Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
The amended claims filed on March 10, 2026, have been acknowledged. Claims 2, 6-7, 9, 15-16, 18-19, 22, and 26 were cancelled. Claims 1 and 5 were amended. Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-14, 17, 20-21, and 23-25 are pending and examined on the merits.
Priority
The applicant claims domestic priority from U.S. provisional application No. 62/889,225, filed on August 20, 2019. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-14, 17, 20-21, and 23-25 receive domestic benefit from U.S. provisional application No. 62/889,225, filed on August 20, 2019.
Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed by Dr. Jonas Wang on March 10, 2026, has been considered but is insufficient to overcome the rejections of instant claims based upon 35 U.S.C 103 as set forth in the current Office action for the following reasons:
First, the Wang declaration argues that the method of claim 1 exhibits unexpected results. The Wang declaration argues that the therapeutic composition comprising the umbilical cord blood possess superior immune tolerance and immunomodulatory activity and high levels of several factors and that their method leads to unexpected results as administration of their PD-UCBs without removing DMSO was safe and effective in treating acute ischemic stroke (page 2, paragraph 4).
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, regarding the immune tolerance and modulatory activity of the umbilical cord blood, as stated in the rejection below, Chow is silent as to whether the plasma-depleted umbilical cord blood contain IL-10 at levels higher than IL-1 beta, IL-2, IL-6, IFN gamma, or TNF-alpha.
However, the instant specification discloses that in Examples 1-3, they received plasma depleted umbilical cord blood from Stemcyte’s public cord blood bank and assayed them to examine IL-10, IL-1 beta, IL-2, IL-6, IFN gamma, and TNF-alpha expression levels. Example 1 and Table A disclose that plasma depleted umbilical cord blood IL-10 at levels higher than IL-1 beta, IL-2, IL-6, IFN gamma, or TNF-alpha. The specification discloses that the plasma depletion umbilical cord blood method corresponds to the method disclosed in US8048619 (the Patent of USPGPub 2006/0275271 cited above) and specifically identifies the method of US8048619 as a method that produces the plasma-depleted, non-RBC-depleted UCB units of the present invention (Examples 1-3, Table A, page 5, line 27-page 6, line 24, page 14, line 28-page 15, line 8). Therefore, the cytokine properties of the UCB composition used in the method of claim 1 is considered inherent to the plasma depleted UCB of Chow.
As stated in the rejection below, MPEP 2112(I) states that "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the court held that the claimed promoter sequence obtained by sequencing a prior art plasmid that was not previously sequenced was anticipated by the prior art plasmid which necessarily possessed the same DNA sequence as the claimed oligonucleotides. The court stated that "just as the discovery of properties of a known material does not make it novel, the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel."
Additionally, MPEP2112(II) states that there is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.
Second, regarding Applicant’s arguments about DMSO, although Applicant argues unexpected results, the claims are not commensurate in scope with the experimental results cited by the Applicant. MPEP 716.02(d) discloses that whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980) (Claims were directed to a process for removing corrosion at "elevated temperatures" using a certain ion exchange resin (with the exception of claim 8 which recited a temperature in excess of 100°C). Appellant demonstrated unexpected results via comparative tests with the prior art ion exchange resin at 110°C and 130°C. The court affirmed the rejection of claims 1-7 and 9-10 because the term "elevated temperatures" encompassed temperatures as low as 60°C where the prior art ion exchange resin was known to perform well. The rejection of claim 8, directed to a temperature in excess of 100°C, was reversed.). See also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329-31, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-85 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (data showing improved alloy strength with the addition of 2% rhenium did not evidence unexpected results for the entire claimed range of about 1-3% rhenium); In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 741, 218 USPQ 769, 777 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (Claims were directed to certain catalysts containing an alkali metal. Evidence presented to rebut an obviousness rejection compared catalysts containing sodium with the prior art. The court held this evidence insufficient to rebut the prima facie case because experiments limited to sodium were not commensurate in scope with the claims.).
Regarding the claims at issue in the instant application, claim 1 does not require DMSO. Furthermore, claim 1 is broader than the cited results as claim 1 claims using either PD-UCBs or RCR-UCBs while the claimed unexpected results only discuss using PD-UCBs.
As such, the claims as written are not commensurate in scope with alleged unexpected results.
Additionally, it is not clear that these results would be unexpected as Chow inherently has the same cytokine profile as claimed in claim 1 and showed that administering PD-UCBs with DMSO was safe and effective (Example 4). Furthermore, Laskowitz identifies multiple patients that achieved a similar reduction (9 to 1 in Applicant’s patient, i.e. an 8 point improvement) on their NIHSS score (11 to 3, i.e. an 8 point improvement) by 3 months. Thus, these are not considered unexpected results.
Note that unexpected results must be “really unexpected” in view of the prior art. “Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected.” (emphasis added). See MPEP §716.02.
In view of the foregoing, applicant’s arguments in the Wang declaration pertaining to unexpected results are not found persuasive.
The Wang declaration further argues that none of the cited art teaches administering the blood-brain barrier permeabilizer after administration of the umbilical cord blood (page 2, paragraph 5-page 3, paragraph 3).
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Although this is correct for the previously written rejections of record, these rejections have been withdrawn and new rejections of record have been written that address this limitation based on the teachings of Borlongan. As identified in the rejections below, the combined teachings of Chow and Borlongan teach the method of claim 1.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The prior rejection of claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-14, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application No. 2006/0275271 (Chow; referenced in IDS; corresponds to US Patent No. 8048619), as evidenced by Jaime-Perez et al. (Rev Bras Hematol Hemoter. 38: 88–89. 2016) and Lindsberg et al. (Stroke. 34: 2518-2532. 2003) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 to require that the blood-brain permeabilizer is administered after the umbilical cord blood.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The prior rejection of claims 1, 20, and 24-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2006/0275271 (Chow) as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Laskowitz et al. (Stem Cells Translational Medicine 7: 521–529. 2018; referenced in IDS) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 to require that the blood-brain permeabilizer is administered after the umbilical cord blood.
The prior rejection of claims 1 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2006/0275271 (Chow) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Niranjan et al. (Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience 17: 22-30. 2018) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 to require that the blood-brain permeabilizer is administered after the umbilical cord blood.
The prior rejection of claims 1 and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2006/0275271 (Chow) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience 27: 41–54. 2009) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 to require that the blood-brain permeabilizer is administered after the umbilical cord blood.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-14, 16-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2006/0275271 (Chow; corresponds to US Patent No. 8048619) further in view of Borlongan et al. (Stroke 35: 2385–2389. 2004), as evidenced by Jaime-Perez et al. (Rev Bras Hematol Hemoter. 38: 88–89. 2016) and Lindsberg et al. (Stroke. 34: 2518-2532. 2003). This is a new rejection substantially similar to a previous rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to claim 1. Applicant’s traversal has been fully considered but is moot in response to the rejection as newly written and the unpersuasive arguments asserted in the Wang declaration as identified above as the traversal asserts the same arguments as found in the Wang declaration.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Chow teaches a method of treating brain injury (stroke) by administering plasma-depleted umbilical cord blood (abstract and paragraph 0112). Lindberg evidences that inflammatory responses and stroke are strongly linked (whole document) and identifies that in case-control studies, acute infection (which causes an inflammatory response) within the preceding week was a trigger factor for ischemic stroke (abstract). Furthermore, dependent claim 20 claims that the subject has a stroke score, further identifying stroke as a brain injury induced by inflammation.
Examples 7-8 teach that this procedure can include pre-medication regimens including administering mannitol (a blood-brain-barrier permeabilizer) (paragraphs 0220 and 0241).
Chow teaches that the plasma-depleted UCB units of the present invention meet the following selection criteria: a minimum of 4/6 HLA A/B/DR matches at high resolution (paragraph 0073). Furthermore, Chow teaches that they treated multiple patients with 5/6 or 6/6 HLA matches (Table 5).
Chow is silent as to whether the plasma-depleted umbilical cord blood contain IL-10 at levels higher than IL-1 beta, IL-2, IL-6, IFN gamma, or TNF-alpha.
However, the instant specification discloses that in Examples 1-3, they received plasma depleted umbilical cord blood from Stemcyte’s public cord blood bank and assayed them to examine IL-10, IL-1 beta, IL-2, IL-6, IFN gamma, and TNF-alpha expression levels. Example 1 and Table A disclose that plasma depleted umbilical cord blood IL-10 at levels higher than IL-1 beta, IL-2, IL-6, IFN gamma, or TNF-alpha. The specification discloses that the plasma depletion umbilical cord blood method corresponds to the method disclosed in US8048619 (the Patent of USPGPub 2006/0275271 cited above) and specifically identifies the method of US8048619 as a method that produces the plasma-depleted, non-RBC-depleted UCB units of the present invention (Examples 1-3, Table A, page 5, line 27-page 6, line 24, page 14, line 28-page 15, line 8).
Therefore, the plasma depleted umbilical cord blood of Chow is considered to inherently generate plasma depleted umbilical cord blood with IL-10 at levels higher than IL-1 beta, IL-2, IL-6, IFN gamma, and TNF-alpha. Furthermore, MPEP 2112(I) states that "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the court held that the claimed promoter sequence obtained by sequencing a prior art plasmid that was not previously sequenced was anticipated by the prior art plasmid which necessarily possessed the same DNA sequence as the claimed oligonucleotides. The court stated that "just as the discovery of properties of a known material does not make it novel, the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel."
Additionally, MPEP2112(II) states that there is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.
Although Chow teaches that their method can include pre-medication regimens including administering mannitol (a blood-brain-barrier permeabilizer), they do not teach wherein the blood-brain barrier permeabilizer is administered after administration of the umbilical cord blood.
However, Borlongan teaches a method of treating stroke by co-administering human umbilical cord blood (HUCB) with mannitol. HUCB–mannitol treatment significantly increased brain levels of neurotrophic factors, which correlated positively with reduced cerebral infarcts and improved behavioral functions (abstract). During the 1-hour occlusion of the middle cerebral artery (MCA), anesthetized animals received intravenous (jugular vein) injection of HUCB (200 000 cells) over 10 minutes. Immediately thereafter, using the same intravenous line, animals received 1.1 mol/L mannitol (maintained at 4°C) or over 5 minutes (page 2386, column 1m, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of treating stroke by administering umbilical cord blood of Chow by administering the mannitol after infusion of the umbilical cord blood, as identified by Borlongan, instead of as a pre-medication regimen to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to modify with a reasonable expectation of success because both Chow and Borlongan both teach administering umbilical cord blood and mannitol to stroke patients and Borlongan teaches that administering human umbilical cord blood (HUCB) then mannitol significantly increased brain levels of neurotrophic factors, which correlated positively with reduced cerebral infarcts and improved behavioral functions. As such, it would have been obvious that mannitol could be administered after the umbilical cord blood of Chow as this was shown to be an effective treatment in stroke patients. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 3-4, Chow teaches that the UCB [umbilical cord blood] further comprises a cryoprotectant , such as DMSO (paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 5, Chow teaches that the umbilical cord blood (UCB) compositions of the present invention possess the advantageous features of having plasma that is substantially depleted but red blood cells (RBC) that are not depleted from the UCB unit, i.e., a plasma-depleted, non-red blood cell-depleted composition (paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 8, Examples 7-8 teach procedures for thawing plasma-depleted, cryopreserved cord blood that was stored.
Regarding claim 10, Examples 7-8 teach procedures for thawing plasma-depleted, cryopreserved cord blood including using a water bath at a temperature of 37°C ± 2°C. The water in the water bath must maintain this temperature throughout the thaw procedure (paragraphs 0205 and 0225).
Regarding claim 11, Example 7 teaches that the thawed cord blood is not washed before infusion.
Regarding claim 12, Example 8 teaches that the thawing to transport to infusion process should be completed within 60 minutes.
Regarding claim 13, Chow teaches that they administered a total nucleated cell (TNC) dose of 4.8 x 107 cells/kg-1.5 x 108 cells/kg (Table 5). Jaime-Perez evidences total mononuclear cells are roughly half of the total mononucleated cells (page 88, column 1, paragraph 3). Thus, the mononuclear cell totals equate to 2.4 x 107 cells/kg-0.75 x 108 cells/kg. The specification discloses that "approximately" means within an acceptable range for the particular value as determined by one of ordinary skill in the art. Based on this definition, the dosing of Chow is considered to fall within approximately 1 x 108 cells/kg.
Regarding claim 14, Examples 7-8 teach that they administer the umbilical cord blood through infusion.
Claims 1, 20, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2006/0275271 (Chow; corresponds to US Patent No. 8048619) further in view of Borlongan et al. (Stroke 35: 2385–2389. 2004) as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Laskowitz et al. (Stem Cells Translational Medicine 7: 521–529. 2018; referenced in IDS). This is a new rejection substantially similar to a previous rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to claim 1. Applicant’s traversal has been fully considered but is moot in response to the rejection as newly written and the unpersuasive arguments asserted in the Wang declaration as identified above as the traversal asserts the same arguments as found in the Wang declaration.
Regarding claim 20, the teachings of Chow and Borlongan are as discussed above.
Chow is silent as to determining the NIHSS score of the stroke patients administered the cord blood.
However, Laskowitz teaches a method of administering umbilical cord blood to patients following ischemic stroke. Patients had a NIHSS score of 9-14 (abstract and page 524, column 2, paragraphs 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the method of treating stroke by administering umbilical cord blood of Chow and Borlongan could be used with the NIHSS patient population parameters of Laskowitz to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to treat this patient population with a reasonable expectation of success because Chow, Borlongan, and Laskowitz teach administering umbilical cord blood to stroke patients. As such, it would have been obvious that the patient population of Laskowitz could also be treated by the method of Chow and Borlongan. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 24-25, the teachings of Chow and Borlongan are as discussed above.
Chow is silent as to the subject not being administered TPA before administering the umbilical cord blood.
However, Laskowitz teaches that when administering TPA, there is a short window for administering TPA to patients following ischemic stroke as well as a risk of increased bleeding. As such, TPA is only used in about 20% of patients with ischemic stroke, and cannot be used to treat hemorrhagic stroke (page 522, column 1, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the method of treating stroke by administering umbilical cord blood of Chow and Borlongan could be used in patients that have not received TPA before administering the umbilical cord blood, as identified by Laskowitz to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to treat this patient population with a reasonable expectation of success because Chow broadly teaches administering umbilical cord blood to stroke (which would include ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke patients) patients and does not identify their patient population as only being ones that received TPA. Furthermore, as Laskowitz teaches that only 20% of patients with ischemic stroke and none with hemorrhagic stroke are administered TPA and there is a distinct risk of increased bleeding, it would have been obvious to use the method of Chow and Borlongan to treat stroke patient populations that were not treated with TPA. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2006/0275271 (Chow; corresponds to US Patent No. 8048619) further in view of Borlongan et al. (Stroke 35: 2385–2389. 2004) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Niranjan et al. (Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience 17: 22-30. 2018). This is a new rejection substantially similar to a previous rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to claim 1. Applicant’s traversal has been fully considered but is moot in response to the rejection as newly written and the unpersuasive arguments asserted in the Wang declaration as identified above as the traversal asserts the same arguments as found in the Wang declaration.
The teachings of Chow and Borlongan are as discussed above. Chow teaches that transfusion of large volumes of major ABO incompatible red blood cells is known to cause transfusion reactions in patients who have a significant titer of anti-A and/or anti-B (paragraph 0219),
Chow and Borlongan do not teach that their PD-UCBs are ABO compatible.
However, Niranjan teaches that the utility and safety of ABO compatible non identical blood components is well known and their use is advocated and practiced worldwide. Furthermore, Niranjan identifies multiple scenarios in which using ABO compatible blood can be beneficial to the patient, including instances in which the blood group of the patients is not known or not confirmed (page 34, paragraphs 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered ABO compatible PD-UCB in the method of treating stroke of Chow and Borlongan to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to use ABO compatible PD-UCB with a reasonable expectation of success because Chow identifies that there are known risks associated with using non-compatible PD-UCB and Niranjan identifies multiple potential scenarios where using compatible blood benefits the patient, including when the blood group of the patients is not known or not confirmed. Furthermore, Niranjan identifies that using ABO compatible blood is a common practice world wide. Therefore, considering the risks, it would have been obvious that one can use ABO compatible PD-UCB as this is a common practice and to avoid the risks, especially in the scenarios identified by Niranjan. Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2006/0275271 (Chow; corresponds to US Patent No. 8048619) further in view of Borlongan et al. (Stroke 35: 2385–2389. 2004) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (Restorative Neurology and Neuroscience 27: 41–54. 2009). This rejection is repeated in regards to the rejection recited in the Non-final Office action mailed on July 29, 2025. Applicant’s traversal has been addressed above. This is a new rejection substantially similar to a previous rejection made in response to Applicant’s amendments to claim 1. Applicant’s traversal has been fully considered but is moot in response to the rejection as newly written and the unpersuasive arguments asserted in the Wang declaration as identified above as the traversal asserts the same arguments as found in the Wang declaration.
The teachings of Chow and Borlongan are as discussed above.
Chow and Borlongan do not teach administering immunosuppressive agents to the subject.
However, Yu teaches that treating stroke patients with human umbilical cord blood cells with immunosuppressive agents, such as cyclosporin A, was known. Furthermore, Yu teaches that cyclosporin A is known to exert neuroprotection against ischemia (page 49, column 2, paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined administering umbilical cord blood in the method of treating stroke of Chow and Borlongan with administering an immunosuppressive agent, such as cyclosporin A, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to combine with a reasonable expectation of success because both the umbilical cord blood and immunosuppressive agents are known to exert neuroprotective effects in stroke patients and have been used together previously. As such, it would have been obvious to combine administering umbilical cord blood with administering immunosuppressive agents to treat stroke patients. Furthermore, MPEP 2144.06 states "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted). Because the prior art teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/KEENAN A BATES/Examiner, Art Unit 1631
/JAMES D SCHULTZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1631