DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on the record are in compliance with the content requirements of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98 and have been considered.
Election/Restriction
Claims 12-20 were withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention. The election was made without traverse on 03/03/2026.
Claims 1-11 are considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 6, 11 and all claims depending therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation " a selected one of the proximal and distal anchor ends being connected to the distal or proximal device end [of body of the medical microdevice], respectively" is unclear because the claimed invention is directed only to "an anchoring apparatus for a medical microdevice", and does not positively recite a medical microdevice. Therefore, it is unclear whether the anchor ends are connected to a distal or proximal device end, or merely capable of this function.
Claims 4 and 6 are similarly rejected for reciting "a round base connected to the distal device end [of the body of the medical microdevice]" and " the proximal anchor end is connected to the distal device end [of the body of the medical microdevice]", respectively.
Claim 11 is similarly rejected for reciting "a selected one of the proximal anchor hub and the distal anchor hub being directly attached to the distal device end [of the body of the medical microdevice] or the proximal device end [of the body of the medical microdevice], respectively".
Claims 2, 3, 5 and 7-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saadat et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,363,938, hereinafter "Saadat").
Regarding claim 1, Saadat discloses an anchoring apparatus for medical microdevice (stent 12 and wire 126; see Figs. 1 and 12), the medical microdevice including a body having longitudinally spaced proximal and distal device ends and a guidewire extending proximally from the proximal device end (see Fig. 12B), the anchoring apparatus comprising:
a selectively expandable anchor 20 (see Figs. 1-2) having longitudinally spaced proximal and distal anchor ends, a selected one of the proximal and distal anchor ends being connected to the distal or proximal device end, respectively (the proximal end of anchor is connected to the distal end of microdevice),
wherein the anchor self-expands from a collapsed insertion condition (see col. 7 lines 8-11) to an expanded anchoring condition after insertion into a body tissue (see Figs. 1 and 2) to resist post-implantation motion of the microdevice.
Regarding claim 2, Saadat discloses the anchoring apparatus of claim 1, configured to maintain the medical microdevice implanted in a body tissue with the guidewire protruding proximally through a skin surface from the body tissue into ambient space adjacent the skin surface (interpreted to be functional, since the anchoring apparatus does not positively require the inclusion of a medical microdevice; the wire in this instance can protrude proximally through skin surface).
Regarding claim 3, Saadat discloses the anchoring apparatus of claim 1, wherein the expandable anchor is a first anchor, and the anchoring apparatus includes a second mechanical anchor 18 (see Fig. 2) configured to resist post-implantation motion of the medical microdevice.
Regarding claim 4, Saadat discloses the anchoring apparatus of claim 3, wherein the second mechanical anchor has a conical aspect with an apex located at a distalmost portion thereof and a round base connected to the distal device end (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Saadat discloses the anchoring apparatus of claim 1, wherein the proximal anchor end is connected to the distal device end (the proximal end of anchor is connected to the distal end of microdevice, as shown in Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Saadat discloses the anchoring apparatus of claim 1, wherein the expandable anchor includes a plurality of struts formed from a self-expanding material, each strut extending longitudinally and configured for selective self-expansion from the collapsed insertion condition to the expanded anchoring condition within the body tissue.
Regarding claim 8, Saadat discloses the anchoring apparatus of claim 1, wherein the expandable anchor includes a mesh tube formed from a self-expanding material, the mesh tube extending longitudinally and configured for selective self-expansion from the collapsed insertion condition to the expanded anchoring condition within the body tissue (see col. 5, lines 18-27 and col. 7, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 9, Saadat discloses the anchoring apparatus of claim 1, wherein the expandable anchor includes a mesh tube carrying an expandable material therein (balloon element 38 disposed within expandable mesh portion 20; see Fig. 4B), the mesh tube extending longitudinally and configured for selective expansion from the collapsed insertion condition to the expanded anchoring condition within the body tissue due to externally-directed force upon the mesh tube from post-implantation expansion of the expandable material (see col. 6, lines 22-32).
Regarding claim 10, Saadat discloses the anchoring apparatus of claim 1, wherein the expandable anchor includes an expandable balloon 38 (see Fig. 4B) having a fluid reservoir associated therewith, the expandable balloon being configured for expansion from the collapsed insertion condition to the expanded anchoring condition within the body tissue due to transfer of fluid from the fluid reservoir to the balloon (see col. 6, lines 22-32).
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Molaei (U.S. Pub. 2014/0128905 A1, hereinafter "Molaei").
Regarding claim 1, Molaei discloses an anchoring apparatus for medical microdevice, the medical microdevice including a body having longitudinally spaced proximal and distal device ends and a guidewire extending proximally from the proximal device end (it is noted that the claimed anchoring apparatus does not positively require the medical microdevice and/or the guidewire), the anchoring apparatus comprising:
a selectively expandable anchor 52 or 56 (see Fig. 8) having longitudinally spaced proximal and distal anchor ends, a selected one of the proximal and distal anchor ends being connected to the distal or proximal device end, respectively (the proximal end of anchor is able to connector to the distal end of a microdevice);
wherein the anchor self-expands from a collapsed insertion condition to an expanded anchoring condition after insertion into a body tissue (see para [0035]) to resist post-implantation motion of the microdevice (interpreted to be functional; the expansion of the anchor would be able to resist post-implantation motion of a microdevice to which the anchor is attached).
Regarding claim 3, Molaei discloses the anchoring apparatus of claim 1, wherein the expandable anchor is a first anchor, and the anchoring apparatus includes a second mechanical anchor 56 (see Fig. 8) configured to resist post-implantation motion of the medical microdevice (interpreted to be functional; the expansion of the anchor would be able to resist post-implantation motion of a microdevice to which the anchor is attached).
Regarding claim 5, Molaei discloses the anchoring apparatus of claim 3, wherein the second mechanical anchor is at least one angled wire made of a self-expanding material which moves inside the body tissue from a straight insertion configuration to a bent anchoring configuration (see para [0035]).
Regarding claim 11, Molaei discloses the anchoring apparatus of claim 1, wherein the expandable anchor includes proximal and distal anchor hubs, a selected one of the proximal anchor hub and the distal anchor hub being directly attached to the distal device end or the proximal device end, respectively, the proximal and distal anchor hubs moving longitudinally relatively toward one another during expansion of the expandable anchor (hubs 54 and 60 move relatively toward one another when the anchor 52 expands).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited.
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 03/16/2026