DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-15 are pending, of which claims 3-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 2 and 9-15 are under current examination.
Amendment necessitated new claim rejection as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant claims are directed to a composition:
comprising a UV absorbing conjugate compound comprising a UV absorbing compound of any structure conjugated with a conjugate compound of any structure by any manner through X. Said genus of compounds is not adequately defined in the instant specification. The MPEP states that for a generic claim, the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species in examples that encompass the genus. (MPEP § 2163). A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Claims directed to a functionally defined genus of antibodies were not supported by a disclosure that "only describe[d] one type of structurally similar antibodies" that "are not representative of the full variety or scope of the genus."). An adequate written description of a chemical invention also requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, and not merely a wish or plan for obtaining the chemical invention claimed. See, e.g., Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 927, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1894-95 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (The patent at issue claimed a method of selectively inhibiting PGHS-2 activity by administering a non-steroidal compound that selectively inhibits activity of the PGHS-2 gene product, however, the patent did not disclose any compounds that can be used in the claimed methods. While there was a description of assays for screening compounds to identify those that inhibit the expression or activity of the PGHS-2 gene product, there was no disclosure of which peptides, polynucleotides, and small organic molecules selectively inhibit PGHS-2. The court held that "[w]ithout such disclosure, the claimed methods cannot be said to have been described."). If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. Furthermore, for a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim. In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co. the court stated:
"A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, 'requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name,' of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials." Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171, 25 USPQ2d 1601; In re Smythe, 480 F.2d 1376, 1383, 178 USPQ 279, 284985 (CCPA 1973) ("In other cases, particularly but not necessarily, chemical cases, where there is unpredictability in performance of certain species or subcombinations other than those specifically enumerated, one skilled in the art may be found not to have been placed in possession of a genus ...") Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
Additionally, in Carnegie Mellon University v. Hoffman-La Roche Inc., Nos. 07-1266, -1267 (Fed. Cir. Sept. 8, 2008), the Federal Circuit affirmed that a claim to a genus described in functional terms was not supported by the specification’s disclosure of species that were not representative of the entire genus. The Guidelines for Examination of Patent Applications under the 35 USC § 112, first paragraph, “Written Description” Requirement”, published at Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pp. 1099-1111 outline the method of analysis of claims to determine whether adequate written description is present. The first step is to determine what the claim as a whole cover, i.e., discussion of the full scope of the claim. Second, the application should be fully reviewed to understand how applicant provides support for the claimed invention including each element and/or step, i.e., compare the scope of the claim with the scope of the description. Third, determine whether the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole at the time of filing. Each of these factors has been considered, with the most relevant factors discussed below. For each claim drawn to a genus, each of these factors is to be considered to determine whether there is disclosure of a representative number of species that would lead one skilled in the art to conclude that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention. Where skill and knowledge in the art is high, adequate written description would require fewer species to be disclosed than in an art where little is known; further, more species would need to be disclosed to provide adequate written description for a highly variable genus.
With respect to the scope of the claims, the full scope includes a composition:
comprising a UV absorbing conjugate compound comprising a UV absorbing compound of any structure conjugated with a conjugate compound of any structure by any manner through X. For example, the instant claims do not include structures of UV absorbing compound conjugated with a conjugate compound that satisfies the functional definition of the genus. "The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention."). Problems satisfying the written description requirement for original claims often occur when claim language is generic or functional, or both. Ariad, 593 F.3d at 1349, 94 USPQ2d at 1171 ("The problem is especially acute with genus claims that use functional language to define the boundaries of a claimed genus. In such a case, the functional claim may simply claim a desired result, and may do so without describing species that achieve that result. But the specification must demonstrate that the applicant has made a generic invention that achieves the claimed result and do so by showing that the applicant has invented species sufficient to support a claim to the functionally-defined genus."
Comparison of the scope of the claims and the scope of the specification reveals that the scope of the claims is broader than that supported by the specification. There is a guidance in the specification regarding a partial structure of U part, such as:
However, none of the above structures or any other broad structures provided in the instant application are capable of fulfilling the instant function:
UV absorbing compound conjugated with a conjugate compound by any manner. In comparison, the instant claims encompass millions of compounds. There are no drawings, structural or empirical formulas that sufficiently define the genus of compounds that fulfill the instant function, to allow one to determine the scope of possible compounds.
Functional language at the point of novelty, as herein employed by applicants, is admonished in University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co. 43 USPQ2d 1398 (CAFC, 1997) at 1406: stating this usage does “little more than outline goal appellants hope the recited invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate”. The CAFC further clearly states that “[A] written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name, of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials” at 1405 (emphasis added), and that “It does not define any structural features commonly possessed by members of the genus that distinguish from others. One skilled in the art therefore cannot, as one can do with a fully described genus, visualize or recognize the identity of the members of the genus. A definition by function, as we have previously indicated, does not suffice to define the genus…” at 1406 (emphases added).
Having analyzed the claims with regard to the written description guidelines, the specification does not disclose a representative number of compounds or relate the functional language of “UV absorbing compound conjugated with a conjugate compound by any manner” to a structure sufficient to describe said compounds. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be led to conclude that applicants were not in possession of the invention commensurate with the scope of the claims, at the time the application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The subject matter of instant claim 15, filed on 06/10/2026 is not properly described in the application as filed. In particular, there was no indication in original specification as filed:
Wherein benzotriazole is bonded to a polymer as an acrylamide derivative of a benzotriazole compound and therefore raise doubt as to possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 2 and 9-15 are indefinite as Claim 1 recites
However, structure of U and C is not clear from functional definition as UV absorbing compound, and conjugate compound respectively. Since the dependent claims doesn’t cure the above deficiency, these claims are also indefinite.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9-15 and partial structure as elected species are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Besecke (US 4652656).
Besecke disclose a composition comprising UV absorbing compound conjugated with a polymer:
and polymer thereof with examples, wherein benzotriazole containing compound is conjugated through amide bond linker to a polymer comprising a methacrylamide residue with MW above 800Da (same partial compound as the elected species) with UV absorbance of 400nm (which reads on the instant claim 9 about 200-380nm (380+38 =418nm (10% of 380 according to the definition of “about” provided in the instant application) (entire patent).
With regard to the limitation in instant claims, “topical composition, daily use sunscreen, a water resistant---moisturizer, foundation---shampoo etc.". Since the cited prior art teaches same composition comprising same compound as in instant claims, the composition of the prior art must be capable of being useful as “topical composition, daily use sunscreen, a water resistant---etc.". Further, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation”); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81 (preamble is not a limitation where claim is directed to a product and the preamble merely recites a property inherent in an old product defined by the remainder of the claim); STX LLC. v. Brine, 211 F.3d 588, 591, 54 USPQ2d 1347, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2000). Thus, the cited prior art reads on all limitations of the instant claims.
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 1, 2 and 9-15, these claims are anticipated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendment, filed on 06/10/2026, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicant argued how the elected species is not a new matter by detailing what applicant means by U and C etc.:
This is not found persuasive and as stated earlier the elected species is a new matter. This is because just defining U and C by functional definitions, which according to applicant’s remarks can be any compound of any structure does not satisfy that applicant has any support for the specific species as recited above and argued by the applicant. Applicant only argued but provided no support where Examiner can find specific species as argued by the applicant.
Applicant argued over rejection under 112a, 112b and 112d, which are moot in view of new rejection as set forth above.
Applicant argued over rejection under 102 that amended claim is not taught by the cited prior art and
This is not found persuasive and the instant claims stand rejected. This is because the cited prior art teaches same composition as in the instant claims. If the composition of the instant claims is not absorbed or transmitted across a body surface, so is the composition of the cited prior art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623