DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Examiner have withdrawn 102 and 103 rejections on record.
Examiner is making new 102 and 103 rejection. Therefore, election of species requirement is maintained.
Since examiner did not reject claims 9 and 17 in the previous offices actions this office action is made non-final.
Examiner found prior art on applicant elected species. Therefore, the Markush search will not be extended unnecessarily to additional species in this Office Action.
Applicants’ elected species reads on claims 3-4, 7, 9, 12-17, 20-22.
Claims 10-11 and 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed 06/16/2025.
Claims 3-4, 7, 9, 12-17, 20-22 are examined in this office action.
Current Status of 17/636,476
This office action is in response to the amended claims on 10/23/2025.
Claims 3-4, 9, 12 and 17 currently amended; claims and 7, 13-16 and 20-22 are previously presented; and claims 10-11 and 18-19 are withdrawn.
Claims 3-4, 7, 9, 12-17, 20-22 are examined in this office action.
Priority
The effective filing date is 08/19/2020 since the instant claims find support in PCT/CN2020/110061.
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges the receipt of applicant’s claim amendment and remarks of 10/23/2025. Examiner have reviewed these remarks and amendments.
Regarding 102 rejections applicant
Amended independent claim 3 and by incorporating “Bcr-Abl tyrosine kinase or BTK” and the limitation of claims 8 and 9 into instant claim 3.
Amended independent claim 4 by incorporating Bcr-Abl tyrosine kinase or BTK the claim
This renders moot 102 rejections on file, therefore 102 rejection is withdrawn
Regarding 103 rejections applicant
Amended independent claim 3 and by incorporating “Bcr-Abl tyrosine kinase or BTK” and the limitation of claims 8 and 9 into instant claim 3.
Amended independent claim 4 by incorporating Bcr-Abl tyrosine kinase or BTK the claim.
Applicant further argues
Cameron investigates the metabolism of dasatinib and compound 5826 by CYP3A4, a cytochrome P450 enzyme, not a kinase, and certainly not either tyrosine kinase of the instant claims. Contrary to the Examiner's assertion on page 4 of the Office Action, Cameron does not suggest that "a fluorinated analog of dasatinib may have a stronger biological activity in inhibiting BCR-ABL tyrosine kinase in vitro." Instead, Cameron investigates the metabolism of dasatinib and a series of dasatinib analogs (including compound 5826) by CYP3A4, which is not a kinase, let alone a tyrosine kinase of the instant claims
Examiner’s response,
Examiner agrees Cameron does not teach compound of formula I as BCR-ABL tyrosine kinase inhibitor. Cameron teaches metabolism of compound of formula I by CYP3A4 enzyme.
This render’s moot the 103 rejection on file, thus 103 rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 (new)
Claim(s) 3-4, 9, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furga et.al. (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2007 Aug 14;104(33):13283-8)
Furga et. al discloses dasatinib
, examiner is interpreting dasatinib as prodrug or active metabolites of compound of formula I,
a highly potent inhibitor of ACR-ABL for targeting BTK tyrosine kinase(claims 9 and 17) for treating myelogenous leukemia (page 13284, abstract) anticipating claims 3-4, 9 and 17. Dasatanib (prodrug or active metabolites) of compound of formula I, inhibit BTK in vitro and in vivo (page 13284), thus anticipating claim 13.
Applicant can overcome this 102 rejection by striking “prodrug” and “active metabolites” from the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103(new)
Claim(s) 3-4, 7, 9, 12-17, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Furga et.al. (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2007 Aug 14;104(33):13283-8
In view of
Brahmachari et. al. (Journal of Parkinson’s Disease 7 (2017) 589-601)
In further in view of
Rousselot et. al. (Leukemia Research 35 (2011) 777-782)
Furga teaches claims 3-4, 9, 13 and 17, see, above.
Brahmachari et. al, discloses Parkinson’s disease (applicant’s elected species of disease) can be treated with therapeutics by targeting tyrosine kinase (page 589 abstract) partially teaching claim 3-4, 8, 12, 20, and 22.
Rousselot et. al teaches use of Daunorubicin (applicant elected species of therapeutics) in combination imatinib (tyrosine kinase inhibitor) increase survival of patient with chronic myelogenous leukemia (CML) (page 781). Rousselot further teaches dasanitib (prodrug or active metabolites) of compound of formula I can be used with daunorubicin for treatment of CML(page 781) thus partially teaching claims 7,14-16 and 21.
Furga et. al does not teach treatment of Parkinson’s disease with dasatinib, prodrug or active metabolites of compound of formula 1 in combination with daunorubicin.
Brahmachari et. al does not teach treatment of Parkinson’s disease with dasatinib, prodrug or active metabolites of compound of formula 1 in combination with daunorubicin.
Rousselot et. al does not teach treatment of Parkinson’s disease with dasatinib, prodrug or active metabolites of compound of formula 1 in combination with daunorubicin.
The level of ordinary skill is an artisan who have sufficient background in disease associated with tyrosine kinase and looking into developing therapeutics for disease associated with tyrosine kinase.
A person skilled in the art would be motivated to use dasatinib, prodrug or active metabolites of the compound of formula I (Furga et.al. page 13284, abstract) (a known tyrosine kinase inhibitor) to treat Parkinson’s Disease, since Parkinson’s disease can be treated by inhibiting tyrosine kinase (Brahmachari et. al page 589 abstract). It is expected dasatinib, prodrug or active metabolites of the compound of formula I (Furga et.al. page 13284, abstract) can be used to treat Parkinson’s disease from the combined teaching Furga et. al. and Brahmachari et. al, thus teaching all the element of claims 3-4, 12-13, 20 and 22.
Similarly, person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine daunorubicin with compound of dasatinib(prodrug or active metabolites of compound of formula I) since daunorubicin is known in the art to be combined with tyrosine inhibitor for treatment of disease associated with tyrosine kinase (Rousselot et. al page 781). It would be expected daunorubicin in combination dasatinib (prodrug or of compound of formula I) would treat Parkinson’s disease more effectively than compound of dasatinib , because both dasatinib and daunorubicin are used to treat Parkinson’s disease on their own, thus teaching all the elements of claims 3-4, 7-8, 12-17, and 20-22.
Therefore, it is prima facie obvious to combine the teaching of Furga et. al. with the teaching of Brahmachari et. al and the teaching Rousselot et. al to develop a treatment for Parkinson’s disease associated with tyrosine kinase inhibition.
Applicant can overcome this 103 rejection by striking “prodrug” and “active metabolites” from the claims.
Conclusion
Claims 3-4, 7, 12-17, and 20-22 are rejected.
Applicant can overcome 102 and 103 rejections by striking “prodrug” and “active metabolites” from the claims.
Examiner did not find prior art on method of treating diseases associated with Bcr-Abl tyrosine kinase or BTK tyrosine kinase with compound of formula I. Cameron et. al. (Drug Metabolism and Disposition Volume 37, Issue 6, June 2009, Pages 1242-1250) discloses compound 5826 same as formula I (see p. 1242, abstract, p. 1244, table 2, & p. 1250, the left column, paragraph 2) and the metabolism of compound of formula I by CYP3A4 enzyme. Cameron does not teach compound of formula 1 to inhibit Bcr-Abl tyrosine kinase or BTK tyrosine kinase. A person skilled in the could not envision using compound of formula I for inhibiting Bcr-Abl tyrosine kinase or BTK tyrosine kinase, therefore Cameron is a close art not a prior art.
/R.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1625
/JOHN S KENYON/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625