Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species containing boron nitride and carbon nanotubes in claims 1-2 and 4-20 in the reply filed on 11/21/2025 is acknowledged.
Status of the Claims
Claim 3 is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s Election filed 11/21/2025. Claims 1-2 and 3-20 are pending and examined herein.
Priority
This application, filed 02/21/2022, is a 371 of PCT/US2020/047378, filed 08/21/2020, which claims benefit of 62/889,691, filed 08/21/2019, and is a CIP of PCT/US2020/035568 and PCT/US2020/035574, both filed on 06/01/2020. This benefit is acknowledged and the claims examined herein are treated as having an effective filing date of 08/21/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed 02/21/2022, 03/16/2022, and 06/24/2025 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a second linker having a second end connected to the nanomaterial carrier” and “a biomolecule connected to the second end of the second linker”. It is not clear how two separate components of the claimed compound, the nanomaterial carrier and the biomolecule, would be connected to the same end of the second linker. For purposes of compact prosecution, the claims will be interpreted to mean that the carrier is connected to the first end of the linker and the biomolecule is connected to the second end of the linker, consistent with Figure 1A of the application; however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 further recites “the biomolecule is configured to connect to a cluster of differentiation”; however, it is not clear how the generic biomolecule “is configured to connect to” its target. There are a variety of mechanisms by which a biomolecule could be configured to connect to a target, including van der waals interaction, polar/non-polar interactions, covalent interaction, non-covalent interaction, physical interaction, protein-ligand interaction, etc. For purposes of compact prosecution, this will be interpreted to mean antibody or aptamer-based ligand interaction, consistent with embodiments in the specification; however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2010/0069606 A1, “TUBULAR NANOSTRUCTURE TARGETED TO CELL MEMBRANE” (published 03/18/2010, referred to herein as Bangera).
Regarding claim 1, “configured to connect to a cluster of differentiation of an extracellular vesicle” is considered an intended use of the biomolecule. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and a further limitation merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then that limitation is not considered a limitation of significance to claim construction. In order words, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02 II. In this case, for example, any antibody would be considered to be capable of binding to a cluster of differentiation of an extracellular vesicle, regardless of whether it is explicitly disclosed whether it is being used to bind to a cluster of differentiation of an extracellular vesicle.
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 9-11, Bangera teaches a compound comprising a boron nitride nanotube carrier (para. 0024, lines 1-5). Bangera teaches the compound comprises a fluorescent entity (para. 0090, lines 1-4) and an antibody (para. 0067, lines 1-2). Bangera teaches that the nanotube is functionalized by linkers, such as DSPE-PEG2000 (para. 0046, lines 15-27), to connect components to the nanotube.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Bangera teaches that the nanotube is functionalized by linkers via covalent binding (para. 0047, lines 1-4) through the use of functional groups (para. 0048, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 6, Bangera teaches the covalent binding of biomolecules to the nanotube (para. 0048, lines 8-9).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Bangera teaches non-covalently binding the linker to the nanotube (para. 0046, lines 1-5). Bangera teaches the linker is amphiphilic and that the hydrophobic region is non-covalently bound to the surface of the nanotube (para. 0046, lines 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bangera in view of Ciravolo et al., “Potential Role of HER2-Overexpressing Exosomes in Countering Trastuzumab-Based Therapy” Journal of Cellular Physiology (published 04/04/2011, referred to herein as Ciravolo).
Regarding claim 12, Bangera teaches a method of detecting tumor cells comprising linking a fluorescent marker and an antibody configured to target HER-2 to a nanotube (para. 0179, lines 1-6), connecting the nanotube compound to the target cells, and detecting the marked target with fluorescent imaging (para. 0178, lines 3-10).
Regarding claim 13, Bangera teaches that the nanotube is a boron nitride nanotube (para. 0024, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 14, Bangera teaches that the nanotube is functionalized by linkers via covalent binding (para. 0047, lines 1-4) through the use of functional groups (para. 0048, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 15, Bangera teaches the covalent binding of biomolecules to the nanotube (para. 0048, lines 8-9).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Bangera teaches non-covalently binding the linker to the nanotube (para. 0046, lines 1-5). Bangera teaches the linker is amphiphilic and that the hydrophobic region is non-covalently bound to the surface of the nanotube (para. 0046, lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 18-20, Bangera teaches that the boron nitride nanotube is functionalized by linkers, such as DSPE-PEG2000 (para. 0046, lines 15-27), to connect components to the nanotube.
However, Bangera does not teach a method of using the nanotube compound to detect extracellular vesicles (claim 12).
Ciravolo teaches that HER-2 is expressed on extracellular vesicles released from cancer cells (p. 659, col. 1, para. 1, lines 24-26). Ciravolo teaches that measuring HER-2 exosome levels is important to determine whether a HER-2 positive breast cancer patient is likely to benefit from Trastuzumab treatment (p. 664, col. 1, para. 2, lines 13-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of HER-2 expressing tumor cell detection taught by Bangera by detecting HER-2 expressing exosomes as taught by Ciravolo. An artisan would have been motivated to make this modification because, as taught by Ciravolo, measuring HER-2 exosome levels is important to determine whether a HER-2 positive breast cancer patient is likely to benefit from Trastuzumab treatment (p. 664, col. 1, para. 2, lines 13-17). An artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making this change because, as taught by Ciravolo, the target exosomes express HER-2 and the nanotube compound taught by Bangera is intended to detect HER-2 on lipid membranes, such as those of exosomes.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11 of U.S. Patent No.12,544,462 (referred to herein as ‘462). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound claimed by ‘462 is a species of the genus claimed by the instant application. In this case, the compound of ‘462 anticipates the claimed compound in the instant application.
Regarding instant claim 1, ‘462 claims a compound comprising a nanomaterial carrier (claim 1, line 2), a first linker connected to the carrier (claim 1, line 3), a second linker connected to the carrier (claim 1, line 4), a fluorescent entity connected to the first linker (claim 1, line 7), and a biomolecule configured to connect to a cluster of differentiation, i.e. a biomarker, connected to a linker (claim 1, lines 14-15).
Instant claim 2 is disclosed by ‘462 claim 2.
Instant claim 3 is disclosed by ‘462 claim 3.
Instant claim 4 is disclosed by ‘462 claim 4.
Instant claim 5 is disclosed by ‘462 claim 5.
Instant claim 6 is disclosed by ‘462 claim 6.
Instant claim 7 is disclosed by ‘462 claim 7.
Instant claim 8 is disclosed by ‘462 claim 8.
Instant claim 9 is disclosed by ‘462 claim 9.
Instant claim 11 is disclosed by ‘462 claim 11.
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17,615,441 (referred to herein as ‘441) in view of Bangera.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-6 of the instant application, ‘441 claims a compound comprising a boron nitride nanotube, a fluorescent entity covalently linked to the nanotube with a linker, and a second linker covalently attached to the nanotube (‘441 claim 1).
‘441 does not disclose a biomolecule configured to connect to a CD attached to the second linker.
Bangera teaches attaches a biomolecule configured to connect to a CD to a boron nitride nanotube (para. 0067, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound disclosed by ‘441 by attaching a biomolecule to the linker as taught by Bangera. An artisan would have been motivated to make this modification with a reasonable expectation of success because, as taught by Bangera, compounds with fluorescent moieties and biomolecules covalently attached to boron nitride nanotubes are useful for the detection of biomarkers (Bangera para. 0178, lines 1-10).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/C.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/BAO-THUY L NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1677 February 18, 2026