DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A1(claims 14-15) and B1 (claims 24-25) in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 16-21, 23, and 26 of non-elected species are withdrawn.
Status of claims
Claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12-21, 23-27, 36-37 and 52 are pending.
Claims 2-4, 7-8, 11, 22, 28-35, 38-51 and 53-68 are canceled.
Claims 16-21, 23, and 26 are withdrawn.
Claims 5-6, 9-10, 12-14, 16, 18,21, 23-24, 26-27 and 36 are amended.
Claims 1, 37 and 52 are independent claims.
Claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12-15, 24-25, 36-37 and 52 are examined on the merits.
Priority
As detailed on the 02/23/2024 filing receipt, this application claims domestic priority to as early as 08/22/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 08/22/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full. A signed copy of list of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings filed 02/17/2022 are objected. The drawings are objected to because Figures 9-10 contains partial views executed on separate pages are not labeled in accordance with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1). According to the MPEP 1.84 Standards for Drawings section (u) Numbering of views "Partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter. View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation 'FIG'." Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12-15, 24-25 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “improving” and “negative effect” in claim 1 (step h) are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “improving” and “negative effect” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The relationship between the genetic variants and the performance of the organism is not based on any known standard for determining the effects of the variants on performance.
Independent claim 1 (step a) recites “a) providing a plurality of genetic variants in the genome of the organism,” which requires but lacks antecedent basis in the claims because there is no previous recitation of "genome of the organism" in the claims. This rejection might be overcome by for example amending to recite the article "a" instead of "the" or an equivalent amendment. For compact examination, it is assumed that the preceding suggestion will be implemented.
Independent claim 1 (step d) recites “d) identifying an impact of the alteration on an endophenotype, wherein the endophenotype is a quantifiable phenotype at the sub-organismal level…,” which requires but lacks antecedent basis in the claims because there is no previous recitation of "sub-organismal level" in the claims. This rejection might be overcome by for example amending to recite the article "a" instead of "the" or an equivalent amendment. For compact examination, it is assumed that the preceding suggestion will be implemented.
Independent claim 1 (step h) recites “h) modifying in the genome one or more of the genetic variants having a predicted negative effect on the performance of the organism, thereby improving performance of an organism.” The relationship is unclear between the recited “an organism” in step h (last line) and the previously recited “organism” from steps a-h. It is not clear whether the “organism” in step h (last line) is the same “organism” as previously recited in steps a-h.
The terms “improved” in claim 36 is a relative term which render the claim indefinite. The terms “improved” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The relationship between the genetic variants and the performance of the organism of claim 1 is not based on any known standard for determining the effects of the variants on performance.
Dependent claims are rejected for being dependent on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12-15, 24-25, 36-37 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis of claims in Step 1.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Independent claim 1 is directed to a 101 process, here a "for improving performance of an organism," with process steps such as "providing…, predicting…"
Independent claim 37 is directed to a 101 process, here a "computer-implemented method for assessing genetic variants for use in genetic improvement of an organism," with process steps such as "providing…, predicting…"
Independent claim 52 is directed to a 101 process, here a "for prioritizing genetic variants," with process steps such as "providing…, predicting…"
[Step 1: claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12-15, 24-25, 36-37 and 52: YES]
In accordance with MPEP § 2106, claims found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1: YES) are then analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1). In the instant application, the claims recite the following limitations that equate to an abstract idea:
Mental processes recited include:
Claim 1 recites: "b) predicting the effects of the genetic variants on the performance of the organism using a statistical model…;d) identifying an impact of the alteration on an endophenotype, wherein the endophenotype is a quantifiable phenotype at the sub-organismal level that can be measured by a biochemical, gene expression, or protein level assay, or visually via microscopy; e) updating the statistical model using the identified endophenotypic impact; f) optionally repeating steps c) to e) for one or more times; g) determining the genetic variants having a predicted negative effect on the performance of the organism using the updated statistical model," are acts of evaluating, analyzing, observing and judging data that could be practically performed in the human mind and/or with pen and paper.
Claim 10 recites: "wherein the genetic variants are identified by a linkage study or an association study." Identifying genetic variants with a linkage study is an act of evaluating, analyzing, observing and judging data that could be practically performed in the human mind and/or with pen and paper.
Claim 15 recites: "wherein the evolutionary conservation is determined by sequence alignment in a genic or an intergenic region." Aligning sequences is an act of evaluating, analyzing, observing and judging data that could be practically performed in the human mind and/or with pen and paper.
Claim 36 recite: "An organism with improved performance produced or selected by the method of claim 1." Selecting is an act of evaluating, analyzing and judging data that could be practically performed in the human mind and/or with pen and paper.
Claim 52 recite: "b) predicting the effects of the genetic variants on the performance of the organism using an endophenotype; and c) prioritizing the genetic variants based on the magnitudes of the predicted effects on the performance of the organism." Predicting and prioritizing are acts of evaluating, analyzing and judging data that could be practically performed in the human mind and/or with pen and paper.
Mathematical concepts recited include:
Claim 1 recites: "b) predicting the effects of the genetic variants on the performance of the organism using a statistical model…; e) updating the statistical model using the identified endophenotypic impact; f) optionally repeating steps c) to e) for one or more times; g) determining the genetic variants having a predicted negative effect on the performance of the organism using the updated statistical model" Statistical model is a mathematical concept and/or formula and using the statistical model requires performing a series of mathematical calculations.
Claim 6 recites: yield, photosynthetic efficiency, nutrient use efficiency, growth rate, feed use efficiency, meat yield, milk yield, egg yield and wool yield that requires performing a series of mathematical calculations to obtain a value.
Claim 13 recites: "wherein the statistical model is a linear regression model, a logistic regression model, a ridge regression model, a lasso regression model, an elastic net regression model, a decision tree model, a gradient boosted tree model, a neural network model, or a support vector machine (SVM) model." Statistical model is a mathematical concept and/or formula.
Claim 14 recites: "wherein the statistical model comprises a feature based on evolutionary conservation of the genetic variants." Statistical model is a mathematical concept and/or formula.
Claim 27 recites: gene transcript splicing ratio and translational efficiency that requires performing a series of mathematical calculations to obtain a value.
Claim 37 recites: "b) performing a prediction of the effects of the genetic variants using a statistical model comprising one or more initial rules that associate the genetic variants with performance of the organism." Statistical model is a mathematical concept and/or formula.
Claim 1 recites predicting the effects of the genetic variants, identifying an impact of the alteration on an endophenotype, measuring the endophenotype, updating the statistical model and determining the genetic variants having a predicted negative effect on the performance of the organism; claim 10 is involved with identifying genetic variants with a linkage study; claim 36 is involved with selecting an improved performance organism; and claim 52 recites predicting the effects of the genetic variants on the performance of the organism and prioritizing the genetic variants. These claim elements are involved with acts of evaluating, analyzing, observing and judging data as indicated above. Acts of evaluating and analyzing data could be practically performed in the human mind and/or with pen and paper because they merely require making observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection III). Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the indicated claims above can be practically carried out in the human mind or with pen and paper as claimed, which falls under the "Mental processes" grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites using and updating a statistical model, claim 13 recites statistical model is a linear regression model, a logistic regression model, a ridge regression model, a lasso regression model, an elastic net regression model, a decision tree model, a gradient boosted tree model, a neural network model, or a support vector machine (SVM) model; claim 14 recites a statistical model and claim 37 recites using a statistical model. The recited statistical model is a mathematical concept and/or formula and using the statistical model requires performing a series of mathematical calculations. Claim 6 recites yield, photosynthetic efficiency, nutrient use efficiency, growth rate, feed use efficiency, meat yield, milk yield, egg yield and wool yield and claim 27 recites gene transcript splicing ratio and translational efficiency that requires performing a series of mathematical calculations to obtain a value. These claim elements are mathematical concepts and/or formulas that falls under the “mathematical concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. As such, claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12-15, 24-25, 36-37 and 52 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 1: YES).
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2). The above indicated judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite an additional elements that apply, rely on or use the judicial exception in such a manner to amount to integration into a practical application. For example, there are no limitations that reflect an improvement to technology or applies or uses the recited judicial exception in some other meaningful way. Rather, the instant claims recite additional elements that equate to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or insignificant extra solution activity. Specifically, the instant claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 1 recites "a) providing a plurality of genetic variants in the genome of the organism;…; c) altering one or more of the genetic variants in the genome of the organism;…; and (d) …wherein the endophenotype is a quantifiable phenotype at the sub-organismal level that can be measured by a biochemical, gene expression, or protein level assay, or visually via microscopy; ( h) modifying in the genome one or more of the genetic variants having a predicted negative effect on the performance of the organism, thereby improving performance of an organism…"
Claim 37 recites “A computer-implemented method… a) receiving a dataset comprising a plurality of genetic variants of the organism.”
Claim 52 recites: "a) providing a plurality of genetic variants in the genome of an organism"
The elements of claims 1, 37 and 52 as indicated above equate to insignificant extra solutional activities of data gathering and outputting. Data gathering serves as input to the recited judicial exception in the claims. Claim 37 recites a computer-implemented method. The computer equates to a generic computer component that is used to receive data. Limitations that equate to mere data gathering and outputting via generic computer components, such as receiving data at a computer or outputting data via a graphic display device, amount to insignificant extra-solution activity as set forth by the courts in Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968 and OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015). The use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). As such, as currently recited, the claims do not appear to recite an improvement to technology or apply or use the recited judicial exception in some other meaningful way. Therefore, claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12-15, 24-25, 36-37 and 52 are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 2: NO).
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B). The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite additional elements that equate to well-understood, routine and conventional activities, insignificant extra-solution activity or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. The instant claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 1 recites "a) providing a plurality of genetic variants in the genome of the organism;…; c) altering one or more of the genetic variants in the genome of the organism;…" and "( h) modifying in the genome one or more of the genetic variants having a predicted negative effect on the performance of the organism, thereby improving performance of an organism…; wherein the endophenotype is a quantifiable phenotype at the sub-organismal level that can be measured by a biochemical, gene expression, or protein level assay, or visually via microscopy"
Claim 37 recites “A computer-implemented method… a) receiving a dataset comprising a plurality of genetic variants of the organism.”
Claim 52 recites: "a) providing a plurality of genetic variants in the genome of an organism"
The additional elements indicated above do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. The additional element of providing or receiving genetic variant data and measuring endophenotype by a biochemical, gene expression, or protein level assay, or visually via microscopy is recognized by the courts as well-known and conventional in the life sciences. As stated in MPEP 2106.05(d), the courts have recognized that the laboratory technique of analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546 (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(v)); determining the level of a biomarker in blood by any means, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; Cleveland Clinic Foundation v. True Health Diagnostics, LLC, 859 F.3d 1352, 1362, 123 USPQ2d 1081, 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)) and detecting DNA or enzymes in a sample, Sequenom, 788 F.3d at 1377-78, 115 USPQ2d at 1157); Cleveland Clinic Foundation 859 F.3d at 1362, 123 USPQ2d at 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii)) as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. Genomic editing is also known in the art as disclosed in the instant specification, paragraphs, [0005], [0015] and [0066]. The Supreme Court explained that the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept, particularly when the activity is well-understood or conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Also, limitations that equate to mere data gathering and outputting via generic computer components, such as receiving data at a computer or outputting data, amount to insignificant extra-solution activity as set forth by the courts in Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968 and OIP Techs., Inc, v, Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015). With claim 37, the use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more as identified by the courts in Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: No). As such, claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12-15, 24-25, 36-37 and 52 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12, 14-15, 24-25, 36-37 and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Butruille (U.S. Patent No 2018/285520 A1, published Oct. 04, 2018; 08/22/2022 IDS Document).
Regarding independent claim 1, Butruille teaches the limitation of a) providing a plurality of genetic variants in the genome of the organism with “Further, the genome editing engine 106 may be configured to identify a population of candidate edits for the genome sequence based on one or more of, for example, genome annotation, genome-wide association study (GWAS) analysis, quantitative trait loci (QTL), gene expression data, biochemical pathway models, etc., each retrieved from the data structure 108 (and, potentially, input from one or more breeder persons). The potential edits may be selected by the ordinarily skilled artisan or by an algorithm which has identified potentially useful genetic mutations to achieve the desired phenotype. As used herein, candidate edits may include a single change in the genome or a number of simultaneous changes to a gene, set of genes, or genome. Several approaches singly or in combination will be used to select a population of candidate edits. One may use prior or newly acquired knowledge of genes and pathways known to affect the one or more traits of interest. This knowledge may have been generated through classical mutation screens, complementation tests, and/or comparisons of genomic sequences across a large number of genetically distinct individuals with varied phenotypes for the trait (as in GWAS and other types of QTL studies). Expression studies can aid by providing information about differences in transcript and protein levels among individuals with different phenotypes.” ([0031]).
Butruille teaches the limitation of b) predicting the effects of the genetic variants on the performance of the organism using a statistical model with “Uniquely, the systems and methods herein provide for the selection of multiple candidate edits and prediction of the aggregate effect of the multiple edits, whereby separate and/or individual testing of single edits, may be omitted and/or avoided. In particular, a population of candidate edits for a genome sequence related to one or more traits of interest is identified, from which multiple candidate edits (e.g., edits at multiple genome locations, etc.) are selected, by a genome editing engine, based on a ranking of the candidate edits. An aggregate effect of the multiple selected candidate edits is then predicted, again, by the genome editing engine, for a trait of interest when expressed by an organism having a genomic sequence edited according to the selected candidate edits (as compared to an organism having the same genomic sequence, but unedited).” ([0012]), “The genome editing engine 106 may do so through application of proven models for new genomes (e.g., a particular new inbred line, etc.) and/or inferences through different models (which may be proven out by experiments) and/or learning models, etc.” ([0030]) and “Using a statistical model, which is built based on the training data, the hybrid grain yield impact or effect of each of the 481 premature stop codons may be determined (e.g., at step 304, etc.).” ([0038]).
Butruille teaches the limitation of c) altering one or more of the genetic variants in the genome of the organism with “In particular, a population of candidate edits for a genome sequence related to one or more traits of interest is identified, from which multiple candidate edits (e.g., edits at multiple genome locations, etc.) are selected, by a genome editing engine, based on a ranking of the candidate edits. An aggregate effect of the multiple selected candidate edits is then predicted, again, by the genome editing engine, for a trait of interest when expressed by an organism having a genomic sequence edited according to the selected candidate edits (as compared to an organism having the same genomic sequence, but unedited). Once the aggregate effect is predicted, the selected genome edits may be subject to validation, for example, via a genome editing scheme, whereby the genome of an organism is modified to include the multiple selected candidate edits and tested for purposes of verification of the aggregate effect on the one or more traits of interest (and not the impact of the edits individually).” ([0012])
Butruille teaches the limitation of d) identifying an impact of the alteration on an endophenotype, wherein the endophenotype is a quantifiable phenotype at the sub-organismal level that can be measured by a biochemical, gene expression, or protein level assay, or visually via microscopy with “At some later time, the aggregate effect of the selected candidate edits is measured in the organism, at 318. Thereafter, based on the measurements, an agronomic, economic, and/or scientific effect of the modified target organism is confirmed, at 320. To do so, for example, a difference between a mean performance for the trait of interest of edited and non-edited plants will provide an estimate of the realized aggregate effect.” ([0061]).
Butruille teaches the limitation of e) updating the statistical model using the identified endophenotypic impact with “In one exemplary embodiment, the aggregate effect may be predicted, by the genome editing engine 106, by adding the predicted QTL effects of all QTL regions, in which one of the candidate edit was found. This aggregate effect assumes that, in each QTL region, the identified edit substantially explains the QTL effects. In numerous embodiments, the above aggregate effect determination may not be accurate, as a given candidate edit may only partially explain, or not at all explain, the observed and/or co-located QTL effect. In such embodiments, a correction factor may be used by the genome editing engine 106 to modify the aggregate effect prediction, thus deriving a risk adjusted aggregate effect prediction. This correction factor (e.g., scaled from 0 to 1, etc.) may then depend on the trait(s) of interest and/or the species of the target organism, as well as the experience accumulated at performing this process (e.g., observations from similar experiments to define/redefine the correction factor, etc.). For example, it may have been learned from previous experience that restoring functionality by repairing premature stop codons at all genes within a yield QTL region result in an average increase in yield that is about half or about 80% or some other suitable correction of the estimated effect between least and most favorable allele at the QTL. Thus, a correction factor of about 0.5 or about 0.8, for example, can then applied to models that predict the outcome of performing such tasks across novel yield QTLs and that use the sum of QTL effects as a predictor of the aggregate effect of the edits.” ([0047]). The recited “updating the statistical model” corresponds to applying a correction factor to models as taught by Butruille.
Butruille teaches the limitation of f) optionally repeating steps c) to e) for one or more times with Fig. 3. Fig. 3 indicates that after step 312, the method can end or optionally be repeated from step 306.
Butruille teaches the limitation of g) determining the genetic variants having a predicted negative effect on the performance of the organism using the updated statistical model with “The genome editing engine 106 is configured to then rate the candidate genome edits based on a predicted ability of the candidate genome edits to affect a trait(s) of interest (e.g., phenotype or multiple phenotypes of target organism). The genome editing engine 106 may be configured to rate the candidate edits based on a probability of causing an effect, a magnitude of a predicted effect, a non-parametric classification parameter, or combinations thereof. As an example, for a user herein, the genome editing engine 106 may provide the probability that a maize plant with a particular edit will have an increased grain yield and/or degree of increased grain yield change compared to an unedited maize plant, and then rate the edits made thereon.” ([0032]) and “It should also be appreciated that if individual edits need to be ascertained with a methodology like above (mean 0.2 Bu/A, variance 0.05 Bu2/A2), there is a greater than 18% probability that any particular edit will have a negative impact (e.g., a reduced yield rather than an enhanced yield or an increased susceptibility to disease rate rather an reduce susceptibility to disease). That is, the actual effect is in the opposite direction of the predicted effect, with an edit resulting in a decrease in grain yield. This can be contrasted to the 0.003% probability that 20 such edits combined will have a negative aggregate effect.” ([0058]).
Butruille teaches the limitation of h) modifying in the genome one or more of the genetic variants having a predicted negative effect on the performance of the organism, thereby improving performance of an organism with “Then, once the candidate genome edits are rated, the genome editing engine 106 is configured to then select multiple of the candidate edits, based on the ratings, such that the selected candidate edits provide a specific and/or desired likelihood of an aggregate effect on the trait(s) of interest (e.g., as defined by the nature of the edits, etc.) (i.e., for a specimen carrying the genome and/or a population of specimen carrying the pan-genome, etc.). The genome editing engine 106 is configured to predict an aggregate effect of the selected candidate edits when expressed in the specimen on at least one of the traits of interest (e.g., yield in maize, etc.) as compared to a specimen with an unedited genomic sequence.” ([0033]); “Thereafter, when the predicted aggregate effect is above a defined threshold, the selected candidate edits may be passed, by the genome editing engine 106 or one or more persons, to the genome editing scheme 102, whereupon specimen(s) (as defined by the genome sequence generated above) is edited consistent with the selected candidate edits. The edited specimens(s) may then be provided to the cultivation space 104, for growing and testing to confirm the predicted aggregate effect.” ([0034]); “It should be appreciated that in other embodiments, the genome editing engine 106 may be omitted from identifying the population of candidate edits, whereby one or more persons skilled in the art rely on information, such as that described above, to identify the candidate edits for modulating the genome sequence as it pertains to the trait of interest.” ([0039]) and “Finally, the systems and methods herein may provide one or more breeder useful information about which gene, set of genes, and/or sequences to manipulate to achieve a desired trait change and/or improvement, by assessing the aggregate effect of various combinations of particular modifications to a gene, set of genes, and/or sequences on a given trait.” ([0062]).
Regarding claim 5, Butruille teaches the limitation of wherein the organism is maize, wheat, barley, oat, rice, soybean, oil palm, safflower, sesame, tobacco, flax, cotton, sunflower, pearl millet, foxtail millet, sorghum, canola, cannabis, a vegetable crop, a forage crop, an industrial crop, a woody crop, cattle, sheep, goat, horse, pig, chicken, duck, goose, rabbit, or fish or a biomass crop with “The genome editing engine 106 is configured to then rate the candidate genome edits based on a predicted ability of the candidate genome edits to affect a trait(s) of interest (e.g., phenotype or multiple phenotypes of target organism). The genome editing engine 106 may be configured to rate the candidate edits based on a probability of causing an effect, a magnitude of a predicted effect, a non-parametric classification parameter, or combinations thereof. As an example, for a user herein, the genome editing engine 106 may provide the probability that a maize plant with a particular edit will have an increased grain yield and/or degree of increased grain yield change compared to an unedited maize plant, and then rate the edits made thereon.” ([0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Butruille teaches the limitation of wherein the performance of the organism is yield, overall fitness, biomass, photosynthetic efficiency, nutrient use efficiency, heat tolerance, drought tolerance, herbicide tolerance, growth rate, feed use efficiency, meat yield, meat quality, milk yield, milk quality, egg yield, egg quality, wool yield, wool quality or disease resistance with “Prior to use of the genome editing engine 106, one or more persons associated with the system 100 may define a nature of edits (e.g., define desired changes in a base pair sequence, insertions, deletions, duplication, etc.), which are a target of the use of the system 100. For example, the one or more persons may define one or more output traits (e.g., a series, etc.) for an organism, such as a maize specimen. Exemplary desired traits specific to maize may include, without limitation, but more typically, traits of economic importance (which may include, for example, generally, traits (of plant, more generally) that if modified, result in an economic benefit that is of value greater than the cost required to achieve the modification, and/or that result in a benefit linked to economics or are based on economics related to developing and/or commercializing the result, etc. Traits of economic importance includes, but are not limited to, traits conferring a preferred phenotype selected from the group consisting of herbicide tolerance, disease resistance, insect or pest resistance, altered fatty acid, protein or carbohydrate metabolism, grain yield, oil content, nutritional content, growth rate, stress tolerance, preferred maturity, organoleptic properties, altered morphological characteristics, other agronomic traits, traits for industrial uses, or traits for improved consumer appeal, etc. In connection therewith, or independent from the nature of the potential edits, the one or more persons may, and/or the genome editing engine 106 is configured to, identify a genome sequence for the genome (e.g., a genome and/or a pan genome, etc.) as a starting or reference point for the processes herein. The genome editing engine 106 may do so through application of proven models for new genomes (e.g., a particular new inbred line, etc.) and/or inferences through different models (which may be proven out by experiments) and/or learning models, etc.” ([0030]).
Regarding claim 9, Butruille teaches the limitation of wherein the performance is a quantitative trait with “…the one or more persons may define one or more output traits (e.g., a series, etc.) for an organism, such as a maize specimen. Exemplary desired traits specific to maize may include, without limitation, but more typically, traits of economic importance (which may include, for example, generally, traits (of plant, more generally) that if modified, result in an economic benefit that is of value greater than the cost required to achieve the modification, and/or that result in a benefit linked to economics or are based on economics related to developing and/or commercializing the result, etc. Traits of economic importance includes, but are not limited to, traits conferring a preferred phenotype selected from the group consisting of herbicide tolerance, disease resistance, insect or pest resistance, altered fatty acid, protein or carbohydrate metabolism, grain yield, oil content, nutritional content, growth rate, stress tolerance, preferred maturity, organoleptic properties, altered morphological characteristics, other agronomic traits, traits for industrial uses, or traits for improved consumer appeal, etc.” ([0030]) and “Further, the genome editing engine 106 may be configured to identify a population of candidate edits for the genome sequence based on one or more of, for example, genome annotation, genome-wide association study (GWAS) analysis, quantitative trait loci (QTL), gene expression data, biochemical pathway models, etc., each retrieved from the data structure 108 (and, potentially, input from one or more breeder persons). The potential edits may be selected by the ordinarily skilled artisan or by an algorithm which has identified potentially useful genetic mutations to achieve the desired phenotype. As used herein, candidate edits may include a single change in the genome or a number of simultaneous changes to a gene, set of genes, or genome. Several approaches singly or in combination will be used to select a population of candidate edits. One may use prior or newly acquired knowledge of genes and pathways known to affect the one or more traits of interest. This knowledge may have been generated through classical mutation screens, complementation tests, and/or comparisons of genomic sequences across a large number of genetically distinct individuals with varied phenotypes for the trait (as in GWAS and other types of QTL studies). Expression studies can aid by providing information about differences in transcript and protein levels among individuals with different phenotypes.” ([0031]).
Regarding claim 10, Butruille teaches the limitation of wherein the genetic variants are identified by a linkage study or an association study with “Further, the genome editing engine 106 may be configured to identify a population of candidate edits for the genome sequence based on one or more of, for example, genome annotation, genome-wide association study (GWAS) analysis, quantitative trait loci (QTL), gene expression data, biochemical pathway models, etc., each retrieved from the data structure 108 (and, potentially, input from one or more breeder persons). The potential edits may be selected by the ordinarily skilled artisan or by an algorithm which has identified potentially useful genetic mutations to achieve the desired phenotype. As used herein, candidate edits may include a single change in the genome or a number of simultaneous changes to a gene, set of genes, or genome. Several approaches singly or in combination will be used to select a population of candidate edits. One may use prior or newly acquired knowledge of genes and pathways known to affect the one or more traits of interest. This knowledge may have been generated through classical mutation screens, complementation tests, and/or comparisons of genomic sequences across a large number of genetically distinct individuals with varied phenotypes for the trait (as in GWAS and other types of QTL studies). Expression studies can aid by providing information about differences in transcript and protein levels among individuals with different phenotypes.” ([0031]).
Regarding claim 12, Butruille teaches the limitation of wherein the association study is a genome-wide association study (GWAS) or a transcriptome-wide association study (TWAS) with “Further, the genome editing engine 106 may be configured to identify a population of candidate edits for the genome sequence based on one or more of, for example, genome annotation, genome-wide association study (GWAS) analysis, quantitative trait loci (QTL), gene expression data, biochemical pathway models, etc., each retrieved from the data structure 108 (and, potentially, input from one or more breeder persons). The potential edits may be selected by the ordinarily skilled artisan or by an algorithm which has identified potentially useful genetic mutations to achieve the desired phenotype. As used herein, candidate edits may include a single change in the genome or a number of simultaneous changes to a gene, set of genes, or genome. Several approaches singly or in combination will be used to select a population of candidate edits. One may use prior or newly acquired knowledge of genes and pathways known to affect the one or more traits of interest. This knowledge may have been generated through classical mutation screens, complementation tests, and/or comparisons of genomic sequences across a large number of genetically distinct individuals with varied phenotypes for the trait (as in GWAS and other types of QTL studies). Expression studies can aid by providing information about differences in transcript and protein levels among individuals with different phenotypes.” ([0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Butruille teaches the limitation of wherein the statistical model comprises a feature based on evolutionary conservation of the genetic variants with “Similarly, ranking candidate edits may be based on the evolutionary conservation of the gene to which the edits belongs, and prioritize editing genes which are modified and/or disrupted in a particular genome, but which have accumulated minimal, or little, genome sequence change within the species of interest or among other more distantly related species.” ([0048]).
Regarding claim 15, Butruille teaches the limitation of wherein the evolutionary conservation is determined by sequence alignment in a genic or an intergenic region with “It should be appreciated that while an additive model is used herein, other models and/or non-additive models could also be built to account for possible dominance or epistatic interactions, and other models and/or non-parametric models could be used when selecting candidate edits with effects of unpredictable magnitude in other embodiments. An epistatic model may be applied when editing multiple genes in a biochemical pathway. If two genes in a pathway are non-functional, editing only one of those will not restore that pathway, but editing both will. Conversely, if an undesired phenotype is reached through multiple pathways, disrupting only one of these pathways may not change the phenotype, while disrupting all will. A non-parametric model could use heuristics to rank candidate edits, for example prioritize editing genes that are not member of multi-gene families or genes that are expressed in certain tissue types. Similarly, ranking candidate edits may be based on the evolutionary conservation of the gene to which the edits belongs, and prioritize editing genes which are modified and/or disrupted in a particular genome, but which have accumulated minimal, or little, genome sequence change within the species of interest or among other more distantly related species.” ([0048]) and “With that said, the method 300 initially includes identifying a genome sequence of the maize plant, at 302, to which the candidate edits may or may not be made. Genome sequence identification may include, for example, de novo generation or imputation from related and/or ancestral organisms. De novo genome sequencing may be accomplished by technologies and algorithms known to those skilled in the art. Sequence information can be identified and/or generated by those skilled in the art through performing conventional methods, by third parties, or be identified from one or more resources available in the public domain.” ([0036]).
Regarding claim 24, Butruille teaches the limitation of wherein the alteration is achieved by genome editing with “The present disclosure generally relates to systems and methods for use in statistical genome editing, and in particular, to systems and methods for use in identifying potential genome edits, rating the potential edits based on one or more parameters, and predicting an aggregate effect of multiple rated genome edits on one or more given traits.” ([0002]).
Regarding claim 25, Butruille teaches the limitation of wherein the genome editing is achieved by a clustered regularly interspersed short palindromic repeats (CRISPR) system, a transcription activator-like effector nuclease (TALEN) system, or a zinc finger nuclease (ZFN) system with “In the genome editing scheme 102, the genome edits are generally made, for example, in gamete cells (however, this is not required in all embodiments). In certain embodiments, for example, the genome edits are made in a zygote, and are effectuated in target cells in a multicellular potential parent organism—for example a sexually mature parent organism—using a vector such as, for example, a viral vector with specific tropism for particular tissues (e.g., gametogenic tissues, etc.). The molecular biologist of ordinary skill is familiar with such techniques, and knows when to use one in preference to another to effectuate a given manipulation in the target organism's genome. Additionally, these manipulations may be achieved with one or more of: CRISPR technology, and particularly with CRISPR/Cas technology and more particularly CRISPR/Cas9 technology; ZFNs; TALENs; homologous recombination; etc. With that said, the above is provided without limitation. The appropriate technique will be identified and executed by the ordinarily skilled artisan in accordance with the type and/or degree of manipulation of the organism selected and/or required.” ([0015]).
Regarding claim 27, Butruille teaches the limitation of wherein the endophenotype is messenger RNA (mRNA) abundance, gene transcript splicing ratio, protein abundance, micro RNA (miRNA) abundance, small RNA (siRNA) abundance, translational efficiency, ribosomal occupancy, protein modification, metabolite abundance, or allele specific expression (ASE) with “Further, the genome editing engine 106 may be configured to identify a population of candidate edits for the genome sequence based on one or more of, for example, genome annotation, genome-wide association study (GWAS) analysis, quantitative trait loci (QTL), gene expression data, biochemical pathway models, etc., each retrieved from the data structure 108 (and, potentially, input from one or more breeder persons).” ([0031]); “Expression studies can aid by providing information about differences in transcript and protein levels among individuals with different phenotypes.” ([0031]) and “Expression studies which analyze and quantify the presence of such transcripts in hybrid maize varieties could focus the population of edits. For example, two separate maize varieties with enhanced grain yield and differential expression of distinct genes or alleles may provide insight, guidance, and/or instruction into which candidate edits should be identified for the enhanced grain yield for the inbred maize.” ([0037]).
Regarding claim 36, Butruille teaches the limitation of An organism with improved performance produced or selected by the method of claim 1 with "The exemplary method further includes selecting one or more of the candidate edits based on the ranking and predicting, by the computing device, an aggregate effect of the selected one or more of the candidate edits for the trait of interest when expressed by a specimen of the organism having a genomic sequence and edited according to the selected one or more of the candidate edits, as compared to an unedited specimen of the organism.” (abstract); “FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary system 100 in which the one or more aspects of the present disclosure may be implemented. Although the system 100 is presented in one arrangement, other embodiments may include the parts of the system 100 (or additional parts) arranged or otherwise depending on, for example, the manner in which the multiple genome edits are identified, selected, and/or edited into a genome sequence of an organism, etc.” ([0013]); “In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 1, the system 100 generally includes a genome editing scheme 102 and a cultivation space 104, in which one or more plants, animals, bacteria, fungi, viruses, or other organisms, produced from the genome editing scheme 102, are bred, grown, matured, and/or cultured, etc. The genome editing scheme 102 is provided as an environment in which potential genome edits (as determined herein) are executed in connection with target organisms.” ([0014])
Regarding independent claim 37, Butruille teaches the limitation of A computer-implemented method for assessing genetic variants for use in genetic improvement of an organism with “FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary computing device 200 that can be used in the system 100. The computing device 200 may include, for example, one or more servers, workstations, personal computers, laptops, tablets, smartphones, etc. In addition, the computing device 200 may include a single computing device, or it may include multiple computing devices located in close proximity or distributed over a geographic region, so long as the computing devices are specifically configured to operate as described herein. In the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 1, each of the genome editing scheme 102 and the cultivation space 104 may include one or more computing devices consistent with computing device 200. Also, in the exemplary embodiment, the system 100 includes a genome editing engine 106 (described in more detail below) and a data structure 108, each of which may be understood to be consistent with the computing device 200 and/or implemented in a computing device consistent with computing device 200 (or a part thereof, such as, for example, memory 204, etc.). However, the system 100 should not be considered to be limited to the computing device 200, as described below, as different computing devices and/or arrangements of computing devices may be used. In addition, different components and/or arrangements of components may be used in other computing devices.” [0019]
Butruille teaches the limitation of a) receiving a dataset comprising a plurality of genetic variants of the organism with “In addition, the computing device 200 includes an input device 208 that receives inputs from the user (i.e., user inputs) such as, for example, selections of gene sequences and/or one or multiple candidate edits of genomes, passing of selected candidate edits for validation, measuring of sample organisms during validation, etc.” ([0023]).
Butruille teaches the limitation of b) performing a prediction of the effects of the genetic variants using a statistical model comprising one or more initial rules that associate the genetic variants with performance of the organism with “Exemplary systems and methods for selecting from population of candidate edits and predicting an aggregate effect of the candidate edits are disclosed. One exemplary method includes identifying a population of candidate edits to a genomic sequence of said organism and ranking each of the candidate edits based on a predicted ability of each candidate edit to affect a trait of interest in said organism. The exemplary method further includes selecting one or more of the candidate edits based on the ranking and predicting, by the computing device, an aggregate effect of the selected one or more of the candidate edits for the trait of interest when expressed by a specimen of the organism having a genomic sequence and edited according to the selected one or more of the candidate edits, as compared to an unedited specimen of the organism.” (abstract) and “Using a statistical model, which is built based on the training data, the hybrid grain yield impact or effect of each of the 481 premature stop codons may be determined” ([0039]).
Regarding independent claim 52, Butruille teaches the limitation of a) providing a plurality of genetic variants in the genome of an organism with “Further, the genome editing engine 106 may be configured to identify a population of candidate edits for the genome sequence based on one or more of, for example, genome annotation, genome-wide association study (GWAS) analysis, quantitative trait loci (QTL), gene expression data, biochemical pathway models, etc., each retrieved from the data structure 108 (and, potentially, input from one or more breeder persons). The potential edits may be selected by the ordinarily skilled artisan or by an algorithm which has identified potentially useful genetic mutations to achieve the desired phenotype. As used herein, candidate edits may include a single change in the genome or a number of simultaneous changes to a gene, set of genes, or genome. Several approaches singly or in combination will be used to select a population of candidate edits. One may use prior or newly acquired knowledge of genes and pathways known to affect the one or more traits of interest. This knowledge may have been generated through classical mutation screens, complementation tests, and/or comparisons of genomic sequences across a large number of genetically distinct individuals with varied phenotypes for the trait (as in GWAS and other types of QTL studies). Expression studies can aid by providing information about differences in transcript and protein levels among individuals with different phenotypes.” ([0031]).
Butruille teaches the limitation of b) predicting the effects of the genetic variants on the performance of the organism using an endophenotype with “Uniquely, the systems and methods herein provide for the selection of multiple candidate edits and prediction of the aggregate effect of the multiple edits, whereby separate and/or individual testing of single edits, may be omitted and/or avoided. In particular, a population of candidate edits for a genome sequence related to one or more traits of interest is identified, from which multiple candidate edits (e.g., edits at multiple genome locations, etc.) are selected, by a genome editing engine, based on a ranking of the candidate edits. An aggregate effect of the multiple selected candidate edits is then predicted, again, by the genome editing engine, for a trait of interest when expressed by an organism having a genomic sequence edited according to the selected candidate edits (as compared to an organism having the same genomic sequence, but unedited).” ([0012]), “The genome editing engine 106 may do so through application of proven models for new genomes (e.g., a particular new inbred line, etc.) and/or inferences through different models (which may be proven out by experiments) and/or learning models, etc.” ([0030]) and “Using a statistical model, which is built based on the training data, the hybrid grain yield impact or effect of each of the 481 premature stop codons may be determined (e.g., at step 304, etc.).” ([0038]).
Butruille teaches the limitation of c) prioritizing the genetic variants based on the magnitudes of the predicted effects on the performance of the organism with “Exemplary systems and methods for selecting from population of candidate edits and predicting an aggregate effect of the candidate edits are disclosed. One exemplary method includes identifying a population of candidate edits to a genomic sequence of said organism and ranking each of the candidate edits based on a predicted ability of each candidate edit to affect a trait of interest in said organism. The exemplary method further includes selecting one or more of the candidate edits based on the ranking and predicting, by the computing device, an aggregate effect of the selected one or more of the candidate edits for the trait of interest when expressed by a specimen of the organism having a genomic sequence and edited according to the selected one or more of the candidate edits, as compared to an unedited specimen of the organism.” (abstract); “The genome editing engine 106 is configured to then rate the candidate genome edits based on a predicted ability of the candidate genome edits to affect a trait(s) of interest (e.g., phenotype or multiple phenotypes of target organism). The genome editing engine 106 may be configured to rate the candidate edits based on a probability of causing an effect, a magnitude of a predicted effect, a non-parametric classification parameter, or combinations thereof. As an example, for a user herein, the genome editing engine 106 may provide the probability that a maize plant with a particular edit will have an increased grain yield and/or degree of increased grain yield change compared to an unedited maize plant, and then rate the edits made thereon.” ([0032]) and “Further, in some embodiments, ranking of the candidate edits may be accomplished by order of importance of the traits potentially impacted by the candidate edits, based on a determination for all candidate edits identified for that trait of interest causing the ranking of certain candidate edits to take precedence over candidate edits for other traits of interest as long as the calculated product based on the probability and/or magnitude is above a defined threshold.” ([0042]). The recited “prioritizing” corresponds to the “ranking” as taught by Butruille.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butruille (U.S. Patent No 2018/285520 A1, published Oct. 04, 2018; 08/22/2022 IDS Document) as applied to claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12, 14-15, 24-25, 36-37 and 52 above; in view of Serber (U.S. Patent No 2017/159045 A, published Jan. 08, 2017; 08/22/2022 IDS Document).
Butruille is applied to claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12, 14-15, 24-25, 36-37 and 52 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 13, Butruille teaches using machine learning models to predict the performance of candidate edits with “The genome editing engine 106 may do so through application of proven models for new genomes (e.g., a particular new inbred line, etc.) and/or inferences through different models (which may be proven out by experiments) and/or learning models, etc.” ([0030]) and “Expertise and previous experience with the genome editing engine 106, published literature and genome annotation, QTL studies, expressions studies, association tests, and/or use of machine learning may contribute to estimating the value of the probability/magnitude for each of the candidate edit. It should be understood that if those skilled in the art are concerned with altering multiple traits of the target organism (as compared a single trait of interest, for example, as defined at the outset of method 300 (i.e., grain yield)), overall ranking of candidate edits, by the genome editing engine 106, may be included in method 300, at 306, for example, in one or more ways. For example, the genome editing engine 106 may build an index across all or some of the multiple traits, for example, by a linear combination of several traits, and then the index may then become the frame of reference for ranking and evaluating the candidate edits.” ([0041]).
Butruille does not specifically teach the limitation of wherein the statistical model is a linear regression model, a logistic regression model, a ridge regression model, a lasso regression model, an elastic net regression model, a decision tree model, a gradient boosted tree model, a neural network model, or a support vector machine (SVM) model of claim 13. However, this limitation is taught by Serber.
Serber teaches using linear regression with “FIG. 24 illustrates the linear regression coefficient values, which depict the average change (increase or decrease) in relative strain performance associated with each genetic change incorporated into the depicted strains.” ([0074]); The linear regression model described above, which utilized data from constructed strains, can be used to make performance predictions for strains that haven't yet been built.” ([0450]) and “The procedure can be summarized as follows: generate in silico all possible configurations of genetic changes → use the regression model to predict relative strain performance → order the candidate strain designs by performance. Thus, by utilizing the regression model to predict the performance of as-yet-unbuilt strains, the method allows for the production of higher performing strains, while simultaneously conducting fewer experiments.” ([0451]).
It would have been prima facia obvious to combine the teachings of Butruille and Serber to arrive at the claimed invention. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Butruille to use a linear regression model to predict the performance of genetic edits as taught by Serber for the advantage of reducing the need to perform experiments to evaluate the effects of genetic edits on the performance of an organism. Furthermore, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success, since Butruille and Serber teach methods that pertain to the analysis of genomic edits on the performance of the organism.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1686
/LARRY D RIGGS II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1686