DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to communication filed on 01/29/2026. Claims 3, 7, 11 and 17-18 are previously cancelled. No claims have amended. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-16 and 19 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/29/2026 with respect to claims 1, 6 and 9 have been considered but are they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, 6 and 9, according to applicant’s remark, applicant recites that Lu (US 2021/0194555 A1) cannot teach the claim limitations “configuring M configured grant resources for each configured grant”. Because applicant recites that Lu is directed to one time/single resource allocation, but the invention is directed to multi-resource/set of M distinct, alternative resources scheme. Examiner respectively disagrees and stated that Lu is also a multi-resource scheme. Because Lu discloses-- a number of resource blocks (i.e. M) configured by the base station for the UE for a short PUCCH transmission is any value of 1 to 16 (see [0048]). So, in Lu—UE is pre-configured/pre-allocated a set of M different resources. Again, applicant recites that in Lu-“M”=1-16 defines a size/dimension of one resource entity, not a quantity of separately allocable resources/ M different resources. Examiner respectively disagrees and stated that in LU, BS allocates/configured RBs for UE is any value of M=1-16. Wherein If anybody consider 3, means that UE is configured with 3 RBS {1, 2, 3}. Therefore, LU still teaches BS allocates/configured M different resources for a configured grant/ a scheduling mechanism.
Again, applicant recites that Lu cannot teach the claim limitations “sending a scheduling request SR when the configured grant resources are all in the occupied state”, because Lu’s SR is used for resource conflict in time, not for resource status indication. Applicant recites that Lu teaches overlap conflict between a short PUCCH transmission and a SR transmission, but Lu fails to teach a set of pre-configured data transmission resources are occupied as indicated by network signaling. Examiner disagrees. See Lu teaches-- number of RBs occupied by short PUCCH is a total number of RBs of the short PUCCH transmission resource configured by BS for UE. Wherein After receiving the number of RBs configured by the BS, the UE transmits a short PUCCH to the BS according to the number of RBs ([0046]). Hence it is obvious, in Lu a pre-configured RBs {includes 1st time resource—[0086]} are occupied for PUCCH transmission as indicated by BS/network signaling, wherein the UE transmits SR using other/2nd time resource([0086]). Therefore, Lu still teaches the claim limitations.
Regarding Claim 1, 6 and 9, according to applicant’s remark, applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine the teaching from Lu and Zhu. Because applicant recites that teaching of Zhu and Lu are directed to different technical problems and solutions. Examiner disagree and stated that secondary ref Lu provides proper rational to provide efficient utilization of pre-configured resources/RBs, since in LU BS sends resource configuration info/signaling comprising M different RBs {RB1 in t1} configured for UE to transmit PUCCH and the UE transmits SR in t2, to avoid collision. wherein the primary reference Zhu provides a solution of collision and inefficient utilization of pre-configured resources. Wherein the claimed invention is directed to managing a pre-configured resources to avoid collision. Examiner stated by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior arts to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. Also See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, [The Primary Ref Zhu teaches UE receiving notification signaling comprises configured grant resource status info {idle status or/and occupied status}. Wherein Examiner brings Secondary Ref Lu to teach UE receives M configured grants resources and the UE sends SR when the configured grant resources are in occupied state, to make valid rational to combine these two references. ]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 6, 9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN 103986566 A) in view of Lu (US 2021/0194555 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Zhu teaches a resource transmission method, applied to a terminal, comprising:
obtaining a notification signalling sent by a network device (base station) according to the status of a configured grant resource, the notification signalling comprises configured grant resource status information ( [0423], user equipment obtains downlink control channel corresponding to each uplink resource block according to notification information/signalling sent by base station, and monitor each downlink control channel to obtain occupancy status of each uplink resource block; wherein [0445], the fourth notification information is used to indicate the determined occupied uplink resource block), and the configured grant resource status information comprises at least one of an idle state(not selected) and an occupied state ([0445], the occupied uplink resource block is an uplink resource block currently occupied {i.e. occupied state} determined by the base station.);
Zhu does not teach sending a scheduling request SR when the configured grant resources are all in the occupied state; wherein, before obtaining the notification signalling sent by the network device according to the status of the configured grant resource, the method further comprises: obtaining the resource configuration signalling sent by the network device, the resource configuration signalling comprises configuring M configured grant resources for each configured grant, wherein M = 1.
Zhu already teaches UE obtaining notification signalling sent by BS according to status of configured grant resource.
However, in an analogous art, Lu teaches wherein, before obtaining the notification signalling sent by the network device according to the status of the configured grant resource, the method further comprises:
obtaining the resource configuration signalling sent by the network device (base station) ( [0048], UE receiving, a number of resource blocks configured {i.e. resource configuration information.} by base station for the UE. Wherein [0129], 601 of the UE configured to receive signals during receiving information, from BS.) (Hence it is obvious, the UE receives a resource configuration signalling from the BS. ), the resource configuration signalling comprises configuring M configured grant resources for each configured grant, wherein M >= 1 ( [0129]; [0048], UE receiving, a number of resource blocks {1st frequency domain—[0046]} configured by base station for the UE may be any value of 1 to 16{i.e., M=1}, for short PUCCH transmission.) (Hence, the UE receives resource configuration signaling comprises configuring M=1 configured grant resource.)
sending a scheduling request SR ([0086], the 1st time domain resource used by the UE to transmit a short PUCCH to the base station overlaps partially with a 2nd time domain resource used by the UE to transmit a scheduling request (SR) to the base station) when the configured grant resources are all in the occupied state ([0048], the number of resource blocks {1st frequency domain—[0046]—i.e. 1st time domain} occupied by short PUCCH is a total number of resource blocks {1st frequency domain—[0046]-i.e. 1st time domain } of the short PUCCH transmission resource configured by the base station for the UE. ) (Hence the UE sends a SR using 2nd time domain resource, when the configured grant resources (1st frequency domain resource block/ 1st time domain resource) are in the occupied state to transmit a short PUCCH.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lu and apply them on the teaching of Zhu to provide UE to receive a number of 1st time/frequency domain occupied resources/RBs configured by base station, then transmits a SR using 2nd time domain resource/RB to the base station, when the all1st time/frequency domain resource are occupied to transmit PUCCH. (Lu; [0048]; [0086]; [0046]).
Specifically, regarding claim 9, Zhu further teaches a terminal ([0939]), comprising:
a transceiver ([0949]; [0950]; obvious has transceiver to transmit and receive), a memory (2404), a processor (2403) (see [0940]), and a computer program stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the processor ([0940]; [0991]; obvious), wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program to implement following steps:
Regarding claim 6, Zhu teaches resource transmission method, applied to network device (base station), comprising:
detecting a status of a configured grant resource ([0445], the occupied uplink resource block is an uplink resource block currently occupied {i.e. occupied state} determined by the base station.);
sending a notification signalling according to the status of a configured grant resource, the notification signalling comprises configured grant resource status information ( [0423], user equipment obtains downlink control channel corresponding to each uplink resource block according to notification information/signalling sent by base station, and monitor each downlink control channel to obtain occupancy status of each uplink resource block; wherein [0445], the fourth notification information is used to indicate the determined occupied uplink resource block), and the configured grant resource status information comprises at least one of an idle state(not selected) and an occupied state ( [0445], the occupied uplink resource block is an uplink resource block currently occupied {i.e. occupied state} determined by the base station.);
Zhu already teaches BS sending notification signalling to UE according to status of configured grant resource
Zhu does not teach receiving a scheduling request SR sent by a terminal or a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH transmitted on the configured grant resource; wherein, before sending the notification signalling, the method further comprises: sending a resource configuration signalling, the resource configuration signalling comprises configuring M configured grant resources for each configured grant, wherein M => 1.
However, in an analogous art, Lu teaches wherein, before sending the notification signalling, the method further comprises:
sending a resource configuration signalling ([0048], UE receiving, a number of resource blocks configured {i.e. resource configuration information.} by base station for the UE. Wherein [0129], 601 of the UE configured to receive signals during receiving information, from BS.) (Hence it is obvious, the UE receives a resource configuration signalling from the BS.), the resource configuration signalling comprises configuring M configured grant resources for each configured grant, wherein M >= 1 ( [0129]; [0048], UE receiving, a number of resource blocks {1st frequency domain—[0046]} configured by base station for the UE may be any value of 1 to 16{i.e., M=1}, for short PUCCH transmission.) (Hence, the UE receives resource configuration signaling comprises configuring M=1 configured grant resource.)
receiving a scheduling request SR sent by a terminal ([0086], the 1st time domain resource used by the UE to transmit a short PUCCH to the base station overlaps partially with a 2nd time domain resource used by the UE to transmit a scheduling request (SR) to the base station) or a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH transmitted on the configured grant resource (not selected);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lu and apply them on the teaching of Zhu to provide UE to receive a number of 1st time/frequency domain occupied resources/RBs configured by base station, then transmits a SR using 2nd time domain resource/RB to the base station, when the all1st time/frequency domain resource are occupied to transmit PUCCH. (Lu; [0048]; [0086]; [0046]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhu further teaches a network device (base station-[0855]), comprising:
a transceiver ([0863]; [0864]; obvious there is a transceiver to transmit and receive), a memory (2304), a processor (2303) (see [0856] ), and a computer program stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the processor ( [0991]; [0856]; obvious), wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program ([0991]; [0856]; obvious) to implement the steps of the resource transmission method according to claim6.
Regarding claim 15, Zhu does not teach wherein, before sending the notification signalling, the method further comprises: sending a resource configuration signalling, the resource configuration signalling comprises configuring M configured grant resources for each configured grant, wherein M>= 1.
However, in an analogous art, Lu teaches wherein, before sending the notification signalling, the method further comprises:
sending resource configuration signalling, the resource configuration signalling comprises configuring M configured grant resources for each configured grant, wherein M>= 1 ([0048], UE receiving, a number of resource blocks {1st frequency domain—[0046]} configured by base station for the UE may be any value of 1 to 16{i.e., M=1}, for short PUCCH transmission.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Lu and apply them on the teaching of Zhu to provide UE to receive a number of 1st time/frequency domain occupied resources/RBs configured by base station, then transmits a SR using 2nd time domain resource/RB to the base station, when the all1st time/frequency domain resource are occupied to transmit PUCCH. (Lu; [0048]; [0086]; [0046]).
5. Claims 2, 5, 8, 10, 13, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN 103986566 A) in view of Lu (US 2021/0194555 A1), further in view of Wang (US 2019/0098534 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Zhu- Lu do not teach further comprising: continuing to transmit the PUSCH on the selected configured grant resource, if the selected configured grant resource is in an occupied state, in the configured grant resource status information obtained in a transmission process.
However, in an analogous art, Wang teaches further comprising:
continuing to transmit the PUSCH(uplink data) on the selected configured grant resource, if the selected configured grant resource is in an occupied state([0092], The idle-state transmission resource unit is a transmission resource unit not occupied by another terminal; obvious the resource unit is occupied{in an occupied state; also [0112]} by the current terminal.), in the configured grant resource status information obtained in a transmission process([0088] Step 203: The terminal determines{selects—see [0112]}, based on the transmission resource occupation status information { Step 202}, a transmission resource unit {an idle-state transmission resource unit—i.e. that in idle state} used to send the first data packet{uplink—[0004]; obvious uplink data is PUSCH}.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Wang and apply them on the teaching of Zhu- Lu to improve a probability that the terminal successfully sends the first data packet to the base station, and reduces a latency for sending a data packet (Wang; [0011]).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Zhu- Lu do not teach wherein the notification signalling further comprises: collision information about collisions on the configured grant resource.
However, in an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the notification
signalling ([0087]; step 202) further comprises:
collision information about collisions on the configured grant resource ([0109]; [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Wang and apply them on the teaching of Zhu- Lu to improve a probability that the terminal successfully sends the first data packet to the base station, and reduces a latency for sending a data packet (Wang; [0011]).
Regarding claims 8, and 16, Zhu- Lu do not teach wherein the notification signalling further comprises: collision information about collisions on the configured grant resource.
However, in an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the notification
signalling ([0087]; step 202) further comprises:
collision information about collisions on the configured grant resource ([0109]; [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Wang and apply them on the teaching of Zhu- Lu to improve a probability that the terminal successfully sends the first data packet to the base station, and reduces a latency for sending a data packet (Wang; [0011]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhu- Lu do not teach a computer-readable storage medium storing thereon a computer program, wherein the computer program is configured to be executed by a processor to implement the steps of the resource transmission method according to claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Wang further teaches a computer-readable storage medium storing thereon a computer program, wherein the computer program is configured to be executed by a processor to implement the steps of the resource transmission method (see [0153]) according to claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Wang and apply them on the teaching of Zhu- Lu to improve a probability that the terminal successfully sends the first data packet to the base station, and reduces a latency for sending a data packet (Wang; [0011]).
6. Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN 103986566 A) in view of Lu (US 2021/0194555 A1), further in view of Pan (US 2021/0135825 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Zhu-Lu does not teach wherein the selecting the configured grant resource in the idle state to transmit the PUSCH comprises:
selecting the configured grant resource with the highest priority from the configured grant resources in the idle state to transmit the PUSCH, according to preset priorities.
However, in an analogous art, Pan teaches wherein the selecting the configured grant resource in the idle state to transmit the PUSCH comprises:
selecting the configured grant resource (1st resource) with the highest priority from the configured grant resources (1st and 2nd) in the idle state(mode) to transmit the PUSCH (uplink data) ([0096]), according to preset priorities ([0095]; Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Pan and apply them on the teaching of Zhu- Lu to provide multiple resources selected by the WTRU may be determined based on criteria such as service types, resource partitions, priority, latency or the like (Pan; [0095]).
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415