1. This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed 1/15/2026.
2. Claims 1, 3 and 5-14 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 5-6 are independent claims. In the instant Amendment, claims 1 and 5-6 were amended, claim 2 was canceled and claims 9-14 were added. This is a Non-Final action on the RCE filed 1/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-6, 8-9, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al (“Miura” US 2017/0354880) in view of Yong et al (“Yong” US 2014/0243097) and further in view of George et al (“George” US 10,617,945).
Regarding claim 1, Miura discloses an information providing server comprising:
acquire data regarding a plurality of different types of activities from a plurality of different kinds of activity servers for managing an activity of a user, including activities related to on-line gaming activities of the user (see paragraphs [0073]-[0077]; e.g., “The cloud gaming servers 104 execute the various video games which are being played by the users, defining a given video game's game state from moment to moment”), wherein data regarding activities of a first type of the plurality of different types of activities is acquired from a first activity server of the plurality of different kinds of activity servers and data regarding activities of a second type of the plurality of different types of activities is acquired from a second activity server of the plurality of different kinds of activity servers (see fig 12 and paragraphs [0136]-[0138]; e.g., data regarding social networking activities acquired from server 1216 and data regarding gaming activities is acquired from server 1200);
receive an acquisition request for a plurality of different types of activity information from a client device of the user, where the acquisition request includes data element information for specifying a plurality of data elements constituting the plurality of different types of activities (see paragraphs [0077]-[0081]; e.g., request game title and update specific game as game state changes);
acquire the plurality of data elements from among the data regarding the plurality of different types of activities (see paragraphs [0073]-[0074] and [0077]-[0081]; e.g., request game title and update specific game as game state changes);
create a plurality of pieces of activity information of different types by adding respective different identification information to a set of the plurality of data elements thereby constituting each of the plurality of pieces of activity information (see paragraphs [0073]-[0074], [0077] and [0081]-[0083]; e.g., “at the time of login, the client device may send information to the cloud gaming server identifying itself as well as a connected controller device (e.g. in response to a request from the cloud gaming server). Based on this information, the cloud gaming server may determine an appropriate video game output configuration”);
provide the plurality of pieces of activity information of different types to the client device of the user (see paragraphs [0073]-[0074] and [0077]; e.g., cloud gaming server provides video/audio data for rendering); and
manage the plurality of pieces of activity information of different types to which identification information is added and stores a history of the activity information of different types in a storage device (fig 10, 1012 and paragraph [0126]; e.g., game history).
Miura does not expressly disclose generating corresponding graphical representations of the plurality of pieces of activity information of different types in a common format having a predetermined shape; and superimpose the graphical representations of the plurality of pieces of activity information of different types in the common format on a game image on a display screen of the client device.
However, Yong discloses generating corresponding graphical representations of the plurality of pieces of activity information of different types in a common format having a predetermined shape (see fig 1; also see paragraphs [0019] and [0054]-[0061]; e.g., aggregate/view multiple activity feeds simultaneously on a single screen). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Yong’s teachings in Miura’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that enables user to view content from multiple feeds on a single screen.
Moreover, George discloses generating graphical representations of information of different types in a common format having a predetermined shape (see 13B-13E where graphical representations of information are shown as overlays on a game session); and superimpose the graphical representations of the plurality of pieces of activity information of different types in the common format on a game image on a display screen of the client device (see col. 6, lines 16-48; e.g., “the same game scenario or game level may be played differently and may thus include different combinations or views of content in different game sessions, …the information about content that is presented (e.g., as overlays on the game video and/or as or in user interface elements presented via a user interface)”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to include George’s teachings in Miura’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that enables user to view content from multiple feeds on a single screen.
Regarding claim 3, Miura discloses wherein when a given data element among the plurality of data elements constituting the plurality of pieces of activity information is updated, the circuitry is further configured to store the given data element as being updated in the storage device as part of an update history in a time-series manner (see paragraph [0093]; e.g., gameplay timeline; also see fig 10, 1012 and paragraph [0126]; e.g., “game history information…such as the most recent games played, the duration of gameplay sessions”).
Claim 5 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 6 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Miura discloses wherein each activity server of the plurality of different kinds of activity servers is dedicated exclusively to managing a specific type of activity, such that the activity servers independently acquire and process data related to their respective types of activities without interference or overlap with other activity servers (see claim 1 above).
Claim 9 is similar in scope to claim 3 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 8 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 3 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 8 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 7, 10 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Luu (US 2013/0332523).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174