DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Hiroki (JP2017043811, herein Hiroki, a machine translation is being used for citation purpose).
Regarding Claims 1, 11, 17, Hiroki teaches thermoplastic resin composition [0002] which is coating composition [0017] comprising: ABS resin and modified polyolefin resin [0009], wherein the ABS resin is a copolymer of acrylonitrile, butadiene and styrene [0025], wherein butadiene reads on rubber portion structural unit, styrene reads on resin portion structural unit, which collectively reads on the rubber-reinforced vinyl-based resin, indicate the exclusion of rubber-reinforced vinyl-based resin with ethylene α olefin-based monomer. ABS is acrylonitrile, butadiene, and styrene based terpolymer, which is the aromatic vinyl-based copolymer, owing to the exclusive monomers selection as set forth above; Hiroki teaches modified polyolefin resin is a polyolefin resin including polypropylene, has organic functional group including: maleic anhydride group [0027], reads on the maleic anhydride-modified polypropylene.
Hiroki teaches the formulation 1, including: Acrylic modified chlorinated polyolefin resin 5 parts. [FOR; P10; 0049; line 25]. Hirori does not explicitly teach the concentration of the maleic anhydride-modified polypropylene, however, Hiroki teaches modified polyolefin resin including: acrylic modified chlorinated polyolefin [0028] and modified polyolefin resin is a polyolefin resin including polypropylene, has organic functional group including: maleic anhydride group [0027], reads on the maleic anhydride-modified polypropylene. Because both of the modified polyolefin as taught by Hiroki are known in the art to be useful for modified polyolefin for thermoplastic resin composite, at the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute acrylic modified chlorinated polyolefin [0028] with the modified polyolefin resin is a polyolefin resin including polypropylene, has organic functional group including: maleic anhydride group [0027], and would have been motivated to do so because both compounds individually are known to be effective modified polyolefin for thermoplastics resin formation. (see MPEP 2144.06). Accordingly, the concentration of acrylic modified chlorinated polyolefin as taught by Hiroki can be applied to maleic anhydride-modified polypropylene, which is 5 parts, and lies in the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 14, Hiroki teaches primer of the present invention, which contains an ABS resin and a modified polyolefin resin [0031] which further comprising: polycarbonate resin [0032].
Regarding Claim 15, Hiroki teaches “molded body” [0026].
Regarding Claim 16, Hiroki teaches “parts for transportation equipment such as automobiles” [0046].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroki (JP2017043811, herein Hiroki, a machine translation is being used for citation purpose) as applied in claim 1 set forth above, in the further view of Matsumoto (JP3563792, herein Matsumoto, a machine translation is being used for citation purpose).
Regarding Claims 12-13, Hiroki teaches the coating resin composition as set forth in claim 1. Hiroki teaches the ABS resin used in the present invention, the contents of the acrylonitrile-derived monomer component, the butadiene-derived monomer component, and the styrene-derived monomer component can be selected appropriately from a wide range [0025], wherein, the acrylonitrile is cyanidated vinyl compound, the styrene is aromatic vinyl-based compound, collectively indicate the different types of ABS formation owing to the monomer range variations, further lead to the formation of the aromatic vinyl-based copolymer. Hiroki does not explicitly teach the component (A) is not the aromatic vinyl-based copolymer. However, Matsumoto teaches acrylonitrile-butadiene copolymer (NBR) [P7; Para. 1], which is non aromatic vinyl butadiene-based copolymer. Hiroki and Matsumoto are considered to be analogous art relevant to the claimed invention because are considered to be analogous art relevant to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely, vinyl copolymer and modified polyolefin based molded resin composition for automobile parts manufacturing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the acrylonitrile-butadiene copolymer (NBR) [P7; Para. 1], into the resin composition formation, which can lead to a desirable property as of excellent impact resistance, heat distortion resistance, chemical resistance and moldability, and which, when molded, gives a molded article which does not undergo delamination and has a matte appearance. [P1; Para 3] as taught by Matsumoto.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Correspondence
/Z.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767