DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of group I with traverse in the reply filed on 12/24/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that the groups I and II do relate to a single general inventive concept. The examiner respectfully disagrees as even though the inventions of these groups require a display panel with a carbonized layer formed over the color resistance layer, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Ryu et al. (US 2022/0223654 A1; hereinafter “Ryu”) as shown in the rejection below. Therefore, the restriction is still deemed proper and therefore made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10-12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (US 2022/0223654 A1; hereinafter “Ryu”).
In regard to claim 1, Ryu teaches a display panel (a display device 1) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 71); comprising:
a substrate (a first base part 110) (Fig. 5 and paragraph 105);
a light-emitting layer (an emission layer OL) located on the substrate (Fig. 5 and paragraph 117), wherein the light-emitting layer comprises a plurality of light-emitting parts (the emission layer OL formed in the emission regions LA1-LA6 functions as the light-emitting parts) (Fig. 5 and paragraph 117), and at least one of the light-emitting parts is a first type of light-emitting part (the portion of the emission layer OL over emission region 3 LA3 functions as the first type of light-emitting part); and
a color resistance layer (color converting substrate 30) located on a side of the light-emitting layer away from the substrate (the color converting substrate 30 and associated components are shown in Fig. 6) (Fig. 6 and paragraph 141), wherein the color resistance layer comprises a plurality of color resistance parts corresponding to a plurality of the light-emitting parts on a one-to-one correspondence (a plurality of color filters (231, 232, and 233), a plurality of light blocking members 240, a plurality of wavelength converting patterns (330 and 340), and light transmitting patterns 350 function as the plurality of color resistance parts) (Fig. 5 and paragraph 141), each of the color resistance parts is arranged opposite to a corresponding light-emitting part (the elements that function as the color resistance parts are shown opposite to the emission layer OL formed in the emission regions LA1-LA6 in Fig. 5), and at least one of the color resistance parts is a first type of color resistance part arranged opposite to the first type of light-emitting part (a first type of color resistance part positioned opposite to the emission layer OL over the third emission region is shown in annotated Fig. 6 below);
wherein the first type of color resistance part comprises a shielding part (the light blocking pattern 240) that is configured to block light from passing through (the light blocking pattern 240 is shown to be part of the first type of color resistance part in annotated Fig. 6 below).
In regard to claim 2, Ryu teaches wherein the shielding part is located in a region where a corresponding first type of color resistance part is away from the light-emitting layer (the light blocking pattern 240 is shown away from the emission layer OL in the light transmitting patterns 350 of the associated elements mapped as the color resistance part) (Fig. 6).
In regard to claim 3, Ryu teaches wherein a constituent material of the shielding part comprises carbon (the light blocking pattern 240 may be formed by carbonizing parts of the third color filters 233) (paragraph 159).
In regard to claim 6, Ryu teaches an anode layer (a layer containing a first to third anode electrodes AE1-AE3) located on a side of the light-emitting layer close to the substrate (the layer containing a first to third anode electrodes AE1-AE3 is shown on a side of the emission layer OL closer to the first base part 110 in Fig. 5) (Fig. 5 and paragraph 111), wherein the anode layer comprises a plurality of anode parts corresponding to a plurality of light-emitting parts on a one-to-one correspondence (the first to third anode electrodes AE1-AE3 are shown corresponding to the emission regions LA1-LA6 in Fig.5 and Fig. 6); a cathode layer (a cathode electrode CE) located on a side of the light-emitting layer away from the substrate, wherein the cathode layer covers at least a side of the first type of light-emitting part away from the substrate (the cathode electrode CE is shown on the topside of the emission layer OL over the third emission region LA3 as shown in Fig. 6).
In regard to claim 7, Ryu teaches wherein at least one of the light-emitting parts is a second type of light-emitting part (the emission layer OL over the second emission region LA2 functions as a second type of light-emitting part) (Fig. 5 and paragraph 82), and the cathode layer is provided with at least one of openings disposed opposite to the second type of light-emitting part (the cathode electrode CE is shown within the openings in a pixel defining film 150 exposing the second emission region LA2 as shown in Fig. 6).
In regard to claim 10, Ryu teaches a mobile terminal (a mid- to small-size electronic device) comprising a terminal main body part and the display panel according to claim 1 (a mid- to small-size electronic device would have a body utilizing the display) (paragraph 72), wherein the terminal main body part and the display panel are integrated (a display device 1 may be applicable to the mid- to small-size electronic device) (paragraph 72).
In regard to claim 11, Ryu teaches wherein the shielding part is located in a region where a corresponding first type of color resistance part is away from the light-emitting layer (the light blocking pattern 240 is shown away from the emission layer OL in the light transmitting patterns 350 of the associated elements mapped as the color resistance part) (Fig. 6).
In regard to claim 12, Ryu teaches wherein a constituent material of the shielding part comprises carbon (the light blocking pattern 240 may be formed by carbonizing parts of the third color filters 233) (paragraph 159
In regard to claim 15, Ryu teaches an anode layer (a layer containing a first to third anode electrodes AE1-AE3) located on a side of the light-emitting layer close to the substrate (the layer containing a first to third anode electrodes AE1-AE3 is shown on a side of the emission layer OL closer to the first base part 110 in Fig. 5) (Fig. 5 and paragraph 111), wherein the anode layer comprises a plurality of anode parts corresponding to a plurality of light-emitting parts on a one-to-one correspondence (the first to third anode electrodes AE1-AE3 are shown corresponding to the emission regions LA1-LA6 in Fig.5 and Fig. 6); a cathode layer (a cathode electrode CE) located on a side of the light-emitting layer away from the substrate, wherein the cathode layer covers at least a side of the first type of light-emitting part away from the substrate (the cathode electrode CE is shown on the topside of the emission layer OL over the third emission region LA3 as shown in Fig. 6).
In regard to claim 16, Ryu teaches wherein at least one of the light-emitting parts is a second type of light-emitting part (the emission layer OL over the second emission region LA2 functions as a second type of light-emitting part) (Fig. 5 and paragraph 82), and the cathode layer is provided with at least one of openings disposed opposite to the second type of light-emitting part (the cathode electrode CE is shown within the openings in a pixel defining film 150 exposing the second r emission region LA2 as shown in Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu as applied to claim 1 and 10, in view of Cao et al. (US 2021/0226175 A1; hereinafter “Cao”).
In regard to claim 9, Ryu doesn’t explicitly teach a touch control layer located on a side of the color resistance layer close to the light-emitting layer, wherein the touch control layer comprises a plurality of touch control electrodes, and the touch control electrodes are located between two adjacent light-emitting parts.
Cao teaches a display panel (a display panel 00) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 61), comprising:
a touch control layer (a touch function layer 08 ) located on a side of a color resistance layer (a layer containing a black matrix 05 and a color filter layer 06) close to a light-emitting layer (the a touch function layer 08 is located on a bottom side of a layer containing a black matrix 05 and a color filter layer 06 closer to a light-emitting layer 0312) (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 52, 54 and 61), wherein the touch control layer comprises a plurality of touch control electrodes (the touch function layer 08 includes a plurality of touch electrode 081) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 61), and the touch control electrodes are located between two adjacent light-emitting parts (the touch electrode 081 are shown between light-emitting units 031 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 85).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Ryu with the teachings of Cao to have a touch control layer located on a side of the color resistance layer close to the light-emitting layer, wherein the touch control layer comprises a plurality of touch control electrodes, and the touch control electrodes are located between two adjacent light-emitting parts since this layout is well known to allow for increased functionality and utility of the device.
In regard to claim 18, Ryu doesn’t explicitly teach a touch control layer located on a side of the color resistance layer close to the light-emitting layer, wherein the touch control layer comprises a plurality of touch control electrodes, and the touch control electrodes are located between two adjacent light-emitting parts.
Cao teaches a display panel (a display panel 00) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 61), comprising:
a touch control layer (a touch function layer 08 ) located on a side of a color resistance layer (a layer containing a black matrix 05 and a color filter layer 06) close to a light-emitting layer (the a touch function layer 08 is located on a bottom side of a layer containing a black matrix 05 and a color filter layer 06 closer to a light-emitting layer 0312) (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 52, 54 and 61), wherein the touch control layer comprises a plurality of touch control electrodes (the touch function layer 08 includes a plurality of touch electrode 081) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 61), and the touch control electrodes are located between two adjacent light-emitting parts (the touch electrode 081 are shown between light-emitting units 031 in Fig. 3) (Fig. 3 and paragraph 85).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Ryu with the teachings of Cao to have a touch control layer located on a side of the color resistance layer close to the light-emitting layer, wherein the touch control layer comprises a plurality of touch control electrodes, and the touch control electrodes are located between two adjacent light-emitting parts since this layout is well known to allow for increased functionality and utility of the device.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5, 8, 13-14, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claims 4 and 13, Ryu is considered a close prior art of record. However, Ryu fails to teach “an included angle between a side portion and a bottom portion of the black matrix part is an acute angle, and a color resistance part is filled between two adjacent black matrix parts; wherein each side portion of the shielding part is coplanar with an adjacent side portion of an adjacent color resistance part”. Ryu is silent regarding the use of a black matrix as well as the shape and placement of any element potentially functioning as one.
In regard to claim 5 and 14, Ryu is considered a close prior art of record. However, Ryu fails to teach wherein the first type of light-emitting part comprises an abnormal region, and the shielding part is disposed opposite to the abnormal region in the corresponding first type of light-emitting part.
In regard to claims 8 and 17, Ryu is considered a close prior art of record. However, Ryu fails to teach a plurality of the color resistance parts corresponding to a plurality of light-emitting parts different in light-emitting colors on a one-to-one correspondence have a transmittance of more than 60% for light having a wavelength of more than 850 nm. While, Ryu does teach a laser is used to carbonize a portion of the color filter, Ryu is silent regarding the transmittance of light from said laser.
Conclusion
/SEYON ALI-SIMAH PUNCHBEDDELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893