Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poulsen (US4110149 A).
Regarding claim 1, Poulsen discloses an apparatus for producing resin tubes (claim 2 lines30-33), the apparatus comprising: a hollow supporting structure (see figure 1, 21) around an outside of which an endless carrier strip (21) is windable in a plurality of adjacent windings to form a mould (mandrel) on which a resin material is applied to an outside (column 2 lines 30-35);
and return head (66) for supporting the carrier strip after leaving the supporting structure and for feeding the carrier strip into an interior of the supporting structure the return head comprising
a return head disk (36) extending perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the supporting structure (66 a and 66B):
brackets (70) fixed to the return head disk
cylinders (68) respectively fixed to the return head disk by the brackets; and variable-length elements respectively (figure 7 shows retracted while figure 6 shows extended so therefore the return desks are capable of variable length elements) comprising:
pistons (64) respectively configured to move in the cylinders in a radial direction with respect to an axis that extends through the interior of the supporting structure, each of the pistons being configured to move between a radial inner position and a radial outer positions (figure 8 depicts the radial arms 64a-c with variable lengths); and
rollers (72) respectively arranged on the pistons at respective radial outer ends of the pistons.
Regarding claim 2, Poulsen disclose wherein the variable-length elements comprises pressure elements (compression spring 98) for pressing the carrier strip radially outwards (rollers 72) .
Regrading claim 3, Poulsen discloses wherein the variable-length elements comprise length adjustable support rods (adjustable shaft 58 column 3 lines 58-60).
Regarding claim 7, Poulsen discloses wherein the variable-length elements vary between preselected maximum and minimum distances depending on the radial distance between a carrier strip and a longitudinal axis of the supporting structure (figure 8 depicts the radial arms 64a-c with variable lengths. Regarding the functional language (e.g., the variable-length elements vary between preselected maximum and minimum distances depending on the radial distance between a carrier strip and a longitudinal axis of the supporting structure), the Examiner has considered it. However, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 8, Poulsen disclose wherein the variable-length elements exert forces on the carrier strip against the resin material and maintain a tension and a position of the carrier strip (compression springs 104 creates a tension (column 3 lines 54-55). Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 9, Poulsen discloses wherein the variable-length elements comprises pneumatic, spring, hydraulic, magnetic and/or mechanical actuators (column 3 lines 54-55).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9/19/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754