DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed June 04, 2026. Claims 1, 4-5, 8-12, 15-17, and 20-23 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-10, and 15-17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2020/0107340, hereinafter Tang) in view of Noh et al. (US 2022/0256458, “Noh”) and further in view of Guo et al. (US 2022/0240187, “Guo”).
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches a method for indicating energy saving information (FIG. 6 - UE powers down in step 4106 upon receiving parameter from a base station in step 4102), applied to a base station, and comprising:
carrying first energy saving information in target downlink control information (DCI) of a first time unit, wherein the first energy saving information is configured to indicate at least one piece of cross-slot scheduling information comprised in a first time window, the first time window comprises at least one time unit with the first time unit as a start point or with a time unit following the first time unit as a start point, and the cross-slot scheduling information comprises first information or second information, or the cross-slot scheduling information comprises second information, wherein the first information is configured to indicate scheduling DCI as cross-slot scheduling or current slot scheduling ([0131] - UE 106 in communication with a base station 102 may receive at least one scheduling parameter transmitted by the base station. The scheduling parameter may be useable by the UE to determine a duration of a delay between control information and corresponding data for at least one time period (e.g., a first slot or a current slot). For example, the scheduling parameter may indicate whether at least one slot is cross-slot scheduled or may be same-slot scheduled. [0132] – at least one parameter may be transmitted as a (e.g., RRC) configuration, e.g., setting possible values of K0. [0135] -Based an such an indication, the UE may determine a number of slots for which K0 may remain at the specified value, e.g., the UE may determine a number of slots that are cross-slot scheduled… the scheduling parameter may be relative to a current time, e.g., the amount of time that K0 will not be changed from its current value. Such a window may be changed (e.g., extended or possibly shortened) by further indications. [0125] - Various parameters (e.g., scheduling parameters) may be used to configure cross-slot scheduling)… the parameter K0 may be defined as the distance (e.g., in time) between PDCCH and the corresponding PDSCH, measured in slots. [0136] the at least one scheduling parameter may indicate a minimum delay time (e.g., minimum K0 value, K0_min) to be used for period of time. Note: “a minimum delay time (e.g., minimum K0 value, K0_min)” corresponds to claimed second information), and the second information is configured to indicate a minimum value of a cross-slot scheduling parameter or a minimum value of a cross-slot scheduling parameter in a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) list ([0125] - the parameter K0 may be defined as the distance (e.g., in time) between PDCCH and the corresponding PDSCH, measured in slots. [0136] the at least one scheduling parameter may indicate a minimum delay time (e.g., minimum K0 value, K0_min) to be used for period of time); wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI ([0139] - if the value of an index is the same as in a previous slot, the toggle may indicate that K0 will not change for a next slot (e.g., a downlink (DL) grant in a next slot's PDCCH may use the same K0 as a DL grant in the current slot) and uplink (UL) scheduling DCI ([0125] - K0 equal to 2 may indicate cross-slot scheduling with the corresponding data transfer (uplink and/or downlink) to occur two slots later. [0130] FIG. 6 method of FIG. 6 are described relating to downlink transmission, it should be noted that the method may apply to uplink transmission as well);
and
transmitting the target DCI to user equipment ([0131] - UE 106 in communication with a base station 102 may receive at least one scheduling parameter transmitted by the base station).
{wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception}.
Although Tang teaches UL and DL scheduling but does not teach wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception
However, Noh teaches {wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI}; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; {and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI;} wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception ([0250] In order to reduce the power consumption of the terminal to be used in scheduling for the data channel through higher layer signaling or L1 signaling. The terminal may expect that scheduling will always be performed with a value of K0/K2 that is greater than or equal to the minimum value of K0/K2 received from the base station. [0244] - the time domain resource allocation information may include PDCCH-to-PDSCH slot timing K0 (corresponding to the time interval in slot units between the time when the PDCCH is received and the time when the PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH is transmitted), PDCCH-to-PUSCH slot timing K2 (corresponding to the time interval in slot units between the time when the PDCCH is received and the time when the PUSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH is transmitted).
As indicated, although Noh teaches both K0 and K2 are to be provided by the base station and received by the terminal, however, it is not clear whether K0 and K2 are delivered by the same DCI. However, such implementation is obvious, for example, Guo teaches wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI…and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI ([0160] “the UE group-specific DCI transmitted in inactive time includes the indication of the subset of {the minimum value of k0, the minimum value of k2}”). Therefore the combination teaches wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception (Note: The claim recites DL scheduling DCI and UL scheduling DCI including the same elements, i.e., (1) time interval between PDSCH and (2) PDCCH and time interval between PUSCH and PDCCH all included in the same target DCI. There is no evidence DL scheduling DCI is different from UL scheduling DCI therefore, the claim is interpreted as target DCI including (1) and (2) that can be used for scheduling for UL and DL communications. Since the combination of Noh and Guo teaches K0 and K2 being sent in the same DCI, the claim requirements are satisfied).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception, as taught by Tang and Guo, to further improve power saving while reducing signaling.
Regarding claim 4, Tang in view of Noh and Guo teaches claim 1, and further teaches determining a quantity of the target DCI to be X, if the first energy saving information is borne on the DL scheduling DCI and/or the UL scheduling DCI ([0147] The control information may be or include DCI transmitted via PDCCH. The control information may specify any delay between the control information and corresponding data, e.g., K0. [0140] - the control information transmitted during the first slot may apply to a data transfer or other communication (e.g., uplink and/or downlink) scheduled for a later slot or slots (e.g., one or slots following the first slot, e.g., immediately after the first slot or after one or more intermediate slots, e.g., consistent with K0); wherein X is smaller than or equal to a quantity of the DL scheduling DCI or the UL scheduling DCI comprised in one time unit ([0132] - TimeDomainResourceAllocationList, that configures a table with possible values of K0… K0 may range from 0 to 32).
Regarding claim 5, Tang in view of Noh and Guo teaches claim 1, and further teaches carrying second energy saving information in target DCI of a second time unit, wherein the second energy saving information is configured to indicate at least one piece of cross-slot scheduling information comprised in a second time window, the second time window comprises at least one time unit with the second time unit as a start point or with a time unit following the second time unit as a start point, and a relation between the second time window and the first time window comprises at least one of partial overlap, non-overlap, or complete overlap; and transmitting the target DCI of the second time unit to the user equipment ([0140] - The BS 102 may transmit the scheduling parameter(s) to the UE 106… if the scheduling parameter(s) indicates cross-slot scheduling for the first slot, the control information transmitted during the first slot may apply to a data transfer or other communication (e.g., uplink and/or downlink) scheduled for a later slot or slots. Note: schedule slot(s) associated with uplink and down link correspond to first and second windows. Since the windows start with the same first slot, therefore, the windows at least partially overlap. [0135] - Alternatively, the scheduling parameter may be relative to a current time, e.g., the amount of time that K0 will not be changed from its current value. Such a window may be changed (e.g., extended or possibly shortened) by further indications. Note: extended or shortened window is considered to partially overlap with the original window).
Regarding claim 8, Tang teaches a method for indicating energy saving information, applied to user equipment (FIG. 6 - UE powers down in step 4106 upon receiving parameter from a base station in step 4102), and comprising:
receiving target downlink control information (DCI) carrying first energy saving information transmitted by a base station in a first time unit, wherein the first energy saving information is configured to indicate at least one piece of cross-slot scheduling information comprised in a first time window, the first time window comprises at least one time unit with the first time unit as a start point or with a time unit following the first time unit as a start point, and the cross-slot scheduling information comprises information and second information, or the cross-slot scheduling information comprises second information, wherein the first information is configured to indicate scheduling DCI as cross-slot scheduling or current slot scheduling ([0131] - UE 106 in communication with a base station 102 may receive at least one scheduling parameter transmitted by the base station. The scheduling parameter may be useable by the UE to determine a duration of a delay between control information and corresponding data for at least one time period (e.g., a first slot or a current slot). For example, the scheduling parameter may indicate whether at least one slot is cross-slot scheduled or may be same-slot scheduled. [0132] – at least one parameter may be transmitted as a (e.g., RRC) configuration, e.g., setting possible values of K0. [0135] -Based an such an indication, the UE may determine a number of slots for which K0 may remain at the specified value, e.g., the UE may determine a number of slots that are cross-slot scheduled… the scheduling parameter may be relative to a current time, e.g., the amount of time that K0 will not be changed from its current value. Such a window may be changed (e.g., extended or possibly shortened) by further indications. [0125] - Various parameters (e.g., scheduling parameters) may be used to configure cross-slot scheduling)… the parameter K0 may be defined as the distance (e.g., in time) between PDCCH and the corresponding PDSCH, measured in slots. [0136] the at least one scheduling parameter may indicate a minimum delay time (e.g., minimum K0 value, K0_min) to be used for period of time. Note: “a minimum delay time (e.g., minimum K0 value, K0_min)” corresponds to claimed second information) and the second information is configured to indicate a minimum value of a cross-slot scheduling parameter or a minimum value of a cross-slot scheduling parameter in a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) list ([0125] - the parameter K0 may be defined as the distance (e.g., in time) between PDCCH and the corresponding PDSCH, measured in slots. [0136] the at least one scheduling parameter may indicate a minimum delay time (e.g., minimum K0 value, K0_min) to be used for period of time);
and
determining the at least one piece of cross-slot scheduling information comprised in the first time window according to the target DCI ([0131] - UE 106 in communication with a base station 102 may receive at least one scheduling parameter transmitted by the base station. The scheduling parameter may be useable by the UE to determine a duration of a delay between control information and corresponding data for at least one time period (e.g., a first slot or a current slot). For example, the scheduling parameter may indicate whether at least one slot is cross-slot scheduled or may be same-slot scheduled. It is understood UE determines “whether at least one slot is cross-slot scheduled or may be same-slot scheduled” upon receiving the scheduling parameter);
{wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; and
the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception}.
Although Tang teaches UL and DL scheduling but does not teach wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception
However, Noh teaches {wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI}; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; {and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI;} wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception ([0250] In order to reduce the power consumption of the terminal to be used in scheduling for the data channel through higher layer signaling or L1 signaling. The terminal may expect that scheduling will always be performed with a value of K0/K2 that is greater than or equal to the minimum value of K0/K2 received from the base station. [0244] - the time domain resource allocation information may include PDCCH-to-PDSCH slot timing K0 (corresponding to the time interval in slot units between the time when the PDCCH is received and the time when the PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH is transmitted), PDCCH-to-PUSCH slot timing K2 (corresponding to the time interval in slot units between the time when the PDCCH is received and the time when the PUSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH is transmitted).
As indicated, although Noh teaches both K0 and K2 are to be provided by the base station and received by the terminal, however, it is not clear whether K0 and K2 are delivered by the same DCI. However, such implementation is obvious, for example, Guo teaches wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI…and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI ([0160] “the UE group-specific DCI transmitted in inactive time includes the indication of the subset of {the minimum value of k0, the minimum value of k2}”). Therefore the combination teaches wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception (Note: The claim recites DL scheduling DCI and UL scheduling DCI including the same elements, i.e., (1) time interval between PDSCH and (2) PDCCH and time interval between PUSCH and PDCCH all included in the same target DCI. There is no evidence DL scheduling DCI is different from UL scheduling DCI therefore, the claim is interpreted as target DCI including (1) and (2) that can be used for scheduling for UL and DL communications. Since the combination of Noh and Guo teaches K0 and K2 being sent in the same DCI, the claim requirements are satisfied).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception, as taught by Tang and Guo, to further improve power saving while reducing signaling.
Regarding claim 9, Tang in view of Oh teaches claim 8 and further teaches wherein the determining the at least one piece of cross-slot scheduling information comprised in the first time window according to the target DCI comprises: bearing the at least one piece of cross-slot scheduling information on the scheduling DCI; and returning, by the user equipment, to current slot scheduling in a case that the target DCI is the DL scheduling DCI and indicates cross-slot scheduling information of UL scheduling DCI, or the target DCI is the UL scheduling DCI and indicates cross-slot scheduling information of DL scheduling DCI ([0140] - The BS 102 may transmit the scheduling parameter(s) to the UE 106… if the scheduling parameter(s) indicates cross-slot scheduling for the first slot, the control information transmitted during the first slot may apply to a data transfer or other communication (e.g., uplink and/or downlink) scheduled for a later slot or slots (e.g., one or slots following the first slot, e.g., immediately after the first slot or after one or more intermediate slots, e.g., consistent with K0. [0142] - For example, the UE may determine that the scheduling parameter is an indication of cross-slot scheduling for the current slot. In other words, the UE may determine that control information of a current slot is cross-slot scheduled, e.g., that the control information applies to a later slot, and may thus determine that no data (e.g., PDSCH) will be transmitted for the UE during the current slot (e.g., the slot for which the determination is made). Among various possibilities, the UE may determine that cross-slot scheduling applies based on any of the following: 1) an RRC configuration that does not include K0 equal to 0 (e.g., K0 is greater than 0), 2) K0 is frozen at a value of K0 greater than 0, 3) K0_min is in effect and is greater than 0, and/or 4) K0 of a previous slot is greater than 0 and a toggle indicates that K0 will not change for the current slot. Similarly, the UE may determine that same-slot scheduling is possible if none of the previous conditions is true. If same-slot scheduling is possible, the UE may determine not to power down components after receiving the control information).
Regarding claim 10, Tang in view of Oh teaches claim 8 and further teaches receiving target DCI carrying second energy saving information transmitted by the base station in a second time unit ([0140] - The BS 102 may transmit the scheduling parameter(s) to the UE 106…); wherein the second energy saving information is configured to indicate at least one piece of cross-slot scheduling information comprised in a second time window, and the second time window comprises at least one time unit with the second time unit as a start point or with a time unit following the second time unit as a start point; and determining, by the user equipment, the cross-slot scheduling information according to the target DCI received recently in a case that the second time window partially or completely overlaps with the first time window ( [0140] - The BS 102 may transmit the scheduling parameter(s) to the UE 106… if the scheduling parameter(s) indicates cross-slot scheduling for the first slot, the control information transmitted during the first slot may apply to a data transfer or other communication (e.g., uplink and/or downlink) scheduled for a later slot or slots. Note: schedule slot(s) associated with uplink and down link correspond to first and second windows. Since the windows start with the same first slot, therefore, the windows at least partially overlap. [0135] - Alternatively, the scheduling parameter may be relative to a current time, e.g., the amount of time that K0 will not be changed from its current value. Such a window may be changed (e.g., extended or possibly shortened) by further indications. Note: extended or shortened window is considered to partially overlap with the original window).
Regarding claim 15, Tang in view of Oh teaches claim 1 and further teaches a base station, wherein the base station comprises a processor and a memory, the memory is configured to store a program executable by the processor, and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and execute the method of claim 1 (FIG. 4, [0111], [0112]).
Regarding claim 16, Tang teaches user equipment, wherein the user equipment comprises a processor and a memory, the memory is configured to store a program executable by the processor (FIG. 3, [0107]), and the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and execute:
receiving target downlink control information (DCI) carrying first energy saving information transmitted by a base station in a first time unit, wherein the first energy saving information is configured to indicate at least one piece of cross-slot scheduling information comprised in a first time window, the first time window comprises at least one time unit with the first time unit as a start point or with a time unit following the first time unit as a start point, and the cross-slot scheduling information comprises at least one of first information and second information, or the cross-slot scheduling information comprises second information, wherein the first information is configured to indicate scheduling DCI as cross-slot scheduling or current slot scheduling ([0131] - UE 106 in communication with a base station 102 may receive at least one scheduling parameter transmitted by the base station. The scheduling parameter may be useable by the UE to determine a duration of a delay between control information and corresponding data for at least one time period (e.g., a first slot or a current slot). For example, the scheduling parameter may indicate whether at least one slot is cross-slot scheduled or may be same-slot scheduled. [0132] – at least one parameter may be transmitted as a (e.g., RRC) configuration, e.g., setting possible values of K0. [0135] -Based an such an indication, the UE may determine a number of slots for which K0 may remain at the specified value, e.g., the UE may determine a number of slots that are cross-slot scheduled… the scheduling parameter may be relative to a current time, e.g., the amount of time that K0 will not be changed from its current value. Such a window may be changed (e.g., extended or possibly shortened) by further indications. [0125] - Various parameters (e.g., scheduling parameters) may be used to configure cross-slot scheduling)… the parameter K0 may be defined as the distance (e.g., in time) between PDCCH and the corresponding PDSCH, measured in slots. [0136] the at least one scheduling parameter may indicate a minimum delay time (e.g., minimum K0 value, K0_min) to be used for period of time. Note: “a minimum delay time (e.g., minimum K0 value, K0_min)” corresponds to claimed second information), and the second information is configured to indicate a minimum value of a cross-slot scheduling parameter or a minimum value of a cross-slot scheduling parameter in a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) list; and
determining the at least one piece of cross-slot scheduling information comprised in the first time window according to the target DCI ([0131] - UE 106 in communication with a base station 102 may receive at least one scheduling parameter transmitted by the base station. The scheduling parameter may be useable by the UE to determine a duration of a delay between control information and corresponding data for at least one time period (e.g., a first slot or a current slot). For example, the scheduling parameter may indicate whether at least one slot is cross-slot scheduled or may be same-slot scheduled. It is understood UE determines “whether at least one slot is cross-slot scheduled or may be same-slot scheduled” upon receiving the scheduling parameter);
{wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; and
the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception}.
Although Tang teaches UL and DL scheduling but does not teach wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; and
the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception.
However, Noh teaches {wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI}; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; {and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI;} wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception ([0250] In order to reduce the power consumption of the terminal to be used in scheduling for the data channel through higher layer signaling or L1 signaling. The terminal may expect that scheduling will always be performed with a value of K0/K2 that is greater than or equal to the minimum value of K0/K2 received from the base station. [0244] - the time domain resource allocation information may include PDCCH-to-PDSCH slot timing K0 (corresponding to the time interval in slot units between the time when the PDCCH is received and the time when the PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH is transmitted), PDCCH-to-PUSCH slot timing K2 (corresponding to the time interval in slot units between the time when the PDCCH is received and the time when the PUSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH is transmitted).
As indicated, although Noh teaches both K0 and K2 are to be provided by the base station and received by the terminal, however, it is not clear whether K0 and K2 are delivered by the same DCI. However, such implementation is obvious, for example, Guo teaches wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI…and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI ([0160] “the UE group-specific DCI transmitted in inactive time includes the indication of the subset of {the minimum value of k0, the minimum value of k2}”). Therefore the combination teaches wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception (Note: The claim recites DL scheduling DCI and UL scheduling DCI including the same elements, i.e., (1) time interval between PDSCH and (2) PDCCH and time interval between PUSCH and PDCCH all included in the same target DCI. There is no evidence DL scheduling DCI is different from UL scheduling DCI therefore, the claim is interpreted as target DCI including (1) and (2) that can be used for scheduling for UL and DL communications. Since the combination of Noh and Guo teaches K0 and K2 being sent in the same DCI, the claim requirements are satisfied).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the target DCI comprises downlink (DL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the DL scheduling DCI comprises: a minimum value of a time interval between physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) reception and a minimum value of a time interval between physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission and PDCCH reception; and the target DCI comprises uplink (UL) scheduling DCI; wherein the minimum value of the cross-slot scheduling parameter indicated by the UL scheduling DCI comprises: the minimum value of the time interval between PDSCH transmission and PDCCH reception and the minimum value of the time interval between PUSCH transmission and PDCCH reception, as taught by Tang and Guo, to further improve power saving while reducing signaling.
Regarding claim 17, Tang in view of Oh teaches claim 1 and further teaches a computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer-executable instruction, and the computer-executable instruction is configured to enable a computer to execute the method according to claim 1 ([0111]).
Regarding claim 20, Tang teaches claim 16 and further teaches wherein the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and execute: bearing the at least one piece of cross-slot scheduling information on the scheduling DCI; and returning, by the user equipment, to current slot scheduling in a case that the target DCI is the DL scheduling DCI and indicates cross-slot scheduling information of UL scheduling DCI, or the target DCI is the UL scheduling DCI and indicates cross-slot scheduling information of DL scheduling DCI ([0140] - The BS 102 may transmit the scheduling parameter(s) to the UE 106… if the scheduling parameter(s) indicates cross-slot scheduling for the first slot, the control information transmitted during the first slot may apply to a data transfer or other communication (e.g., uplink and/or downlink) scheduled for a later slot or slots (e.g., one or slots following the first slot, e.g., immediately after the first slot or after one or more intermediate slots, e.g., consistent with K0. [0142] - For example, the UE may determine that the scheduling parameter is an indication of cross-slot scheduling for the current slot. In other words, the UE may determine that control information of a current slot is cross-slot scheduled, e.g., that the control information applies to a later slot, and may thus determine that no data (e.g., PDSCH) will be transmitted for the UE during the current slot (e.g., the slot for which the determination is made). Among various possibilities, the UE may determine that cross-slot scheduling applies based on any of the following: 1) an RRC configuration that does not include K0 equal to 0 (e.g., K0 is greater than 0), 2) K0 is frozen at a value of K0 greater than 0, 3) K0_min is in effect and is greater than 0, and/or 4) K0 of a previous slot is greater than 0 and a toggle indicates that K0 will not change for the current slot. Similarly, the UE may determine that same-slot scheduling is possible if none of the previous conditions is true. If same-slot scheduling is possible, the UE may determine not to power down components after receiving the control information).
Regarding claim 21, Tang in view of Oh teaches claim 16 and further teaches wherein the processor is configured to read the program in the memory and execute: receiving target DCI carrying second energy saving information transmitted by the base station in a second time unit ([0140] - The BS 102 may transmit the scheduling parameter(s) to the UE 106…); wherein the second energy saving information is configured to indicate at least one piece of cross-slot scheduling information comprised in a second time window, and the second time window comprises at least one time unit with the second time unit as a start point or with a time unit following the second time unit as a start point; and determining, by the user equipment, the cross-slot scheduling information according to the target DCI received recently in a case that the second time window partially or completely overlaps with the first time window ( [0140] - The BS 102 may transmit the scheduling parameter(s) to the UE 106… if the scheduling parameter(s) indicates cross-slot scheduling for the first slot, the control information transmitted during the first slot may apply to a data transfer or other communication (e.g., uplink and/or downlink) scheduled for a later slot or slots. Note: schedule slot(s) associated with uplink and down link correspond to first and second windows. Since the windows start with the same first slot, therefore, the windows at least partially overlap. [0135] - Alternatively, the scheduling parameter may be relative to a current time, e.g., the amount of time that K0 will not be changed from its current value. Such a window may be changed (e.g., extended or possibly shortened) by further indications. Note: extended or shortened window is considered to partially overlap with the original window).
Claims 11, 12, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Oh and further in view of Wei et al. (US 2022/0191880, hereinafter Wei).
Regarding claim 11, Tang in view of Oh teaches claim 8 but fails to teach receiving, by the user equipment, the cross-slot scheduling parameter in a case that the scheduling DCI for data transfer of an activated bandwidth part (BWP) of a first carrier is configured to be cross-slot scheduling; wherein the cross-slot scheduling parameter is a maximum value between a first time interval and a first parameter, the first time interval is configured to represent a time interval by which the activated BWP of the first carrier is switched from a first BWP to a second BWP, and the first parameter is configured to represent a cross-slot scheduling parameter configured for the second BWP of the first carrier.
However, Wei teaches receiving, by the user equipment, the cross-slot scheduling parameter in a case that the scheduling DCI for data transfer of an activated bandwidth part (BWP) of a first carrier is configured to be cross-slot scheduling ([0119] At step S100, receive switching indication information sent from a serving node. The switching indication information includes switch slot offsets of bandwidth part switching process. [0024] - In a 5G system, each UE may be configured with at most 4 uplink BWPs and 4 downlink BWPs on each carrier); wherein the cross-slot scheduling parameter is a maximum value between a first time interval and a first parameter ([0044] a switch delay corresponding to K0 is greater than or equal to the maximum value among the required switch delays for this downlink BWP in the active cell and all the passive cells. [0045] K0 corresponds to a switch delay≥max {the required downlink switch delay 1, the required downlink switch delay 2 . . . the required downlink switch delay n}. [0046] K2 is greater than or equal to the maximum value among the required switch delays for this uplink BWP in the active cell and all the passive cells. [0047] K2 corresponds to a switch delay≥max {the required uplink switch delay 1, the required uplink switch delay 2 . . . the required uplink switch delay n}), the first time interval is configured to represent a time interval by which the activated BWP of the first carrier is switched from a first BWP to a second BWP ([0044], [0046] – required switch delay), and the first parameter is configured to represent a cross-slot scheduling parameter configured for the second BWP of the first carrier ([0044], [0046] – K0, K2).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature as taught by Wei in Tang, to improve the reliability of bandwidth part switching for respective cells and improve the communication quality.
Regarding claim 12, Tang in view of Oh and Wei teaches claim 8 but Tang fails to teach receiving a switching signaling on a second carrier after data transfer of the activated BWP of the first carrier is completed; wherein the second carrier is a carrier set comprising at least one carrier for data scheduling, and the switching signaling is configured to indicate switch of the activated BWP of the first carrier; and switching the activated BWP of the first carrier from the first BWP to the second BWP according to the switching signaling.
However, Wei teaches receiving a switching signaling on a second carrier after data transfer of the activated BWP of the first carrier is completed; wherein the second carrier is a carrier set comprising at least one carrier for data scheduling, and the switching signaling is configured to indicate switch of the activated BWP of the first carrier; and switching the activated BWP of the first carrier from the first BWP to the second BWP according to the switching signaling ([0119] At step S100, receive switching indication information sent from a serving node. The switching indication information includes switch slot offsets of bandwidth part switching process. [0024] - In a 5G system, each UE may be configured with at most 4 uplink BWPs and 4 downlink BWPs on each carrier. [0206] - The DCI message including a switching indication information and is configured to schedule cells in a cross-carrier manner. “Cross-carrier” indicates a switch from a carrier to another carrier).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature as taught by Wei in Tang, to improve the reliability of bandwidth part switching for respective cells and improve the communication quality.
Regarding claim 22, Tang in view of Oh teaches claim 16 but fails to teach receiving, by the user equipment, the cross-slot scheduling parameter in a case that the scheduling DCI for data transfer of an activated bandwidth part (BWP) of a first carrier is configured to be cross-slot scheduling; wherein the cross-slot scheduling parameter is a maximum value between a first time interval and a first parameter, the first time interval is configured to represent a time interval by which the activated BWP of the first carrier is switched from a first BWP to a second BWP, and the first parameter is configured to represent a cross-slot scheduling parameter configured for the second BWP of the first carrier.
However, Wei teaches receiving, by the user equipment, the cross-slot scheduling parameter in a case that the scheduling DCI for data transfer of an activated bandwidth part (BWP) of a first carrier is configured to be cross-slot scheduling ([0119] At step S100, receive switching indication information sent from a serving node. The switching indication information includes switch slot offsets of bandwidth part switching process. [0024] - In a 5G system, each UE may be configured with at most 4 uplink BWPs and 4 downlink BWPs on each carrier); wherein the cross-slot scheduling parameter is a maximum value between a first time interval and a first parameter ([0044] a switch delay corresponding to K0 is greater than or equal to the maximum value among the required switch delays for this downlink BWP in the active cell and all the passive cells. [0045] K0 corresponds to a switch delay≥max {the required downlink switch delay 1, the required downlink switch delay 2 . . . the required downlink switch delay n}. [0046] K2 is greater than or equal to the maximum value among the required switch delays for this uplink BWP in the active cell and all the passive cells. [0047] K2 corresponds to a switch delay≥max {the required uplink switch delay 1, the required uplink switch delay 2 . . . the required uplink switch delay n}), the first time interval is configured to represent a time interval by which the activated BWP of the first carrier is switched from a first BWP to a second BWP ([0044], [0046] – required switch delay), and the first parameter is configured to represent a cross-slot scheduling parameter configured for the second BWP of the first carrier ([0044], [0046] – K0, K2).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature as taught by Wei in Tang, to improve the reliability of bandwidth part switching for respective cells and improve the communication quality.
Regarding claim 23, Tang in view of Oh and Wei teaches claim 22 but Tang fails to teach receiving a switching signaling on a second carrier after data transfer of the activated BWP of the first carrier is completed; wherein the second carrier is a carrier set comprising at least one carrier for data scheduling, and the switching signaling is configured to indicate switch of the activated BWP of the first carrier; and switching the activated BWP of the first carrier from the first BWP to the second BWP according to the switching signaling.
However, Wei teaches receiving a switching signaling on a second carrier after data transfer of the activated BWP of the first carrier is completed; wherein the second carrier is a carrier set comprising at least one carrier for data scheduling, and the switching signaling is configured to indicate switch of the activated BWP of the first carrier; and switching the activated BWP of the first carrier from the first BWP to the second BWP according to the switching signaling ([0119] At step S100, receive switching indication information sent from a serving node. The switching indication information includes switch slot offsets of bandwidth part switching process. [0024] - In a 5G system, each UE may be configured with at most 4 uplink BWPs and 4 downlink BWPs on each carrier. [0206] - The DCI message including a switching indication information and is configured to schedule cells in a cross-carrier manner. “Cross-carrier” indicates a switch from a carrier to another carrier).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature as taught by Wei in Tang, to improve the reliability of bandwidth part switching for respective cells and improve the communication quality.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-5, 8-12, 15-17, and 20-23 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guo et al. (US 2018/0343653) discloses downlink control information (DCI) including scheduling information for a data transmission on a downlink data channel.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUOC THAI N VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642