DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-10 are under examination.
Claims 11-12 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN110311152A as cited in IDS and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Huang, in view of Ikoma et al. (U.S. PGPub 2015/0093679 A1), hereinafter Ikoma, in view of Sasaoka et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2009/0023035 A1 as previously cited), hereinafter Sasaoka, in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2011/0159407 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method comprising: a first step of preparing a membrane-electrode laminate comprising an electrolyte membrane having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, a first electrode on the first surface, and a second electrode on the second surface (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0043] the sealed component is a catalyst coated membrane (CCM), such that as disclosed in [0050] catalyst coated membrane, also known as catalyst coated membrane (CCM) or fuel cell chip, is a catalyst/proton exchange membrane assembly prepared by coating fuel cell catalyst on both sides of the proton exchange membrane, etc., which at least provides an electrolyte membrane having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, a first electrode on the first surface, and a second electrode on the second surface so as to have fuel cell catalyst on both sides of the proton exchange membrane, also see [0005], [0051], [0070], Fig. 5);
a second step of preparing a first sub-gasket film having a first central region and a first peripheral region surrounding the first central region (i.e., at least first sealing member as disclosed in [0009], whereby the central areas of the first sealing member, etc., includes hollow areas, etc., as disclosed in [0043] thereby at least providing a first central region and a first peripheral region surrounding the first central region so as to provide hollow areas, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof as to said first central/peripheral region(s), also see [0010]-[0011], [0021], [0037]-[0038], [0040], [0064], Fig. 5);
a third step of forming a first electrode window in the first central region (i.e., at least first sealing frame as disclosed in [0030] and shown in Fig. 5, such that said frame at least provides a window in the first central region thereby necessitating that said first electrode window is formed, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0066]-[0070], [0078]);
a fourth step of forming at least two first positioning holes in the first peripheral region (i.e., at least first sealing member is provided with a plurality of holes and the plurality of holes are evenly distributed in the non-sealed waste area of the first sealing member, etc., as disclosed in [0010], such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said holes are at least in the first peripheral region as shown in Fig. 5, refs. 3-4, also see [0030]-[0031], [0043], [0048], [0056], [0067]).
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since Huang discloses said plurality of holes are evenly distributed in the non-sealed waste area of the first sealing member as shown in Fig. 5, etc., and as discussed above, which is identical and/or substantially identical to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as positioning holes are presumed inherent lacking any further distinction thereof as to said holes (MPEP 2112.01, I., II.).
a fifth step of preparing a second sub-gasket film having a second central region and a second peripheral region surrounding the second central region (i.e., at least second sealing member as disclosed in [0009], whereby the central areas of the first sealing member, etc., includes hollow areas, etc., as disclosed in [0043] thereby at least providing a second central region and a second peripheral region surrounding the second central region so as to provide hollow areas, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof as to said second central/peripheral region(s), also see [0010]-[0011], [0021], [0037]-[0038], [0040], [0064], Fig. 5);
a sixth step of forming a second electrode window in the second central region (i.e., at least second sealing frame as disclosed in [0066] and shown in Fig. 5, such that said frame at least provides a window in the second central region thereby necessitating that said second electrode window is formed, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0066]-[0070], [0074], [0078]);
an eighth step of attaching the first sub-gasket film having the first electrode window and the at least two first positioning holes to the first surface of the electrolyte membrane such that at least a portion of the first electrode is exposed through the first electrode window (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0043] whereby the vacuum effect can absorb the second sealing member of the upper layer through the holes of the first sealing member of the lower layer, so that the three-layer structure is flattened, etc., whereby the sealed component is a catalyst coated membrane (CCM); the central regions of the first seal and the second seal both include hollow regions, etc., which at least provides attaching the first sub-gasket film having the first electrode window and the at least two first positioning holes to the first surface of the electrolyte membrane such that at least a portion of the first electrode is exposed through the first electrode window, such that as disclosed in [0049] the hollow areas of the first seal and the second seal can expose the effective area of the catalyst coating membrane, etc., also see Figs. 5-6, [0051], [0069]-[0070], [0073], [0077]-[0078], [0080]-[0081]),
and attaching the second sub-gasket film having the second electrode window to the second surface of the electrolyte membrane such that at least a portion of the second electrode is exposed through the second electrode window (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0043] whereby the vacuum effect can absorb the second sealing member of the upper layer through the holes of the first sealing member of the lower layer, so that the three-layer structure is flattened, etc., whereby the sealed component is a catalyst coated membrane (CCM); the central regions of the first seal and the second seal both include hollow regions, etc., which at least provides attaching the second sub-gasket film having the second electrode window to the second surface of the electrolyte membrane such that at least a portion of the second electrode is exposed through the second electrode window, such that as disclosed in [0049] the hollow areas of the first seal and the second seal can expose the effective area of the catalyst coating membrane, etc., also see Figs. 5-6, [0051], [0069]-[0070], [0073], [0077]-[0078], [0080]-[0081]), thereby forming a multilayer laminate.
a ninth step of forming at least one manifold hole in a central portion of the multilayer laminate corresponding to the first and second central regions (i.e., at least plurality of areas are cut out around the non-sealed waste area, etc., as disclosed in [0032] and shown in Figs. 5-8, also see [0011], [0033], [0044], [0056], [0074]-[0076]), and lacking any further distinction thereof;
and a tenth step of removing a peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate corresponding to the first and second peripheral regions (i.e., at least cutting the sealed three-layer structure to remove non-sealed waste areas of the first sealing member and the second sealing member, etc., as disclosed in [0021] and [0064], also see [0011], [0033], [0044], [0056], [0075], [0080], Fig. 4), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Huang further discloses in [0043] a plurality of holes are provided in the non-sealed waste area of the lower first seal; the plurality of holes are evenly distributed in the non-sealed waste area of the first seal, whereby the non-sealed waste area is the area that is not within the seal and can be removed, etc., which at least provides forming the at least one manifold hole and removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate are performed based on positions of holes, etc. (with regards to step 9).
However, Huang is silent as to a seventh step of forming at least two second positioning holes in the second peripheral region. Furthermore, with regards to step 8, Huang is silent as to attaching the second sub-gasket film having the second electrode window and the at least two second positioning holes to the second surface of the electrolyte membrane. Furthermore, with regards to step 8, Huang is silent as to forming a multilayer laminate in which the at least two first positioning holes of the first sub-gasket film and the at least two second positioning holes of the second sub-gasket film are located outside an outer periphery of the electrolyte membrane. Furthermore, Huang is silent as to the tenth step of removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate is performed by cutting the multilayer laminate along a first cutting line, wherein the ninth step of forming the at least one manifold hole is performed by cutting the multilayer laminate along a second cutting line, and wherein the first and second cutting lines are determined based on positions of the first and second positioning holes.
Ikoma teaches a fuel cell and separator (Title). Ikoma further teaches in [0039] the gasket ref. 20 is made of a rectangular sheet material, etc., whereby the gasket ref. 20 is formed with a first through-hole ref. 21, second through holes ref. 22, third through-holes ref. 23, fourth through holes ref. 24, fifth through-holes ref. 25, and sixth through-holes ref. 26, etc., and further teaches in [0043] an outer shape and positions of the plurality of sixth through-holes ref. 26 correspond to those of the plurality of insertion holes ref. 16, etc., whereby as taught in [0055] as shown in Fig. 4, in assembling the stack ref. 1A, a plurality of assembling shafts ref. 40 are used to position the separators ref. 10 and the gaskets ref. 20, whereby the plurality of assembling shafts ref. 40 are disposed at the same positions of the insertion holes ref. 16 of the separators ref. 10 and the sixth through-holes ref. 26 of the gaskets ref. 20, etc., which at least provides a seventh step of forming at least two second positioning holes in the second peripheral region (with regards to step 7), such that said positioning holes are at least at a peripheral region as shown in Fig. 4 (also see [0051]-[0052], [0056]-[0058], [0061]).
Furthermore, Ikoma teaches in [0055] as shown in Fig. 4, in assembling the stack ref. 1A, a plurality of assembling shafts ref. 40 are used to position the separators ref. 10 and the gaskets ref. 20, whereby the plurality of assembling shafts ref. 40 are disposed at the same positions of the insertion holes ref. 16 of the separators ref. 10 and the sixth through-holes ref. 26 of the gaskets ref. 20, etc., and further teaches in [0037] one gasket ref. 20-a of the pair of gaskets ref. 20 comes into contact with a front surface of the membrane electrode assembly ref. 30, and another gasket ref. 20-b of the pair of gaskets ref. 20 comes into contact with a back surface of the membrane electrode assembly ref. 30, etc., as shown in Figs. 2 and 4, and which at least provides attaching the second sub-gasket film having the second electrode window and the at least two second positioning holes to the second surface of the electrolyte membrane (with regards to step 8), and further provides forming a multilayer laminate in which the at least two first positioning holes of the first sub-gasket film and the at least two second positioning holes of the second sub-gasket film are located outside an outer periphery of the electrolyte membrane (with regards to step 8), such that the solid polymer electrolyte ref. 31 (as shown in Fig. 2) is at least attached to said sub-gasket(s) so as to come into contact, etc., and such that the at least two first positioning holes of the first sub-gasket film and the at least two second positioning holes of the second sub-gasket film are located outside an outer periphery of the electrolyte membrane (See Fig. 4) so that the plurality of assembling shafts ref. 40 are disposed at the same positions of the insertion holes ref. 16 of the separators ref. 10 and the sixth through-holes ref. 26 of the gaskets ref. 20, etc., (also see [0038], [0040], [0053]).
Ikoma further teaches in [0077] according to the polymer electrolyte fuel cell ref. 1, etc., it is possible to securely prevent the gasket ref. 20 from sticking to the assembling shaft ref. 40, and to improve sealability of the stack ref. 1A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Huang with the teachings of Ikoma, whereby the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method including the first/second sub-gasket film(s), multilayer laminate, etc., as disclosed by Huang further includes at least two first positioning holes of the first sub-gasket film and the at least two second positioning holes of the second sub-gasket film are located outside an outer periphery of the electrolyte membrane, etc., as taught by Ikoma so that in assembling the stack, a plurality of assembling shafts are used to position the gaskets, etc., so that it is possible to securely prevent the gasket from sticking to the assembling shaft, and to improve sealability of the stack.
However, as discussed above, the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma are silent as to the tenth step of removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate is performed by cutting the multilayer laminate along a first cutting line, wherein the ninth step of forming the at least one manifold hole is performed by cutting the multilayer laminate along a second cutting line, and wherein the first and second cutting lines are determined based on positions of the first and second positioning holes.
Sasaoka teaches a method of manufacturing seal-integrated type membrane electrode assembly (Title). Sasaoka further teaches in [0014]-[0015] at least one of the seal-material flow hole may be formed so as to be located between the manifold hole and an outer periphery of the membrane electrode assembly, and the method may further include a step of cutting off an outer peripheral portion of the membrane electrode assembly along a plane in which the above-indicated at least one seal-material flow hole is present, etc., which at least provides (with regards to a tenth step) removing the peripheral portion is performed by cutting the multilayer laminate along a first cutting line, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a cutting plane in which the seal-material flow hole or holes is/are present at least provides a cutting line, and such that said cutting line at least provides first cutting line(s) are determined based on positions of first positioning hole(s), lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0047], [0052], [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma with the teachings of Sasaoka, whereby the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method including the first/second sub-gasket film(s), multilayer laminate, etc., and step of removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate based on positions of holes, at least two first positioning holes of the first sub-gasket film and the at least two second positioning holes of the second sub-gasket film are located outside an outer periphery of the electrolyte membrane, etc., as taught by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma further includes removing the peripheral portion by cutting the multilayer laminate along a first cutting line, whereby a cutting plane in which the seal-material flow hole or holes is/are present, such that said first cutting line(s) are determined based on positions of first positioning hole(s), etc., as taught by Sasaoka so as to provide a step of cutting off an outer peripheral portion of the membrane electrode assembly along a plane in which the above-indicated at least one seal-material flow hole is present, and so that end faces of the seal-integrated type membrane electrode assembly ref. 82 have improved peel resistance as taught in [0063].
However, as discussed above, the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka are silent as to the ninth step of forming the at least one manifold hole is performed by cutting the multilayer laminate along a second cutting line, and wherein the second cutting line(s) are determined based on positions of the second positioning hole(s).
Chen teaches a fuel cell fluid flow field plate and method for forming the same (Title). Chen further teaches in [0039] in one embodiment, a gap (or a cutting line) ref. 408 penetrating through the flexible substrate ref. 400 may be formed along a portion of the edge of the predetermined area where the manifold ref. 303 is to be formed, which at least provides (with regards to the ninth step) forming the at least one manifold hole is performed by cutting the multilayer laminate along a second cutting line (also see [0040]-[0041]). Chen further teaches in [0046] the fuel cell fluid flow field plate in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention is formed by a fast and cheap process, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka with the teachings of Chen, whereby the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method including the first/second sub-gasket film(s), multilayer laminate, etc., forming the at least one manifold hole and removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate are performed based on positions of holes, and a step of removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate based on positions of holes, at least two first positioning holes of the first sub-gasket film and the at least two second positioning holes of the second sub-gasket film are located outside an outer periphery of the electrolyte membrane, etc., as taught by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka further includes forming the at least one manifold hole is performed by cutting the multilayer laminate along a second cutting line as taught by Chen so as to provide a fast and cheap process, and whereby the skilled artisan would appreciate the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen, whereby forming the at least one manifold hole and removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate are performed based on positions of holes, etc. (with regards to step 9 as disclosed by Huang), further includes the at least second cutting line(s) as taught by Chen are at least determined by positions of positioning hole(s) as disclosed by Huang so as to provide a fast and cheap process.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (KR20160056028A and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. However, Huang is silent as to the ninth step of forming the at least one manifold hole and the tenth step of removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate are simultaneously performed.
The combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen disclose the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. Park teaches a stamping and hot-pressing mold for manufacturing membrane-electrode assembly, and method for manufacturing membrane-electrode assembly using the same (Title). Park further teaches in [0063] the die for heat treatment (ref. 20) should have cutting and hot pressing sections set in consideration of the shape (design) of the membrane electrode assembly required in the stack, and as shown in (c) of Fig. 8, it may have a cutter (ref. 21b) for cutting the outer surface of the membrane electrode assembly to which the sub-gasket is joined, and a cutter (ref. 22b) for processing a manifold hole through which hydrogen, air, and cooling water pass, etc., which at least provides forming the at least one manifold hole and removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate (i.e., at least 5-layer membrane electrode assembly (ref. 4C) in which a sub-gasket (ref. 6) is bonded to a 3-layer membrane electrode assembly (ref. 4a), etc., as discussed in [0015]-[0018], such as multiple membrane electrode assemblies as discussed in [0024]) are simultaneously performed (also see [0015]-[0068], Figs. 7-8). Park further teaches in [0001] the present invention relates to a manufacturing apparatus and a manufacturing method for a membrane electrode assembly for a fuel cells, which enable reduction in the number of manufacturing process for a membrane electrode assembly for a fuel cell, and can be expected to improve production speed and productivity, as well as production efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen with the teachings of Park, whereby the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method including a step of forming the at least one manifold hole and a step of removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate as disclosed by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen further includes that said steps are simultaneously performed as taught by Park so as to provide a manufacturing apparatus and a manufacturing method for a membrane electrode assembly for a fuel cells, which enable reduction in the number of manufacturing process for a membrane electrode assembly for a fuel cell, and can be expected to improve production speed and productivity, as well as production efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 3. However, Huang is silent as to the ninth step of forming the at least one manifold hole and the tenth step of removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate are performed by press-punching the multilayer laminate.
The combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Park disclose the membrane-electrode assembly method as discussed above in claim 3. Since Park teaches in [0063] the die for heat treatment (ref. 20) should have cutting and hot pressing sections set in consideration of the shape (design) of the membrane electrode assembly required in the stack, and as shown in (c) of Fig. 8, it may have a cutter (ref. 21b) for cutting the outer surface of the membrane electrode assembly to which the sub-gasket is joined, and a cutter (ref. 22b) for processing a manifold hole through which hydrogen, air, and cooling water pass, etc., this at least provides forming the at least one manifold hole and removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate (i.e., at least 5-layer membrane electrode assembly (ref. 4C) in which a sub-gasket (ref. 6) is bonded to a 3-layer membrane electrode assembly (ref. 4a), etc., as discussed in [0015]-[0018], such as multiple membrane electrode assemblies as discussed in [0024]) are performed by press-punching the multilayer laminate (also see [0015]-[0068], Figs. 7-8), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said press-punching. Park further teaches in [0001] the present invention relates to a manufacturing apparatus and a manufacturing method for a membrane electrode assembly for a fuel cells, which enable reduction in the number of manufacturing process for a membrane electrode assembly for a fuel cell, and can be expected to improve production speed and productivity, as well as production efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Park further with the teachings of Park, whereby the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method including a step of forming the at least one manifold hole and a step of removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate further includes that said steps are performed by press-punching the multilayer laminate as taught by Park so as to provide a manufacturing apparatus and a manufacturing method for a membrane electrode assembly for a fuel cells, which enable reduction in the number of manufacturing process for a membrane electrode assembly for a fuel cell, and can be expected to improve production speed and productivity, as well as production efficiency.
Claims 5-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fukushima et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0257312 A1), hereinafter Fukushima.
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. However, Huang is silent as to a step of securing the multilayer laminate before the ninth step of forming the at least one manifold hole and the tenth step of removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate.
The combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen disclose the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. Fukushima teaches a press forming method and press forming apparatus for formed film of solid polymer electrolyte fuel cell (Title). Fukushima further teaches in [0009] the press forming method includes the step of positioning the film material relative to the first die before the holding step, by inserting a first positioning pin of the first die into a first positioning hole formed in the film material and inserting a second positioning pin of the first die into the second positioning hole formed in the film material, and in the piercing step, portion of the film material where the first positioning hole is present is cut away, and in the trimming step, portion of the film material where the second positioning hole is present is cut away, etc.
Fukushima further teaches in [0075] in the press forming method, in the state where the film material ref. 12 is held between the first die ref. 40 and the holder ref. 62, the piercing step for forming the through holes ref. 30 in the film material ref. 12 is performed using the punches ref. 64, etc., whereby in the trimming step, after the through holes ref. 30 are formed in the film material ref. 12 in the piercing step, the blade parts ref. 74 are brought into contact with the film material ref. 12, etc., which at least provides a step of securing a film (i.e., at least securing with positioning pins as discussed in [0076]) before the ninth step of forming the at least one manifold hole (i.e., at least forming by piercing step using punches, etc.) and the tenth step of removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate (i.e., trimming step).
Fukushima further teaches in [0005] an object of the present invention is to provide a press forming method and a press forming apparatus for a formed film of a solid polymer electrolyte fuel cell in which it is possible to prolong the life time of the press forming apparatus by reducing the press load required for trimming.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen with the teachings of Fukushima, whereby the multilayer laminate including a step of forming the at least one manifold and a step removing a peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate as disclosed by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen further includes a step of securing the multilayer laminate before the ninth step of forming the at least one manifold hole and the tenth step of removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate as taught by Fukushima, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate simply substituting the multilayer laminate film as disclosed by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen for the film material as taught Fukushima so as to provide a press forming method and a press forming apparatus for a formed film of a solid polymer electrolyte fuel cell in which it is possible to prolong the life time of the press forming apparatus by reducing the press load required for trimming.
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 5. However, Huang is silent as to the step of securing the multilayer laminate is performed by inserting positioning pins into the first and second positioning holes.
The combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima disclose the membrane-electrode assembly as discussed above in claim 5. Ikoma teaches in [0055] as shown in Fig. 4, in assembling the stack ref. 1A, a plurality of assembling shafts ref. 40 are used to position the separators ref. 10 and the gaskets ref. 20, whereby the plurality of assembling shafts ref. 40 are disposed at the same positions of the insertion holes ref. 16 of the separators ref. 10 and the sixth through-holes ref. 26 of the gaskets ref. 20, etc., and further teaches in [0037] one gasket ref. 20-a of the pair of gaskets ref. 20 comes into contact with a front surface of the membrane electrode assembly ref. 30, and another gasket ref. 20-b of the pair of gaskets ref. 20 comes into contact with a back surface of the membrane electrode assembly ref. 30, etc., as shown in Figs. 2 and 4, and which at least provides the step of securing the multilayer laminate is performed by inserting positioning pins into the first and second positioning holes, such that at least two first positioning holes of the first sub-gasket film and the at least two second positioning holes of the second sub-gasket film are located outside an outer periphery of the electrolyte membrane (See Fig. 4) so that the plurality of assembling shafts ref. 40 are disposed at the same positions of the insertion holes ref. 16 of the separators ref. 10 and the sixth through-holes ref. 26 of the gaskets ref. 20, etc., (also see [0038], [0040], [0053]).
Ikoma further teaches in [0077] according to the polymer electrolyte fuel cell ref. 1, etc., it is possible to securely prevent the gasket ref. 20 from sticking to the assembling shaft ref. 40, and to improve sealability of the stack ref. 1A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima further with the teachings of Ikoma, whereby the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method including the first/second sub-gasket film(s), multilayer laminate, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima further includes at least two first positioning holes of the first sub-gasket film and the at least two second positioning holes of the second sub-gasket film are located outside an outer periphery of the electrolyte membrane, etc., as taught by Ikoma so that in assembling the stack, a plurality of assembling shafts are used to position the gaskets, etc., so that it is possible to securely prevent the gasket from sticking to the assembling shaft, and to improve sealability of the stack.
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1.
However, Huang is silent as to the third step of forming the first electrode window and the fourth step of forming the first positioning holes are simultaneously performed, and the sixth step of forming the second electrode window and the seventh step of forming the second positioning holes are simultaneously performed.
The combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen disclose the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 1. Fukushima teaches a press forming method and press forming apparatus for formed film of solid polymer electrolyte fuel cell (Title). Fukushima further teaches in [0048] as shown in Figs. 3-4, the film material ref. 12 has a rectangular frame shape, etc., whereby an inner hole ref. 28 for providing the cathode ref. 22 is formed in the thin material ref. 12, etc. Fukushima further teaches in [0048] it should be noted that the inner hole ref. 28 may be formed in the subsequent stage, etc., whereby as taught in [0049] a plurality of (two in the illustrated example) first position holes ref. 34 and a plurality of (four in the illustrate example of second positioning holes ref. 36 are formed in the film material ref. 12, etc., whereby the inner hole ref. 28 is positioned between the first positioning holes ref. 34, etc. Therefore, since Fukushima discloses forming first/second positioning hole(s) in a film material, and forming the inner hole in a subsequent stage, the skilled artisan would appreciate that this at least encompasses forming an electrode window and forming positioning holes are simultaneously performed.
Fukushima further teaches in [0005] an object of the present invention is to provide a press forming method and a press forming apparatus for a formed film of a solid polymer electrolyte fuel cell in which it is possible to prolong the life time of the press forming apparatus by reducing the press load required for trimming.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen with the teachings of Fukushima, whereby the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as disclosed by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen further includes forming an electrode window and forming positioning holes are simultaneously performed as taught by Fukushima, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate simply substituting the multilayer laminate film as disclosed by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen for the film material as taught Fukushima so as to provide a press forming method and a press forming apparatus for a formed film of a solid polymer electrolyte fuel cell in which it is possible to prolong the life time of the press forming apparatus by reducing the press load required for trimming.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Park et al. (KR20160056028A as cited in IDS and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 6. However, Huang is silent as to the first to eighth steps are repeated to obtain the multilayer laminate in plural, the multilayer laminates are secured together by inserting the positioning pins into the first and second positioning holes of the multilayer laminates, and the ninth step and the tenth step are performed by press-punching the multilayer laminates together.
The combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima disclose the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 6. Ikoma teaches in [0055] as shown in Fig. 4, in assembling the stack ref. 1A, a plurality of assembling shafts ref. 40 are used to position the separators ref. 10 and the gaskets ref. 20, whereby the plurality of assembling shafts ref. 40 are disposed at the same positions of the insertion holes ref. 16 of the separators ref. 10 and the sixth through-holes ref. 26 of the gaskets ref. 20, etc., and further teaches in [0037] one gasket ref. 20-a of the pair of gaskets ref. 20 comes into contact with a front surface of the membrane electrode assembly ref. 30, and another gasket ref. 20-b of the pair of gaskets ref. 20 comes into contact with a back surface of the membrane electrode assembly ref. 30, etc., as shown in Figs. 2 and 4, and which at least provides obtain the multilayer laminate in plural, the multilayer laminates are secured together by inserting the positioning pins into the first and second positioning holes of the multilayer laminates, and further provides the step of securing the multilayer laminate is performed by inserting positioning pins into the first and second positioning holes, such that at least two first positioning holes of the first sub-gasket film and the at least two second positioning holes of the second sub-gasket film are located outside an outer periphery of the electrolyte membrane (See Fig. 4) so that the plurality of assembling shafts ref. 40 are disposed at the same positions of the insertion holes ref. 16 of the separators ref. 10 and the sixth through-holes ref. 26 of the gaskets ref. 20, etc., (also see [0038], [0040], [0053]).
Ikoma further teaches in [0077] according to the polymer electrolyte fuel cell ref. 1, etc., it is possible to securely prevent the gasket ref. 20 from sticking to the assembling shaft ref. 40, and to improve sealability of the stack ref. 1A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima further with the teachings of Ikoma, whereby the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method including the first/second sub-gasket film(s), multilayer laminate(s), etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima further includes at least two first positioning holes of the first sub-gasket film and the at least two second positioning holes of the second sub-gasket film are located outside an outer periphery of the electrolyte membrane, etc., as taught by Ikoma so that in assembling the stack (i.e., at least multilayer laminate(s)), a plurality of assembling shafts are used to position the gaskets, etc., so that it is possible to securely prevent the gasket from sticking to the assembling shaft, and to improve sealability of the stack.
Park teaches a stamping and hot-pressing mold for manufacturing membrane-electrode assembly, and method for manufacturing membrane-electrode assembly using the same (Title). Park further teaches in [0063] the die for heat treatment (ref. 20) should have cutting and hot pressing sections set in consideration of the shape (design) of the membrane electrode assembly required in the stack, and as shown in (c) of Fig. 8, it may have a cutter (ref. 21b) for cutting the outer surface of the membrane electrode assembly to which the sub-gasket is joined, and a cutter (ref. 22b) for processing a manifold hole through which hydrogen, air, and cooling water pass, etc., which at least provides the ninth step and the tenth step are performed by press-punching the multilayer laminates together, (i.e., at least 5-layer membrane electrode assembly (ref. 4C) in which a sub-gasket (ref. 6) is bonded to a 3-layer membrane electrode assembly (ref. 4a), etc., as discussed in [0015]-[0018], such as multiple membrane electrode assemblies as discussed in [0024]), (also see [0015]-[0068], Figs. 7-8), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said press-punching.
Park further teaches in [0001] the present invention relates to a manufacturing apparatus and a manufacturing method for a membrane electrode assembly for a fuel cells, which enable reduction in the number of manufacturing process for a membrane electrode assembly for a fuel cell, and can be expected to improve production speed and productivity, as well as production efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima with the teachings of Park, whereby the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method including a step of forming the at least one manifold hole and a step of removing the peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate(s)as disclosed by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima further includes the ninth step and the tenth step are performed by press-punching the multilayer laminates together as taught by Park so as to provide a manufacturing apparatus and a manufacturing method for a membrane electrode assembly for a fuel cells, which enable reduction in the number of manufacturing process for a membrane electrode assembly for a fuel cell, and can be expected to improve production speed and productivity, as well as production efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 7.
However, Huang is silent as to the step of securing the multilayer laminates together comprises: a step of stacking the multilayer laminates on a supporting plate; and a step of mounting the supporting plate having the multilayer laminates stacked thereon on a die having the positioning pins while inserting the positioning pins into the first and second positioning holes of the multilayer laminates.
The combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima and Park disclose the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 7. Fukushima further teaches in [0050] as shown in Fig. 3, the press forming apparatus ref. 10 includes a first die ref. 40 and second die ref. 42 which face each other, etc., whereby as taught in [0051] the first die ref. 40 includes a first base ref. 44, a first die body ref. 46 provided on the first base ref. 44, and a plurality of supports ref. 48, whereby the film material ref. 12 is placed on the first die body ref. 46, and the supports ref. 48 are displaceable in the direction indicated by the arrow ref. A relative to the first base ref. 44 and the first die body ref. 46, etc., which at least provides a step of stacking the film material on a supporting plate (i.e., at least first die body ref. 46); and a step of mounting the supporting plate having the film material stacked thereon on a die (i.e., at least ref. 46 is stacked on a first base ref. 44 of the die ref. 40), such that the said supporting plate (i.e., at least first die body ref. 46) is at least mounted on the first base ref. 44 so that each of the supports ref. 48 passes through the first base ref. 44 and the first die body ref. 46 in the direction indicated by the arrow ref. A (See Fig. 3), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said mounting, etc.
Fukushima further teaches [0053] each of the supports ref. 48 passes through the first base ref. 44 and the first die body ref. 46 in the direction indicated by the arrow ref. A, and each of the supports ref. 48, which is a rod member extending in the direction indicated by the arrow ref. A, supports the film material ref. 12 from the back side, etc., and further teaches in [0054] as shown in Figs. 3-4, first positioning pins ref. 52 are provided on the supports ref. 48 facing the first positioning holes ref. 34, among the plurality of supports ref. 48, such that the first positioning pins ref. 52 are inserted into the first positioning holes ref. 34, and the first positioning pins ref. 52 protrude in the direction indicated by the arrow ref. A1 from end surfaces of the supports ref. 48 in the direction indicated by the arrow ref. A1, and a plurality of second positioning pins ref. 54 are provided in the first die ref. 40, such that the second positioning pins ref. 54 are inserted into the second positioning holes ref. 36 of the film material ref. 12 (see FIG. 4), which at least provides a die (i.e., at least first/second die, etc.) having the positioning pins while inserting the positioning pins into the first and second positioning holes of the film material, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said die is broad as claimed and could be any and all components of said die.
Fukushima further teaches in [0005] an object of the present invention is to provide a press forming method and a press forming apparatus for a formed film of a solid polymer electrolyte fuel cell in which it is possible to prolong the life time of the press forming apparatus by reducing the press load required for trimming.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima and Park with the teachings of Fukushima, whereby the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method including the multilayer laminate(s) including a step of forming the at least one manifold and a step removing a peripheral portion of the multilayer laminate as disclosed by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima and Park further includes a step of stacking the film material on a supporting plate; and a step of mounting the supporting plate having the film material stacked thereon on a die having the positioning pins while inserting the positioning pins into the first and second positioning holes of the film material as taught by Fukushima, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate simply substituting the multilayer laminates as disclosed by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima and Park for the film material as taught Fukushima so as to provide a press forming method and a press forming apparatus for a formed film of a solid polymer electrolyte fuel cell in which it is possible to prolong the life time of the press forming apparatus by reducing the press load required for trimming.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima and Park as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hirata et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0039112 A1), hereinafter Hirata.
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 8. However, Huang is silent as to the step of securing the multilayer laminates together further comprises moving the positioning pins along guide rails formed on the die to adjust positions of the positioning pins according to sizes of the multilayer laminates before mounting the supporting plate on the die.
The combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima and Park disclose the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method as discussed above in claim 8. Hirata teaches a pressing device and pressing method for metal plate (Title). Hirata further teaches in [0024] a rectangular support frame ref. 11, on which a metal plate ref. 4 is mounted, is carried to a space between the lower die ref. 2 and the upper die ref. 3 that are open, etc., whereby the support frame ref. 11 includes a tray ref. 12 that supports the outer edge of the metal plate ref. 4 and multiple pins ref. 13 that project upward from the tray and extend through the outer edge of the metal plate ref. 4, such that the pins ref. 13 function as positioning members that position the metal plate ref. 4 mounted on the tray ref. 12 relative to the tray ref. 12, etc. Hirata further teaches in [0025] the pushing member ref. 10 includes multiple recesses ref. 10b and multiple pins ref. 10c in the lower surface, whereby the recesses ref. 10b accommodate the distal ends of the pins ref. 13 of the support frame ref. 11 arranged on the stripper ref. 7, etc., whereby in the forming process, the portion (forming region) of the metal plate ref. 4 located inward from the support frame ref. 11 is deformed in conformance with the shape of the workpiece (separator) by the upper forming surface ref. 9a and the lower forming surface ref. 9b, etc. Hirata further teaches in [0029] the support frame ref. 11 on which the metal plate ref. 4 is mounted can be removed from the stripper ref. 7 of the lower die ref. 2 and can be carried so as to perform the punching process in the method for pressing the metal plate, etc., (also see [0007]-[0008], [0030], Fig. 1, Fig. 3).
Therefore, Hirata at least teaches moving the positioning pins (i.e., at least pins ref. 13 as in Fig. 1) along guide rails (i.e., at least recesses ref. 10b, Fig. 1) formed on the die (i.e., die includes at least upper and lower portion(s) as discussed above and in claim 8) to adjust positions of the positioning pins according to sizes of the multilayer laminates (i.e., deformed in conformance with the shape of the workpiece (separator) by the upper/lower forming surface(s)), whereby since Hirata teaches the support frame (i.e., including tray, etc., is at least a supporting plate, lacking any other distinction thereof) may be removed and be carried so as to perform the punching process, etc., this at least provides before mounting the supporting plate on the die, etc., lacking any further distinction thereof as to guide rails, supporting plate, die, etc.
Hirata further teaches in [0006] it is an object of the present invention to provide a pressing device and a pressing method for a metal plate that limit reduction in the yield when manufacturing workpieces from metal plates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima and Park with the teachings of Hirata, whereby the membrane-electrode assembly manufacturing method including the multilayer laminate(s) including a step of securing the multilayer laminates together as disclosed by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima and Park further includes moving the positioning pins along guide rails formed on the die to adjust positions of the positioning pins according to sizes of the metal plates (separator) before mounting the supporting plate on the die as taught by Hirata, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate simply substituting the multilayer laminates as disclosed by the combined teachings of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen and Fukushima and Park for the metal plate (separator) as taught Hirata so as to provide a pressing device and a pressing method for a metal plate that limit reduction in the yield when manufacturing workpieces from metal plates.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Huang and Ikoma have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Therefore, in light of the amendments to the claims, a new grounds of 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is made for claim 1 in view of Huang and Ikoma and Sasaoka and Chen. See the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection for the claims that depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ko et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2023/0197985 A1) discloses separator unit for fuel cell and unit cell for fuel cell including same (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0037] and forming a reaction surface external airtight line while surrounding the reaction surface internal gasket and the plurality of manifolds, wherein at least one cut portion formed by removing the reaction surface external gasket is on a portion of the reaction surface external airtight line surrounding at least one of the plurality of manifolds.
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727