DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, and the species SEQ ID NOs: 310, 338, 339, 620, and 631, B is a heterocyclic nucleobase, L1 and L2 are, independently, internucleoside linking groups linking the compound of formula (I) to a polynucleotide; Y is NR1, R1 a group -[C(=O)]m-R2-(O-CH2-CH2)p-R3, wherein m is 0, p is 0, R2 is a C5 alkylene group, and R3 is a C5 heterocycle; X1 and X2 are each, independently, a hydrogen atom; and o each of Ra, Rb, Rc and Rd is, independently, H (at least claim 1 is generic), B is a pyrimidine; A1, A2 and A3 are each OH, and A4 is NHC(=O)-R5, wherein R5 is a C1 alkyl group (at least claims 1 and 11 are generic); lgT3 from Table A , and C027.003 in the reply filed on 5/27/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 12, 28, 29, and 35-39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/27/25.
Improper Markush Rejection
Claims 11 and 13-20 are rejected on the judicially-created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). The improper Markush grouping includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. The members of the improper Markush grouping do not share a substantial feature and/or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature for the following reasons: The claims are directed to a multitude of structures that have different structural requirements and function differently in the cell. One cannot be substituted for another with expectation of identical activity. A search for one would not necessarily return art for another with a different structure. Each requires a separate and distinct search and corresponding examination.
In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims(s) in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 134 and 37 CFR 41.31(a)(1).
When the Markush grouping is for alternatives of chemical compounds, they shall be regarded as being of a similar nature where the following criteria are fulfilled:
(A) All alternatives have a common property or activity; and
(B) (1) A common structure is present, i.e., a significant structural element is shared by all of the alternatives; or
(B) (2) In cases where the common structure cannot be the unifying criteria, all alternatives belong to a recognized class of chemical compounds in the art to which the invention pertains.
In paragraph (B)(1), above, the words “significant structural element is shared by all of the alternatives” refer to cases where the compounds share a common chemical structure which occupies a large portion of their structures, or in case the compounds have in common only a small portion of their structures, the commonly shared structure constitutes a structurally distinctive portion in view of existing prior art, and the common structure is essential to the common property or activity. The structural element may be a single component or a combination of individual components linked together.
In paragraph (B)(2), above, the words “recognized class of chemical compounds” mean that there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member could be substituted one for the other, with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved.
In order for the members of the Markush group to belong to “recognized class of chemical compounds” there must be an expectation that the members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention. In other words, each member of the class could be substituted one for the other with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved. In the instant case, activity of any specific structure as claimed is dependent upon the specific structural requirements of each. There is no expectation that any one of the structures as claimed can be substituted for any of the other with different structural requirements with the expectation of the same activity.
As set forth in MPEP2117, “Note that where a Markush group includes only materials from a recognized scientific class of equivalent materials or from an art-recognized class, "the mere existence of such a group in an application tend[s] to prove the equivalence of its members and when one of them [is] anticipated the group [is] therefore rendered unpatentable, in the absence of some convincing evidence of some degree of non-equivalency of one or more of the remaining members." In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 598-99, 118 USPQ 340, 348 (CCPA 1958)("[A]ctual equivalence is not enough to justify refusal of a patent on one member of a group when another member is in the prior art. The equivalence must be disclosed in the prior art or be obvious within the terms of Section 103." Id. at 599, 118 USPQ at 348).”
In the instant case, art against any one structure would not be evidence against any of the remaining members that have completely different structures and do not have identical activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 9, 10, 21, 25-27, and 30-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dudek et al. (WO 2019/204021 A1).
Dudek et al. teach a siRNA that comprises instant SEQ ID NO:310 and the complement thereof (see nucleotides 3-21 of SEQ ID NO: 429 of Dudek et al on page 65 and the complement, SEQ ID NO: 882). The complement comprises each of instant SEQ ID NOs: 323, 329, 331, 339, 341, 343, and 345 (instant claims 1 and 30).
See result #34 of the PE2E search file titled “us-17-638-339-310.szlim100.rng” as follows:
ID BGW62355 standard; mRNA; 25 BP.
DT 12-DEC-2019 (first entry)
DE Human PCSK9 gene targeted RNAi oligonucleotide sense strand, SEQ 429.
KW antiarteriosclerotic; antilipemic; atherosclerosis; cardiant;
KW cerebroprotective; coronary artery disease; drug delivery;
KW end stage renal disease; gene silencing; hypercholesterolemia;
KW hypercholesterolemia autosomal dominant 3; kexin-9; metabolic-gen.;
KW nephrotropic; neural apoptosis regulated convertase 1;
KW peripheral vascular disease; proprotein convertase subtilisin;
KW renal disease; ss; stroke; therapeutic; vasotropic.
OS Homo sapiens.
CC PN WO2019204021-A1.
CC PD 24-OCT-2019.
CC PF 01-APR-2019; 2019WO-US025253.
PR 18-APR-2018; 2018US-0659693P.
PR 19-MAR-2019; 2019US-0820558P.
CC PA (DICE-) DICERNA PHARM INC.
CC PI Dudek HT, Park J;
DR WPI; 2019-88273N/86.
CC PT New oligonucleotide useful in composition for decreasing symptoms of
CC PT hypercholesterolemia, atherosclerosis, and/or symptoms or complications in mammal, preferably human.
CC PS Claim 49; SEQ ID NO 429; 107pp; English.
CC The present invention relates to a novel oligonucleotide, useful in
CC preparing a composition for reducing the expression of proprotein
CC convertase subtilisin/kexin-9 (PCSK9, NARC-1, neural apoptosis regulated
CC convertase 1, HCHOLA3, hypercholesterolemia autosomal dominant 3) gene.
CC The oligonucleotide comprises an antisense strand comprises a sequence of
CC SEQ ID NOs: 1193-1232, 1257-1265 and 1269-1271 (see BGW63119-BGW63158,
CC BGW63183-BGW63191 and BGW63195-BGW63197). The invention also provides: an
CC oligonucleotide comprising antisense strand of SEQ ID NOs: 1233-1244 (see
CC BGW63159-BGW63170); a composition comprising the oligonucleotide and an
CC excipient; a method for delivering the oligonucleotide to a subject by
CC administering the composition to the subject; and a method for decreasing
CC one or more symptoms of hypercholesterolemia, atherosclerosis and/or one
CC or more symptoms or complications thereof in a subject. The
CC oligonucleotide is also useful in treating hypercholesterolemia,
CC atherosclerosis, and/or one or more symptoms or complications in a
CC subject, wherein the complications are chosen from coronary artery
CC disease, stroke, peripheral artery disease, and kidney problems (such as
CC chronic kidney disease).
SQ Sequence 25 BP; 7 A; 1 C; 3 G; 0 T; 14 U; 0 Other;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 19; Length 25;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 19; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 UUAUUAAUAUGGUGACUUU 19
Db 3 UUAUUAAUAUGGUGACUUU 21
Dudek et al. teach: [00011] In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide comprises at least one modified nucleotide. In some embodiments, the modified nucleotide comprises a 2'-modification. In some embodiments, the 2'-modification is a modification selected from: 2'-aminoethyl, 2'-fluoro, 2'-0-methyl, 2'-0-methoxyethyl, and 2'-deoxy-2'-fluoro-P-d-arabinonucleic acid. In some embodiments, all of the nucleotides of an oligonucleotide are modified (instant claims 6 and 31).
Dudek et al. teach: [00092] A modified internucleotide linkage may be a phosphorodithioate linkage, a phosphorothioate linkage, a phosphotriester linkage, a thionoalkylphosphonate linkage, a thionoalkylphosphotriester linkage, a phosphoramidite linkage, a phosphonate linkage or a boranophosphate linkage. In some embodiments, at least one modified internucleotide linkage of any one of the oligonucleotides as disclosed herein is a phosphorothioate linkage (instant claims 7 and 21).
Dudek et al. teach: [000104] GalNAc is a high affinity ligand for asialoglycoprotein receptor (ASGPR), which is primarily expressed on the sinusoidal surface of hepatocyte cells and has a major role in binding, internalization, and subsequent clearance of circulating glycoproteins that contain terminal galactose or N-acetylgalactosamine residues (asialoglycoproteins). Conjugation (either indirect or direct) of GalNAc moieties to oligonucleotides of the instant disclosure may be used to target these oligonucleotides to the ASGPR expressed on these hepatocyte cells (instant claims 9 and 32).
Dudek et al. teach: [000105] In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide of the instant disclosure is conjugated directly or indirectly to a monovalent GalNAc. In some embodiments, the oligonucleotide is conjugated directly or indirectly to more than one monovalent GalNAc ( i.e. ., is conjugated to 2, 3, or 4 monovalent GalNAc moieties, and is typically conjugated to 3 or 4 monovalent GalNAc moieties). In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide of the instant disclosure is conjugated to one or more bivalent GalNAc, trivalent GalNAc, or tetravalent GalNAc moieties (instant claims 9 and 32).
Dudek et al. teach: [000107] Appropriate methods or chemistry ( e.g. ., click chemistry) can be used to link a targeting ligand to a nucleotide. In some embodiments, a targeting ligand is conjugated to a nucleotide using a click linker. In some embodiments, an acetal-based linker is used to conjugate a targeting ligand to a nucleotide of any one of the oligonucleotides described herein.
Dudek et al. teach: [0009] In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide comprises a 3 '-overhang sequence of one or more nucleotides in length, in which the 3 '-overhang sequence is present on the antisense strand, the sense strand, or the antisense strand and sense strand (instant claims 10 and 33).
Dudek et al. teach: [00042] In some embodiments, an overhang comprises one or more unpaired nucleotides extending from a duplex region at the 5' terminus or 3' terminus of a double- stranded oligonucleotide. In certain embodiments, the overhang is a 3' or 5' overhang on the antisense strand or sense strand of a double-stranded oligonucleotide. The overhang is 1-5 nucleotides [00064] (instant claims 10 and 33).
Dudek et al. teach: [000110] Accordingly, in some embodiments, a formulation comprises a lipid nanoparticle. In some embodiments, an excipient comprises a liposome, a lipid, a lipid complex, a microsphere, a microparticle, a nanosphere, or a nanoparticle, or may be otherwise formulated for administration to the cells, tissues, organs, or body of a subject in need thereof (instant claim 34).
Dudek et al. teach: [000123] In certain aspects, the disclosure provides a method for preventing in a subject, a disease, disorder, symptom, or condition as described herein by administering to the subject a therapeutic agent (e.g., an oligonucleotide or vector or transgene encoding same). In some embodiments, the subject to be treated is a subject who will benefit therapeutically from a reduction in the amount of PCSK9 protein, e.g., in the liver (instant claim 25).
Dudek et al. teach cells comprising the dsRNA (instant claim 26).
Dudek et al. teach: [000112] In some embodiments, a pharmaceutical composition is formulated to be compatible with its intended route of administration. Examples of routes of administration include parenteral, e.g., intravenous, intradermal, subcutaneous, oral (e.g., inhalation), transdermal (topical), transmucosal, and rectal administration. Typically, the route of administration is intravenous or subcutaneous.
Dudek et al. teach: [000113] Pharmaceutical compositions suitable for injectable use include sterile aqueous solutions (where water soluble) or dispersions and sterile powders for the extemporaneous preparation of sterile injectable solutions or dispersions. For intravenous or subcutaneous administration, suitable carriers include physiological saline, bacteriostatic water, Cremophor EL.TM. (BASF, Parsippany, N.J.) or phosphate buffered saline (PBS). The carrier can be a solvent or dispersion medium containing, for example, water, ethanol, polyol (for example, glycerol, propylene glycol, and liquid polyethylene glycol, and the like), and suitable mixtures thereof. In many cases, it will be preferable to include isotonic agents, for example, sugars, polyalcohols such as mannitol, sorbitol, and sodium chloride in the composition. Sterile injectable solutions can be prepared by incorporating the oligonucleotides in a required amount in a selected solvent with one or a combination of ingredients enumerated above, as required, followed by filtered sterilization (instant claim 27).
Therefore, the claims are anticipated by Dudek et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that claim 1 has been amended to recite, inter alia, a dsRNA for inhibiting expression of a PCSK9 gene, wherein the dsRNA comprises a sense strand comprising a first sequence and an antisense strand comprising a second sequence, wherein the first sequence and the second sequence are complementary, wherein the first sequence comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 310, and wherein the first and second sequences are each less than or equal to 30 nucleotides in length, and wherein the second sequence comprises a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 323, 329, 331, 339, 341, 343, and 345. SEQ ID NOs: 323, 329, 331, 339, 341, 343, and 345 are part of the antisense strand sequences recited in previously presented claim 2, and claim 2 is not subject to this rejection. Dudek does not teach the dsRNA recited in amended claim 1.
Contrary to applicant’s argument, claim 2 was not previously rejected because applicant elected SEQ ID NOs: 338 and 339 from claim 2. The siRNA of Dudek et al. does not comprise instant SEQ ID NO: 338.
The siRNA of Dudek et al. does comprise the sequences recited in instant claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 9-11, 13-15, 17-21, 23-27, and 30-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudek et al. (WO 2019/204021 A1) as applied to claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 10, 21, 25-27, and 30-34, above, and further in view of McSwiggen et al. (WO 2008/011431 A2).
Dudek et al. teach a siRNA that comprises instant SEQ ID NO:310 and the complement thereof (see nucleotides 3-21 of SEQ ID NO: 429 of Dudek et al on page 65 and the complement, SEQ ID NO: 882). The complement comprises each of instant SEQ ID NOs: 323, 329, 331, 339, 341, 343, and 345 (instant claims 1 and 30).
See result #34 of the PE2E search file titled “us-17-638-339-310.szlim100.rng” as follows:
ID BGW62355 standard; mRNA; 25 BP.
DT 12-DEC-2019 (first entry)
DE Human PCSK9 gene targeted RNAi oligonucleotide sense strand, SEQ 429.
KW antiarteriosclerotic; antilipemic; atherosclerosis; cardiant;
KW cerebroprotective; coronary artery disease; drug delivery;
KW end stage renal disease; gene silencing; hypercholesterolemia;
KW hypercholesterolemia autosomal dominant 3; kexin-9; metabolic-gen.;
KW nephrotropic; neural apoptosis regulated convertase 1;
KW peripheral vascular disease; proprotein convertase subtilisin;
KW renal disease; ss; stroke; therapeutic; vasotropic.
OS Homo sapiens.
CC PN WO2019204021-A1.
CC PD 24-OCT-2019.
CC PF 01-APR-2019; 2019WO-US025253.
PR 18-APR-2018; 2018US-0659693P.
PR 19-MAR-2019; 2019US-0820558P.
CC PA (DICE-) DICERNA PHARM INC.
CC PI Dudek HT, Park J;
DR WPI; 2019-88273N/86.
CC PT New oligonucleotide useful in composition for decreasing symptoms of
CC PT hypercholesterolemia, atherosclerosis, and/or symptoms or complications in mammal, preferably human.
CC PS Claim 49; SEQ ID NO 429; 107pp; English.
CC The present invention relates to a novel oligonucleotide, useful in
CC preparing a composition for reducing the expression of proprotein
CC convertase subtilisin/kexin-9 (PCSK9, NARC-1, neural apoptosis regulated
CC convertase 1, HCHOLA3, hypercholesterolemia autosomal dominant 3) gene.
CC The oligonucleotide comprises an antisense strand comprises a sequence of
CC SEQ ID NOs: 1193-1232, 1257-1265 and 1269-1271 (see BGW63119-BGW63158,
CC BGW63183-BGW63191 and BGW63195-BGW63197). The invention also provides: an
CC oligonucleotide comprising antisense strand of SEQ ID NOs: 1233-1244 (see
CC BGW63159-BGW63170); a composition comprising the oligonucleotide and an
CC excipient; a method for delivering the oligonucleotide to a subject by
CC administering the composition to the subject; and a method for decreasing
CC one or more symptoms of hypercholesterolemia, atherosclerosis and/or one
CC or more symptoms or complications thereof in a subject. The
CC oligonucleotide is also useful in treating hypercholesterolemia,
CC atherosclerosis, and/or one or more symptoms or complications in a
CC subject, wherein the complications are chosen from coronary artery
CC disease, stroke, peripheral artery disease, and kidney problems (such as
CC chronic kidney disease).
SQ Sequence 25 BP; 7 A; 1 C; 3 G; 0 T; 14 U; 0 Other;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 19; Length 25;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 19; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 UUAUUAAUAUGGUGACUUU 19
Db 3 UUAUUAAUAUGGUGACUUU 21
Dudek et al. teach: [00011] In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide comprises at least one modified nucleotide. In some embodiments, the modified nucleotide comprises a 2'-modification. In some embodiments, the 2'-modification is a modification selected from: 2'-aminoethyl, 2'-fluoro, 2'-0-methyl, 2'-0-methoxyethyl, and 2'-deoxy-2'-fluoro-P-d-arabinonucleic acid. In some embodiments, all of the nucleotides of an oligonucleotide are modified (instant claims 6 and 31).
Dudek et al. teach: [00092] A modified internucleotide linkage may be a phosphorodithioate linkage, a phosphorothioate linkage, a phosphotriester linkage, a thionoalkylphosphonate linkage, a thionoalkylphosphotriester linkage, a phosphoramidite linkage, a phosphonate linkage or a boranophosphate linkage. In some embodiments, at least one modified internucleotide linkage of any one of the oligonucleotides as disclosed herein is a phosphorothioate linkage (instant claims 7 and 21).
Dudek et al. teach: [000104] GalNAc is a high affinity ligand for asialoglycoprotein receptor (ASGPR), which is primarily expressed on the sinusoidal surface of hepatocyte cells and has a major role in binding, internalization, and subsequent clearance of circulating glycoproteins that contain terminal galactose or N-acetylgalactosamine residues (asialoglycoproteins). Conjugation (either indirect or direct) of GalNAc moieties to oligonucleotides of the instant disclosure may be used to target these oligonucleotides to the ASGPR expressed on these hepatocyte cells (instant claims 9 and 32).
Dudek et al. teach: [000105] In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide of the instant disclosure is conjugated directly or indirectly to a monovalent GalNAc. In some embodiments, the oligonucleotide is conjugated directly or indirectly to more than one monovalent GalNAc ( i.e. ., is conjugated to 2, 3, or 4 monovalent GalNAc moieties, and is typically conjugated to 3 or 4 monovalent GalNAc moieties). In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide of the instant disclosure is conjugated to one or more bivalent GalNAc, trivalent GalNAc, or tetravalent GalNAc moieties (instant claims 9 and 32).
Dudek et al. teach: [000107] Appropriate methods or chemistry ( e.g. ., click chemistry) can be used to link a targeting ligand to a nucleotide. In some embodiments, a targeting ligand is conjugated to a nucleotide using a click linker. In some embodiments, an acetal-based linker is used to conjugate a targeting ligand to a nucleotide of any one of the oligonucleotides described herein.
Dudek et al. teach: [0009] In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide comprises a 3 '-overhang sequence of one or more nucleotides in length, in which the 3 '-overhang sequence is present on the antisense strand, the sense strand, or the antisense strand and sense strand (instant claims 10 and 33).
Dudek et al. teach: [00042] In some embodiments, an overhang comprises one or more unpaired nucleotides extending from a duplex region at the 5' terminus or 3' terminus of a double- stranded oligonucleotide. In certain embodiments, the overhang is a 3' or 5' overhang on the antisense strand or sense strand of a double-stranded oligonucleotide. The overhang is 1-5 nucleotides [00064] (instant claims 10 and 33).
Dudek et al. teach: [000110] Accordingly, in some embodiments, a formulation comprises a lipid nanoparticle. In some embodiments, an excipient comprises a liposome, a lipid, a lipid complex, a microsphere, a microparticle, a nanosphere, or a nanoparticle, or may be otherwise formulated for administration to the cells, tissues, organs, or body of a subject in need thereof (instant claim 34).
Dudek et al. teach: [000123] In certain aspects, the disclosure provides a method for preventing in a subject, a disease, disorder, symptom, or condition as described herein by administering to the subject a therapeutic agent (e.g., an oligonucleotide or vector or transgene encoding same). In some embodiments, the subject to be treated is a subject who will benefit therapeutically from a reduction in the amount of PCSK9 protein, e.g., in the liver (instant claim 25).
Dudek et al. teach cells comprising the dsRNA (instant claim 26).
Dudek et al. teach: [000112] In some embodiments, a pharmaceutical composition is formulated to be compatible with its intended route of administration. Examples of routes of administration include parenteral, e.g., intravenous, intradermal, subcutaneous, oral (e.g., inhalation), transdermal (topical), transmucosal, and rectal administration. Typically, the route of administration is intravenous or subcutaneous.
Dudek et al. teach: [000113] Pharmaceutical compositions suitable for injectable use include sterile aqueous solutions (where water soluble) or dispersions and sterile powders for the extemporaneous preparation of sterile injectable solutions or dispersions. For intravenous or subcutaneous administration, suitable carriers include physiological saline, bacteriostatic water, Cremophor EL.TM. (BASF, Parsippany, N.J.) or phosphate buffered saline (PBS). The carrier can be a solvent or dispersion medium containing, for example, water, ethanol, polyol (for example, glycerol, propylene glycol, and liquid polyethylene glycol, and the like), and suitable mixtures thereof. In many cases, it will be preferable to include isotonic agents, for example, sugars, polyalcohols such as mannitol, sorbitol, and sodium chloride in the composition. Sterile injectable solutions can be prepared by incorporating the oligonucleotides in a required amount in a selected solvent with one or a combination of ingredients enumerated above, as required, followed by filtered sterilization (instant claim 27).
Dudek et al. does not teach instant SEQ ID NO: 338, but does teach a siRNA comprising instant SEQ ID NO: 339 (elected sequences of instant claim 2).
Dudek et al. teach: [0008] In some embodiments, the antisense strand is 19 to 27 nucleotides in length. In some embodiments, the antisense strand is 21 to 27 nucleotides in length. In some embodiments, the oligonucleotide further comprises a sense strand of 15 to 40 nucleotides in length, in which the sense strand forms a duplex region with the antisense strand. In some embodiments, the sense strand is 19 to 40 nucleotides in length. In some embodiments, the duplex region is at least 15, at least 16, at least 17, at least 18, at least 19, at least 20, at least 21, or at least 22 nucleotides in length. In some embodiments, the antisense strand is 27 nucleotides in length and the sense strand is 25 nucleotides in length. In some embodiments, the antisense strand and sense strand form a duplex region of 25 nucleotides in length.
Dudek et al. teach: [0009] In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide comprises an antisense strand and a sense strand that are each in a range of 21 to 23 nucleotides in length. In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide comprises a duplex structure in a range of 19 to 21 nucleotides in length. In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide comprises a 3 '-overhang sequence of one or more nucleotides in length, in which the 3 '-overhang sequence is present on the antisense strand, the sense strand, or the antisense strand and sense strand. In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide further comprises a 3 '-overhang sequence on the antisense strand of two nucleotides in length. In some embodiments, an oligonucleotide comprises a 3 '-overhang sequence of two nucleotides in length, in which the 3 '-overhang sequence is present on the antisense strand, and in which the sense strand is 21 nucleotides in length and the antisense strand is 23 nucleotides in length, such that the sense strand and antisense strand form a duplex of 21 nucleotides in length.
McSwiggen et al. teach siRNAs targeted to PCSK9 and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the siRNAs and carriers (abstract). McSwiggen et al. teach that the sense and antisense strand are each about 15 to about 30 nucleotides in length [0067].
It would have been obvious to extend or shorten the siRNA of Dudek et al. in normal siRNA size range, which would result in SEQ ID NO: 338 and the complement thereof. Additionally, instant SEQ ID NOs: 620 and 631 are identical to the duplex of instant SEQ ID NOs: 310 and the complement thereof except for the addition of a TT overhang. Shortening the siRNA of Dudek et al. within the size range of Dudek et al. and McSwiggen et al. would arrive at instant SEQ ID NOs: 310 and the complement thereof. It would have been obvious to incorporate a TT overhang, which is taught by Dudek et al. and McSwiggen et al.
Both Dudek et al. and McSwiggen et al. teach incorporation of GalNac. McSwiggen et al. teaches a structure with substantially the same structural features of IgT3 (see Figure 29). The claims are not limited to any one static structure and the species of McSwiggen et al. render the instant genus obvious.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to incorporate the modifications known in the siRNA art at varying positions and quantities as a matter of routine optimization. McSwiggen et al. teaches combining phosphorothioate, ligands, 2’-O-methyl and 2’-F modifications at various positions and quantities and teaches placement on pyrimidines or purines differentially.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that claim 1 has been amended to recite, inter alia, a dsRNA for inhibiting expression of a PCSK9 gene, wherein the dsRNA comprises a sense strand comprising a first sequence and an antisense strand comprising a second sequence, wherein the first sequence and the second sequence are complementary, wherein the first sequence comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 310, and wherein the first and second sequences are each less than or equal to 30 nucleotides in length, and wherein the second sequence comprises a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 323, 329, 331, 339, 341, 343, and 345. Dudek does not teach the dsRNA recited in amended claim 1.
Contrary to applicant’s argument, the siRNA of Dudek et al. does comprise the sequences recited in instant claim 1.
Applicant argues that the claimed dsRNAs are based, at least in part, on the Applicant's discovery that certain siRNAs targeting specific regions of PCSK9 effectively knocked down human PCSK9 expression. Particularly, as shown in Example 4, the Applicant identified a group of siRNAs comprising the sequences recited in amended claim 1 and those exemplary siRNAs were both active and non-toxic when tested in vitro.
The instant claims are compound claims, not method claims, and the compound of claim 1 is anticipated by Dudek et al. because the siRNA comprises each of the required sequences.
Applicant argues that the claimed dsRNAs are not taught or suggested by the cited references, alone or in combination. Based on the teachings of the cited references, a skilled person would not have been motivated, or have had a reasonable expectation of success, to arrive at the claimed dsRNAs. Further, the present application provides surprising results that are not taught by, and cannot be predicted from, the disclosures of the cited references, alone or in combination. The basis of these assertions are unclear because the dsRNA of claim 1 is anticipated by Dudek et al. None of the instant claims are directed to a dsRNA consisting of any specific sequences.
Applicant argues that the siRNA cited by the Office is not among the list of particularly active siRNAs selected by Dudek. Simply because Dudek et al. focused on additional siRNAs does not negate that the compound of claim 1 is anticipated by Dudek et al. Applicant is arguing limitations that are not claimed. The claims are not limited to any specific dsRNA of any specific length consisting of any specific sequence; and do not require any specific level of activity. The claims are compound claims and the structure is anticipated by Dudek et al.
II. A REFERENCE THAT CLEARLY NAMES THE CLAIMED SPECIES ANTICIPATES THE CLAIM NO MATTER HOW MANY OTHER SPECIES ARE NAMED
A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See Ex parteA, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (The claimed compound was named in a reference which also disclosed 45 other compounds. The Board held that the comprehensiveness of the listing did not negate the fact that the compound claimed was specifically taught. The Board compared the facts to the situation in which the compound was found in the Merck Index, saying that “the tenth edition of the Merck Index lists ten thousand compounds. In our view, each and every one of those compounds is ‘described’ as that term is used in [pre-AIA ] 35 U.S.C. 102(a), in that publication.”). Id. at 1718. See also In re Sivaramakrishnan, 673 F.2d 1383, 213 USPQ 441 (CCPA 1982) (The claims were directed to polycarbonate containing cadmium laurate as an additive. The court upheld the Board’s finding that a reference specifically naming cadmium laurate as an additive amongst a list of many suitable salts in polycarbonate resin anticipated the claims. The applicant had argued that cadmium laurate was only disclosed as representative of the salts and was expected to have the same properties as the other salts listed while, as shown in the application, cadmium laurate had unexpected properties. The court held that it did not matter that the salt was not disclosed as being preferred, the reference still anticipated the claims and because the claim was anticipated, the unexpected properties were immaterial.).
2131.04 Secondary Considerations [R-08.2012]
Evidence of secondary considerations, such as unexpected results or commercial success, is irrelevant to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections and thus cannot overcome a rejection so based. In re Wiggins, 488 F.2d 538, 543, 179 USPQ 421, 425 (CCPA 1973).
It is noted that claim 1 is anticipated by Dudek et al., as set forth in the rejection under 35 USC 102. The rejection under 35 USC 103 is not required for claim 1. Additionally, applicant is arguing unexpected results of specific compounds wherein the claims are not limited to any specific compound.
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9-11, 13-21, 23-27, and 30-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Dudek et al. (WO 2019/204021 A1), in view of McSwiggen et al. (WO 2008/011431 A2), and Hofmeister et al. US 11,897,911 B2.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Dudek et al. does not teach a structure identical to IgT3.
Hofmeister et al. teach an identical structure to IgT3 (see page 132, columns 222 and 223) for siRNA delivery and teaches structures identical to instant claims 11 and 13-20. It would have been obvious with a reasonable expectation of improve4d stability and potency, as taught by Hofmeister et al., to incorporate any of the structures and modifications taught by Hofmeister et al. into the siRNA of Dudek et al.
Applicant’s arguments
Applicant argues that Hofeister does not explicitly provide a dsRNA for inhibiting expression of a PCSK9 gene, wherein the dsRNA comprises a sense strand comprising a first sequence and an antisense strand comprising a second sequence, wherein the first sequence and the second sequence are complementary, wherein the first sequence comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 310, and wherein the first and second sequences are each less than or equal to 30 nucleotides in length, and wherein the second sequence comprises a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 323, 329, 331, 339, 341, 343, and 345, not to mention the related vectors, host cells, compositions, and methods, as recited in claim 1 and its dependencies, as amended herein.
Hofeister is not relied upon for the teachings asserted by applicant. The instant rejection is a rejection under 35 USC 103, not 102.
Conclusion
/AMY ROSE HUDSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636