DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group 1 comprising claims 1 – 13 and 15 – 18 in the reply filed on 12/9/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 19 – 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/9/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 9 and 14 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qinhong Wang et al. (CN 108020490A; hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a device (paragraphs 78 – 119; figures 1- 12) for driving a cell processing chip (droplet microfluidic chip 2), the cell processing chip being configured to process a cell, the device comprising:
a bearing member (bearing platform 37) configured to carry the cell processing chip (droplet microfluidic chip 2);
an accommodating member (syringe 12) in fluid communication with the cell processing chip and including a space for accommodating a sample or reagent;
a fluid driving member (microfluidic controller 11 which can be configured as a microfluidic syringe pump and actuator 13; paragraph 24) configured to drive flow of fluid in the device and in the cell processing chip;
a signal generating and processing member (signal acquisition and analysis system 4; paragraph 105) configured to apply a signal to a fluid in the cell processing chip to generate a response signal associated with the fluid, and configured to issue a control instruction in response to the response signal; and
a power supply configured to supply power (it is implicit that the control box 33 which includes a main power switch 331 includes a power supply is provided to power and operate the various device components; paragraphs 104 and 108) to the fluid driving member and the signal generating and processing member, and configured to apply a sorting signal to the cell processing chip in response to the control instruction (automatic feeding, detection and sorting; paragraphs 13, 16, 33 and 120).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the signal generating and processing member (signal acquisition and analysis system 4; paragraph 105) comprises:
a light source (laser excitation module 31; paragraph 100) configured to provide an optical signal to the fluid in the cell processing chip through an optical transmission medium;
an optical sensor (photodetection system 3 comprising image sensor camera 324; paragraph 102) configured to receive a response signal of the fluid through the optical transmission medium; and
a processor (implicitly contained within signal acquisition and analysis system 4; paragraphs 33 and 105) configured to issue a control instruction based on a result of analyzing the response signal.
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the device according to claim 2, wherein the light source is connected to a first position through the optical transmission medium, the optical sensor is connected to a second position through the optical transmission medium, the first position and the second position are in proximity to the cell processing chip and are respectively located on both sides of a flow channel of the cell processing chip, and a connecting line between the first position and the second position passes through the flow channel (referring to figure 12, the light source (laser excitation means 31’) and the detector (fluorescence detection means 32’) are connected to the droplet microfluidic chip 2’ through optical paths 310’ and 320’, respectively; paragraph 118).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the fluid driving member comprises at least one air pump component, and each of the at least one air pump component comprises: an air pump inlet in fluid communication with an air pressure device outside the device; an air pump outlet configured to output high pressure gas; and an air pump controller (microfluidic control system 1; paragraph 109; microfluidic controller 11 that controls actuator 13 and syringe pump 12; paragraph 86) configured to control flow of the air pump inlet and the air pump outlet.
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the bearing member (bearing platform 37) comprises: a chip base provided with a groove; and a chip fixing plate configured to be embedded in the groove in an installation state, and the chip fixing plate comprising a notch, wherein the cell processing chip is configured to be embedded in the notch in the installation state (the droplet microfluidic chip 2 is fixed on the bearing platform comprising stage 37; figure 11; paragraph 112).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches the device according to claim 15, wherein the chip fixing plate comprises at least one fastening component, and wherein when the at least one fastening component is in a fastening state, the at least one fastening component is configured to fasten the cell processing chip and the chip fixing plate to the chip base (the droplet microfluidic chip 2 is fixed on the bearing platform comprising stage 37; figure 11; paragraph 112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qinhong Wang et al. (CN 108020490A; hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 18, Wang does not specifically teach the use of a plurality of power supplies or the device according to claim 1, wherein the power supply comprises a first power supply, a second power supply and a third power supply that are mutually independent, the first power supply is configured to supply power to the fluid driving member, the second power supply is configured to supply power to the signal generating and processing member, and the third power supply is configured to apply a sorting signal to the cell processing chip in response to the control instruction. However, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04). Furthermore, the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of power supplies as claimed to facilitate the effective operation of the disclosed device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 8, 10 – 13 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the device according to claim 3, wherein the device further comprises a rack (double layer rack 6; figure 11; paragraph 109), which is provided with a space for accommodating functional components. However, Wang and the additional cited prior art do not specifically teach or fairly suggest:
wherein the signal generating and processing member further comprises an optical transmission medium adapter plate detachably connected with the rack, and the optical transmission medium adapter plate is arranged between the light source and the first position or between the optical sensor and the second position, the optical transmission medium adapter plate comprises:
an optical transmission medium section comprising a first end and a second end opposite to the first end, wherein the first end is arranged at the first position when the optical transmission medium adapter plate is arranged between the light source and the first position, and the first end is arranged at the second position when the optical transmission medium adapter plate is arranged between the optical sensor and the second position,
wherein the optical transmission medium at the first end is exposed, and the first end is fixed relative to a microfluidic chip when the optical transmission medium adapter plate is in an installation position; and
wherein the second end is detachably connected to the light source when the first end is arranged at the first position, and the second end is detachably connected to the optical sensor when the first end is arranged at the second position.
Regarding claim 5, Wang and the additional cited prior art do not specifically teach or fairly suggest the device according to claim 2, wherein the light source is connected to a first optical transmission medium interface in the cell processing chip through the optical transmission medium, and the optical sensor is connected to a second optical transmission medium interface in the cell processing chip through the optical transmission medium, the first optical transmission medium interface and the second optical transmission medium interface are respectively connected to a transmitter and a receiver located in the cell processing chip and arranged opposite to each other on both sides of the flow channel of the cell processing chip.
Regarding claim 10, Wang and the additional cited prior art do not specifically teach or fairly suggest the device according to claim 9, wherein the accommodating member comprises at least one accommodating component, each of the at least one accommodating component comprises: a sample tube; an adapter arranged at one end of the sample tube and at least partially covering the sample tube; an air path connector arranged on the adapter and configured to be in fluid communication with the air pump outlet; and a liquid path connector arranged on the adapter and configured for liquid to enter and exit the sample tube.
Conclusion
BRIAN J. SINES
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1796
/BRIAN J. SINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796