DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 3/9/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-10, 14, 16-17, 21, 31-33, 44, and 46-47 are pending in the application. Claims 2-3, 11-13, 15, 18-20, 22-30, 34-43, 45, and 48-51 are cancelled. The amendments to the claims do not overcome the Double Patenting rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed on 10/20/2025, which is included again in this Office Action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-10, 16-17, 31-33, 44, and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naghavi et al. (US 2004/0102732 A1) in view of Shapland et al. (US 8,292,871 B1) and further in view of Laub (US 2017/0043066 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Naghavi discloses a method of perfusing a drug in an unarrested beating heart of a patient (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0041]) comprising:
positioning a first drug delivery catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220) in a right coronary artery of the heart (see Fig. 5b, par. [0063], [0067]-[0068], and [0088]);
positioning a second drug delivery catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220) in a left main coronary artery of the heart (see Fig. 5b, par. [0063], [0067]-[0068], and [0088]);
positioning a drug collection catheter (collecting catheter 210) in a coronary sinus (coronary sinus 27) of the heart (see Fig. 5c, par. [0062]), wherein the first drug delivery catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220), the second drug delivery catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220), and the drug collection catheter (collecting catheter 210) together with coronary arteries of the heart, a coronary venous system of the heart, and a membrane oxygenation device (multi-chambered dialysis machine 100) form a closed circuit (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0046], [0061 ]-[0062], and [0086]);
perfusing the drug through the closed circuit, wherein the closed circuit isolates coronary circulation of the patient from systemic circulation of the patient (see Figs. 1- - 5c, par. [0046], [0061]-[0062], and [0086]).
However, Naghavi fails to expressly state applying suction at the drug collection catheter to generate a negative pressure, wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to less than 0 mmHg.
Shapland teaches a method of perfusing a drug in an unarrested beating heart of a patient (see col. 8 lines 42-61) comprising: applying suction at the drug collection catheter (collection catheter 14) to generate a negative pressure (see Figs. 2-3, col. 4 lines 55-63, col. 5 lines 24-31, col. 5 line 59-col. 6 line 3, col. 8 lines 42-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Naghavi to include applying suction at the drug collection catheter to generate a negative pressure, as taught by Shapland, in order to provide active control of the negative pressure through the drug collection catheter (see Shapland col. 4 lines 55-63, col. 5 lines 24-31, col. 5 line 59-col. 6 line 3, col. 8 lines 42-61).
However, modified Naghavi still fails to expressly state wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to less than 0 mmHg.
Laub teaches a method (see Fig. 1) wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to less than 0 mmHg (see par. [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Naghavi to include wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to less than 0 mmHg, as taught by Laub, in order to provide a negative pressure which is appropriate for heart procedures (see Laub par. [0025], [0042]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein one or more of the first drug delivery catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220), the second drug delivery catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220), or the drug collection catheter (collecting catheter 210) are introduced percutaneously (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0057] and [0062]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein the first drug delivery catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220) and/or the second drug delivery catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220) are positioned via antegrade intubation (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0058], [0078], and [0088]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein the first drug delivery catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220) and/or the second drug delivery catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220) are positioned via an aorta of the patient by accessing an aorta femoralis and/or an aorta radialis (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0062]-[0063] and [0079]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein the drug collection catheter (collecting catheter 210) is positioned in the coronary sinus (coronary sinus 27) via a vena cava of the patient (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0062] and [0087]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein the drug collection catheter (collecting catheter 210) is positioned via a vena jugularis of the patient or a vena femoralis (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0062] and [0087]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein the membrane oxygenation device (multi-chambered dialysis machine 100) is positioned between the drug collection catheter (collecting catheter 210) and one or more of the first drug delivery catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220) or the second drug delivery catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220) (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0046]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches further comprising circulating blood through the closed circuit (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0046], [0086]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein the perfusing occurs at a flow rate of 150-250 mL/min (see par. [0071]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein the drug is suitable for treatment of a heart condition (see par. [0041]-[0042], [0051], and [0082]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 31, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein less than about 20% v/v of the drug perfused through the closed circuit leaks outside of the closed circuit (see par. [0086], the circuit is substantially closed such that the cardiac circulatory system may be completely isolated from systemic circulation meaning that none of the drug may leak outside of the closed circuit).
Regarding claim 32, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein one or more of the first drug delivery catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220), the second drug delivery catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220), or the drug collection catheter (collecting catheter 210) is a balloon catheter (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0058], [0065], and [0088]).
Regarding claim 33, Naghavi discloses a method of maintaining perfusion of a perfusate through a closed circuit in a heart of a patient, wherein the heart is unarrested and beating during the perfusion (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0041] and [0046]), the method comprising:
positioning a first catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220) in a right coronary artery of the heart (see Fig. 5b, par. [0063], [0067]-[0068], and [0088]);
positioning a second catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220) in a left main coronary artery of the heart (see Fig. 5b, par. [0063], [0067]-[0068], and [0088]);
positioning a collection catheter (collecting catheter 210) in a coronary sinus (coronary sinus 27) of the heart (see Fig. 5c, par. [0062]), wherein the first catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220), the second catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220), and the collection catheter (collecting catheter 210) together with coronary arteries, a coronary venous system, and a membrane oxygenation device (multi-chambered dialysis machine 100) form the closed circuit through the heart (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0046], [0061]-[0062], and [0086]);
flowing the perfusate through the closed circuit by introducing the perfusate into the heart via the first catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220) and the second catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220) and collecting the perfusate via the collection catheter (collecting catheter 210) (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0046]), wherein the closed circuit isolates coronary circulation of the patient from systemic circulation of the patient (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0046], [0061]-[0062], and [0086]).
However, Naghavi fails to expressly state applying suction at the collection catheter to generate a negative pressure, wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to less than 0 mmHg.
Shapland teaches a method of maintaining perfusion of a perfusate through a closed circuit in a heart of a patient, wherein the heart is unarrested and beating during the perfusion (see col. 8 lines 42-61), the method comprising: applying suction at the collection catheter (collection catheter 14) to generate a negative pressure (see Figs. 2-3, col. 4 lines 55-63, col. 5 lines 24-31, col. 5 line 59-col. 6 line 3, col. 8 lines 42-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Naghavi to include applying suction at the collection catheter to generate a negative pressure, as taught by Shapland, in order to provide active control of the negative pressure through the drug collection catheter (see Shapland col. 4 lines 55-63, col. 5 lines 24-31, col. 5 line 59-col. 6 line 3, col. 8 lines 42-61).
However, modified Naghavi still fails to expressly state wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to less than 0 mmHg.
Laub teaches a method (see Fig. 1) wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to less than 0 mmHg (see par. [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Naghavi to include wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to less than 0 mmHg, as taught by Laub, in order to provide a negative pressure which is appropriate for heart procedures (see Laub par. [0025], [0042]).
Regarding claim 44, Naghavi discloses a system for performing loco-regional perfusion within a heart of a patient when fluidly coupled to the heart (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0041]), the system comprising:
a first catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220) adapted for insertion into a right coronary artery of the heart (see Fig. 5b, par. [0063], [0067]-[0068], and [0088]);
a second catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220) adapted for insertion into a left main coronary artery of the heart (see Fig. 5b, par. [0063], [0067]-[0068], and [0088]);
a collection catheter (collecting catheter 210) adapted for insertion into a coronary sinus (coronary sinus 27) of the heart (see Fig. 5c, par. [0062]);
a membrane oxygenation device (multi-chambered dialysis machine 100) fluidly coupled to the first catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220), the second catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220), the collection catheter (collecting catheter 210), and an oxygen source (oxygenator 120) (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0046], [0050], and [0054]-[0055]), wherein the first catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220), the second catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220), the collection catheter (collecting catheter 210), and the membrane oxygenation device (multi-chambered dialysis machine 100) together form a closed circuit through the heart that is isolated from systemic circulation of the patient when the first catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220) is inserted into the right coronary artery (see Fig. 5b, par. [0063], [0067]-[0068], and [0088]), the second catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220) is inserted into the left main coronary artery (see Fig. 5b, par. [0063], [0067]-[0068], and [0088]), and the collection catheter (collecting catheter 210) is inserted into the coronary sinus (coronary sinus 27) (see Fig. 5c, par. [0062]); and
a pump (pump 150) configured to drive fluid flow through the first catheter (one of perfusion catheters 220) and the second catheter (other of perfusion catheters 220) (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0046] and [0053]-[0054]).
However, Naghavi fails to expressly state the pump configured to apply suction at the collection catheter to generate a negative pressure from about -100 mmHg to less than 0 mmHg.
Shapland teaches a system for performing loco-regional perfusion within a heart of a patient when fluidly coupled to the heart (see col. 8 lines 42-61), the system comprising: a pump (pump 18) configured to apply suction at the collection catheter (collection catheter 14) to generate a negative pressure (see Figs. 2-3, col. 4 lines 55-63, col. 5 lines 24-31, col. 5 line 59-col. 6 line 3, col. 8 lines 42-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Naghavi to include the pump configured to apply suction at the collection catheter to generate a negative pressure, as taught by Shapland, in order to provide active control of the negative pressure through the drug collection catheter (see Shapland col. 4 lines 55-63, col. 5 lines 24-31, col. 5 line 59-col. 6 line 3, col. 8 lines 42-61).
However, modified Naghavi still fails to expressly state wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to less than 0 mmHg.
Laub teaches a system (see Fig. 1) wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to less than 0 mmHg (see par. [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified Naghavi to include wherein the negative pressure ranges from about -100 mmHg to less than 0 mmHg, as taught by Laub, in order to provide a negative pressure which is appropriate for heart procedures (see Laub par. [0025], [0042]).
Regarding claim 46, modified Naghavi teaches the system of claim 44 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein the membrane oxygenation device (multi-chambered dialysis machine 100) comprises a reservoir (enricher 130) configured for injecting a drug into the closed circuit during perfusion (see Figs. 1-5c, par. [0046], [0051], and [0054]).
Regarding claim 47, modified Naghavi teaches the system of claim 44 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein the pump (pump 150) is configured to generate negative pressures of about -100 mmHg (see par. [0071], the safe coronary perfusion pressure of 100 mmHg at perfusion catheters 220 corresponds to a -100 mmHg pressure at collecting catheter 210 since the system is a closed circuit).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naghavi et al. (US 2004/0102732 A1) in view of Shapland et al. (US 8,292,871 B1) and further in view of Laub (US 2017/0043066 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thomas et al. (US 2010/0076095 A1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. However, modified Naghavi fails to expressly state wherein the perfusing occurs over a duration of about 5 minutes to about 5 hours.
Thomas teaches a method of perfusing a drug (see Fig. 4) wherein the perfusing occurs over a duration of about 5 minutes to about 1 hour (see par. [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Naghavi such that the perfusing occurs over a duration of about 5 minutes to about 1 hour, as taught by Thomas, because Thomas teaches that this is a standard perfusion duration which is safe for cardiac perfusion (see Thomas par. [0070]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naghavi et al. (US 2004/0102732 A1) in view of Shapland et al. (US 8,292,871 B1) and further in view of Laub (US 2017/0043066 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bridges et al. (US 6,673,039 B1).
Regarding claim 21, modified Naghavi teaches the method of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Naghavi further teaches wherein the drug comprises a gene (see par. [0082]-[0083]).
However, modified Naghavi fails to expressly state wherein the drug comprises a therapeutic polynucleotide sequence.
Bridges teaches a method (see Fig. 3) wherein the drug comprises a therapeutic polynucleotide sequence (see col. 16 lines 36-51, an oligonucleotide is a therapeutic polynucleotide sequence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Naghavi such that the drug comprises a therapeutic polynucleotide sequence, as taught by Bridges, in order to yield a therapeutic effect within the heart (see Bridges col. 16 lines 36-51).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/277,959 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 4 of 18/277,959.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 33, and 44 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/AVERY SMALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783