DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on (11 – 14 – 2025) has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and remarks filed (11 – 14 – 2025) have been fully considered but they are not persuasiveApplicant argues…
Enarsson / Enarsson as modified does not teach the newly amended feature of wherein the cellulose blank structure is a fibre web structure containing at least 90 – 99.9% dry wt. cellulose fibres.
Enarsson / Enarsson as modified does not teach the newly amended feature of wherein the cellulose fibres during the forming of the cellulose products are strongly bonded to each other with hydrogen bonds
Enarsson / Enarsson as modified does not teach the newly amended feature of adding steam or liquid water or 0.1 – 10% dry wt. of one or more an additive in liquid or powder form…wherein the one or more additives are altering the mechanical, hydrophobic, and/or oleophobic properties of the cellulose products;
Enarsson / Enarsson as modified does not teach heating the cellulose blank structure to a forming temperature in the range of 100 °C to 300 °C; and applying the forming pressure on the heated cellulose blank structure, wherein the forming pressure is at least 1 MPa.
Applicant further argues that none of the other applied references make up for the deficiency of Enarsson / Enarsson as modified.
This is not found to be persuasive because…
As noted in the previous action of (8 – 14 – 2025) Enarsson discloses in the (Abstract) that forming a dry-laid composite web being an intermediate product for thermoforming of three-dimensionally shaped objects, comprising 40 – 95 wt. % CTMP fibres, 5 – 50 wt. % thermoplastic material, and 0 – 10 wt. % additives. The disclosure includes a process for producing 3D-object from the intermediate web comprising the step. The steps include heating and introducing the web into a thermoforming tool having the desired shape. With (Pg. 18, lines 26-28) adding that polymer films which are commonly used as outer layers on cellulose-fibre based packages. As such, cellulose-fibre are understood to be disclosed. Additionally, steps of providing pre-cut pieces of the cellulose blank structure into the mold is also understood to be provided.
As noted in the previous off action Enarsson discloses on (Pg. 20, lines 11 – 14) teaches that the heated and preferably moistened web is pressed in the thermoforming tool by a predetermined force, so as to reach its destined three-dimensional shape. A suitable pressure may be in the range 1-200 MPa. The final degree of bonding in the CTMP fibre web depends strongly on the achieved density after compression, and thus the applied pressure during thermoforming. Highlighting, that the use of the same type of materials is understood to be utilized, i.e., cellulose fibers. As such, the cellulose fibers are understood to be strongly bonded to each other with hydrogen bonds.
As previously stated, Enarsson discloses on (Pg. 20, lines 2 – 4) that during thermoforming the web is treated with water, preferably by spraying hot water or flowing steam over the sheet, the temperature preferably being 90 – 100 °С. (Abstract) teaches 0 – 10 wt-% additives may be added to the dry-laid composite web fabricated. Additionally, it should be noted that (l) requires one of / either of steam or liquid water or 0.1 – 10% dry wt. of one or more an additive. As such, the use of an additive is understood to be optional. However, (Pg. 15, lines 14 – 15) teaches that a cross-linking polymer could be added as an additive for either further stiffening of the shaped three-dimensional products. As such, the cross-linking polymer additive is understood to impact the mechanical properties of the cellulose product.
As previously stated in the rejection of Claim 2, Enarsson discloses on (Pg. 21, lines 10 – 12) that suitable thermoforming temperature will depend on the specific polymer material comprised in the intermediate web, addition to the softening temperature of CTMP (130 °C). (Pg. 21, lines 16-18) adding that a suitable temperature is in the interval 130 – 200 °C. As such, the molding/ forming temperature range disclosed is understood to overlap with that of the instant application. With the (Abstract) adding forming the web in the thermoforming tool by pressing at a pressure of 1 – 200 MPa. As such, pressure of 1 – 200 MPa is understood to be applied to the heated cellulose structure that overlaps with that of the instant application.
This is unpersuasive because as explained above there was not found to be deficiency in Enarsson / Enarsson as modified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Currently newly claim 1 (which claim 2 depends on) requires that heating the cellulose blank structure to a forming temperature in the range of 100 °C to 300 °C; and applying the forming pressure on the heated cellulose blank structure, wherein the forming pressure is at least 1 MPa. While claim 2 also requires that the method further comprises the steps; heating the cellulose blank structure to a forming temperature (TF) in the range of 100 °C to 300 °C; and applying the forming pressure (PF) on the heated cellulose blank structure, wherein the forming pressure (PF) is at least 1 MPa. Which is found to not further limit from which it depends on. Accordingly, the applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5, 7, 17, 19 – 20 & 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enarsson et al. (WO 2014142714 A1, hereinafter Enarsson) in view of Keith Ingram (US 20020025356 A1, hereinafter Ingram) in view of James Han (Properties of Non-wood Fibers, hereinafter Han) and in further view of Dennis Wood (US 4102963 A, hereinafter Wood)Regarding claim 1,
A method for forming cellulose products from an air-formed cellulose blank structure in a rotary forming mould system,
wherein the rotary forming mould system comprises a base structure and a plurality of forming moulds attached to the base structure,
wherein the base structure is arranged to rotate around a rotational axis (AR) extending in an axial direction (DA),
wherein each forming mould comprises a first mould part and a corresponding second mould part,
wherein during rotational movement of the base structure around the rotational axis (AR) each first mould part is arranged to engage with its corresponding second mould part in a pressing direction (DP),
wherein the method comprises steps of;
providing pre-cut or pre-formed pieces of air-formed cellulose blank structure,
wherein the cellulose blank structure is a fibre web structure containing at least 90 – 99.9% dry wt. cellulose fibres,
wherein the pre-cut or pre-formed pieces of air-formed cellulose blank structure are provided by forming a cellulose blank structure in an air-forming unit,
wherein the cellulose fibres are carried and formed to the cellulose blank structure by air as carrying medium in the air-forming unit,
wherein the cellulose fibres during the forming of the cellulose products are strongly bonded to each other with hydrogen bonds,
wherein the air forming unit is arranged in line with the rotary forming mould system and the air-forming takes place in direct connection to the rotary forming mould system;
arranging a pre-cut or pre-formed piece of cellulose blank structure in a position between a first mould part and its corresponding second mould part by feeding the pre-cut or pre-formed pieces of cellulose blank structure to the forming moulds using a cellulose blank structure feeding unit, and
adding steam or liquid water or 0.1 – 10% dry wt. of one or more an additive in liquid or powder form to the pre-cut or pre-formed pieces of cellulose blank structure in connection to the cellulose blank structure feeding unit,
wherein the one or more additives are altering the mechanical, hydrophobic, and/or oleophobic properties of the cellulose products;
forming the cellulose products from the cellulose blank structure in the rotary forming mould system, by applying a forming pressure (PF) on the cellulose blank structure between the first mould part and its corresponding second mould part through an engaging movement of the first mould part in relation to its corresponding second mould part in the pressing direction (DP),
wherein during forming the one or more forming moulds are rotating with the base structure around the rotational axis (AR),
wherein during forming the method further comprises the steps;
heating the cellulose blank structure to a forming temperature in the range of 100 °C to 300 °C; and
applying the forming pressure on the heated cellulose blank structure,
wherein the forming pressure is at least 1 MPa.
Enarsson teaches the following:
(Abstract) teaches forming a dry-laid composite web being an intermediate product for thermoforming of three-dimensionally shaped objects, comprising 40 – 95 wt. % CTMP fibres, 5 – 50 wt. % thermoplastic material, and 0 – 10 wt. % additives. The disclosure includes a process for producing 3D-object from the intermediate web comprising the step. The steps include heating and introducing the web into a thermoforming tool having the desired shape. With (Pg. 18, lines 26-28) adding that polymer films which are commonly used as outer layers on cellulose-fibre based packages. As such, cellulose-fibre are understood to be disclosed. Additionally, steps of providing pre-cut pieces of the cellulose blank structure into the mold is also understood to be provided.
(Abstract & Pg. 8, lines 8 – 10) teaches forming a dry-laid composite web being an intermediate product for thermoforming of three-dimensionally shaped objects, comprising CTMP fibres at 40 – 95 wt. % of the total dry weight of the web. With (Pg. 18, lines 26-28) adding that polymer films which are commonly used as outer layers on cellulose-fibre based packages. As such, the use of 40 – 95 wt. % CTMP (cellulose) fibres is understood to be disclosed. Highlighting, that 40 – 95 wt. % CTMP (cellulose) fibres is understood to overlap with applicant’s range of the a fibre web structure containing at least 90 – 99.9% dry wt. cellulose fibres.
& j.) (Pg. 17, lines 4 – 5) teaches that the additives can be added during the air laying process of the CTMP web or preferably during impregnation. As such, the CTMP web is understood to be fabricated by an air-laying process.
(Pg. 20, lines 11 – 14) teaches that the heated and preferably moistened web is pressed in the thermoforming tool by a predetermined force, so as to reach its destined three-dimensional shape. A suitable pressure may be in the range 1-200 MPa. The final degree of bonding in the CTMP fibre web depends strongly on the achieved density after compression, and thus the applied pressure during thermoforming. Highlighting, that the use of the same type of materials is understood to be utilized, i.e., cellulose fibers. As such, the cellulose fibers are understood to be strongly bonded to each other with hydrogen bonds.
(Pg. 20, lines 20 -24) teaches that a thermoforming tool for use in the thermoforming according to the invention may typically include a mould cavity (female part) and a pressing tool (male part). The pressing tool forces the intermediate web into the mould cavity. As such, a first mould part and its corresponding second mould part are understood to be provided. With the (Abstract) teaching that the disclosure includes a process for producing 3D-object from the intermediate web comprising the step. The steps include heating and introducing the web into a thermoforming tool having the desired shape. With (Pg. 12, lines 8-14) teaching that the thermoplastic material can serve a dual purpose, in addition to bind the CTMP fibres during thermoforming, it also serves to preliminarily bind the CTMP fibres in the low-density intermediate web, to facilitate handling and transport of the intermediate web. As such, the intermediate web (prior to thermoforming) is understood to be handleable / capable of being carried. (Pg. 28, lines 14 15) teaches that an intermediate sheet as obtained in Example 1 was cut into a 13 x 13 cm sample piece. The sample was preheated in an oven at 170°C for 10 min. Then the sample was placed into a mould, the mould was then closed and loaded in the hot press. (Claim 16) teaching that the web is cut into blanks before being introduced into a form-shaping tool. As such, arranging a pre-cut or pore-formed piece of cellulose blank structure in a position between a first mould part and its corresponding second mould part by feeding the pre-cut or pre-formed pieces of cellulose blank structure to the forming moulds is understood to be disclosed. Highlighting, that placement of pre-cut pieces of cellulose blank structure into the forming moulds is understood to be capably accomplished manual activity. As such, the case law for automating a manual activity namely, automating the feeding the pre-cut pieces of cellulose blank structure to the forming moulds using a feeding unit may be recited. Where, the court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means (Note: with no specific) to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (ССРА 1958).
(Pg. 20, lines 2 – 4) teaches that during thermoforming the web is treated with water, preferably by spraying hot water or flowing steam over the sheet, the temperature preferably being 90 – 100 °С. (Abstract) teaches 0 – 10 wt-% additives may be added to the dry-laid composite web fabricated.
It should be noted that (l) requires one of / either of steam or liquid water or 0.1 – 10% dry wt. of one or more an additive. As such, the use of an additive is understood to be optional. However, (Pg. 15, lines 14 – 15) teaches that a cross-linking polymer could be added as an additive for either further stiffening of the shaped three-dimensional products. As such, the cross-linking polymer additive is understood to impact the mechanical properties of the cellulose product.
(Pg. 20, lines 11 – 14) teaches that the heated and preferably moistened web is pressed in the thermoforming tool by a predetermined force, so as to reach it’s in destined three-dimensional shape. A suitable pressure may be in the range 1-200 MPa. The final degree of bonding in the CTMP fibre web depends strongly on the achieved density after compression, and thus the applied pressure during thermoforming.
(Pg. 21, lines 10 – 12) teaches that suitable thermoforming temperature will depend on the specific polymer material comprised in the intermediate web, addition to the softening temperature of CTMP (130 °C). (Pg. 21, lines 16-18) adding that a suitable temperature is in the interval 130 – 200 °C. As such, the molding/ forming temperature range disclosed is understood to overlap with that of the instant application.
& r.) (Abstract) teaches forming the web in the thermoforming tool by pressing at a pressure of 1 – 200 MPa. As such, pressure of 1 – 200 MPa is understood to be applied to the heated cellulose structure that overlaps with that of the instant application.
Regarding Claim 1, Enarsson also teaching compression moulding the web. Enarsson is silent on the rotary forming mould system arrangement and structure including implementing a feeding unit and a rotary forming mould system. In analogous art for compression moulding of a plastic article, (Abstract), Ingram suggests details regarding the rotary forming mould system arrangement and structure including implementing a feeding unit and a rotary forming mould system, and in this regard, Ingram teaches the following:
([0031]) teaches that a lower tooling assembly 50 includes a slide 52 having axially spaced bearings 54 that slidably embrace shaft 24 between turret plates 20, 22 beneath and in opposition to each upper tooling assembly 32. A cavity bracket 56 is mounted on each slide 52 and carries a plurality of cavity holders 58 (four in the illustrated embodiment) that form the female mold sections that oppose cores 46 of the associated upper tool assembly 32 so as to form complete cavities for compression molding of the desired articles. As such, the lower tooling assembly 50 includes a plurality of cavity holders 58 that form the female mold sections that oppose cores 46 of the associated upper tool assembly 32 so as to form complete cavities for compression molding of the desired articles.
& o.) ([0032]) teaches that as turret 12 and tooling assembly pairs 32, 50 move in direction 120 in an endless circular path (Fig. 2) about turret axis 14, mold charges are placed by a charge mechanism 66 (Figs. 2 & 8 – 9) onto cavity holders 58 when the cavities are in the open condition illustrated in (Figs. 2 and 9).
([0030]) teaches that an upper tool holder 44 is carried by each actuator 34 and slidably mounted on center turret plate 20. Each tool holder 44 includes an array of mold cores 46 (four in the illustrated embodiment) slidable in associated core sleeves 48 and having lower ends that form the male portions of the compression mold cavities. As best illustrated in (Figs. 3-4 & 6) the upper tool holder 44 and lower tooling assembly 50 as shown in an open position (Fig. 3) and closed position (Fig. 4), with (Fig. 6) showing the molding procedure in its entirety.
([0032]) teaches that continued rotation of the turret brings rollers 36, 61 into engagement with upper and lower forming cams 38, 60, which in turn are contoured so as to move tooling assemblies 32, 50 toward each other and thereby bring cores 46 into compression cavity-forming engagement with cavity holders 58 and the mold charges placed therein. The tooling assemblies are then held in this closed position as the turret continues to rotate so as to compression mold and cure the charges placed in the mold cavities into articles of the desired contour. In the apparatus disclosed in the referenced patent, this is accomplished by continued engagement of rollers 36, 61 with cams 38, 60. As the tools rotate about the turret axis toward the end of the forming cycle, the contours of cams 38, 60 are such as to release mold pressure on the cavities, and tooling assemblies 32, 50 are moved away from each other by means of cams 42, 64 and cam rollers 40, 62 carried by the upper and lower tooling assemblies respectively. As such, during rotational movement of the base structure around the rotational axis (AR) each first mould part is arranged to engage with its corresponding second mould part in a pressing direction (DP).
(Claim 4) teaches the system includes means for severing charges of plastic extrudate at said outlets and delivering said charges to said at least two female mold cavities. (Claim 10) teaches the system includes a means for severing charges of plastic and delivering said charges substantially simultaneously to the at least two female mold cavities of each female mold tool in turn as each tool passes beneath said system. As such, the severing charges of plastic charges is understood to provide for a pre-cut piece of cellulose blank structure in a position between a first mould part and its corresponding second mould part by feeding the pre-cut or pre-formed pieces of cellulose blank structure to the forming moulds using a cellulose blank structure feeding unit. ([0037]) teaches that mold pellet wheel assembly 140. The arrays of nests 142, 144 are disposed on respective radially adjacent annular wheel sections 146, 148. (FIG. 9) is a schematic representation of wheel 140 having two nests 142, 144 a diametrically opposed pair of nests 142, 144 overlying the mold cavities 59 into which the mold charges are being positioned. Two pellet cups or nests 142, 144 simultaneously align with two cavities 59 within lower tooling assembly 50. As pellet wheel 140 continues to rotate, an adjacent pair of pellet cups move into alignment with the remaining two cavities within the cluster, and pellets are discharged into the cavities. As such, the wheel assembly 140 provides for the severing of pre-heated plastic charges and providing said a pre-cut piece of plastic structure in a position between a first mould part and its corresponding second mould part by the wheel assembly 140/ feeding unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing an article by compression molding a dry-laid composite web, wherein said mold comprising transpires in a thermoforming mould comprising two half-molds being axially movable towards each other and maintained until the desired three-dimensional shape has been fixated, of Enarsson. By modifying the compression mould to include a feeding unit for severing/ cutting of pre-heated plastic and delivering said pre-heated plastic simultaneously to the at least two female mold cavities of the compression mold and altering the compression mould to include a rotational wheel with correspond mold section, as taught by Ingram. Highlighting, implementing of an extruder nozzle and cutter provides for severing mold charges from an extruder nozzle allowing for the mold charges to be transported from the nozzle and into the molds, (Claim 4 & Claim 10) and providing a rotational wheel with correspond mold section allows for continuous manufacturing of the articles, and reduce the amount of floor space required per machine, ([0004] – [0005]). Additionally, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).Regarding Claim 1, Enarsson as modified by Ingram teaches forming fibers by СТМР of wood-based pulp, (Enarsson, Pg. 7, lines 7 -9). Enarsson as modified by Ingram is silent on implementing fibers that comprise at least 70% cellulose. In analogous art for fabricating fibers from a potential sources of pulping material including wood, amongst others, (Abstract), Han suggests details regarding implementing various different types of pulp materials, and in this regard, Han teaches the following:
(Pg. 4, Table 2) shows a variety of different types of pulp starting materials that fibers that can be fabricated from. As detailed, Wood is found to have an amount of cellulose ranging from 40 – 49%, which is slightly below that of applicant's cellulose amount required. However, alternatives provided include Cotton Seed Hull with a range of 85 – 90% cellulose and Ramie with a range of 87 – 91% cellulose and Hemp with a range of 57 – 77% cellulose. Accordingly, the type of pulp starting material utilized is found to impact the type of chemical composition of the fibers produced, i.e. the cellulose / lignin and Pentosan amounts. (Pg. 8, 3.1 Fiber Length, Table 6) shows the different fiber lengths that can be achieved with the various pulp starting materials, noting that the Cotton, Ramie and Hemp are all found in the top 5 highest averages and ranges. Additionally, the composition is found to impact the different fiber lengths that can be achieved.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing an article by compression molding a dry-laid composite web, wherein said mold comprising transpires in a thermoforming mould comprising two half-molds being axially movable towards each other and maintained until the desired three - dimensional shape has been fixated, of Enarsson as modified by Ingram. By further augmenting and optimizing the starting pulping material, as taught by Han. Highlighting, one would be motivated to optimize and augment the type of starting pulping material as it provides for tailoring the composition of the fiber by changing the amount of cellulose / lignin and pentosan the fiber comprises, (Pg. 4, Table II) and in optimize and augment the type of starting pulping material this tailors the fiber lengths that can be achieved, (Pg. 8, 3.1 Fiber Length, Table 6). Additionally, (Pg. 11, Fig. 9) provides for a table that show that the permeability values for the different fibers are also impacted. Accordingly, due to the impact that the starting pulping material has on tailoring the fiber lengths used in the fibre web structure and the permeability of the fibers. The case law for result effective variables may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CСРА 1980). In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), МРЕР 2143 II (B). Regarding Claim 1, Enarsson as modified by Ingram and Han also teaching that the CTMP web may be fabricated by air-laying process, (Enarsson, Pg. 17, lines 4 – 5).
Regarding Claim 1, Enarsson as modified by Ingram and Han also teaching that the CTMP web may be fabricated by air-laying process, (Enarsson, Pg. 17, lines 4 – 5). Enarsson as modified by Ingram and Han is silent on details regarding forming a cellulose blank structure in an air-forming unit. In analogous art for forming an air-layed mats, (Abstract), Wood suggests details regarding details regarding forming a cellulose blank structure in an air-forming unit, and in this regard, Wood teaches the following:
& h.) (Claim 1) teaches a method of forming a lignocellulosic fiber mat, comprising feeding resin treated lignocellulosic fibers into the upper end of an upright expansion chamber and beneath a stream of air which blows into the upper end of said chamber to direct the fibers downwardly in said chamber... whereby the fibers entering said space between said runs are progressively advanced and compacted between said runs into a fiber mat. As such, the cellulose blank structure is fabricated in an air-forming unit, with air being carrying medium in the air-forming unit.
(Col. 7, lines 58 – 62) teaches that the invention provides an extremely reliable and versatile method for continuously forming lignocellulosic fiber mats, which can be severed and treated to form wooden fiberboard in a known manner. (Col. 1, lines 38 – 41) teaches that the mat can be cut into separate sheets and subjected to high pressure and/or temperature to activate the binder in the fibers to form the final, rigid fiberboard. As such, Wood contemplates further processing of the cellulose fiber's mats produced via pressing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing an article by compression molding a dry-laid composite web, wherein said mold comprising transpires in a thermoforming mould comprising two half-molds being axially movable towards each other and maintained until the desired three-dimensional shape has been fixated, of Enarsson as modified by Ingram and Han. By further augmenting the cellulose blank structure to be fabricated in air-forming unit, as taught by Wood. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implementing a means for forming a cellulose blank structure in an air-forming unit as it provides for mat can be cut into separate sheets and subjected to high pressure and/or temperature to form the final, rigid fiberboard, (Col. 1, lines 38 – 41). Accordingly, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), МРЕР 2143.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein during forming the method further comprises the steps; heating the cellulose blank structure to a forming temperature (TF) in the range of 100 °C to 300 °C; and
applying the forming pressure (PF) on the heated cellulose blank structure,
wherein the forming pressure (PF) is at least 1 MPa.
Enarsson teaches the following:
(Pg. 21, lines 10 – 12) teaches that suitable thermoforming temperature will depend on the specific polymer material comprised in the intermediate web, addition to the softening temperature of CTMP (130 °C). (Pg. 21, lines 16-18) adding that a suitable temperature is in the interval 130-200 °C. As such, the molding/ forming temperature range disclosed is understood to overlap with that of the instant application.
& c.) (Abstract) teaches forming the web in the thermoforming tool by pressing at a pressure of 1-200 MPa. As such, pressure is understood to be applied to the heated cellulose structure.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim ,
Wherein the pressing direction (DP) is arranged parallel to, or essentially parallel to, the axial direction (DA).
Enarsson teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Figs. 2 – 4 & 9), the pressing direction (Dp) is arranged essentially vertical.
Regarding Claim 3, Enarsson also teaching compression moulding the web. Enarsson is silent on implementing a feeding unit and a rotary forming mould system. In analogous art for compression moulding of a plastic article, (Abstract), Ingram suggests details regarding implementing a feeding unit and a rotary forming mould system, and in this regard, Ingram teaches the following:
([0030]) teaches that a turret 12 mounted for rotation about an axis 14 on and with respect to a machine frame 16. As best illustrated in (Figs. 1 & 2) as the turret 12 is found to move about axis 14 in direction 120, as the molds move below the mold charge and cam station (Figs. 3 – 4 & 6), the molds are closed in the vertical pressing direction (Dp) is arranged parallel to the vertical axial rotation direction (DA) about an axis 14.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the first mould part and/or the second mould part comprises a deformation element arranged to exert the forming pressure (PF) on the cellulose blank structure during forming of the cellulose products.
Enarsson teaches the following:
([0022]) teaches that first or male mold segment 54 includes a mold core 58 slidably mounted within a surrounding sleeve 60. Mold core 58 has an end or tip 62 contoured for compression molding the inside surfaces of a closure shell in the embodiment of (Figs. 1-3). Where the mold core 58 acts as applicant's deformation element used to exert the forming pressure.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5,
Wherein the forming pressure (PF) is an isostatic forming pressure of at least 1 MPa.
Enarsson teaches the following:
(Pg. 20, lines 10 – 17) teaches that the heated and preferably moistened web is pressed in the thermoforming tool by a predetermined force, so as to reach its destined three-dimensional shape. A suitable pressure may be in the range 1 – 200 MPa.
Regarding claim(s) 7 & 19 – 20 as applied to claim 1 and claim 7 respectively,
Wherein the cellulose blank structure has a dry basis weight in the range of 200 –3000 g/m2.
wherein the cellulose blank structure has a dry basis weight in the range of 300 –3000 g/m2.
Wherein the cellulose blank structure has a dry basis weight in the range of 400 – 3000 g/m2.
Enarsson teaches the following:
(Pg. 7, lines 20-24) teaches that the calendared CTMP sheet for use in the present invention typically has a grammage of 300 – 800 g/m² but depending on the desired final three-dimensional product a lower grammage may be preferred, such as 100-300 g/m2. Grammage should be selected after the required mechanical properties for the thermoformed product. With (Pg. 31, lines 19 – 20, Example 11) teaches that the porous sheet produced had a total grammage of 750 g/m². As such, the use of a cellulose blank with a dry basis weight/ grammage of 300 – 800 g/m² is understood to be disclosed. Adding, that the dry basis weight/grammage of the cellulose blank is understood to be tailored depending on the required mechanical properties of the article fabricated.
Regarding claim(s) 17 & 18 as applied to claim 2 and 6 respectively,
Wherein the forming pressure (Pr) is 4 – 20 MPa.
Wherein the forming pressure (Pr) is 4 – 20 MPa.
Enarsson teaches the following:
(Abstract) teaches forming the web in the thermoforming tool by pressing at a pressure of 1 – 200 MPa. As such, the molding / forming pressure range disclosed by Enarsson is understood to overlap with the molding / forming pressure range of the instant application.
Regarding claim 23 as applied to claim ,
A method for forming cellulose products from an air-formed cellulose blank structure in a rotary forming mould system,
wherein the rotary forming mould system comprises a base structure and a plurality of forming moulds attached to the base structure,
wherein the base structure is arranged to rotate around a rotational axis (AR) extending in an axial direction (DA),
wherein each forming mould comprises a first mould part and a corresponding second mould part,
wherein during rotational movement of the base structure around the rotational axis (AR) each first mould part is arranged to engage with its corresponding second mould part in a pressing direction (DP),
wherein the method comprises steps of;
providing pre-cut or pre-formed pieces of air-formed cellulose blank structure,
wherein the cellulose blank structure is a fibre web structure containing at least 90 – 99.9% dry wt. cellulose fibres,
wherein the pre-cut or pre-formed pieces of air-formed cellulose blank structure are provided by forming a cellulose blank structure in an air-forming unit,
wherein the cellulose fibres during the forming of the cellulose products are strongly bonded to each other with hydrogen bonds,
wherein the cellulose fibres are carried and formed to the cellulose blank structure by air as carrying medium in the air-forming unit,
wherein the air forming unit is arranged in line with the rotary forming mould system and the air-forming takes place in direct connection to the rotary forming mould system;
arranging a pre-cut or pre-formed piece of cellulose blank structure in a position between a first mould part and its corresponding second mould part by feeding the pre-cut or pre-formed pieces of cellulose blank structure to the forming moulds using a cellulose blank structure feeding unit, and
adding steam or liquid water or 0.1 – 10% dry wt. of one or more an additive in liquid or powder form to the pre-cut or pre-formed pieces of cellulose blank structure in connection to the cellulose blank structure feeding unit,
wherein the one or more additives are altering the mechanical, hydrophobic, and/or oleophobic properties of the cellulose products;
forming the cellulose products from the cellulose blank structure in the rotary forming mould system, by applying a forming pressure (PF) on the cellulose blank structure between the first mould part and its corresponding second mould part through an engaging movement of the first mould part in relation to its corresponding second mould part in the pressing direction (DP),
such that the cellulose blank structure is compacted during the forming process and the cellulose fibres in the three-dimensional cellulose products are strongly bonded to each other with hydrogen bonds,
wherein during forming the method further comprises the steps; heating the cellulose blank structure to a forming temperature in the range of 100 °C to 300 °C; and
applying the forming pressure on the heated cellulose blank structure,
wherein the forming pressure is at least 1 MPa and
wherein during forming the one or more forming moulds are rotating with the base structure around the rotational axis (AR).
Enarsson teaches the following:
(Abstract) teaches forming a dry-laid composite web being an intermediate product for thermoforming of three-dimensionally shaped objects, comprising 40 – 95 wt. % CTMP fibres, 5 – 50 wt. % thermoplastic material, and 0 – 10 wt. % additives. The disclosure includes a process for producing 3D-object from the intermediate web comprising the step. The steps include heating and introducing the web into a thermoforming tool having the desired shape. With (Pg. 18, lines 26-28) adding that polymer films which are commonly used as outer layers on cellulose-fibre based packages. As such, cellulose-fibre are understood to be disclosed. Additionally, steps of providing pre-cut pieces of the cellulose blank structure into the mold is also understood to be provided.
(Abstract & Pg. 8, lines 8 – 10) teaches forming a dry-laid composite web being an intermediate product for thermoforming of three-dimensionally shaped objects, comprising CTMP fibres at 40 – 95 wt. % of the total dry weight of the web. With (Pg. 18, lines 26-28) adding that polymer films which are commonly used as outer layers on cellulose-fibre based packages. As such, the use of 40 – 95 wt. % CTMP (cellulose) fibres is understood to be disclosed. Highlighting, that 40 – 95 wt. % CTMP (cellulose) fibres is understood to overlap with applicant’s range of the a fibre web structure containing at least 90 – 99.9% dry wt. cellulose fibres.
& j.) (Pg. 17, lines 4 – 5) teaches that the additives can be added during the air laying process of the CTMP web or preferably during impregnation. As such, the CTMP web is understood to be fabricated by an air-laying process.
& o.) (Pg. 20, lines 11 – 14) teaches that the heated and preferably moistened web is pressed in the thermoforming tool by a predetermined force, so as to reach its destined three-dimensional shape. A suitable pressure may be in the range 1-200 MPa. The final degree of bonding in the CTMP fibre web depends strongly on the achieved density after compression, and thus the applied pressure during thermoforming. Highlighting, that the use of the same type of materials is understood to be utilized, i.e., cellulose fibers. As such, the cellulose fibers are understood to be strongly bonded to each other with hydrogen bonds.
(Pg. 20, lines 20 -24) teaches that a thermoforming tool for use in the thermoforming according to the invention may typically include a mould cavity (female part) and a pressing tool (male part). The pressing tool forces the intermediate web into the mould cavity. As such, a first mould part and its corresponding second mould part are understood to be provided. With the (Abstract) teaching that the disclosure includes a process for producing 3D-object from the intermediate web comprising the step. The steps include heating and introducing the web into a thermoforming tool having the desired shape. With (Pg. 12, lines 8-14) teaching that the thermoplastic material can serve a dual purpose, in addition to bind the CTMP fibres during thermoforming, it also serves to preliminarily bind the CTMP fibres in the low-density intermediate web, to facilitate handling and transport of the intermediate web. As such, the intermediate web (prior to thermoforming) is understood to be handleable / capable of being carried. (Pg. 28, lines 14 15) teaches that an intermediate sheet as obtained in Example 1 was cut into a 13 x 13 cm sample piece. The sample was preheated in an oven at 170°C for 10 min. Then the sample was placed into a mould, the mould was then closed and loaded in the hot press. (Claim 16) teaching that the web is cut into blanks before being introduced into a form-shaping tool. As such, arranging a pre-cut or pore-formed piece of cellulose blank structure in a position between a first mould part and its corresponding second mould part by feeding the pre-cut or pre-formed pieces of cellulose blank structure to the forming moulds is understood to be disclosed. Highlighting, that placement of pre-cut pieces of cellulose blank structure into the forming moulds is understood to be capably accomplished manual activity. As such, the case law for automating a manual activity namely, automating the feeding the pre-cut pieces of cellulose blank structure to the forming moulds using a feeding unit may be recited. Where, the court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means (Note: with no specific) to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (ССРА 1958).
(Pg. 20, lines 2 – 4) teaches that during thermoforming the web is treated with water, preferably by spraying hot water or flowing steam over the sheet, the temperature preferably being 90 – 100 °С. (Abstract) teaches 0 – 10 wt-% additives may be added to the dry-laid composite web fabricated.
It should be noted that (l) requires one of / either of steam or liquid water or 0.1 – 10% dry wt. of one or more an additive. As such, the use of an additive is understood to be optional. However, (Pg. 15, lines 14 – 15) teaches that a cross-linking polymer could be added as an additive for either further stiffening of the shaped three-dimensional products. As such, the cross-linking polymer additive is understood to impact the mechanical properties of the cellulose product.
(Pg. 20, lines 11 – 14) teaches that the heated and preferably moistened web is pressed in the thermoforming tool by a predetermined force, so as to reach it’s in destined three-dimensional shape. A suitable pressure may be in the range 1-200 MPa. The final degree of bonding in the CTMP fibre web depends strongly on the achieved density after compression, and thus the applied pressure during thermoforming.
(Pg. 21, lines 10 – 12) teaches that suitable thermoforming temperature will depend on the specific polymer material comprised in the intermediate web, addition to the softening temperature of CTMP (130 °C). (Pg. 21, lines 16-18) adding that a suitable temperature is in the interval 130 – 200 °C. As such, the molding/ forming temperature range disclosed is understood to overlap with that of the instant application.
& r.) (Abstract) teaches forming the web in the thermoforming tool by pressing at a pressure of 1 – 200 MPa. As such, pressure of 1 – 200 MPa is understood to be applied to the heated cellulose structure that overlaps with that of the instant application.
Regarding Claim 23, Enarsson also teaching compression moulding the web. Enarsson is silent on the rotary forming mould system arrangement and structure including implementing a feeding unit and a rotary forming mould system. In analogous art for compression moulding of a plastic article, (Abstract), Ingram suggests details regarding the rotary forming mould system arrangement and structure including implementing a feeding unit and a rotary forming mould system, and in this regard, Ingram teaches the following:
([0031]) teaches that a lower tooling assembly 50 includes a slide 52 having axially spaced bearings 54 that slidably embrace shaft 24 between turret plates 20, 22 beneath and in opposition to each upper tooling assembly 32. A cavity bracket 56 is mounted on each slide 52 and carries a plurality of cavity holders 58 (four in the illustrated embodiment) that form the female mold sections that oppose cores 46 of the associated upper tool assembly 32 so as to form complete cavities for compression molding of the desired articles. As such, the lower tooling assembly 50 includes a plurality of cavity holders 58 that form the female mold sections that oppose cores 46 of the associated upper tool assembly 32 so as to form complete cavities for compression molding of the desired articles.
& s.) ([0032]) teaches that as turret 12 and tooling assembly pairs 32, 50 move in direction 120 in an endless circular path (Fig. 2) about turret axis 14, mold charges are placed by a charge mechanism 66 (Figs. 2 & 8 – 9) onto cavity holders 58 when the cavities are in the open condition illustrated in (Figs. 2 and 9).
([0030]) teaches that an upper tool holder 44 is carried by each actuator 34 and slidably mounted on center turret plate 20. Each tool holder 44 includes an array of mold cores 46 (four in the illustrated embodiment) slidable in associated core sleeves 48 and having lower ends that form the male portions of the compression mold cavities. As best illustrated in (Figs. 3-4 & 6) the upper tool holder 44 and lower tooling assembly 50 as shown in an open position (Fig. 3) and closed position (Fig. 4), with (Fig. 6) showing the molding procedure in its entirety.
([0032]) teaches that continued rotation of the turret brings rollers 36, 61 into engagement with upper and lower forming cams 38, 60, which in turn are contoured so as to move tooling assemblies 32, 50 toward each other and thereby bring cores 46 into compression cavity-forming engagement with cavity holders 58 and the mold charges placed therein. The tooling assemblies are then held in this closed position as the turret continues to rotate so as to compression mold and cure the charges placed in the mold cavities into articles of the desired contour. In the apparatus disclosed in the referenced patent, this is accomplished by continued engagement of rollers 36, 61 with cams 38, 60. As the tools rotate about the turret axis toward the end of the forming cycle, the contours of cams 38, 60 are such as to release mold pressure on the cavities, and tooling assemblies 32, 50 are moved away from each other by means of cams 42, 64 and cam rollers 40, 62 carried by the upper and lower tooling assemblies respectively. As such, during rotational movement of the base structure around the rotational axis (AR) each first mould part is arranged to engage with its corresponding second mould part in a pressing direction (DP).
(Claim 4) teaches the system includes means for severing charges of plastic extrudate at said outlets and delivering said charges to said at least two female mold cavities. (Claim 10) teaches the system includes a means for severing charges of plastic and delivering said charges substantially simultaneously to the at least two female mold cavities of each female mold tool in turn as each tool passes beneath said system. As such, the severing charges of plastic charges is understood to provide for a pre-cut piece of cellulose blank structure in a position between a first mould part and its corresponding second mould part by feeding the pre-cut or pre-formed pieces of cellulose blank structure to the forming moulds using a cellulose blank structure feeding unit. ([0037]) teaches that mold pellet wheel assembly 140. The arrays of nests 142, 144 are disposed on respective radially adjacent annular wheel sections 146, 148. (Fig. 9) is a schematic representation of wheel 140 having two nests 142, 144 a diametrically opposed pair of nests 142, 144 overlying the mold cavities 59 into which the mold charges are being positioned. Two pellet cups or nests 142, 144 simultaneously align with two cavities 59 within lower tooling assembly 50. As pellet wheel 140 continues to rotate, an adjacent pair of pellet cups move into alignment with the remaining two cavities within the cluster, and pellets are discharged into the cavities. As such, the wheel assembly 140 provides for the severing of pre-heated plastic charges and providing said a pre-cut piece of plastic structure in a position between a first mould part and its corresponding second mould part by the wheel assembly 140 / feeding unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing an article by compression molding a dry-laid composite web, wherein said mold comprising transpires in a thermoforming mould comprising two half-molds being axially movable towards each other and maintained until the desired three-dimensional shape has been fixated, of Enarsson. By modifying the compression mould to include a feeding unit for severing/ cutting of pre-heated plastic and delivering said pre-heated plastic simultaneously to the at least two female mold cavities of the compression mold and altering the compression mould to include a rotational wheel with correspond mold section, as taught by Ingram. Highlighting, implementing of an extruder nozzle and cutter provides for severing mold charges from an extruder nozzle allowing for the mold charges to be transported from the nozzle and into the molds, (Claim 4 & Claim 10) and providing a rotational wheel with correspond mold section allows for continuous manufacturing of the articles, and reduce the amount of floor space required per machine, ([0004] – [0005]). Additionally, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results allows for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).Regarding Claim 23, Enarsson as modified by Ingram teaches forming fibers by СТМР of wood-based pulp, (Enarsson, Pg. 7, lines 7 -9). Enarsson as modified by Ingram is silent on implementing fibers that comprise at least 70% cellulose. In analogous art for fabricating fibers from a potential sources of pulping material including wood, amongst others, (Abstract), Han suggests details regarding implementing various different types of pulp materials, and in this regard, Han teaches the following:
(Pg. 4, Table 2) shows a variety of different types of pulp starting materials that fibers that can be fabricated from. As detailed, Wood is found to have an amount of cellulose ranging from 40 – 49%, which is slightly below that of applicant's cellulose amount required. However, alternatives provided include Cotton Seed Hull with a range of 85 – 90% cellulose and Ramie with a range of 87 – 91% cellulose and Hemp with a range of 57 – 77% cellulose. Accordingly, the type of pulp starting material utilized is found to impact the type of chemical composition of the fibers produced, i.e. the cellulose / lignin and Pentosan amounts. (Pg. 8, 3.1 Fiber Length, Table 6) shows the different fiber lengths that can be achieved with the various pulp starting materials, noting that the Cotton, Ramie and Hemp are all found in the top 5 highest averages and ranges. Additionally, the composition is found to impact the different fiber lengths that can be achieved.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing an article by compression molding a dry-laid composite web, wherein said mold comprising transpires in a thermoforming mould comprising two half-molds being axially movable towards each other and maintained until the desired three-dimensional shape has been fixated, of Enarsson as modified by Ingram. By further augmenting and optimizing the starting pulping material, as taught by Han. Highlighting, one would be motivated to optimize and augment the type of starting pulping material as it provides for tailoring the composition of the fiber by changing the amount of cellulose / lignin and pentosan the fiber comprises, (Pg. 4, Table II) and in optimize and augment the type of starting pulping material this tailors the fiber lengths that can be achieved, (Pg. 8, 3.1 Fiber Length, Table 6). Additionally, (Pg. 11, Fig. 9) provides for a table that show that the permeability values for the different fibers are also impacted. Accordingly, due to the impact that the starting pulping material has on tailoring the fiber lengths used in the fibre web structure and the permeability of the fibers. The case law for result effective variables may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CСРА 1980). In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), МРЕР 2143 II (B). Regarding Claim 1, Enarsson as modified by Ingram and Han also teaching that the CTMP web may be fabricated by air-laying process, (Enarsson, Pg. 17, lines 4 – 5).
Regarding Claim 23, Enarsson as modified by Ingram and Han also teaching that the CTMP web may be fabricated by air-laying process, (Enarsson, Pg. 17, lines 4 – 5). Enarsson as modified by Ingram and Han is silent on details regarding forming a cellulose blank structure in an air-forming unit. In analogous art for forming an air-layed mats, (Abstract), Wood suggests details regarding details regarding forming a cellulose blank structure in an air-forming unit, and in this regard, Wood teaches the following:
& i.) (Claim 1) teaches a method of forming a lignocellulosic fiber mat, comprising feeding resin treated lignocellulosic fibers into the upper end of an upright expansion chamber and beneath a stream of air which blows into the upper end of said chamber to direct the fibers downwardly in said chamber... whereby the fibers entering said space between said runs are progressively advanced and compacted between said runs into a fiber mat. As such, the cellulose blank structure is fabricated in an air-forming unit, with air being carrying medium in the air-forming unit.
(Col. 7, lines 58 – 62) teaches that the invention provides an extremely reliable and versatile method for continuously forming lignocellulosic fiber mats, which can be severed and treated to form wooden fiberboard in a known manner. (Col. 1, lines 38 – 41) teaches that the mat can be cut into separate sheets and subjected to high pressure and/or temperature to activate the binder in the fibers to form the final, rigid fiberboard. As such, Wood contemplates further processing of the cellulose fiber's mats produced via pressing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing an article by compression molding a dry-laid composite web, wherein said mold comprising transpires in a thermoforming mould comprising two half-molds being axially movable towards each other and maintained until the desired three-dimensional shape has been fixated, of Enarsson as modified by Ingram and Han. By further augmenting the cellulose blank structure to be fabricated in air-forming unit, as taught by Wood. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implementing a means for forming a cellulose blank structure in an air-forming unit as it provides for mat can be cut into separate sheets and subjected to high pressure and/or temperature to form the final, rigid fiberboard, (Col. 1, lines 38 – 41). Accordingly, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application of known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), МРЕР 2143. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sowden et al. (US 20030086973 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Systems, methods and apparatuses for manufacturing dosage forms, and to dosage forms made using such systems, methods and apparatuses are provided. Novel compression, thermal cycle molding, and thermal setting molding modules are disclosed. One or more of such modules may be linked, preferably via novel transfer device, into an overall system for making dosage forms.
Sowden et al. (US 20030124183 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Systems, methods and apparatuses for manufacturing dosage forms, and to dosage forms made using such systems, methods and apparatuses are provided. Novel compression, thermal cycle molding, and thermal setting molding modules are disclosed. One or more of such modules may be linked, preferably via novel transfer device, into an overall system for making dosage forms.
Yang et al. (US 6042754 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that the present invention relates to making optical articles such as ophthalmic lenses by molding and, in particular, to using a continuous extrusion-compression molding method to make plastic lenses whereby a polymer melt is fed from an extruder or melting apparatus to a first die of a plurality of rotating or conveyed sequentially processed compression die sets comprising a first die and a second die.
Stevenson et al. (US 2813303 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) that the this invention relates to molding apparatus and more particularly to a machine for mass-producing small, molded articles such as plastic caps for bottles and the like. It is an object of this invention to provide a molding apparatus capable of efficiently mass-producing.
Takano et al. (US 20090267272 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) An apparatus for supplying synthetic resins applicable to a metal mold wheel that rotates at a high speed. A cutter of a cutter unit and a holding fitting are attached to an air cylinder, so that the cutter unit can be advanced and retreated in the radial direction of rotation. When the molten resin is stably blown out from an extrusion nozzle, the air cylinder is expanded to move the cutter to an advanced position to cut the molten resin.
Yonesato et al. (US 20140010906 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A compression-forming system comprising a molten resin mass-feeding device equipped with the holding portions for holding the molten resin masses, a compression-forming machine equipped with the metal molds, and a molten resin mass position detector, wherein said molten resin mass position detector is a temperature sensor, and said temperature sensor measures the temperature of a portion on the outer side of an allowable range in which the molten resin masses are fed to the metal molds, and judges the presence of the molten resin masses on said portion by the temperature of said portion of the metal molds to detect that the molten resin masses are defectively handed over.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743