Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “the securing means engages with the fastening means”. Claim 15, which is dependent upon claim 1, is deemed indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claim 1 does not recite a “securing means” and/or a “fastening means”. Claim 12 recites “an additional fastening means” and claim 13 recites “a securing means”.
For the sake of compact prosecution, claim 15 is understood as either the securing means or the fastening means engages with an end of the first or second parts of the clamp.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 11-15, 17, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040188339 A1 (hereinafter US 339)
OR
in the alternative, US 20040188339 A1 (hereinafter US 339) in view of US 20040074833 A1 (hereinafter US 833).
Regarding claim 1, US 339 discloses a modular membrane filtration system that allows for easier cleaning or replacement of each individual membrane element (see US 339 abstract, figures 1-2, 4, 8-11 and paragraphs [0010], [0041], [0042], [0044], [0052]. [0057], [0080]-[0082]), which is deemed a potting system comprising a potting unit.
US 339 in view of US 833 discloses a bundle connector and a mating receptacle, wherein the bundle connector has two hook-shaped outer protrusions or ears (see US 339 paragraph [0043]; see also US 339 abstract, figures 1, 3, 5-7, 9 and paragraphs [0011]-[0013], [0041]-[0043], [0045]-[0047], [0052]-[0053], [0062]-[0063]). US 339 in view of US 833 discloses the “ears 60 on the bundle connector and tabs 64 on the receptacle have features that allow the bundle connector and receptacle to easily engage and lock together” (see US 339 paragraph 0045). US 339 in view of US 833 discloses “Opposing ends of the hollow fiber membrane bundle 28 are potted into a bundle connector 48 (one connector at each end of the hollow fiber membrane bundle 28). The bundle connector 48 allows for a separable and hermetic seal between the lumens of the hollow fiber membrane bundle 28 and the mating receptacle 26 on the collection header 22. The bundle connector 28 seals to the inside surface of a mating receptacle 26 on the collection header 28 via two O-rings (not shown) provided in grooves 56 around the outer periphery of the bundle connector 28” (see US 339 paragraph [0043]; see also US 339 abstract, figures 1, 3, 5-7, 9 and paragraphs [0011]-[0013], [0041]-[0043], [0045]-[0047], [0052]-[0053], [0062]-[0063]), which is deemed a clamp, wherein the clamp comprise a first part (see US 339 bundle connector or receptacle) and a second part (see US 339 the receptacle or the bundle connector) configured to engage with and maintain a downward force on the compressible seal of the potting unit, and wherein the first part comprises a series of spaced-apart hollows configured to accommodate the compressible seal of the potting unit, and wherein the second part comprises a series of corresponding spaced-apart hollows configured to accommodate and engage with the middle section of the body (see US 339 figures 3, 5-7, and paragraphs 0043, 0057, 0058, 0062-0063 (US 339 discloses that the membrane elements/bundles are inserted into the bundle connector and the receptacle).).
In US 339 in view of US 833, the bundle connector is either the first part or the second part of the clamp and the receptacle is the other part of the clamp, i.e. when the bundle connector is the second part, then the receptacle is the first part. Both the bundle connector and the receptacle necessarily have a spaced-apart hollow element to accommodate the compressible seal of the potting unit and the middle section of the body, respectively.
It is noted that “a base” is an undefined structural element of the body. It is noted that the boundaries of the distal end, middle section and proximal end are an undefined structural element of the body.
US 339 discloses that the system comprises at least one module with at least one header, that has a plurality of receptacles and each receptacle can connect or secure a membrane element to the system (see US 339 figures 1-2, 5-11, paragraphs [0011] [0043] (“the membrane filtration element 24 is comprised of a hollow fiber membrane bundle 28 and two bundle connectors 48” (see US 339 paragraph [0043]).). US 339 discloses that “Each membrane element is a potted hollow fiber membrane bundle comprising a plurality of hollow fiber membranes oriented transverse to the at least one header. Each membrane element has a separable connection between a potted end of the hollow fiber membrane bundle and a receptacle in the permeate collection header, and the separable connection provides a watertight hydraulic connection between the permeate collection header and the lumens of the hollow fiber membranes” (see US 339 paragraph [0011]; see also US 339 figures 3 & 9). US 339 discloses that each of the potted hollow fiber membrane bundles (28) has a plurality of hollow fiber membranes (30) (see US 339 paragraph [0030] and figures 3 &9), which are potted with a potting material, such as an epoxy resin (see US 339 paragraphs [0048]-[0049] and figure 9), which is deemed a potting unit comprising a body (see US 339 bundle) and a compressible seal (see US 339 potted material/end / mesh tube/ seal), the body comprising a distal end, a middle section and a proximal end, wherein the distal end is configured to accommodate hollow fibre membranes the proximal end is configured to engage with a header of a fluid treatment system, and wherein the compressible seal is continuous with and perpendicular to the body, wherein the compressible seal is positioned at a base of the body.
US 339 discloses that the potting material can be an epoxy resin (see US 339 paragraphs [0048]-[0049] and figure 9 (“Suitable potting materials 66, e.g., epoxies, and potting methods are known in the art and will not be further described here” (see US 339 paragraph [0032]).)). US 339 discloses that the “a rubbery or elastomeric mesh tube 74 is stretched around the end of the hollow fiber bundle 28 prior to potting of the bundle end in the bundle connector 48” (see US 339 paragraph [0054]) or “a continuous rubber tube may be used…. particularly preferred elastomer is Kraton” (see US 339 paragraph [0055]). US 339 discloses that “[I]t will be understood, particularly in the case of a mesh tube, that the tube material will be embedded in the potting material itself, especially in the case of low packing density bundles” (see US 339 paragraph [0056]). US 339 discloses that the bundle is covered in a shroud (94), which may be an elastic material (see US 339 paragraph [0078]). That is, in US 339 both the potting material and a portion of the bundle is a rubbery or elastomeric material (“It will be understood, particularly in the case of a mesh tube, that the tube material will be embedded in the potting material itself, especially in the case of low packing density bundles” (see US 339 paragraph [0056]).), which is deemed the compressible seal is composed of the same material as the potting unit, wherein the material is an elastomer.
In the alternative, if US 339 does not disclose a “the compressible seal is composed of the same material as the potting unit, wherein the material is an elastomer”, then this feature is nonetheless rendered obvious by US 833.
US 833 discloses a hollow-fiber membrane module “comprising a cylindrical casing … hollow-fiber membrane bundle contained in the cylindrical casing, potting layers for fixing the hollow-fiber membrane bundle to the inner wall of the cylindrical casing at both the ends of the hollow-fiber membrane bundle, a header” (see US 833 abstract; see also US 833 figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0007]-[0011], [0018]). US 833 discloses that the potting material is a polymeric material “such as polyurethane, silicone or epoxy” (see US 339 paragraph [0020]).
US 833 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. hollow fiber membrane filtration system, potting membrane module and/or purification /treatment of a liquid medium, such as water or blood.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or substitute the potting material, as disclosed in US 339, with the potting material, such as polyurethane or silicone, as disclosed in US 833, because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). This substitution would yield the predictable result of forming a potting layer or portion and/or securing hollow membrane fibers.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or substitute the potting material, as disclosed in US 339, with the potting material, such as polyurethane or silicone, as disclosed in US 833, and reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. forming a potting layer or portion and/or securing hollow membrane fibers.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or substitute the potting material, as disclosed in US 339, with the potting material, such as polyurethane or silicone, as disclosed in US 833, because US 339 discloses that epoxy and other potting materials may be used and US 833 provides further details and examples of potting materials.
Hence, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, is deemed to disclose a potting system comprising a potting unit and a clamp, the potting unit comprising a body and a compressible seal, the body comprising a distal end, a middle section and a proximal end, wherein the distal end is configured to accommodate hollow fibre membranes and the proximal end is configured to engage with a header of a fluid treatment system, and wherein the compressible seal is continuous with and perpendicular to the body, wherein the compressible seal is positioned at a base of the body and is composed of the same material as the potting unit, wherein the material is an elastomer; and wherein the clamp comprises a first part and a second part configured to engage with and maintain a downward force on the compressible seal of the potting unit; and wherein the first part comprises a series of spaced-apart hollows configured to accommodate the compressible seal of the potting unit, and wherein the second part comprises a series of corresponding spaced-apart hollows configured to accommodate and engage with the middle section of the body.
Regarding claim 5, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses hollow fibre membranes are potted in the distal end with a potting agent that is the same material as the potting unit (see rejection of claim 1).
In US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, a potting material/sealing collar is present in both ends of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 6, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the hollow fibre membranes are potted in the distal end with a potting agent that is the same material as the potting unit (see rejection of claim 5) and the distal end (5) is circular (see US 339 figures 1, 3, 5-7 & 9-11).
US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, does not disclose the distal end (5) is any shape selected from a chevron, a cross, linear, square, rectangular, triangular, hexagonal, other polygonal or circular cross-sectional shapes, an ellipse, a three-pointed star, a four- pointed star, a five-pointed star.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the distal end of US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, since the shape would not change the function of the device and/or is a matter of design choice. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47 (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, B (changes in shape are merely a “matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant”).).
Regarding claim 7, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the potting unit is a single unitary piece (see rejection of claim 1). Because US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, does not disclose the formation of the potting unit a plain reading of US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, would be that the potting unit is a single unitary piece.
In the alternative, if US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, does not disclose a “the potting unit is a single unitary piece”, then this feature is nonetheless rendered obvious by US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the forming of the potting unit of US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, to be a single unitary piece because it would assist with the forming of assembly failure points, because it would assist with the need of fastening pieces, such as brackets, bolts, nuts, etc, and/or because it would assist with reducing the time needed to assembly the potting unit.
Regarding claim 11, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the first part of the clamp comprises a series of male/female connectors which are adapted to engage with a corresponding series of male/female connectors comprised in the second part (see rejection of claim 1; see US 339 – ear and tabs OR grooves within the bundle connector and receptacle figures 3, 4-7 paragraphs 0045, 0053).
Regarding claim 12, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the first and second parts each have an additional fastening means at an end thereof (see rejection of claim 1; see US 339 – ear and tabs OR grooves within the bundle connector and receptacle OR twist locking means OR snap lock means figures 3 and 5-7 paragraphs [0012], [0040], [0043], [0045], [0047], [0053], [0050] (US 339 discloses grooves present on the bundle connector and receptacle that engage each other to create a connection. US 339 discloses a groove(s)/connector ear(s) that engages with mating tab(s) on the receptacle. US 339 discloses a twist locking means and a snap lock mechanism.).
Regarding claim 13, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses a securing means adapted to engage with the clamp and maintain a downward force on the integrated compressible seal of the potting unit (see rejection of claim 1; see US 339 O-ring as well as grooves OR ear and tabs OR grooves within the bundle connector and receptacle OR twist locking means OR snap lock means paragraphs [0012], [0040], [0043], [0045], [0047], [0053], [0050]).
Regarding claim 14, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, does not disclose the body of the potting unit tapers from the distal end towards the proximal end.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the body to be tapered in US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, since the shape would not change the function of the device and/or is a matter of design choice. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47 (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, B (changes in shape are merely a “matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant”).).
Regarding claim 15, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the either the securing means or the fastening means engages with an end of the first or second parts of the clamp (see rejection of claims 11-13).
Regarding claim 17, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, does not disclose the material selected froma polypropylene, polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate copolymer (PETG) and amorphous polyethylene terephthalate (APET).
US 339 discloses the header is formed from a polymeric material, such as polypropylene, polyphenylene oxide (PPO), polyethylene, polysulfone, polyethersulfone, polyvinyl chloride, or acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) resin. US 339 discloses the bundle connector is formed from polysulfone, polyethersulfones, ABS, PVC, polyolefin, or stainless steel (see US 339 paragraphs 0048). US 339 does not disclose the material for forming the mating receptacle.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the bundle connector and the mating receptacle of US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, to be the same material because it would assist with mating each element together and/or because US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, does not disclose a material for the mating receptacle and US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, provides disclosure of material for an element that connects with said receptacle.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the bundle connector and the mating receptacle of US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, of polyolefin, as disclosed or rendered obvious by US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, such as polypropylene and/or polyethylene, as disclosed in US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, because US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, provides a disclosure of polyolefins that are suitable for the system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the bundle connector and the mating receptacle of US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, to be a polyolefin, such as polypropylene and/or polyethylene, which are disclosed in US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, as being suitable for the system, and reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. filter water.
46. Regarding claim 19, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses a fluid treatment system comprising the potting system (1) of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1; see US 339 abstract and paragraphs 0002 and 0027).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, and further in view of US 20040074833 A1 (hereinafter US 833).
Regarding claim 2, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the elastomer is the elastomer is polyurethane (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, discloses the elastomer is polyurethane (see rejection of claim 1).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP 3095507 A1 (hereinafter EP 507).
Regarding claim 20, US 339 in view of US 833 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339 in view of US 833 does not disclose a Membrane Aerated Biofilm Reactor (MABR), a Membrane Supported Biofilm Reactor (MSBR), a Membrane Bioreactor (MBR), a Membrane Contactor or a Membrane Filtration Unit comprising the potting system (1) of claim 1.
EP 507 discloses a membrane aerated biofilm reactors (MABRs) and a “device capable of increasing the mass transfer between the wastewater and the membrane attached biofilm” (see EP 507 paragraph [0001]). EP 507 discloses the device comprises a plurality of membrane fibres (see EP 507 paragraphs [0007], [0010], [0013]-[0017]). EP 507 discloses that the “term ‘Membrane Aerated Biofilm Reactor (MABR)’ should be understood to mean a membrane supported biofilm reactor (MSBR) or Membrane Biofilm Reactor (MBfR) for treating water and or wastewater liquids to remove carbonaceous pollutant removal, nitrify/denitrify the pollutants, and/or perform xenobiotic biotreatment of the wastewater constituents, and employing an air/oxygen/hydrogen (gas) permeable membrane (often a hollow fibre membrane) that provides an interface between the fluid to be treated (fluid phase) and an air/oxygen/hydrogen supply (gas phase). Soluble organic compounds in the liquid are supplied to the biofilm from the biofilm-liquid interface, whereas air/oxygen/hydrogen/carbon dioxide or other gas supply to the biofilm is from the biofilm-membrane interface (by diffusing through the membrane)” (see EP 507 paragraph [0020]).
EP 507 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. hollow fiber membrane filtration system, potting membrane module and/or purification /treatment of a liquid medium, such as water or blood.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or substitute the device, as disclosed in EP 507, with the device, as disclosed in US 339 in view of US 833, to form a membrane aerated biofilm reactor with the apparatus of US 339 in view of US 833 because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). This substitution would yield the predictable result of achieving a reactor for purification/treatment of a liquid medium.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or substitute the device, as disclosed in EP 507, with the device, as disclosed in US 339 in view of US 833, to form a membrane aerated biofilm reactor with the apparatus of US 339 in view of US 833 and reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. achieve a reactor for purification/treatment of a liquid medium.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or substitute the device, as disclosed in EP 507, with the device, as disclosed in US 339 in view of US 833, to form a membrane aerated biofilm reactor with the apparatus of US 339 in view of US 833 because it would assist with achieving a reactor and/or because it would assist with purification/treatment of a liquid medium.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 339, or in the alternative, US 339 in view of US 833, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20180265383 A1 (hereinafter US 5383).
Regarding claim 20, US 339 in view of US 833 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 339 in view of US 833 does not disclose a Membrane Aerated Biofilm Reactor (MABR), a Membrane Supported Biofilm Reactor (MSBR), a Membrane Bioreactor (MBR), a Membrane Contactor or a Membrane Filtration Unit comprising the potting system (1) of claim 1.
US 5383 discloses a membrane aerated biofilm reactor (MABR) water treatment technology, wherein “a water treatment module including a bundle of hollow fiber membranes that includes a treatment portion extending between bottom and top ends and at least one gas diffuser. The membranes may be gas permeable and water impermeable. At least one end of the hollow fiber membranes is linked to a source of biofilm growth-supporting gas (BGSG) and configured to permit inlet of said BGSG into the hollow fiber membranes. Also provided herein are devices, systems and methods making use of the module” (see US 5383 abstract, figures 1A-2B, 3C-7 and paragraphs [0001], [0007]-[0013], [0032]-[0036]).
US 5383 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. hollow fiber membrane filtration system, potting membrane module and/or purification /treatment of a liquid medium, such as water or blood.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or substitute the device, as disclosed in US 5383, with the device, as disclosed in US 339 in view of US 833, to form a membrane aerated biofilm reactor with the apparatus of US 339 in view of US 833 because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). This substitution would yield the predictable result of achieving a reactor for purification/treatment of a liquid medium.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or substitute the device, as disclosed in US 5383, with the device, as disclosed in US 339 in view of US 833, to form a membrane aerated biofilm reactor with the apparatus of US 339 in view of US 833 and reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. achieve a reactor for purification/treatment of a liquid medium.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or substitute the device, as disclosed in US 5383, with the device, as disclosed in US 339 in view of US 833, to form a membrane aerated biofilm reactor with the apparatus of US 339 in view of US 833 because it would assist with achieving a reactor and/or because it would assist with purification/treatment of a liquid medium.
Related Prior Art
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants’ disclosure:
US 2015/0238905 A1 (hereinafter US 905) discloses the apparatus having an “anchor formation 5 comprises two additional U-shaped members 70 and 71. The two additional U-shaped members 71, 72 are positioned to align with the U-shaped elongate member 60, providing a locking mechanism for structural support. The U-shaped members 71, 72 may couple to one another and/or to the U-shaped elongate member 60 and/or U-shaped clip 63 with one or more snaps, clips, tabs, or other securing elements. A restraining structure 6 extends over the elongate portions 4 of the hollow porous membrane fibers 1 in the looped fiber configuration 2 spaced from the anchor formation 5 or, additionally or alternatively, over the U-shaped elongate member 60, U-shaped clip 63, and/or U-shaped members 71, 72” (see US 905 paragraph [0100]).
Other Applicable Prior Art
All other art cited not detailed above in a rejection is considered relevant to at least some portion or feature of the current application and is cited for possible future use for reference. Applicant may find it useful to be familiar with all cited art for possible future rejections or discussion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed July 7, 2026 have been fully considered.
The indefiniteness rejection has been revised in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
All prior art rejections based on US 012 have been withdrawn.
The prior art rejections based on US 339 have been maintained and revised in light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims. The Examiner's remarks to Applicants' arguments are herein incorporated into the rejections presented above. Additional remarks are represented below.
In the response, it was argued that the limitations of claim 10, i.e. the first part comprises a series of spaced-apart hollows configured to accommodate the compressible seal of the potting unit, and wherein the second part comprises a series of corresponding spaced apart hollows configured to accommodate and engage with the middle section of the body”, where not rejected. This argument is deemed unpersuasive. These limitations were identified in the rejections of claim 15 and claim 10 (see July 12, 2024 Office Action paragraphs 68-74 and 87-88). Both the bundle connector and the receptacle necessarily have a spaced-apart hollow element to accommodate the compressible seal of the potting unit and the middle section of the body, respectively. US 339 discloses that the membrane elements/bundles are inserted into the bundle connector and the receptacle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERNADETTE KAREN MCGANN/Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773