DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the communication filed on 11/13/2025.
Claims 1, 2, 9, 18, 35 are pending and are addressed herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 104288135 A (hereinafter “Huang” - English translation by Google Translate provided).
Regarding claims 1-2, Huang teaches a method comprising contacting a pancreatic cancer cell with fluoxetine, an antidepressant and also an SLC38A2 inhibitor as evidenced by the instant specification (e.g., see Translation – abstract, page 2 under accompanying drawing 1, etc.).
Regarding claims 9 and 35, Huang teaches administration of 10mM fluoxentine to human pancreatic adenocarcinoma PANC-1 cells, which are human pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma cells – official notice taken if necessary (e.g., see page 2 under accompanying drawing 1, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by CN 104288135 A (“Huang” - English translation provided) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 9 in the rejection above, in view of Passik and Roth Psycho-oncology 8: 268-272; 1999 (hereafter “Passik”).
Huang teaches treating pancreatic cancer cells with fluoxentine a known antidepressant and an anticancer agent (as indicated in the rejection above), and further teaches that fluoxentine can be used to treat tumors in animals as well, including pancreatic adenocarcinomas (e.g., see page 2 just above “Accompanying drawing explanation”).
Huang does not teach that the method is used in combination with resection of a pancreatic tumor.
However, resection of eligible pancreatic tumors was well known in the prior art. For instance, Passik teaches that depression and anxiety occur more frequently in cancer of the pancreas than in other forms of intra-abdominal malignancies and other cancers in general, and further reports a patient who present panic attacks prior to pancreatic cancer diagnosis and whose symptoms resolved following resection of the tumor (e.g., see abstract, page 269 first paragraph, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the day the claimed invention was filed to combine fluoxentine treatment with resection of a pancreatic tumor in a animal who suffers from depression/anxiety/panic attacks and who also has a pancreatic tumor, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine is based on the fact that paroxetine was a known antidepressant and resection of pancreatic tumors in a patient that has panic attacks, not simply anxiety, was also known. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success based on the positive results reported in the prior art. It is also noted that it would have been a matter or combining known treatments for treating pancreatic cancer: paroxetine and pancreatic tumor resection.
The combination of prior art satisfies the factual inquiries as set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966). Once this has been accomplished the holdings in KSR can be applied (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007):
“Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.”
Response to Arguments
With respect to the rejectionof claims under 35 USC 112(a) (written description rejection) Applicant’s arguments, see have been fully considered and in view of the amendment to the clams are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument with respect to the rejections of claim(s) under 35 USC 102 and 103 based on Chen have been fully considered and in view of the amendment are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Huang as indicated in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
J. E. Angell
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1637
/J. E. ANGELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637