DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 through 16 originally filed 25 February 2022. By preliminary amendment received 5 February 2022; claims 15 and 16 are amended. By amendments received 14 September 2023 and 4 October 2023; claim 1 is amended and claim 5 is cancelled. By amendment received 25 April 2024; claim 1 is amended. By amendment received 30 October 2024; claims 1, 2, and 4 are amended and claim 17 is added. Claims 1 through 4 and 6 through 17 are addressed by this action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered; they are addressed below.
Applicant argues that the combined teachings of Eichenholz et al. (Eichenholz, US Pub. 2020/0076152) and Thony et al. (Thony, US Patent 5,732,100) alone do not render obvious the claimed subject matter and that the evidence underpinning the determination of obviousness is not incorporated in the rejection. In response, all previous rejections are withdrawn and new rejections have been formulated as set forth below.
As such, all claims are addressed as follows:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4 June 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) and 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specifically with respect to 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), no legible copy of foreign references 1-4 has been provided and the documents likely filed as abstract translations are illegible.
Specifically with respect to 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i), no concise explanation of relevance for NPL reference 1 has been provided. A concise explanation of relevance is required because this reference is not in English.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 through 4, 6 through 8, and 10 through 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichenholz et al. (Eichenholz, US Pub. 2020/0076152), in view of Thony et al. (Thony, US Patent 5,732,100), in view of Molva et al. (Molva, US Patent 5,495,494), and further in view of Stultz et al. (Stultz, US Patent 5,654,973).
Regarding claim 1, Eichenholz discloses, "A gain medium (GM) having a stimulated emission cross section σSE" (p. [0104] and Fig. 11, pt. 410). "A saturable absorber (SA) having an absorption cross section (σa)" (p. [0104] and Fig. 11, pt. 420). "[The absorption cross section (σa)] is less than three times the σSE of the GM" (p. [0110] and [0125], where these properties are material properties and these materials have material properties that exhibit this relationship). "An optical resonator within which the GM and the SA are positioned" (p. [0141] and Fig. 11, pts. 470 and 480). "The optical resonator comprising a high reflectivity mirror and an output coupler" (p. [0141] and Fig. 11, pts. 470 and 480). "Wherein the high reflectivity mirror and the output coupler are rigidly coupled to the GM and to the SA" (p. [0141] and Fig. 11, pts. 470 and 480). "The passively Q-switched laser is a monolithic microchip passively Q-switched laser" (p. [0104] and Fig. 11, pts. 410 and 420). "Wherein at least one of the high reflectivity mirror and the output coupler directs light within the optical resonator" (p. [0141] and Fig. 11, pts. 470 and 480). Eichenholz does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein at least one of the high reflectivity mirror and the output coupler is a curved mirror." Thony discloses, "Wherein at least one of the high reflectivity mirror and the output coupler is a curved mirror" (col. 7, lines 15-30 and Fig. 2, pts. 14 and 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Eichenholz with the teachings of Thony. In view of the teachings of Eichenholz regarding a microchip laser with integrated reflectors, the alteration of the cavity to include curved mirrors as taught by Thony would enhance the teachings of Eichenholz by improving stability of the operational mode and allowing for additional concentration of the pump light (as evidenced by Molva, col. 8, lines 60-65 and Fig. 2B, pts. 8, 12, 15, and 16).
The combination of Eichenholz, Thony, and Molva does not explicitly disclose, "An effective cross-section of a laser mode within the SA (ASA) is smaller than a cross-section of a laser mode within a Rayleigh length of a pump beam (AGM)." "Wherein the SA is made of cobalt-doped YAG (Co2+:YAG)." Stultz discloses, "An effective cross-section of a laser mode within the SA (ASA) is smaller than a cross-section of a laser mode within a Rayleigh length of a pump beam (AGM)" (Fig. 1, pts. 34 and 38, where the laser mode cross section is much larger in the gain medium 34 than the saturable absorber 38 which results in this configuration when the pump light is focused in the gain medium as in Thony). "Wherein the SA is made of cobalt-doped YAG (Co2+:YAG)" (Fig. 1, pt. 38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Eichenholz, Thony, and Molva with the teachings of Stultz. In view of the teachings of Eichenholz regarding a laser cavity including a gain medium and a saturable absorber, the alternate construction of the saturable absorber to employ Co2+:YAG and the configuration of the cavity to provide a greater concentration of light within the saturable absorber than the gain medium as taught by Stultz would enhance the teachings of Eichenholz, Thony, and Molva by indicating Co2+:YAG as a suitable saturable absorber alternative capable of providing operational properties uniquely associated therewith and by improving the operation of the saturable absorber.
Regarding claim 2, Eichenholz discloses, "Wherein the GM is made of neodymium-doped yttrium aluminum garnet (Nd:YAG)" (p. [0110] and Fig. 11, pt. 410).
Regarding claim 3, Eichenholz discloses, "Wherein the GM is made of neodymium-doped yttrium orthovanadate (YVO4)" (p. [0110] and Fig. 11, pt. 410). "Wherein the SA is made of a three-valence vanadium-doped yttrium aluminum garnet (V3+:YAG)" (p. [0125] and Fig. 11, pt. 420).
Regarding claim 4, Eichenholz discloses, "Wherein the GM is made of neodymium-doped yttrium orthovanadate (YVO4)" (p. [0110] and Fig. 11, pt. 410).
Regarding claim 6, Eichenholz does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the high reflectivity mirror is a concave mirror." Thony discloses, "Wherein the high reflectivity mirror is a concave mirror" (col. 7, lines 15-30 and Fig. 2, pt. 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Eichenholz with the teachings of Thony for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Eichenholz does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein both the high reflectivity mirror and the output coupler are concave mirrors." Thony discloses, "Wherein both the high reflectivity mirror and the output coupler are concave mirrors" (col. 7, lines 15-30 and Fig. 2, pts. 14 and 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Eichenholz with the teachings of Thony for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Eichenholz, Thony, Molva, and Stultz does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the curvatures of the concave high reflectivity mirror and of the concave output coupler are such that the highest energy density is within the middle 60% of the optical resonator." Thony teaches the radii of curvature for terminal faces of a microlaser are result effective variables producing a recognized alteration in shaping beams present within the cavity defined by those terminal faces (col. 9, lines 48-56). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the curvatures of the mirrors to adjust the location of the mode waist within the laser device so as to ensure adequate but not excessive concentration of energy in respective regions of the gain medium and the saturable absorber, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 10, Eichenholz discloses, "At least one end-pumping light source" (p. [0105] and Fig. 11, pt. 430). "Optics for focusing light of the end-pumping light source into the optical resonator" (p. [0106] and Fig. 11, pt. 430 and 450).
Regarding claim 11, Eichenholz discloses, "Wherein the GM and the SA are polycrystalline materials" (p. [0107], [0126], and Fig. 11, pts. 410 and 420).
Regarding claim 12, Eichenholz discloses, "Undoped YAG in addition to the GM and the SA for preventing heat from accumulating in an absorptive region of the GM" (p. [0147] and Fig. 12, pts. 410 and 500).
Regarding claim 13, Eichenholz discloses, "Wherein the GM and the SA are implemented on a single piece of crystalline material doped with neodymium and with at least one other material" (p. [0137] and Fig. 11, pts. 410, 420, and 490).
Regarding claim 14, Eichenholz discloses, "Wherein the passively Q-switched laser emits light through the output coupler within wavelengths range of 1,300nm and 1,500nm" (p. [0104]).
Regarding claim 15, Eichenholz discloses, "A short wave infrared (SWIR) electro-optical system" (p. [0038] and Fig. 1, pts. 100 and 110). "A SWIR photodetector array sensitive to the wavelength of the passively Q-switched laser for detecting reflections of laser illumination off at least one illuminated object" (p. [0038] and Fig. 1, pts. 140 and 150).
Regarding claim 16, Eichenholz discloses, "A short wave infrared (SWIR) electro-optical system" (p. [0038] and Fig. 1, pts. 100 and 110). "A time of flight (ToF) SWIR sensor sensitive to the wavelength of the passively Q-switched laser" (p. [0041] and Fig. 1, pts. 140 and 150). "A controller operable to synchronize operation of the ToF SWIR sensor and the passively Q-switched laser" (p. [0041] and Fig. 1, pts. 140 and 150). "A processor operable to process detection, by the ToF SWIR sensor, of reflections of laser illumination of the passively Q-switched laser, for determining a distance to at least one object in a field of view of the SWIR electrooptical system" (p. [0041] and Fig. 1, pts. 140 and 150).
Regarding claim 17, Eichenholz discloses, "A gain medium (GM) having a stimulated emission cross section σSE" (p. [0104] and Fig. 11, pt. 410). "A saturable absorber (SA) having an absorption cross section (σa)" (p. [0104] and Fig. 11, pt. 420). "[The absorption cross section (σa)] is less than three times the σSE of the GM" (p. [0110] and [0125], where these properties are material properties and these materials have material properties that exhibit this relationship). "An optical resonator within which the GM and the SA are positioned" (p. [0141] and Fig. 11, pts. 470 and 480). "The optical resonator comprising a high reflectivity mirror and an output coupler" (p. [0141] and Fig. 11, pts. 470 and 480). "Wherein the high reflectivity mirror and the output coupler are rigidly coupled to the GM and to the SA" (p. [0141] and Fig. 11, pts. 470 and 480). "The passively Q-switched laser is a monolithic microchip passively Q-switched laser" (p. [0104] and Fig. 11, pts. 410 and 420). "Wherein at least one of the high reflectivity mirror and the output coupler directs light within the optical resonator" (p. [0141] and Fig. 11, pts. 470 and 480). Eichenholz does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein both the high reflectivity mirror and the output coupler are concave mirrors." Thony discloses, "Wherein both the high reflectivity mirror and the output coupler are concave mirrors" (col. 7, lines 15-30 and Fig. 2, pts. 14 and 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Eichenholz with the teachings of Thony for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of Eichenholz, Thony, and Molva does not explicitly disclose, "An effective cross-section of a laser mode within the SA (ASA) is smaller than a cross-section of a laser mode within a Rayleigh length of a pump beam (AGM)." Stultz discloses, "An effective cross-section of a laser mode within the SA (ASA) is smaller than a cross-section of a laser mode within a Rayleigh length of a pump beam (AGM)" (Fig. 1, pts. 34 and 38, where the laser mode cross section is much larger in the gain medium 34 than the saturable absorber 38 which results in this configuration when the pump light is focused in the gain medium as in Thony). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Eichenholz, Thony, and Molva with the teachings of Stultz for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of Eichenholz, Thony, Molva, and Stultz does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the curvatures of the concave high reflectivity mirror and of the concave output coupler are such that the highest energy density is within the middle 60% of the optical resonator." Thony teaches the radii of curvature for terminal faces of a microlaser are result effective variables producing a recognized alteration in shaping beams present within the cavity defined by those terminal faces (col. 9, lines 48-56). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the curvatures of the mirrors to adjust the location of the mode waist within the laser device so as to ensure adequate but not excessive concentration of energy in respective regions of the gain medium and the saturable absorber, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichenholz, in view of Thony, in view of Molva, in view of Stultz, and further in view of Baleras et al. (Baleras, US Pub. 2007/0102482).
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Eichenholz, Thony, Molva, and Stultz does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a diameter of the SA is smaller than a diameter of the GM." "Wherein the SA is surrounded by another material for releasing heat from the optical resonator." Baleras discloses, "Wherein a diameter of the SA is smaller than a diameter of the GM" (p. [0060], [0086] and Figs. 2A and 5C, pts. 32 and 59', where the right portion of 59' is the saturable absorber in Figure 5C). "Wherein the SA is surrounded by another material for releasing heat from the optical resonator" (p. [0060], [0086] and Figs. 2A and 5C, pts. 32, 57', and 58', where the saturable absorber is surrounded by blocks 57' and 58' in Figure 5C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Eichenholz, Thony, Molva, and Stultz with the teachings of Baleras. In view of the teachings of Eichenholz regarding a microchip laser with an integrated Q-switch, the alteration of the Q-switch by removing a portion of the Q-switch and inserting heat dissipation blocks as taught by Baleras would enhance the teachings of Eichenholz, Thony, Molva, and Stultz by allowing for additional heat dissipation from the saturable absorber and the gain medium.
Conclusion
/SEAN P HAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2828