DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/23/25 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-14 remain pending, of which claims 8-14 were previously withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: illumination unit in claim 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by SUZUKI (US 2017/0369830) in view of CUIFFI (US 2014/0030752) as cited on the PTO-892 dated 12/19/24 as previously applied, further in view of ZHENG (US 2014/0133702) (newly cited).
The limitation “illumination unit” has been interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above to be an LED illumination system (Spec 0031) and functional equivalents thereof.
Regarding claim 2, SUZUKI discloses: a cell culture device (cell production device) comprising:
A substrate 2 (cell production plate) having liquid feeding and discharging portions 10, 20 (fluid circuit) in which tanks 11, 21 are provided in each portion along with a culture dish 3 (plurality of functional sites are integrated); the tanks 11, 21 being reservoirs capable of storing a plurality of types of fluids (plurality of fluid reservoirs, cell induction and culture tank); a culture dish 3 that is capable of performing induction and culture of cells based on the stored fluids (cell induction and culture); and the reservoir tank 11 stores culture liquid (culture medium for initialization or induction) (0048-53, fig 1).
SUZUKI discloses a fluid circuit from reservoir 11 to waste tank 21 (fig 2) and the culture medium must have an optimum pH for tissues and cells (0100) but does not explicitly disclose a culture medium circulation path configured to circulate medium nor a sensor for pH as claimed.
However, CUIFFI discloses a cell culture system with a fluid circuit comprising a plurality of fluid reservoirs 118 or 1118 and 120 or 1120, a cell culture platform (induction and culture tank) 102 or 1102, in which the fluid is recirculated through the cell culture platform (culture medium circulation path in communication with the cell induction and culture tank, configured to circulate medium) (0044, 0113-0116, Fig 1, 11), and a sensor 106 for sensing pH value of a medium in the cell culture platform 102 or in the fluid circuit (0039, 0117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fluid circuit of SUZUKI to include a culture medium circulation path and sensor for pH as taught by CUIFFI because the circulation path recirculation would allow the device to operate with a lower overall media volume required and therefore would not require large storage tanks the pH sensor allows for a user monitoring the parameter and making adjustments (0039, 0117) would allow for maintaining the optimum pH of the cells as desired by SUZUKI.
SUZUKI discloses the plate has a transparent area through which the cells can be observed by a microscope optical system (provided outside plate) in the area of the culture dish 3 (cell induction and culture tank) (0025, 0059-60, Fig 3-4), but does not explicitly disclose the optical microscope includes an illumination unit.
However, ZHENG discloses a microscopy methodology comprising specimen surface 140 (cell induction and culture tank) for receiving a specimen of cells (0059) having a transparent layer (0066) and an optical system with a light detector 160 for capturing images in which an illumination source 110 with a light element 117 e.g. an LED display (illumination unit) is provided outside of the surface 140 (plate) and is configured to illuminate the specimen from in front or in rear (Fig 1, 3, 10, 0060-62, 0066, 0072, 0171).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the optical microscope system of SUZUKI to include the illumination unit in the arrangement as taught by ZHENG because this method may provide an autonomous, cost effective, high resolution microscopic solution for high resolution imaging of confluent specimens and other specimens in which objects in the specimen may be contiguously connected over a sizable length. One advantage is that the systems and devices may be made compact (e.g., on the chip-scale) and at lower cost than convention microscopy (0055).
Regarding the contents of the container, the examiner has given the limitation its appropriate weight. This limitation does not afford patentability to the apparatus because they are not defining any structural features of said apparatus but merely defining the contents used in the claimed apparatus during its use.
It has been well established that it is fundamental that an apparatus claim defines the structure
of the invention and not how the structure is used in a process, or what materials the structure houses in carry out the process. For apparatus claims, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP § 2114 &§ 2173.05(g)).
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUZUKI (US 2017/0369830) in view of NANKERVIS (US 2015/0275170) in view of CUIFFI (US 2014/0030752) as cited on the PTO-892 dated 12/19/24 as previously applied, further in view of ZHENG (US 2014/0133702) (newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, The limitation “illumination unit” has been interpreted under 35 USC 112f as stated above to be an LED illumination system (Spec 0031) and functional equivalents thereof.
SUZUKI discloses: a cell culture device (cell production device) comprising:
A substrate 2 (cell production plate) having liquid feeding and discharging portions 10, 20 (fluid circuit) in which tanks 11, 21 are provided in each portion along with a culture dish 3 (plurality of functional sites are integrated); the tanks 11, 21 being reservoirs capable of storing a plurality of types of fluids (plurality of fluid reservoirs); a culture dish 3 that is capable of performing induction and culture of cells based on the stored fluids (cell induction and culture); and the reservoir tank 11 stores culture liquid (culture tank with medium for initialization or induction) (0048-53, fig 1) in which flexible tubes connect the supply and discharge ports to the fluid network (0050, 0019) and that there is a closed perfusion system flow path to prevent contamination to the culture liquid (Fig 18 0090-91) but does not explicitly disclose a plurality of closed connectors that connect the fluid circuit to an external space in a closed manner.
However, NANKERVIS discloses a closed cell expansion machine in which the system has a bioreactor (cell induction and culture unit), fluid conveyance assembly (fluid circuit) having tubing (injection discharge units) to provide the fluid paths, in which the tubing extends to the exterior of the machine (external space) where welded connections (plurality of closed connectors) to tubing associated with media bags are (plurality of fluid reservoir units, channels capable of injecting or discharging fluid to/from the fluid circuit via the plurality of closed connectors) (0044, 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cell culture device substrate of SUZUKI to include the welded connections in the tubing between the fluid path and external media bags as taught by NANKERVIS because the connections maintain the closed cell expansion (production) system (0003) while allowing access to the media bags to visually inspect quantity or quality or to swap the bags with other types of replacement fluids as disclosed by NANKERVIS (0022).
SUZUKI discloses a fluid circuit from reservoir 11 to waste tank 21 (fig 2) and the culture medium must have an optimum pH for tissues and cells (0100) but does not explicitly disclose a culture medium circulation path configured to circulate medium nor a sensor for pH as claimed.
However, CUIFFI discloses a cell culture system with a fluid circuit comprising a plurality of fluid reservoirs 118 or 1118 and 120 or 1120, a cell culture platform (induction and culture tank) 102 or 1102, in which the fluid is recirculated through the cell culture platform (culture medium circulation path in communication with the cell induction and culture tank, configured to circulate medium) (0044, 0113-0116, Fig 1, 11), and a sensor 106 for sensing pH value of a medium in the cell culture platform 102 or in the fluid circuit (0039, 0117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fluid circuit of SUZUKI to include a culture medium circulation path and sensor for pH as taught by CUIFFI because the circulation path recirculation would allow the device to operate with a lower overall media volume required and therefore would not require large storage tanks the pH sensor allows for a user monitoring the parameter and making adjustments (0039, 0117) would allow for maintaining the optimum pH of the cells as desired by SUZUKI.
SUZUKI discloses the plate has a transparent area through which the cells can be observed by a microscope optical system (provided outside plate) in the area of the culture dish 3 (cell induction and culture tank) (0025, 0059-60, Fig 3-4), but does not explicitly disclose the optical microscope includes an illumination unit.
However, ZHENG discloses a microscopy methodology comprising specimen surface 140 (cell induction and culture tank) for receiving a specimen of cells (0059) having a transparent layer (0066) and an optical system with a light detector 160 for capturing images in which an illumination source 110 with a light element 117 e.g. an LED display (illumination unit) is provided outside of the surface 140 (plate) and is configured to illuminate the specimen from in front or in rear (Fig 1, 3, 10, 0060-62, 0066, 0072, 0171).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the optical microscope system of SUZUKI to include the illumination unit in the arrangement as taught by ZHENG because this method may provide an autonomous, cost effective, high resolution microscopic solution for high resolution imaging of confluent specimens and other specimens in which objects in the specimen may be contiguously connected over a sizable length. One advantage is that the systems and devices may be made compact (e.g., on the chip-scale) and at lower cost than convention microscopy (0055).
Regarding the contents of the container, the examiner has given the limitation its appropriate weight. This limitation does not afford patentability to the apparatus because they are not defining any structural features of said apparatus but merely defining the contents used in the claimed apparatus during its use. It has been well established that it is fundamental that an apparatus claim defines the structure of the invention and not how the structure is used in a process, or what materials the structure houses in carry out the process. For apparatus claims, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP § 2114 &§ 2173.05(g)).
Regarding claim 3-5, SUZUKI does not explicitly disclose a variable volume unit for storing fluid. However, NANKERVIS discloses use of media, waste or outlet bags for holding fluids (variable volume unit, physical variable volume material is a flexible bag) (0022, 0029). It would have been obvious to modify the device of SUZUKI to additionally comprise flexible bags as taught by NANKERVIS because they provide an inexpensive container for fluid storage that can be disposed of after use to prevent contamination and enables welded connections to tubing from the bags (0048).
Regarding claim 6, SUZUKI discloses micro flow rate pumps 12, 22 in the fluid circuit that transfer the fluid stored in the reservoir tanks 11, 21 (0051, 53).
Regarding claim 7, NANKERVIS discloses there are tubing guide slots 214 mounted on the top of the machine face through which tubing is welded (connectors mounted on one face) to external media bags (fluid reservoirs connectable to the closed system connectors) (0044) which can be a single bag (0039) with a valve or other type of mechanism that controls the flow of fluid from the bag (plurality of dispense and suction units).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional reference on the PTO 892 relates to LED illumination units for cell culture plates and is therefore a relevant to the instant application as providing the state of the art.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799