DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-11, 13-16, and 26-30 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 28-30, it is not clear what is meant by “difference between relative amounts”, the “calculating” steps, or the amount “based on the calculated renewable content”. It is further unclear how the calculation that uses a value “corresponding to the renewable content” and then “the renewable content is proved in the quantity calculated in c”. It is not clear what units of measure are used, how the values are measured, and it is unclear what type of calculation is performed. It is unclear what calculation is performed. Further, by “based on”, it is unclear if there is further math performed, further determination steps, or something else. It is unclear what the steps are being performed. Examiner inquires if there is a portion of the instant specification describing the calculation in more detail in a way that could help provide clarity. Examiner additionally notes that it is unclear if 101 rejections apply, as it is unclear what the claim language covers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foody (US 2015/0225233) alone, or further in view of Gudde (US 2011/0068047) or alternatively in view of Hunter (US 5,447,621).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 10, Foody teaches a) providing renewable hydrogen [0078]; b) selectively directing the renewable hydrogen to one or more hydroprocessing units in a fuel production facility comprising a plurality of hydroprocessing units to provide one or more transportation fuel products [0088], [0090-000107]. Foody teaches the products comprise renewable content [0019]. Foody teaches renewable hydrogen and renewable fuel contributes to the renewable content of the fuel in order to meet established renewable fuel targets set by governments [0021]. Foody teaches running the process in order to allow for generation of renewable fuel credits by meeting GHG profile, RFS, RIN, etc [0128-0130], which Examiner considers to be indicative of determining renewable fuel content. Examiner considers determination of amount of feed/and products to be within the skill of the person having ordinary skill in the art, in order to keep track of reactants needed and product quantity for economic consideration (sales).
Foody teaches that the non-renewable hydrogen can be used for hydrodesulfurization of crude oil derived liquid hydrocarbons, and that the desulfurized hydrocarbons can be further hydrotreated with renewable hydrogen [0020]. In this regard, Examiner considers the Foody further hydrotreatment to read on the claimed “hydrofinishing”. Further, Foody teaches that renewable hydrogen can be utilized in hydrogenation reactions, which include “without limitation, any reaction in which hydrogen is added to a crude oil derived liquid hydrocarbon through a chemical bond or linkage to a carbon atom” [0088]. In this regard, Foody teaches feeding renewable hydrogen to any one (or more) hydrotreatment reactors.
Further, Gudde teaches that hydrofinishing is a type of hydrotreatment known in the art and incorporated into refining facilities [0090]. Hydrofinishing is the final polishing step, and thus Examiner considers the hydrofinishing to read on the claim limitations that require the first hydrotreater to be “not upstream of any unit operation that provides a chemical reaction that materially modifies the crude oil derived liquid hydrocarbon therein”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the renewable hydrogen for hydrofinishing disclosed by Foody or Gudde, while non-renewable hydrogen can be used in the other processes.
Further, Foody teaches that the renewable hydrogen is utilized in order to obtain renewable fuel credits [0126-0154]. In this regard, Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected an appropriate amount of renewable hydrogen to be used in the refinery, for the benefit of obtaining the desired fuel credits.
Examiner additionally considers the hydrotreatment steps claimed to be well known hydrotreatment known in the art, that would be suitable for Foody hydrogenation reactions, which include “without limitation, any reaction in which renewable hydrogen is added to a crude oil derived liquid hydrocarbon through a chemical bond or linkage to a carbon atom” [0088].
Alternatively, Hunter teaches a refinery having a hydrocracker 18 followed by a hydrotreater 88 to produce products (see figure, column 5, line 15-column 7, line 40). The hydrotreater can be hydrodesulfurization (column 8, lines 5-15). Examiner notes that Hunter hydrotreatment to meet the Foody limitations of any reaction in which hydrogen is added to a crude oil derived liquid hydrocarbon through a chemical bond or linkage to a carbon atom” [0088]. Examiner considers Hunter hydrotreatment/hydrodesulfurization zone to read on a reactor that is not upstream of any other chemical reaction that materially modifies the product, and the hydrocracking reactor to read on a reactor that is upstream of the hydrodesulfurization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have fed renewable hydrogen to the hydrotreament zone of Hunter, since Foody teaches renewable hydrogen can be used in desulfurization processes [0093-0094]. Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected an appropriate amount of renewable hydrogen to be used in the refinery, for the benefit of obtaining the desired fuel credits.
Regarding claims 4- 11 and 13-15, Foody teaches sending the renewable hydrogen to distillate hydrotreaters [0094-0096]. Foody teaches fuel range products include for motor vehicle engines [0113], which Examiner considers to encompass diesel. Examiner notes that the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to appropriately selected the amount of renewable hydrogen fed to each unit, in order to achieve the desired conversions, environmental and economic benefits. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
It is further expected that the same amount of renewable energy would end up in the diesel product, since the same process steps as claimed are disclosed. It is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the process steps in this regard.
Examiner additionally considers the hydrotreatment steps claimed to be well known hydrotreatment known in the art, that would be suitable for Foody hydrogenation reactions, which include “without limitation, any reaction in which renewable hydrogen is added to a crude oil derived liquid hydrocarbon through a chemical bond or linkage to a carbon atom” [0088].
Regarding claim 16, Foody teaches the fuel production facility is an oil refinery [[0086]-[0101].
Regarding claims 26-30, Foody teaches the limitations of claim 1 and 13-15 above. Further, Foody teaches that the hydrogen can be produced from reforming renewable natural gas [0077-0079]. Foody teaches that renewable feeds may be combined with non renewable feeds [0019]. ]. Foody teaches running the process in order to allow for generation of renewable fuel credits by meeting GHG profile, RFS, RIN, etc [0128-0130], which Examiner considers to be indicative of determining renewable fuel content. Foody teaches refining units including isomerization, reforming, alkylation, or cracking [0110], [0089].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected amounts of renewable and fossil feeds, based off of availability, economic factors, and to meet environmental standards. Examiner additionally notes that yield has been addressed with respect to claims above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 May 2026 have been fully considered and are addressed by the updated rejections as necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Application 18578697 – related application drawn to renewable hydrogen fed to hydroprocessing
Marker (US 2019/0144274) – teaches mixing renewable and non renewable feeds to reduce carbon foot print [0042], [0054], in order to provide hydrogen to various hydrotreatment processes [0029].
Reddy (US 2004/0255778) -teaches steam methane reforming, water gas shift, and PSA in order to obtain purified hydrogen (see figures).
Guo (US 2005/0150820) – teaches integration of hydroprocessing units with units to obtain high purity hydrogen [0019], [0026].
Matson (US 2004/0224396) -teaches producing hydrogen from renewable methane [0011] by steam reforming, cryogenic separation, PSA, and membrane [0047], and using the hydrogen to hydrogenate oils [0058].
Hsu (US 2017/0130582) -teaches natural gas or renewable feeds to produce hydrogen for industrial use (see figure).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771