DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims: Claims 1, 11, and 21-34 are currently pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, and 21-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recite the limitation “wherein n is an aggregation level”. However, this limitation does not appear to have support from the originally filed specification. Fig. 13 and its associated paragraphs suggest two separate aggregations levels (time aggregation level and frequency aggregation level) even the two operations of aggregating may be used together. The claimed limitation refers to an aggregation level of the n resource regions which are indicated by the time resource allocation information and frequency resource allocation information.
Claims 21-34 are rejected based on the virtue of their dependency on the rejected base claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 21-25, 27-32, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Panteleev et al. (US 20200374860 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Panteleev et al. disclose an operation method of a first terminal in a communication system, the operation method comprising: generating sidelink control information (SCI), the SCI including time resource allocation information and frequency resource allocation information indicating n resource regions for transmission of data; transmitting the SCI to a second terminal (abstract and paragraph [0093]; a second UE transmits SCI signaling to a UE for reservation of PSSCH resource via PSCCH. The SCI indicates an index to represent time-frequency resources including number of allocated slots, number of allocated sub-channels, slot index in the window, and start sub-channel index in each slot); and transmitting the data to the second terminal on at least one physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) using the n resource regions indicated by the time resource allocation information and the frequency resource allocation information (abstract and fig. 2; UE receives PSSCH including transport block in the time and frequency resource), wherein n is an aggregation level and is a natural number equal to or greater than 1 (paragraph [0069]; one example with single sub-channel allocated may be signaled inside TTI index for a maximum of 3 TTIs (3 regions for PSSCH in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Panteleev et al. disclose an operation method of a second terminal in a communication system, the operation method comprising: receiving sidelink control information (SCI) from a first terminal, the SCI including time resource allocation information and frequency resource allocation information indicating n resource regions for reception of data (abstract and paragraph [0093]; a second UE transmits SCI signaling to a UE for reservation of PSSCH resource via PSCCH. The SCI indicates an index to represent time-frequency resources including number of allocated slots, number of allocated sub-channels, slot index in the window, and start sub-channel index in each slot); and receiving the data from the first terminal on at least one physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) using the n resource regions indicated by the time resource allocation information and the frequency resource allocation information (abstract and fig. 2; UE receives PSSCH including transport block in the time and frequency resource), wherein n is an aggregation level and is a natural number equal to or greater than 1 (paragraph [0069]; one example with single sub-channel allocated may be signaled inside TTI index for a maximum of 3 TTIs (3 regions for PSSCH in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Panteleev et al. further suggest wherein n is greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to 3 (paragraph [0069]; one example with single sub-channel allocated may be signaled inside TTI index for a maximum of 3 TTIs (3 regions for PSSCH in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, Panteleev et al. further suggest wherein the time resource allocation information includes information on a time resource of each of the n resource regions (paragraph [0057]; SCI may indicate resources for N TTIs) (or paragraph [0093]; SCI signaling for reservation of PSSCH resource in multiple TTI includes the index encoded using any combination and order of the following parameters: number of allocated slots, number of allocated sub-channels, slot index in the window).
Regarding claim 23, Panteleev et al. further suggest wherein the time resource is configured on a slot basis (paragraph [0093]; SCI signaling for reservation of PSSCH resource in multiple TTI includes the index encoded using any combination and order of the following parameters: number of allocated slots, number of allocated sub-channels, slot index in the window).
Regarding claim 24, Panteleev et al. further suggest wherein the frequency resource allocation information includes information on a frequency resource of each of the n resource regions (paragraph [0093]; SCI signaling for reservation of PSSCH resource includes the index encoded using any combination and order of the following parameters: number of allocated slots, number of allocated sub-channels, slot index in the window, start sub-channel index in each slot).
Regarding claim 25, Panteleev et al. further suggest wherein the frequency resource is configured in units of subchannels (paragraph [0078] or claim 3).
Regarding claim 27, Panteleev et al. further suggest wherein n is configured in a resource pool-specific manner (paragraph [0081]).
Regarding claim 28, Panteleev et al. further suggest wherein n is greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to 3 (paragraph [0069]; one example with single sub-channel allocated may be signaled inside TTI index for a maximum of 3 TTIs (3 regions for PSSCH in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 29, Panteleev et al. further suggest wherein the time resource allocation information includes information on a time resource of each of the n resource regions (paragraph [0057]; SCI may indicate resources for N TTIs) (or paragraph [0093]; SCI signaling for reservation of PSSCH resource in multiple TTI includes the index encoded using any combination and order of the following parameters: number of allocated slots, number of allocated sub-channels, slot index in the window).
Regarding claim 30, Panteleev et al. further suggest wherein the time resource is configured on a slot basis (paragraph [0093]; SCI signaling for reservation of PSSCH resource in multiple TTI includes the index encoded using any combination and order of the following parameters: number of allocated slots, number of allocated sub-channels, slot index in the window).
Regarding claim 31, Panteleev et al. further suggest wherein the frequency resource allocation information includes information on a frequency resource of each of the n resource regions (paragraph [0093]; SCI signaling for reservation of PSSCH resource includes the index encoded using any combination and order of the following parameters: number of allocated slots, number of allocated sub-channels, slot index in the window, start sub-channel index in each slot).
Regarding claim 32, Panteleev et al. further suggest wherein the frequency resource is configured in units of subchannels (paragraph [0078] or claim 3).
Regarding claim 34, Panteleev et al. further suggest wherein n is configured in a resource pool-specific manner (paragraph [0081]).
Claim(s) 1 and 11is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20220353846 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. disclose an operation method of a first terminal in a communication system, the operation method comprising: generating sidelink control information (SCI), the SCI including time resource allocation information and frequency resource allocation information indicating n resource regions for transmission of data; transmitting the SCI to a second terminal (paragraph [0033]; a Tx UE transmits SCI to another UE for PSSCH resource via PSCCH. The SCI indicates the location(s) of reserved time-and-frequency resources. The locations may be indicated by, for example, the start/end location of time slots and the start/end location of subchannels or RB s within the Tx UE's time-and-frequency resources); and transmitting the data to the second terminal on at least one physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) using the n resource regions indicated by the time resource allocation information and the frequency resource allocation information (paragraph [0007]; UE transmits data via PSSCH using the time and frequency resource), wherein n is an aggregation level and is a natural number equal to or greater than 1 (paragraph [0038]; UE receives time-and-frequency resources for PSSCH. Where the UE may be assigned four slots and three subchannels for transmitting control information and data (4 slots x 3 subchannels = 12 regions)).
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. disclose an operation method of a second terminal in a communication system, the operation method comprising: receiving sidelink control information (SCI) from a first terminal, the SCI including time resource allocation information and frequency resource allocation information indicating n resource regions for reception of data (paragraph [0033]; a Tx UE transmits SCI to another UE for PSSCH resource via PSCCH. The SCI indicates the location(s) of reserved time-and-frequency resources. The locations may be indicated by, for example, the start/end location of time slots and the start/end location of subchannels or RB s within the Tx UE's time-and-frequency resources); and receiving the data from the first terminal on at least one physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) using the n resource regions indicated by the time resource allocation information and the frequency resource allocation information (paragraph [0007]; UE transmits data via PSSCH using the time and frequency resource), wherein n is an aggregation level and is a natural number equal to or greater than 1 (paragraph [0038]; UE receives time-and-frequency resources for PSSCH. Where the UE may be assigned four slots and three subchannels for transmitting control information and data (4 slots x 3 subchannels = 12 regions)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panteleev et al. (US 20200374860 A1) in view of Cao et al. (US 20200275425 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Panteleev et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 1 without explicitly suggest wherein n is signaled from a base station through a higher layer signaling. However, Cao et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest wherein n is signaled from a base station through a higher layer signaling (paragraphs [0125-0126] [0138-0139]; configuration for the SL transmission parameters may include time/frequency resource information. The configuration can be performed via configuring a resource pool by the base station using RRC signaling, which may include time frequency locations) (paragraph [0276-0278]; sidelink resource allocation mode 1: for physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). The configured grant Type 1 PSSCH transmission is semi-statically configured to operate upon the reception of higher layer parameter of SL-ConfiguredGrantConfig including rrc-Con figuredSidelinkGrant without the detection of a sidelink grant in a DCI). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Panteleev et al.’s method/system where the resource regions/area are signaled from a base station via higher layer signaling as suggested by Cao et al. to improve performance and to avoid collisions (paragraph [0227]).
Regarding claim 33, Panteleev et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 11 without explicitly suggest wherein n is signaled from a base station through a higher layer signaling. However, Cao et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest wherein n is signaled from a base station through a higher layer signaling (paragraphs [0125-0126] [0138-0139]; configuration for the SL transmission parameters may include time/frequency resource information. The configuration can be performed via configuring a resource pool by the base station using RRC signaling, which may include time frequency locations) (paragraph [0276-0278]; sidelink resource allocation mode 1: for physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). The configured grant Type 1 PSSCH transmission is semi-statically configured to operate upon the reception of higher layer parameter of SL-ConfiguredGrantConfig including rrc-Con figuredSidelinkGrant without the detection of a sidelink grant in a DCI). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Panteleev et al.’s method/system where the resource regions/area are signaled from a base station via higher layer signaling as suggested by Cao et al. to improve performance and to avoid collisions (paragraph [0227]).
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
HOANG-CHUONG Q. VU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/HOANG-CHUONG Q VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476