UE needs to perform an RA procedure, so that the UE can quickly complete the random access procedure(Pan; [0016]).
7. Claims 1, 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 5 and 10 of application no. 17/635659, hereinafter referred to as “659” in view of Huawei (“PDCCH-based power saving signal/ channel”; R1-1906005, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting#97; Rno, USA—Pub Date 13-17 may 2019)
Regarding Claim 1, 6, claim 1, 5 and 10 of the “17/635659” does not recite wherein the first DCI is a DCI format used for notifying power saving information for one or more UEs and comprises a wake-up indication for the UE; monitoring, by the UE, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for detecting the first DCI in the monitoring occasion,
However, in an analogous art, Huawei recites wherein the first DCI is a DCI format used for notifying power saving information for one or more UEs and comprises a wake-up indication for the UE (Page 6-7, section 3.6, 1st and last para - DCI format(s) of power saving signal/channel triggering UE(s), that can be associated to power saving functionalities. Wherein, the power saving channel carrying wake-up information {indication—2nd para, section 3.6}.) (Hence 1st DCI is a DCI format used for notifying power saving information and wake-up indication for the UE.);
monitoring, by the UE, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for detecting the first DCI in the monitoring occasion (WUS occasion) (page 4, line 8-9 of section 3.1—on WUS occasion, besides WUS, UE will monitor PDCCH candidates for detecting DCIs),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Huawei and apply them in the claim 1, 5 and 10 of the “17/635659” to minimize power consumption (Huawei; Page 5, last 2 lines.).
8. Claims 1, 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 5 and 10 of application no. 17/635659, hereinafter referred to as “659” in view of Tsai (US 2021/0051698 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 6, claim 1, 5 and 10 of the “17/635659” does not recite wherein, based on that i) the second configuration information indicates the UE to wake-up if the first DCI is not detected and ii) the first DCI not detected in the monitoring occasion, the UE starts a timer which is related with a discontinuous reception (DRX)-on duration.
However, in an analogous art, Tsai recites wherein, based on that i) the second configuration information (WUS—see [0080]) indicates the UE to wake-up if the first DCI(PDCCH—[0082]) is not detected and ii) the first DCI(PDCCH—[0082]) not detected in the monitoring occasion ([0092], UE is not always monitor PDCCH in the specific cell group when the UE is in DRX Active Time (e.g., when drx-ondurationTimer is running.), the UE starts a timer which is related with a discontinuous reception (DRX)-on duration ( [0095], specific timer is started when the followings happens: 1) when the UE receives the WUS (and the WUS indicates the UE to wake up, e.g., to monitor PDCCH on the following on duration) on the WUS occasion{wherein UE may need to apply dormant behavior (e.g., stop monitoring the PDCCH) of the specific cell group—[0081]} 2) when the UE starts drx-onduration timer.)( Hence based on 1) 2nd config info indicating the UE to wake up if 1st DCI is not detected and the 1st DCI is not being detected in the monitoring occasion, the UE starts a drx-onduration timer.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Tsai and apply them in the claim 1, 5 and 10 of the “17/635659” to provide some enhancements for dynamically adapting PDCCH monitoring to reduce PDCCH monitoring on a specific serving cell(s) or a specific cell group may be beneficial for power saving(Tsai; [0020]).
9. Claims 1, 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 5 and 10 of application no. 17/635659, hereinafter referred to as “659” in view of in view of Lin (US 2019/0306700 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 6, claim 1, 5 and 10 of the “17/635659” does not recite wherein the second configuration information further comprises i) size information for a size of the first DCI and 11) position information for a starting position of the wake-up indication in the first DCI.
However, in an analogous art, Lin teaches wherein the second configuration information further comprises i) size information for a size of the first DCI and ii) position information for a starting position of the wake-up indication in the first DCI ([0193], step 1905-a UE is configured with a size associated with DCI corresponding to preemption indications. In step 1910-- the UE is configured with a starting position of a field associated with the DCI (e.g., the field is within the DCI and/or the field is associated with the preemption indications). In step 1915, a first DCI comprising a first preemption indication is transmitted {by base station} to the UE based on the size and the starting position.) (Hence the UE receives a 2nd configuration info comprises i) 1st DCI size and ii) starting position of a field of indication in the 1st DCI.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Lin and apply them in the claim 1, 5 and 10 of the “17/635659” to provide the efficiency for determining a size and/or a starting position associated with a preemption indication is increased (Lin; [0207]).
10. Claim 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, 7, 8, 13 and 14 of application no. 17/672425, hereinafter referred to as “425”.
Instant application
Patent Application 17/672425
1.
1.
A method of monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a first configuration informing of a monitoring occasion for detecting a first downlink control information (DCI) format including a wake-up indication;
receiving, from the base station, a second configuration informing of an operation to be applied to the UE based on the first DCI format not being detected, wherein the second configuration indicates the UE to wake-up if the first DCI format is not detected; and
based on i) the second configuration indicating the UE to wake-up if the first DCI format is not detected and ii) the first DCI format not being detected in the monitoring occasion, performing a PDCCH monitoring for detection of a second DCI format other than the first DCI format in a next discontinuous reception (DRX) on duration.
1. wherein the second configuration indicates the UE to wake-up if the first DCI format is not detected; and
1. the UE monitors a second PDCCH for detecting second DCI other than the first DCI in a next discontinuous reception (DRX) on duration.
11. Claims 1, 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 7 and 13 of application no. 1 no. 17/672425, hereinafter referred to as “425” in view of Pang (US 2020/0351946 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 6, claim 1, 7 and 13 of the “17/672425” does not performing, by a user equipment (UE), synchronization with a base station based on a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), receiving, by the UE, system information from the base station; performing, by the UE, a random access procedure with the base station based on the system information,
However, in an analogous art, Pang recites performing, by a user equipment (UE), synchronization with a base station based on a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) ([0206], UE initially accesses a system includes : (1) an initial synchronization; wherein in Fig. 2, UE obtains/performs time and frequency synchronization based on a PSS and a SSS, with BS.),
receiving, by the UE, system information from the base station ([0206], UE initially accesses a system includes: (2) a network sends basic system information; wherein in Fig. 2, the UE receives a basic system information/SIB, from the BS.);
performing, by the UE, a random access procedure with the base station based on the system information ([0206], UE initially accesses a system includes: (3) a random access process; wherein in Fig. 2, the UE obtains resource configuration information of uplink random access based on the received basic system information provided by the system, and performs an uplink random access procedure.),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Pan and apply them in the claim 1, 7 and 13 of the “17/672425” to provide a solution of how the UE uses a BWP when the UE needs to perform an RA procedure, so that the UE can quickly complete the random access procedure(Pan; [0016]).
12. Claims 1, 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 7 and 13 of application no. no. 17/672425, hereinafter referred to as “425” in view of Huawei (“PDCCH-based power saving signal/ channel”; R1-1906005, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting#97; Rno, USA—Pub Date 13-17 may 2019)
Regarding Claim 1, 6, claim 1, 7 and 13 of the “17/672425” does not recite wherein the first DCI is a DCI format used for notifying power saving information for one or more UEs and comprises a wake-up indication for the UE; monitoring, by the UE, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for detecting the first DCI in the monitoring occasion,
However, in an analogous art, Huawei recites wherein the first DCI is a DCI format used for notifying power saving information for one or more UEs and comprises a wake-up indication for the UE (Page 6-7, section 3.6, 1st and last para - DCI format(s) of power saving signal/channel triggering UE(s), that can be associated to power saving functionalities. Wherein, the power saving channel carrying wake-up information {indication—2nd para, section 3.6}.) (Hence 1st DCI is a DCI format used for notifying power saving information and wake-up indication for the UE.);
monitoring, by the UE, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for detecting the first DCI in the monitoring occasion (WUS occasion) (page 4, line 8-9 of section 3.1—on WUS occasion, besides WUS, UE will monitor PDCCH candidates for detecting DCIs),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Huawei and apply them in the claim 1, 7 and 13 of the “17/672425” to minimize power consumption (Huawei; Page 5, last 2 lines.).
13. Claims 1, 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 7 and 13 of application no. no. 17/672425, hereinafter referred to as “425” in view of Tsai (US 2021/0051698 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 6, claim 1, 7 and 13 of the “17/672425” does not recite wherein, based on i) the second configuration information indicating the UE to wake-up if the first DCI is not detected and ii) the first DCI not being detected in the monitoring occasion, the UE starts a timer which is related with a discontinuous reception (DRX)-on duration.
However, in an analogous art, Tsai recites wherein, based on i) the second configuration information (WUS—see [0080]) indicating the UE to wake-up if the first DCI(PDCCH—[0082]) is not detected and ii) the first DCI(PDCCH—[0082]) not being detected in the monitoring occasion ([0092], UE is not always monitor PDCCH in the specific cell group when the UE is in DRX Active Time (e.g., when drx-ondurationTimer is running.), the UE starts a timer which is related with a discontinuous reception (DRX)-on duration ( [0095], specific timer is started when the followings happens: 1) when the UE receives the WUS (and the WUS indicates the UE to wake up, e.g., to monitor PDCCH on the following on duration) on the WUS occasion{wherein UE may need to apply dormant behavior (e.g., stop monitoring the PDCCH) of the specific cell group—[0081]} 2) when the UE starts drx-onduration timer.)( Hence based on 1) 2nd config info indicating the UE to wake up if 1st DCI is not detected and the 1st DCI is not being detected in the monitoring occasion, the UE starts a drx-onduration timer.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Tsai and apply them in the claim 1, 7 and 13 of the “17/672425” to provide some enhancements for dynamically adapting PDCCH monitoring to reduce PDCCH monitoring on a specific serving cell(s) or a specific cell group may be beneficial for power saving(Tsai; [0020]).
14. Claims 1, 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 7 and 13 of application no. 17/635659, hereinafter referred to as “659” in view of in view of Lin (US 2019/0306700 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 6, claim 1, 7 and 13 of the “17/672425” does not recite wherein the second configuration information further comprises i) size information for a size of the first DCI and 11) position information for a starting position of the wake-up indication in the first DCI.
However, in an analogous art, Lin teaches wherein the second configuration information further comprises i) size information for a size of the first DCI and ii) position information for a starting position of the wake-up indication in the first DCI ([0193], step 1905-a UE is configured with a size associated with DCI corresponding to preemption indications. In step 1910-- the UE is configured with a starting position of a field associated with the DCI (e.g., the field is within the DCI and/or the field is associated with the preemption indications). In step 1915, a first DCI comprising a first preemption indication is transmitted {by base station} to the UE based on the size and the starting position.) (Hence the UE receives a 2nd configuration info comprises i) 1st DCI size and ii) starting position of a field of indication in the 1st DCI.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Lin and apply them in the claim 1, 7 and 13 of the “17/635659” to provide the efficiency for determining a size and/or a starting position associated with a preemption indication is increased (Lin; [0207]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang (US 2020/0351946 A1), in view of Huawei (“PDCCH-based power saving signal/ channel”; R1-1906005, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting#97; Rno, USA—Pub Date 13-17 may 2019), in view of Tsai (US 2021/0051698 A1), further in view of Lin (US 2019/0306700 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Pang teaches a method comprising:
performing, by a user equipment (UE), synchronization with a base station based on a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) ([0206], UE initially accesses a system includes: (1) an initial synchronization; wherein in Fig. 2, UE obtains/performs time and frequency synchronization based on a PSS and a SSS, with BS.),
receiving, by the UE, system information from the base station ([0206], UE initially accesses a system includes: (2) a network sends basic system information; wherein in Fig. 2, the UE receives a basic system information/SIB, from the BS.);
performing, by the UE, a random access procedure with the base station based on the system information ([0206], UE initially accesses a system includes: (3) a random access process; wherein in Fig. 2, the UE obtains resource configuration information of uplink random access based on the received basic system information provided by the system, and performs an uplink random access procedure.),
Pang does not teach receiving, by the UE, first configuration information for a monitoring occasion for detecting first downlink control information (DCI), from the base station, wherein the first DCI is a DCI format used for notifying power saving information for one or more UEs and comprises a wake-up indication for the UE; monitoring, by the UE, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for detecting the first DCI in the monitoring occasion,
However, in an analogous art, Huawei teaches
receiving, by the UE, first configuration information (group based DCI for WUS) for a monitoring occasion (WUS occasion) for detecting first downlink control information (DCI) (page 4, line 8-9 of section 3.1—on WUS occasion, besides WUS, UE will monitor PDCCH candidates for detecting DCIs), from the base station(gNB) (Fig. 2; page 8, section 3.9—gNB transmits group based DCI for WUS on every WUS occasion, wherein the group based DCI for WUS is configured for a UE {to monitor WUS occasion—page 5, section 3.3, agreement 3})(Hence UE receives, from gNB, group based DCI for WUS informing a WUS occasion for detecting DCI1 including information UE to wake up. ),
wherein the first DCI is a DCI format used for notifying power saving information for one or more UEs and comprises a wake-up indication for the UE (Page 6-7, section 3.6, 1st and last para - DCI format(s) of power saving signal/channel triggering UE(s), that can be associated to power saving functionalities. Wherein, the power saving channel carrying wake-up information {indication—2nd para, section 3.6}.) (Hence 1st DCI is a DCI format used for notifying power saving information and wake-up indication for the UE.);
monitoring, by the UE, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for detecting the first DCI in the monitoring occasion (WUS occasion) (page 4, line 8-9 of section 3.1—on WUS occasion, besides WUS, UE will monitor PDCCH candidates for detecting DCIs),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Huawei and apply them on the teaching of Pang to minimize power consumption (Huawei; Page 5, last 2 lines.).
Pang-Huawei does not teach receiving, by the UE, second configuration information for an operation to be applied to the UE based on that the first DCI is not detected, from the base station; and wherein, based on that 1) the 1) second configuration information indicates the UE to wake-up if the first DCI is not detected and ii) the first DCI not detected detecting in the monitoring occasion, the UE starts a timer which is related with a discontinuous reception (DRX)-on duration.
However, in an analogous art, Tsai teaches receiving, by the UE, second configuration information (WUS—see [0080]) for an operation to be applied to the UE(UE to wake up) based on that the first DCI(PDCCH—[0082]) is not detected, from the base station ( [0095], (1) when the UE receives{from BS—[0021]} the WUS (and the WUS indicates the UE to wake up, e.g., to monitor PDCCH on the following on duration) on the WUS occasion {wherein UE may need to apply dormant behavior (e.g., stop monitoring the PDCCH) of the specific cell group—[0081]})(Hence, UE receives 2nd configuration info to wake up based on 1st DCI is not being detected, from BS.); and
wherein, based on that i) the second configuration information (WUS—see [0080]) indicates the UE to wake-up if the first DCI(PDCCH—[0082]) is not detected and ii) the first DCI(PDCCH—[0082]) not being detected in the monitoring occasion ([0092], UE is not always monitor PDCCH in the specific cell group when the UE is in DRX Active Time (e.g., when drx-ondurationTimer is running.), the UE starts a timer which is related with a discontinuous reception (DRX)-on duration ( [0095], specific timer is started when the followings happens: 1) when the UE receives the WUS (and the WUS indicates the UE to wake up, e.g., to monitor PDCCH on the following on duration) on the WUS occasion{wherein UE may need to apply dormant behavior (e.g., stop monitoring the PDCCH) of the specific cell group—[0081]} 2) when the UE starts drx-onduration timer.)( Hence based on 1) 2nd config info indicating the UE to wake up if 1st DCI is not detected and the 1st DCI is not being detected in the monitoring occasion, the UE starts a drx-onduration timer.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Tsai and apply them on the teaching of Huawei- Pang to provide some enhancements for dynamically adapting PDCCH monitoring to reduce PDCCH monitoring on a specific serving cell(s) or a specific cell group may be beneficial for power saving(Tsai; [0020]).
Huawei- Tsai already teaches wake-up indication.
Pang-Huawei- Tsai does not teach wherein the second configuration information further comprises i) size information for a size of the first DCI and 11) position information for a starting position of the wake-up indication in the first DCI.
However, in an analogous art, Lin teaches wherein the second configuration information further comprises i) size information for a size of the first DCI and ii) position information for a starting position of the wake-up indication in the first DCI ([0193], step 1905-a UE is configured with a size associated with DCI corresponding to preemption indications. In step 1910-- the UE is configured with a starting position of a field associated with the DCI (e.g., the field is within the DCI and/or the field is associated with the preemption indications). In step 1915, a first DCI comprising a first preemption indication is transmitted {by base station} to the UE based on the size and the starting position.) (Hence the UE receives a 2nd configuration info comprises i) 1st DCI size and ii) starting position of a field of indication in the 1st DCI.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lin and apply them on the teaching of Pang to provide the efficiency for determining a size and/or a starting position associated with a preemption indication is increased (Lin; [0207]).
Specially for claim 6, Chen teaches a user equipment (UE) (510-Fig. 5; [0040] ) comprising:
a transceiver (516—Fig. 5) for transmitting and receiving a radio signal ( [0043]); and
a processor (512-Fig. 5) operating in connected to the transceiver (516—Fig. 5) ([0043]), wherein the processor is configured to:
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Pang -Tsai- Lin do not teach wherein, based on that the first DCI is not detected in the monitoring occasion, whether to perform a PDCCH monitoring in the DRX-on duration is determined based on the second configuration information.
However, in an analogous art, Huawei teaches wherein based on that the first DCI is not detected in the monitoring occasion(WUS occasion), whether to perform a PDCCH monitoring in the DRX-on duration is determined based on the second configuration information (UE-group WUS indication) (Fig. 2; page 8, section 3.9, 4th para--UE default behavior of missing the group-based DCI {i.e. 1st DCI} can be defined as “wake-up”{UE-group WUS indication—that is preconfigured—section 3.9-- 3rd para}, i.e. if the UE does not detect the group-based PDCCH/DCI {i.e. 1st DCI} in an occasion {i.e. WUS occasion} it is configured to monitor, UE shall default monitor the scheduling PDCCHs {i.e. 2nd PDCCH} in the associated C-DRX OnDuration;).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Huawei and apply them on the teaching of Pang- Tsai- Lin to minimize power consumption (Huawei; Page 5, last 2 lines.).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Pang -Tsai- Lin do not teach wherein the first configuration information informs of at least one monitoring occasion.
However, in an analogous art, Huawei further teaches wherein the first configuration information (group based DCI for WUS) informs of at least one monitoring occasion (WUS occasion) (Fig. 2; page 8, section 3.9—gNB transmits group based DCI for WUS on every WUS occasion, wherein the group based DCI for WUS is configured for a UE {to monitor WUS occasion—page 5, section 3.3, agreement 3}).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Huawei and apply them on the teaching of Pang- Tsai- Lin to minimize power consumption (Huawei; Page 5, last 2 lines.).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Pang -Tsai- Lin do not teach wherein the operation to be applied to the UE is that the UE wakes up.
However, in an analogous art, Huawei further teaches wherein the operation to be applied to the UE is that the UE wakes up (Fig. 2; page 8, section 3.9, 4th para--UE default behavior of missing the group-based DCI {i.e., 1st DCI} can be defined as “wake-up” {to wake up UE via UE-group WUS indication-- section 3.9, 3rd para}.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Huawei and apply them on the teaching of Pang- Tsai- Lin to minimize power consumption (Huawei; Page 5, last 2 lines.).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Pang -Tsai- Lin do not teach wherein the UE performs a PDCCH monitoring for detecting second DCI other than the first DCI in the DRX-on duration.
However, in an analogous art, Huawei further teaches wherein the UE performs a PDCCH (2nd) monitoring is for detecting the second DCI other than the first DCI in the DRX-on duration (Fig. 2; page 8, section 3.9, 4th para--UE shall default monitor the scheduling PDCCHs {on WUS occasion, besides WUS, UE will monitor PDCCH candidates for detecting DCIs- page 4, line 8-9 of section 3.1—i.e.2nd PDCCH for DCI2 } in the associated C-DRX OnDuration;).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Huawei and apply them on the teaching of Pang- Tsai- Lin to minimize power consumption (Huawei; Page 5, last 2 lines.).
Conclusion
17. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415