DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status:
Claims 1-2 and 5-22 are pending.
Claims 3-4 are cancelled.
Claim 22 is newly added.
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are amended.
Claim 8-21 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim 1-2, 5-7 and 22 are examined as follow:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB2165370A (previously cited form IDS and Written Opinion) hereby set forth as GB5370A, in view of KANG (US2016/0088688A1 newly cited) herein set forth as KANG.
Regarding claim 1, GB5370A discloses a cooking device (refer to “rice cooker” in Abstract) comprising:
one or more heating elements (refer to “heater 3” in Abstract) for heating a fluid;
an input device (refer as “input terminal A1” in cited Page 2 line 31-36) for receiving input information (refer to Page 2 line 31-36 cited: “…Fig. 1, reference numeral 9 de notes a temperature sensor for detecting the temperature of a rice cooking pot (not shown) by a thermistor 10 so as to supply various temperature data (to be described later) to an input terminal Al of the microcomputer 6…”); and
a processor (refer to “circuit for controlling” in Abstract) configured to:
control the one or more heating elements (refer to “heater 3” in Abstract) for a first period of time (refer to “first time” annotated in fig.4) in order to heat the fluid to a first temperature (refer to “first temperature” annotated in fig.4);
control the one or more heating elements (refer to “heater 3” in Abstract) for a second period of time (refer to “second time” annotated in fig.4) such that the temperature of the fluid falls to a second temperature (refer to “second temperature” annotated in fig.4); and
control the one or more heating elements (refer to “heater 3” in Abstract) for a third period of time to increase power (refer to “third time/power increase” annotated in fig.4) supplied to the one or more heating elements (refer to “heater 3” in Abstract) relative to power supplied to the one or more heating elements (refer to “heater 3” in Abstract) during the second period of time (refer to “second time” annotated in fig.4); and the first (refer to “first temperature” annotated in fig.4) and second temperature (refer to “second temperature” annotated in fig.4) based on the input information (refer to Page 2 line 31-36 cited: “…Fig. 1, reference numeral 9 de notes a temperature sensor for detecting the temperature of a rice cooking pot (not shown) by a thermistor 10 so as to supply various temperature data (to be described later) to an input terminal Al of the microcomputer 6…”).
GB5370A does not explicitly disclose determine the first, second and third period of time based on the input information, wherein the input information comprises an original cooking time and an extended cooking time, wherein a sum of the first period of time and the third period of time is not greater than the original cooking time, and wherein the extended cooking time is equal to a sum of the first, second and third period of time.
In the similar field of input control of cooking device, KANG discloses determine the first, second (refer as first residual cooking time”) and third period of time (refer as part “first time” cited below, the first time is first and third period), wherein the input information comprises an original cooking time (refer as “predetermined first time”) and an extended cooking time (refer as “total cooking time”), wherein a sum of the first period of time and the third period of time (refer as part “first time” cited below, the first time is first and third period) is not greater than the original cooking time (refer as “predetermined first time”), and wherein the extended cooking time (refer as “total cooking time”) is equal to a sum of the first, second (refer as first residual cooking time”) and third period of time (refer as part “first time” cited below, the first time is first and third period) (refer to claim 3 cited: “…determining whether the total cooking time is equal to or greater than a predetermined first time value; if the total cooking time is equal to or greater than the predetermined first time value, setting the predetermined first time value as the first time; determining whether a first residual cooking time indicating a value obtained by subtracting the first time from the total cooking time is equal to or greater than a predetermined third time value; if the first residual cooking time is equal to or greater than the predetermined third time value, setting the predetermined third time value as the second time…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GB5370’s cooking device with determine the first, second and third period of time based on the input information, wherein the input information comprises an original cooking time and an extended cooking time, wherein a sum of the first period of time and the third period of time is not greater than the original cooking time, and wherein the extended cooking time is equal to a sum of the first, second and third period of time, as taught by KANG, in order to provide more flexibility and expendability to the cooking device, such that would be able to accommodate different recipes and increase the utility and marketability of the cooking device.
Regarding claim 2, the modification of GB5370A and KANG discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, GB5370A further discloses wherein the increase in power (refer to “third time/power increase” annotated in fig.4) supplied to the one or more heating elements (refer to “heater 3” in Abstract) for the third period of time (refer to “third time/power increase” annotated in fig.4) results in:
increasing the temperature (refer to “third temperature” annotated in fig.4) of the fluid to a third temperature (refer to “third temperature” annotated in fig.4) which is greater than the second temperature (refer to “second temperature” annotated in fig.4).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of GB5370A and KANG discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, GB5370A further discloses further comprising a sensor coupled to the processor (refer to “circuit” in abstract and fig.1), wherein the sensor (#9, fig.1) is configured to detect a temperature of the fluid and transmit a signal representing the detected temperature (refer to Page 2 line 96-101 cited: “…Referring to Fig. 1, reference numeral 9 de notes a temperature sensor for detecting the temperature of a rice cooking pot (not shown) by a thermistor 10 so as to supply various temperature data (to be described later) to an 100 input terminal Al of the microcomputer 6 …”) to the processor (refer to “circuit” in abstract and fig.1).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of GB5370A and KANG discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, GB5370A further discloses wherein the cooking device (refer to fig.1) is a vessel cooker (refer to “rice cooker pot” in Page 2 line 98) comprising a vessel in which the fluid is heated (refer to the term “pot” in “rice cooker pot” in Page 2 line 98).
Regarding claim 7, the modification of GB5370A and KANG discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, GB5370A further discloses the processor (refer to “circuit” in abstract and fig.1) is further configured to control the one or more heating elements (refer to “heater 3” in Abstract) to operate at one or more preheating temperatures (refer to “preheat” annotated in fig.4) to preheat the fluid for a respective one or more periods of time (refer to “preheat period” annotated in fig.4).
Regarding claim 22, the modification of GB5370A and KANG discloses substantially all features set froth in claim 1, GB5370A does not discloses wherein the original cooking time is equal to a sum of the first period of time and the third period of time.
In the similar field of input control of cooking device, KANG discloses wherein the original cooking time (refer as “predetermined first time”) is equal to a sum of the first period of time and the third period of time (refer to the calculation cited in claim 3, cited: “…determining whether the total cooking time is equal to or greater than a predetermined first time value; if the total cooking time is equal to or greater than the predetermined first time value, setting the predetermined first time value as the first time; determining whether a first residual cooking time indicating a value obtained by subtracting the first time from the total cooking time is equal to or greater than a predetermined third time value; if the first residual cooking time is equal to or greater than the predetermined third time value, setting the predetermined third time value as the second time…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GB5370’s cooking device with wherein the original cooking time is equal to a sum of the first period of time and the third period of time, as taught by KANG, in order to provide more flexibility and expendability to the cooking device, such that would be able to accommodate different recipes and increase the utility and marketability of the cooking device.
Response to Amendment
With respect to the Notification of 112f: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on October 23th 2025 that overcame the Notification of 112f in the previous office action.
With respect to the Rejection 112b: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on October 23th 2025 that overcame the Rejection 112b in the previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 23th 2025 have been fully considered but moot in view of the new grounds of rejection with the newly cited secondary Prior art KANG (US2016/0088688A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 January 10th 2026
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761