DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending, and claims 1-6 and 16-20 are currently under review.
Claims 7-15 are withdrawn.
Claims 17-20 are newly added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation of “the latex particles comprising…”, and the claim also recites that the binder agent is “consisting of…” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Specifically, it is unclear as to whether the latex particles can include non-recited elements or not. The examiner interprets the claim scope to omit all non-recited elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hearon et al. (CA3054300) in view of Kato et al. (US 5,077,165) and Kojima et al. (US 2016/0160021).
Regarding claim 1, Hearon et al. discloses a curable formulation which can be further processed by sintering [p.2-3, p.77-79], which meets the claimed binder agent for printing a three-dimensional green body object because one of ordinary skill would recognize a three-dimensional green object is further processed by sintering/melting/fusing/etc. Hearon et al. further teaches that the formulation includes:
water and an organic solvent [p.78]
an epoxy-based constituent such as glycerol diglycidyl ether among other options, which meets the limitation of a glycidyl compound having two or more groups per molecule [p.49]
oligomeric precursors of methacrylated co-monomers including methacrylic acid and electron rich monomers including vinyl ethers and styrene, which meets the limitation of latex particles comprising polymerized monomers including first and second monomers as claimed [p.3-4, 56-57]
Since Hearon et al. is silent regarding any further necessary required elements, the examiner considers the disclosure of Hearon et al. to meet the claimed recitation of “consisting of…”
Hearon et al. does not expressly teach that the solvent is only a single organic solvent having a composition and concentration as claimed. Kojima et al. discloses that it is known to utilize a single organic solvent such as 1,2-butanediol in an amount of 10 to 50 weight percent in addition to water as a solvent in a binder formula for additive manufacturing to allow for control of jetting stability/viscosity and environmental hazardousness [0023-0028]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the formulation of Hearon et al. by utilizing the composition and concentration of only a single type of organic solvent for the aforementioned benefit expressly taught by Kojima et al. The examiner notes that the overlap between the range of Kojima et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Hearon et al. and Kojima et al. do not expressly teach the claimed latex particles having a first monomer content. Kato et al. discloses a lithographic printing precursor (ie. binder) which has beneficial static properties and photosensitivity via a compositional ratio of 5 g methyl methacrylate to 0.1 g of acrylic acid, which overlaps with the claimed range of first monomer content of 0.1 to 15 weight percent [col.1 ln.5-12, col.3 ln.8-18, col.19 ln.65 to col.21 ln.5, col.49, ln.3-10]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the formulation of Hearon et al. and Kojima et al. by utilizing the monomer concentration of Kato et al. for the aforementioned benefit. The examiner notes that the overlap between the range of Kato et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the binder of claim 1 (see previous). Hearon et al. further teaches the use of control agents to limit the molecular weight of the macromolecules and a cured molecular weight of 5,000 to 5,000,000 g/mol, which therefore requires a precursor oligomer length of less than 2,500 g/mol, which overlaps with the claimed the glycidyl compound molecular weight range [p.23-24, p.55]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, the aforementioned prior art discloses the binder of claim 1 (see previous). As stated above, Hearon et al. discloses glycerol diglycidyl ether [p.49].
Regarding claim 4, the aforementioned prior art discloses the binder of claim 1 (see previous). Hearon et al. further teaches that the amount of epoxy constituents can be about 1 to 25 weight percent, which overlaps with the claimed range [p.50]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 5, the aforementioned prior art discloses the binder of claim 1 (see previous). As stated above, Hearon et al. discloses glycerol methacrylic acid among others [p.3-4, 56-57].
Regarding claims 16-17, the aforementioned prior art discloses the binder of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the organic solvent inclusion range of Kojima et al. and epoxy range of Hearon et al. above further overlap with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 19-20, the aforementioned prior art discloses the binder of claim 17 (see previous). As stated above, Hearon et al. discloses glycerol diglycidyl ether [p.49].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hearon et al. (CA3054300) and others as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kasperchik et al. (WO2018156938).
Regarding claim 6, the aforementioned prior art discloses the binder of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach a latex concentration range as claimed. Kasperchik et al. discloses that it is known to limit latex polymer particles in a binder for additive manufacturing to range from about 5 to 50 weight percent [0022]. The examiner notes that all of the claimed features are disclosed in the prior art, although not necessarily in a single reference, wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the features disclosed in the prior art to achieve the predictable result of a binder composition (disclosed by Hearon et al. and others) having a particular latex particle concentration (disclosed by Kasperchik et al.) as would have been desired by one of ordinary skill depending on various binder properties (ie. binding, viscosity,etc.). See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The examiner notes that the overlap between the latex range of Kasperchik et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and also to overcome the previous 112(b) rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 18 recites a particular ratio of latex particles which is not disclosed in the prior art. Therefore, there is no prior art of record that teaches or suggests the claimed features.
Response to Arguments
The previous 103 rejections made in view of Morris et al. and Kasperchik et al. (US 2021/0187612) have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734