DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-16, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 3,5,7-9, and 14-15 are objected as being in improper from of a multiple dependent claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
For the sake of examination the followings have been considered:
claim 3 depends on claim 1, claim 5 depends on claim 2, claim 7 depends on claim 6, claim 8 depends on claim 1, claim 9 depends on claim 1, claim 14 depends on claim 13 and claim 15 depends on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-4, 8-11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pack et al. ( WO-2012/021192) in view of Guo (USP 2017/0023665). As Per Claim 1, Pack et al. ( Pack) teaches, a multi-sensor mapping system for generating mapping data ( [0029], [0024], the multi-sensor mapping system comprising: a device having a housing that is platform independent and adapted for coupling for different modes of operation; ([0024], the payload); a range sensor that is mounted to the housing and configured to sense a distance between the range sensor and a target point and generate range data; (via the laser range finder, LIDAR, [0045]); a location sensor that is mounted to the housing and configured to sense a location of the range sensor and generate location data; ( via the GPS , [0046]); an orientation sensor that is mounted to the housing and configured to sense an orientation of the range sensor in relation to a gravitational frame of reference and generate orientation data; ( via the IMU , [0046]); and a system management unit that is operatively coupled to the sensors and configured to control the operation of the sensors in a ground mobile mode . [0036], Fig.5).
However, Pack does not explicitly teach, housing being adapted for coupling to different platforms. And configured to control the operation of the sensors in a stationary mode, and in an airborne mode.
In a related field of art, GUO teaches, integrative multi-sensor lidar scanning system, comprising a GPS , a LIDAR sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) wherein, housing being adapted for coupling to different platforms. And configured to control the operation of the sensors in a stationary mode , in an airborne mode (via a control and a storage system are mounted on a mounting rack (Abstract). Wherein the rack may be mounted on a variety of platform such as aerial platforms, ground mobile platform such as an automobiles , ship or knapsack ([0008]), also see [0006-0007], [0012], [0014], Fig.1).
Pack has also teaching of securing the housing to a robot.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Pack and Guo before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Pack, to include the Integrative multi-sensor teachings ( LIDAR scanning system) of Guo and configure with the system of Pack, in order to secure the housing to any platform and control the operation of the sensors in a stationary mode, a ground mobile mode or an airborne mode. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, versatility of usage of housing, housing being adaptable to be mounted to any platform and facilitating multiple mode of operation (i.e., an added versatility for securing the housing to any platform).
As per Claim 2, Pack as modified by Guo teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Pack in view of Guo teaches, wherein the system further comprises a data processing unit that is communicatively coupled to the device for receiving the range data, location data and orientation data and generating the mapping data by combining the received range data, location data and orientation data into three-dimensional geo-referenced point cloud data ( Guo : the processing unit receives the range data, the location data and the orientation data and generates mapping into a 3D model ( Pack : [0036] Also see Guo [0012]).
As per Claim 3, Pack as modified by Guo teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Pack in view of Guo does not explicitly teach, wherein the range sensor is rotatably mounted to the housing for rotation with three degrees of freedom comprising: an internal rotation angle around a spinning axis of the range sensor; a vertical rotation angle around one of two mutually orthogonal horizontal axes; and a horizontal rotation angle around an absolute vertical axis that is orthogonal to the two mutually orthogonal horizontal axes.
However, Pack teaches, wherein the range sensor is rotatably mounted to the housing for rotation with three degrees of freedom comprising: an internal rotation angle around a spinning axis of the range sensor; a vertical rotation angle around one of two mutually orthogonal horizontal axes; and a horizontal rotation angle around an absolute vertical axis that is orthogonal to the two mutually orthogonal horizontal axes ( via a system where the whole payload is secured to the pan and tilt mechanism ( [0024], [0045]); and the lidar range sensor (LIDAR) is secured to the payload [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Pack and Guo before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Pack, to include the Integrative multi-sensor teachings ( LIDAR scanning system) of Guo and configure with the system of Pack, in order to mount only the range sensor on a pan and tilt mechanism on the payload, allowing the range sensor to rotate with the degrees of freedom, since the other sensors do not require the rotational movement afforded by the pan and tilt mechanism.
As per Claim 4, Pack as modified by Guo teaches the limitation of Claim 3. However, Pack in view of Guo does not explicitly teach, wherein the system management unit is configured to: control at least one of the vertical rotation angle and the horizontal rotation angle of the range sensor to perform at least one of expanding a field-of-view of the range sensor and increasing a density of target data points that is sensed by the range sensor (Pack : via movement of the pan and tilt mechanism being controlled by sensory/computational module , [0029]).
As per Claim 8, Pack as modified by Guo teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Pack in view of Guo teaches, wherein the system management unit and the data processing unit employ at least one common processor, ( Pack : [0036]).
As per Claim 9, Pack as modified by Guo teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Pack in view of Guo teaches, wherein the range sensor is configured to obtain the range data when the system is incrementally moved in a given direction resulting in the obtained range data covering an extended field of view ( via Pack : via the robot moves and the system collects data [0036-0039] [0040] also see Guo : collecting data from one or more external sensors [0019] and integrative multi-sensor system acquiring various remote sensing data [0021]).
As per Claim 10, Pack as modified by Guo teaches the limitation of Claim 9. However, Pack in view of Guo teaches, wherein the data processing unit is configured to use the range data obtained over the larger field of view to increase density for the generated three-dimensional ( Pack : [0005-0010]) geo-referenced point cloud data.( Guo : [0012], [0021], [0030]).
As Per Claim 11, Pack et al. (Pack) teaches, a method for generating mapping data ([0029]), [0024]) using a multi-sensor mapping system, [0024]) wherein the method comprises: configuring the multi-sensor system for operating in a ground mobile mode ( Fig. 5) where the multi-sensor mapping system comprises a range sensor configured to sense a distance between the range sensor and a target point and generate range data; (via the laser range finder, LIDAR, [0045]); a location sensor configured to sense a location of the range sensor and generate location data; ( via the GPS , [0046]); and an orientation sensor configured to sense an orientation of the range sensor in relation to a gravitational frame of reference and generate orientation data; ( via the IMU , [0046]); controlling, during operation of the range sensor, an internal rotation angle of the range sensor around a spinning axis, a vertical rotation angle ( via the tilt part of the pan and tilt mechanism) of the range sensor around one of two mutually orthogonal horizontal axes and a horizontal rotation angle of the range ( vai the pan part of the pan and tilt mechanism) sensor around a vertical axis orthogonal to the two mutually orthogonal horizontal axes; ( via LIDAR range sensor is being sued, which is known to include a rotating head to allow for scanning) ([0024], [0029], [0036]); receiving the range data from the range sensor; (via the laser range finder, LIDAR, [0045]); receiving the location data from the location sensor; ( via the GPS , [0046]); receiving the orientation data from the orientation sensor; ( via the IMU , [0046]); and generating the mapping data by combining the received range data, location data and orientation data , ( (The sensory/computational module can include an integrated suite of GPS,IMU, stereo vision, and range sensors that provide a detailed and accurate 3D picture of the environment around the remote vehicle”, [0029]).
However, Pack does not explicitly teach, configuring the multi-sensor system for operating in a stationary mode, or an airborne mode.
In a related field of art, GUO teaches, integrative multi-sensor lidar scanning system, comprising a GPS , a LIDAR sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU, wherein, the multi-sensor system for operating in a stationary mode, a ground mobile mode or an airborne mode (via “The platform is a platform selected from the group consisting of unmanned helicopters, multi-rotor unmanned aircraft systems, fixed-wing unmanned aircraft systems, automobiles, ship or knapsacks”, [0008]) also see abstract, [0006-0007], [0012], [0014], Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Pack and Guo before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Pack, to include the Integrative multi-sensor teachings ( LIDAR scanning system) of Guo and configure with the system of Pack, in order to operate the multi-sensor system for operating in different mode ( a stationary mode, an airborne mode). Motivation to combine the two teachings is, versatility of operation of the multi-sensor system in different mode (i.e., multiple usage).
As per Claim 15, Pack as modified by Guo teaches the limitation of Claim 11. However, Pack in view of Guo teaches, wherein the method further comprises obtaining the range data when the system is incrementally moved in a given direction resulting in the obtained range data covering an extended field of view ( via Pack : via the robot moves and the system collects data [0036-0039] , [0040]; also see Guo : collecting data from one or more external sensors [0019] and integrative multi-sensor system acquiring various remote sensing data[0021]).
As per Claim 16, Pack as modified by Guo teaches the limitation of Claim 15. However, Pack in view of Guo teaches, wherein the method comprises using the range data obtained over the larger field of view to increase density for the generated three-dimensional ( Pack : [0005-0010]) geo-referenced point cloud data, ( Guo : [0012], [0021], [0030]).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 5-7 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666