DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 9/2/26 are acknowledged. Any objection or rejection from the 6/2/26 office action that is not addressed below is withdrawn based on the amendments and/or arguments.
Previously, Group 1 was elected.
Claims 8-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as
being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/9/25.
Claims 1-7 are being examined.
Priority
The priority information is found in the filing receipt dated 6/14/22.
Specification
The amendment filed 12/21/25 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: The specification has been amended to recite ‘x has a value of 4-5’ specifically with respect to CH3COOH (for example page 3 line 16). The phrase ‘x has a value of 4-5’ could not be located in the original application and the arguments do not point to any location or reasoning for support for the amendment with respect to CH3COOH (arguments related to HCl are not necessarily relevant to arguments about CH3COOH).
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Response to Arguments - Specification
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Although applicants argue that the amendments to the specification have been canceled, there is no such amendment of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
This rejection is a new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1d has been amended to refer to ‘using very dilute HCl’. The term “very dilute” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “very dilute” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the instant case, it is unclear what amounts or concentrations would be considered very dilute. None of the dependent claims clarify the claim scope.
Although unclear the claims have been given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.
Response to Arguments - 112
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the rejection set forth above.
Although applicants argue that the claims have been amended, the amended claims are addressed above.
Although applicants argue that very dilute would be understood in terms of sufficiently low to accomplish salt exchange yet dilute enough to prevent the acid-catalyzed hydrolysis or degradation of the peptide, no such definition could be found in the instant specification. Although applicant can be their own lexicographer, the applicant must clearly set forth a special definition (MPEP 2111.01 IV).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims were previously rejected based on the references cited below. Since the claims have been amended, the rejection is updated to correspond to the instant claims.
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bezemer et al. (WO 2015/154031; ‘Bezemer’) in view of Gunnoo et al. (‘Reviving old protecting group chemistry for site-selective peptide-protein conjugation’ ChemComm Communication v54 2018 pages 11929-11932; ‘Gunnoo’) in view of Cui et al. (US 2018/0079777; ‘Cui’) in view of Laidler et al. (US 2015/0110820; ‘Laidler’) in view of Mi et al. (CN 105504012 04-2016).
Mi et al. (CN 105504012 04-2016) is not in the English language. A copy of a translated version (Translation of CN 105504012 09-2014 Mi et al., 9 pages) is included and all references herein (unless otherwise specified) will be to the translated version (MiTranslation).
Bezemer teach methods for preparing AMG 416 (abstract) specifically the hydrocholoride salt of AMG 416 (section 0005). Bezemer teach in figure 2 the structure of the protected peptide on the resin specifically where Cys contains a Trt group and each Arg contains a Pbf group (section 0026 and figure 2 and claim 1). Bezemer teach deprotection with 2,2,2-trifluoroacetic acid (TFA) to result in a Cys modified product (figure 3 and figure 3 caption section 0027). Bezemer teach activating the side chain of the D-Cys residue (claim 1). Bezemer teach reaction with L-Cys to form a disulfide containing salt form (figure 4 and figure 4 caption sections 0014 and 0028). Bezemer teach that purification of the intermediate prior to conjugation with Cys can increase efficiency and decrease cost (section 0072). Bezemer teach the formation of the HCl salt form (figure 5 and figure 5 caption section 0029). Bezemer specifically recognizes a deprotection and cysteine activation step which includes water, TFA and TIPS (section 0066). Bezemer teach that the salt can be purified by HPLC (section 0068). Bezemer teach that the TFA salt can be converted to the hydrochloride salt by any means known in the art (section 0070). Bezemer teach carrying out a salt exchange procedure which are well known in the art (section 0007). Bezemer shows the use of HCl to convert to the HCl salt (figure 5). Bezemer teach that pharmaceutically acceptable salts include acetate (section 0044). Bezemer teach that the TFA salt may be converted to the pharmaceutically acceptable salt such as hydrochloride (section 0070). Bezemer teach purification by preparative chromatography (section 0097). Bezemer teach using HPLC to obtain fractions of the desired purity (section 0097).
Bezemer does not teach Scm as in claim 1b.
Gunnoo teach a simple strategy for conjugation using peptides with a Cys(Scm) protecting group which is described as efficient and site-selective and generally applicable for disulfide formation (abstract). Gunnoo teach an ease to introducing Cys(Scm) into peptides (last paragraph on page 11929) and specifically teach the use of the chloride form (scheme 2). Gunnoo teach the use of DTT to obtain a free thiol (page 11930 first complete paragraph). Gunnoo concludes that the Scm group can be used as an activating group for disulfide formation (page 11931 last paragraph).
Cui teach preparing etelcalcetide (abstract). Cui teach the use of hydrates and salts (section 0064) and specifically teach cysteine hydrochloride hydrate (section 0129). Cui teach that any suitable protecting group may be used to protect D-Cys (section 0104). Cui teach that the TFA salt (acetate salt) is converted to a pharmaceutically acceptable salt such as hydrocholoride salt (section 0006). Cui expressly refers to the 4HCl form (section 0108).
Laidler recognizes that the trifluoroacetate salt form of a peptide is not the most acceptable form and that acetate is considered to be a more acceptable form (sections 0008 and 0015). Laidler recognizes that acetic acid is a weaker acid than trifluoroacetic acid (section 0015).
MiTranslation teach the preparation of velcalcetide acetate peptide by using HPLC and acetic acid and acetonitrile (embodiment 12 connecting paragraph pages 7-8). Page number 3 (section 0003) of the untranslated Mi document shows the structure of velcalcetide.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Bezemer because Bezemer teach the synthesis of a specific compound with a disulfide and teach activating the side chain of the D-Cys residue (claim 1). Bezemer teach that purification of the intermediate prior to conjugation with Cys can increase efficiency and decrease cost (section 0072). Since Gunnoo teach a simple strategy for conjugation using peptides with a Cys(Scm) protecting group which is described as efficient and site-selective and generally applicable for disulfide formation (abstract) one would have been motivated to use the Scm group. Since Bezemer teach that pharmaceutically acceptable salts include acetate (section 0044) and teach that the salt may be converted to the pharmaceutically acceptable salt such as hydrochloride (section 0070) one would have been motivated to do such by using acetic acid for formation of the acetate. Further, Laidler recognizes that the trifluoroacetate salt form of a peptide is not the most acceptable form (sections 0008 and 0015) and MiTranslation teach the preparation of velcalcetide acetate peptide by using HPLC and acetic acid and acetonitrile (embodiment 12 connecting paragraph pages 7-8) (where velcalcetide is of the same sequence of etelcalcetide – see section 0003 on page 3 of the untranslated Mi document). Thus one would have been motivated to use known techniques to prepare the acetate form. Bezemer teach reaction with L-Cys to form a disulfide containing salt form (figure 4 and figure 4 caption sections 0014 and 0028) and Cui specifically teach cysteine hydrochloride hydrate (section 0129) for synthesis of the same peptide so one would have been motivated to use such form. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Cui teach that any suitable protecting group may be used to protect D-Cys (section 0104). Further, the other agents and steps were known.
In relation to formula II as recited in claim 1, Bezemer teach in figure 2 the structure of the protected peptide on the resin specifically where Cys contains a Trt group (section 0026 and figure 2 and claim 1).
In relation to step a of claim 1, Bezemer teach deprotection with 2,2,2-trifluoroacetic acid (TFA) to result in a Cys modified product (figure 3 and figure 3 caption section 0027).
In relation to step b of claim 1, Bezemer teach activating the side chain of D-Cys (claim 1). Gunnoo teach an ease to introducing Cys(Scm) into peptides (last paragraph on page 11929) and specifically teach the use of the chloride form (scheme 2). Bezemer specifically recognizes a deprotection and cysteine activation step which includes water, TFA and TIPS (section 0066).
In relation to step c of claim 1, MiTranslation teach the preparation of velcalcetide acetate peptide by using HPLC and acetic acid and acetonitrile (embodiment 12 connecting paragraph pages 7-8) (where velcalcetide is of the same sequence of etelcalcetide – see section 0003 on page 3 of the untranslated Mi document). Bezemer teach reaction with L-Cys to form a disulfide containing salt form (figure 4 and figure 4 caption sections 0014 and 0028). Bezemer teach the formation of the HCl salt form (figure 5 and figure 5 caption section 0029). Bezemer specifically recognizes a deprotection and cysteine activation step which includes water, TFA and TIPS (section 0066). Bezemer teach that the salt can be purified by HPLC (section 0068). Bezemer teach that pharmaceutically acceptable salts include acetate (section 0044).
In relation to step d of claim 1, Bezemer teach that the TFA salt may be converted to the pharmaceutically acceptable salt such as hydrochloride (section 0070). Cui expressly refers to the 4HCl form (section 0108). Bezemer teach that the TFA salt can be converted to the hydrochloride salt by any means known in the art (section 0070). Bezemer teach carrying out a salt exchange procedure which are well known in the art (section 0007). Bezemer shows the use of HCl to convert to the HCl salt (figure 5). Bezemer teach that pharmaceutically acceptable salts include acetate (section 0044). Bezemer teach that the TFA salt may be converted to the pharmaceutically acceptable salt such as hydrochloride (section 0070). Bezemer teach purification by preparative chromatography (section 0097). Bezemer teach using HPLC to obtain fractions of the desired purity (section 0097).
In relation to claim 2, Bezemer teach in figure 2 the structure of the protected peptide on the resin specifically where Cys contains a Trt group (section 0026 and figure 2 and claim 1). Further, Gunnoo teach a simple strategy for conjugation using peptides with a Cys(Scm) protecting group which is described as efficient and site-selective and generally applicable for disulfide formation (abstract) which utilizes an Acm group (scheme 2).
In relation to claims 3-5, Bezemer specifically recognizes a deprotection and cysteine activation step which includes water, TFA and TIPS (section 0066). Gunnoo teach the use of DTT to obtain a free thiol (page 11930 first complete paragraph).
In relation to claim 6, MiTranslation teach the preparation of velcalcetide acetate peptide by using HPLC and acetic acid and acetonitrile (embodiment 12 connecting paragraph pages 7-8) (where velcalcetide is of the same sequence of etelcalcetide – see section 0003 on page 3 of the untranslated Mi document). Bezemer teach HPLC purification using an acetate and acetonitrile (section 00100). Since Bezemer teach that pharmaceutically acceptable salts include acetate (section 0044) and teach that the salt may be converted to the pharmaceutically acceptable salt such as hydrochloride (section 0070) one would have been motivated to do such by using acetic acid for formation of the acetate.
In relation to claim 7, Bezemer teach reaction with L-Cys to form a disulfide containing salt form (figure 4 and figure 4 caption sections 0014 and 0028) and Cui specifically teach cysteine hydrochloride hydrate (section 0129).
Response to Arguments - 103
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the rejection set forth above.
Although applicants argue that Gunnoo is non-analogous art because it is not drawn to industrial scale synthesis of a peptide, it is first noted that claim 1 does not require industrial scale. Gunnoo uses the word ‘peptide’ 55 times and the title of Gunnoo relates to chemistry for peptides. One would recognize peptide chemistry as relevant to peptide synthesis.
Although applicants argue that Gunnoo is not reasonably pertinent, MPEP 2141.01(a) I recites “In order for a reference to be "reasonably pertinent" to the problem, it must "logically [] have commended itself to an inventor's attention in considering his problem.". In the instant case, claim 1b requires reacting and modifying a cysteine side chain and eventual contact with Cys to form a disulfide bond (claim 1c). Gunnoo teach a simple strategy for conjugation using peptides with a Cys(Scm) protecting group which is described as efficient and site-selective and generally applicable for disulfide formation (abstract).
Although applicants argue that the similarity of Bezemer with the present invention is limited to solid phase peptide synthesis of etelcalcetide, such similarity is significant because as denoted in the instant title the invention relates to preparation of etelcalcetide.
Although applicants argue about the teachings of Bezemer or Gunnoo alone, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Although applicants argue about the teachings of Cui or Laidler or Mi alone, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Although applicants argue about a reasonable expectation of success based on Bezemer, the instant rejection is not based on Bezemer alone. Gunnoo teach a simple strategy for conjugation using peptides with a Cys(Scm) protecting group which is described as efficient and site-selective and generally applicable for disulfide formation (abstract). Gunnoo teach an ease to introducing Cys(Scm) into peptides (last paragraph on page 11929) and specifically teach the use of the chloride form (scheme 2). Gunnoo teach the use of DTT to obtain a free thiol (page 11930 first complete paragraph). Gunnoo concludes that the Scm group can be used as an activating group for disulfide formation (page 11931 last paragraph). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Cui teach that any suitable protecting group may be used to protect D-Cys (section 0104). Further, the other agents and steps were known.
Although applicants argue that Bezemer teaches away by referring to Spy intermediates and not using Scm, the instant claims do not relate to using a Spy intermediate. Bezemer teach in figure 2 the structure of the protected peptide on the resin specifically where Cys contains a Trt group (section 0026 and figure 2 and claim 1). Gunnoo teach a simple strategy for conjugation using peptides with a Cys(Scm) protecting group which is described as efficient and site-selective and generally applicable for disulfide formation (abstract). Gunnoo teach an ease to introducing Cys(Scm) into peptides (last paragraph on page 11929) and specifically teach the use of the chloride form (scheme 2). Gunnoo teach the use of DTT to obtain a free thiol (page 11930 first complete paragraph). Gunnoo concludes that the Scm group can be used as an activating group for disulfide formation (page 11931 last paragraph). Bezemer teach that purification of the intermediate prior to conjugation with Cys can increase efficiency and decrease cost (section 0072). Thus, Bezemer does not teach purification solely of the final product as asserted by applicant.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Although applicants argue that the claims require purification of a Scm-activated intermediate, Bezemer teach that purification of the intermediate prior to conjugation with Cys can increase efficiency and decrease cost (section 0072). Gunnoo teach a simple strategy for conjugation using peptides with a Cys(Scm) protecting group which is described as efficient and site-selective and generally applicable for disulfide formation (abstract). Gunnoo teach an ease to introducing Cys(Scm) into peptides (last paragraph on page 11929) and specifically teach the use of the chloride form (scheme 2). Gunnoo teach the use of DTT to obtain a free thiol (page 11930 first complete paragraph). Gunnoo concludes that the Scm group can be used as an activating group for disulfide formation (page 11931 last paragraph).
Although applicants argue about hindsight, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658