DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment filed Nov. 25, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument regarding the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 8-13, see Remarks filed Nov 25, 2025, has been considered but are persuasive only in part. Applicant argues (p. 4 “Section 112(b) Rejection” to 3rd para. P. 5) that the recitation “equidistantly varying” in claim 8 is definite when read in light of the specification; Examiner agrees. However, the clause “evaluating the received optical reception signals as a function of respective maximum values of the associated optical reception signals” in claim 8 and “the evaluation is carried out as a function of a factor for each of the respective maximum values” in claim 11 is indefinite. Applicant argued (Remarks, p. 6, 4th -7th para.) that a POSITA would understand these clauses in view of paragraphs [0069] and [0081] of the Specification. Examiner disagrees; the cited paragraphs do not give sufficient detail as to how the factor is applied to evaluate the received optical reception signals. Para. [0069] merely recites “Typically using corresponding heuristics.” but no examples of heuristics are given. While para. [0081] states “..maximum value 402 and mean value 702” are each adapted with the aid of a factor 703, 704” but does not specify what the factor is or how it is determined. Therefore , a POSITA would not know whether a particular evaluation is within the metes and bound of the claim. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 8-13 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 USC 102 rejection of claims 8-11, see Remarks, p. 7, and 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 12-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bitan et al. (US 2020/0349728).
With regard to claims 8-9, Bitan discloses a method for evaluating optical reception signals (Fig. 4), comprising:
Emitting multiple optical emission signals for reception as optical reception signals, the emission signals being emitted equidistantly varying (430, light source emitted light at lowest (first) modulation frequency). The optical emission signals are emitted at a time internal in a relation to one another which is dependent on a predetermined unambiguous range (first frequency is selected based on maximal depth range, para. [0039-0040]).
Receiving optical reception signals (440, capture reflected TOF light energy in ROI pixels)
Associating the received optical reception signals with the multiple optical emission signals (compute phase shift between emitted and reflected light [0041]);
Evaluating the received optical reception signals as a function of respective maximum values (or threshold for the respective maximum) of the associated optical reception signals (para. [0059-0060]).
With regard to claims 10-11, the evaluation is carried out as a function of a factor (output of final range values depends on statistical distribution parameters satisfying a predetermined criterion, para. [0011-0013]). The choice of final range outputs is effectively a prefiltering operation.
With regard to claim 12, Bitan discloses (Fig. 1 & para. [0072-0074]) a non-transitory electronic memory medium (132) on which is stored a computer program for evaluating optical reception signals, the computer program, when executed by a computer (e. g. processing circuit 134), causing the computer to perform the following steps (Fig. 4):
Emitting multiple optical emission signals for reception as optical reception signal, the emission signals being emitted equidistantly varying in that the optical emission signals are emitted at a time interval in relation to one another which is dependent on a predetermined unambiguous range of a system (430, light source emitted light at lowest (first) modulation frequency, para. [0039-0040]);
Receiving optical reception signals (440, capture reflected TOF light energy in ROI pixels);
Associating the received optical reception signals with the multiple optical emission signals (compute phase shift between emitted and reflected light [0041]); and
Evaluating the received optical reception signals as a function of respective maximum values of the associated optical reception signals (para. [0059-0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bitan et al. (US 2020/0349728) in view of Beuschel et al. (US 2007/0115166).
With regard to claim 13, Bitan discloses a circuit (Fig. 1, (134)) configured to evaluate optical reception signals, the circuit configured to:
Emitting multiple optical emission signals for reception as optical reception signal, the emission signals being emitted equidistantly varying in that the optical emission signals are emitted at a time interval in relation to one another which is dependent on a predetermined unambiguous range of a system (430, light source emitted light at lowest (first) modulation frequency, para. [0039-0040]);
Receiving optical reception signals (440, capture reflected TOF light energy in ROI pixels);
Associating the received optical reception signals with the multiple optical emission signals (compute phase shift between emitted and reflected light [0041]); and
Evaluating the received optical reception signals as a function of respective maximum values of the associated optical reception signals (para. [0059-0060]).
Bitan does not specifically disclose, but Beuschel et al. teach in the same field of endeavor that a circuit for modulating emitted light and is an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC, para. [0018]). Advantages of ASIC include that it may be optimized for speed and efficiency, as well as using less power and less space on a circuit board. Therefore, one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical or electrical engineer, knowing of these advantages and how the ASIC is used in the optical distance finding system of Beuschel et al. would have found it obvious to choose ASIC as the circuit in the optical system of Bitan, before the effective filing date of the application.
Note that the citations made herein are done so for the convenience of the applicant; they are in no way intended to be limiting. The prior art should be considered in its entirety.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC L BOLDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645