Status of the Claims
Claims 2-4, 9, and 13 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-12, and 14-15 are pending and examined herein.
Priority
This application, filed 02/16/2022, is a 371 of PCT/US2020/039503, filed 06/25/2020, which claims benefit of 62/866,318, filed 06/25/2019, and 63/006,630, filed 04/07/2020. The benefit is acknowledged and the claims herein are treated as having an effective filing date of 06/25/2019.
Withdrawn Rejections/Objections
The rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s cancellation of claim 13.
The rejection of claims 4 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s cancellation of claims 4 and 9.
The rejection of claims 1, 2, 6, and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite the limitation "wherein the biotin binding sites" in step “a)”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In this case, having biotin binding sites is not considered to be an inherent property of every streptavidin molecule.
Amended Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 10-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 5,863,740 A1 “INTERFERENCE ELIMINATING AGENT FOR APPLICATION IN IMMUNOASSAYS” (published 01/26/1999, IDS filed 05/06/2025, referred to herein as Engel).
Regarding claim 8, Engel teaches using biotin-saturated streptavidin (col. 3, lines 44-48) by combining the sample with the streptavidin to create a mixture (col. 5, lines 24-30) to mitigate interference (col. 4, lines 64-66) from anti-streptavidin antibodies (col. 5, lines 5-7). Engel teaches preparing the biotin-saturated streptavidin by removing excess free biotin (col. 4, lines 43-49), i.e. eliminating excess biotin before combining the biotin-saturated streptavidin with the sample.
Regarding claim 10, Engel teaches conjugating a non-biotin capture moiety to the streptavidin (col. 3, lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 11, Engel teaches that the streptavidin can be covalently bound by biotin (col. 3, lines 59-60) and/or the non-biotin capture moiety (col. 3, lines 33-36).
Regarding claim 14, Engel teaches that the biotinylation is mediated by non-covalently binding biotin to the streptavidin active sites, i.e. “simple saturation of the binding sites with biotin” (col. 3, lines 44-48).
Regarding claim 15, Engel teaches the use of monomeric streptavidin (Table 3, “SA”).
Amended Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trambas et al., “Depletion of biotin using streptavidin-coated microparticles: a validated solution to the problem of biotin interference in streptavidin–biotin immunoassays” (published 06/29/2017, IDS filed 04/08/2023, referred to herein as Trambas) in view of US 5,863,740 A1 “INTERFERENCE ELIMINATING AGENT FOR APPLICATION IN IMMUNOASSAYS” (published 01/26/1999, IDS filed 05/06/2025, referred to herein as Engel).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 7, Trambas teaches a method for mitigating interference in a liquid sample (abstract lines 5-6) comprising combining the sample with magnetic particles (p. 218, col. 1, para. 2, line 27) containing streptavidin (p. 217, col. 2, para. 5, lines 1-2, “streptavidin-coated magnetic microparticle”), mixing the mixture (p. 218, col. 1, para. 2, line 29), and separating the particle from the sample with a magnet (p. 218, col. 1, para. 2, lines 30-32) to collect the sample (p. 218, col. 1, para. 2, lines 39-41).
However, Trambas does not teach the use of streptavidin-coated particles saturated with a minimal excess of biotin (claim 1). Trambas does not teach the conjugation of a non-biotin capture moiety to the streptavidin (claim 5).
Regarding claim 1, Engel teaches using biotin-saturated streptavidin (col. 3, lines 44-48) by combining the sample with the streptavidin to create a mixture (col. 5, lines 24-30) to mitigate interference (col. 4, lines 64-66) from anti-streptavidin antibodies (col. 5, lines 5-7). Engel teaches preparing the biotin-saturated streptavidin by removing excess free biotin (col. 4, lines 43-49), i.e. eliminating excess biotin before combining the biotin-saturated streptavidin with the sample.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the streptavidin-coated particle, as taught by Trambas, with minimal biotin-saturation as taught by Engel. Doing so is considered using known methods for their intended purpose. In this case, Engel teaches using minimally biotin-saturated streptavidin for the removal of interference by anti-streptavidin. An artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success making this modification since modification of streptavidin with biotin is well-known in the art, as taught by Engel (col. 3, lines 61-61), and these molecules are known to capture interference molecules, such as anti-streptavidin antibodies (col. 5, lines 5-7), in immunoassays.
Regarding claim 5, Engel teaches coupling the streptavidin to other high molecular weight molecules “such as BSA or immunoglobulin which are often used to reduce interference in immunoassays” (col. 3. Lines 27-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the streptavidin-coated particle, as taught by Trambas, with conjugation of other molecules, as taught by Engel. Doing so would increase the variety of captured interference molecules of the streptavidin-coated particle taught by Trambas, thereby enabling an artisan to reduce interference by other molecules. An artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success making this modification since modification of streptavidin with biotin and other molecules is well-known in the art, as taught by Engel (col. 3, lines 61-61), and these molecules are known to capture interference molecules in immunoassays, as taught by Engel (col. 3, lines 27-30).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel in view of EZ-Link NHS-Biotin Reagents Handout by Thermo Scientific (published 2011, referred to herein as Thermo).
Regarding claims 12, Engel teaches the covalent binding of biotin to streptavidin (col. 3, lines 59-62). Engel teaches that the “methods for coupling biotin to the active centre of SA are known to a person skilled in the art” (col. 3, lines 61-62).
However, Engel does not specifically teach the use of any ester-derived biotin for the covalent attachment to streptavidin.
Thermo teaches “esters of biotin are the most popular type of biotinylation reagent” (p. 2, para. 2, line 1). Thermo teaches the use of ester-derived biotins such as NHS-biotin, NHS-LC-Biotin, and NHS-LC-LC-Biotin for the covalent attachment of biotin to proteins (p. 4, lines 1-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of covalent attachment of biotin as taught by Engel by using the modified biotin reagents taught by Thermo. Doing so would result in the same end result of covalently-attached biotin-saturated streptavidin molecules; hence, making this substitution would have been readily apparent and deemed to be a mere simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See MPEP 2141(III): Exemplary Rationales that supports a conclusion of obviousness). One skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because both Engel and Thermo disclose the covalent attachment of biotin to target proteins, i.e. streptavidin, using modified biotin reagents.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 17/160196 in view of Engel.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, ‘196 discloses a method of reducing interference (claim 3, lines 10-11) by combining the sample with a particle comprising streptavidin (claim 3, lines 4-5), mixing the mixture to facilitate binding (claim 3, line 6), and removing the particle from the sample (claim 3, lines 8-9).
However, ‘196 does not disclose the use of streptavidin-coated particles saturated with a minimal excess of biotin.
Engel teaches using biotin-saturated streptavidin (col. 3, lines 44-48) by combining the sample with the streptavidin to create a mixture (col. 5, lines 24-30) to mitigate interference (col. 4, lines 64-66) from anti-streptavidin antibodies (col. 5, lines 5-7). Engel teaches preparing the biotin-saturated streptavidin by removing excess free biotin (col. 4, lines 43-49), i.e. eliminating excess biotin before combining the biotin-saturated streptavidin with the sample.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the streptavidin-coated particle, as disclosed by ‘196, with minimal biotin-saturation, as taught by Engel. An artisan would be motivated and have a reasonable expectation of success making this modification since modification of streptavidin with biotin and other molecules is well-known in the art, as taught by Engel (col. 3, lines 61-61), and these molecules are known to capture interference molecules, such as anti-streptavidin antibodies, in immunoassays, as taught by Engel (col. 3, lines 27-30).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Regarding the rejections of claims 4, 9, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112, the rejections have been withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment.
Regarding the remarks on the rejection of claims 1, 2, 6, and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102 by Trambas, the rejection has been withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendment.
Regarding the remarks on the rejection of claims 8-11 and 14-15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 by Engel, Applicant argues that Engel does not teach “wherein the biotin binding sites on the streptavidin are saturated with minimal excess biotin so that interference due to anti-streptavidin is removed or reduced”.
This argument is not persuasive. As described above under the amended rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102, Engel does teach preparing biotin-saturated streptavidin (col. 3, lines 44-48) by removing excess free biotin (col. 4, lines 43-49), resulting in minimal excess biotin, to remove anti-streptavidin interference (col. 5, lines 5-7).
Regarding the remarks on page 5 on the rejections of claims 3-5 and claims 12-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant relies upon the claims as amended without presenting any further argument. As detailed above, claims 5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on the teaching of Engel of preparing biotin-saturated streptavidin (col. 3, lines 44-48) by removing excess free biotin (col. 4, lines 43-49), resulting in minimal excess biotin, to remove anti-streptavidin interference (col. 5, lines 5-7).
Regarding the remarks on the Double Patenting Rejection, the rejection is maintained as amended.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/BAO-THUY L NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1677 February 12, 2026