DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-17, 20-27 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claims 1, 6, 15, 20-21 are currently amended.
Claims 22-27 are newly presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Response to Arguments - Indefiniteness
Applicant’s amendments filed 22 May 2026 have overcome the rejection of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Indefiniteness
Claims 1-5, 11, 14, 16-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is overly-complicated. This use of all the different list headings makes the claim confusing at best. For example, the claim contains one item referred as “(i)” and another item “i.” Because claim 1 is an independent claim this complexity gets compounded. Look at claim 20, which depended from claim 1, but also recites item “(i)” which has nothing to do with item “(i)” of claim 1. Claim 1 also uses the list headings (a) and (b) twice to refer to different things. It is suggested that claim 1 be deleted and a new independent claim be drafted. Dependent claims are rejected for depending from an indefinite claims.
Claim 16 recites, “wherein said non-naturally-occurring Cpf1 polypeptide comprises at least two mutations relative to a wild-type Cpf1 polypeptide.” It is unclear how many different Cpf1 gene exist in nature and their different structures. It is possible that a Cpf1 polypeptide could have only one mutation compared to one wild-type Cpf1 polypeptide and more than fifty mutations compared to another wild-type Cpf1 polypeptide. As such, the metes and bound of the claim cannot be determined. It is suggested that the claim be amended to require that the point of comparison be a specific wild-type Cpf1 such as SEQ ID NO:3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 11, 16, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doudna (US10253365 B1), and further in view of Kleinstiver et al 2019 (Nature Biotechnology 37:3, p.276-282).
Doudna et al teach Mb3Cas12a CRISPR nucleases including SEQ ID NO:7 which is 97.3% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:53 (alignment below). They also teach that the targeting RNA sequence for this CRISPR nuclease comprises the same sequence as instant SEQ ID NO:17 (Figure 2). They teach host cells including plant cells and seeds comprising the Cpf1 enzymes and methods of modifying host cell genomes.
Doudna et al do not teach any of the specific mutations recited in claim 1.
Kleinstiver et al teach engineering of Cas12a variants to alter PAM specificity by mutating E174R/S542R/K548R. The E174R substitution is analogous to the D172R substitution in instant SEQ ID NO:53.
At the time of filing, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute D172R in Cpf1 of SEQ ID NO:7 of Doudna et al to the end of altering PAM specificity of the Cpf1 of Doudna et al. In combining these teachings, the resultant Cpf1 would comprise a mutation analogous to D172R and be greater than 97% identical to SEQ ID NO:53. It further would have been obvious to carry out the modification at a temperature of less than 32 C because most field crops have ideal growth temperatures at less than 32 C. Accordingly, claims 1-4, 11, 16, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doudna et al and further in view of Kleinstiver et al.
Match to Instant SEQ ID NO: 53
US-15-897-089A-7
(NOTE: this sequence has 5 duplicates in the database searched.
See complete list at the end of this report)
Sequence 7, US/15897089A
Patent No. 10253365
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: Chen, Janice S
APPLICANT: Doudna, Jennifer A
APPLICANT: Harrington, Lucas B
APPLICANT: Ma, Enbo
TITLE OF INVENTION: TYPE V CRISPR/CAS EFFECTOR PROTEINS FOR CLEAVING SSDNAS AND
TITLE OF INVENTION: DETECTING TARGET DNAS
FILE REFERENCE: BERK-375
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/15/897,089A
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2018-02-14
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/590,106
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-11-22
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/626,593
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-02-05
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 179
SEQ ID NO 7
LENGTH: 1269
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Moraxella bovoculi
Query Match 97.3%; Score 6475.5; Length 1269;
Best Local Similarity 97.1%;
Matches 1226; Conservative 22; Mismatches 12; Indels 3; Gaps 1;
Qy 2 LFQDFTHLYPLSKTMRFELKPIGKTLEHIHAKNFLSQDETMADMYQKVKAILDDYHRDFI 61
||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10 LFQDFTHLYPLSKTVRFELKPIGKTLEHIHAKNFLNQDETMADMYQKVKAILDDYHRDFI 69
Qy 62 ADMMGEVKLTKLAEFYDVYLKFRKNPKDDGLQKQLKDLQAVLRKEIVKPIGNGGKYKAGY 121
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 70 ADMMGEVKLTKLAEFYDVYLKFRKNPKDDGLQKQLKDLQAVLRKEIVKPIGNGGKYKAGY 129
Qy 122 DRLFGAKLFKDGKELGDLAKFVIAQEGESSPKLAHLAHFEKFSTYFTGFHRNRKNMYSDE 181
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||
Db 130 DRLFGAKLFKDGKELGDLAKFVIAQEGESSPKLAHLAHFEKFSTYFTGFHDNRKNMYSDE 189
Qy 182 DKHTAITYRLIHENLPRFIDNLQILATIKQKHSALYDQIINELTASGLDVSLASHLDGYH 241
|||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 190 DKHTAIA YRLIHENLPRFIDNLQILATIKQKHSALYDQIINELTASGLDVSLASHLDGYH 249
Qy 242 KLLTQEGITAYNTLLGGISGEAGSRKIQGINELINSHHNQHCHKSERIAKLRPLHKQILS 301
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 250 KLLTQEGITAYNTLLGGISGEAGSRKIQGINELINSHHNQHCHKSERIAKLRPLHKQILS 309
Qy 302 DGMGVSFLPSKFADDSEMCQAVNEFYRHYADVFAKVQSLFDGFDDHQKDGIYVEHKNLNE 361
|||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||:|||||
Db 310 DGMGVSFLPSKFADDSEVCQAVNEFYRHYADVFAKVQSLFDGFDDYQKDGIYVEYKNLNE 369
Qy 362 LSKQAFGDFALLGRVLDGYYVDVVNPEFNERFAKAKTDNAKAKLTKEKDKFIKGVHSLAS 421
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 370 LSKQAFGDFALLGRVLDGYYVDVVNPEFNERFAKAKTDNAKAKLTKEKDKFIKGVHSLAS 429
Qy 422 LEQAIEHYTARHDDESVQAGKLGQYFKHGLAGVDNPIQKIHNNHSTIKGFLERERPAGER 481
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 430 LEQAIEHYTARHDDESVQAGKLGQYFKHGLAGVDNPIQKIHNNHSTIKGFLERERPAGER 489
Qy 482 ALPKIKSGKNPEMTQLRQLKELLDNALNVAHFAKLLTTKTTLDNQDGNFYGEFGALYDEL 541
||||||| |:|| :|||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||
Db 490 ALPKIKSDKSPE---IRQLKELLDNALNVAHFAKLLTTKTTLHNQDGNFYGEFGALYDEL 546
Qy 542 AKIPTLYNKVRDYLSQKPFSTEKYKLNFGRPTLLNGWDLNKEKDNFGIILQKDGCYYLAL 601
||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||
Db 547 AKIATLYNKVRDYLSQKPFSTEKYKLNFGNPTLLNGWDLNKEKDNFGVILQKDGCYYLAL 606
Qy 602 LDKAHKKVFDNAPNTGKNVYQKMIYKLLPGPNKMLPKVFFAKSNLDYYNPSAELLDKYAQ 661
|||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 607 LDKAHKKVFDNAPNTGKSVYQKMIYKLLPGPNKMLPKVFFAKSNLDYYNPSAELLDKYAQ 666
Qy 662 GTHKKGNNFNLKDCHALIDFFKAGINKHPEWQHFGFKFSPTSSYQDLSDFYREVEPQGYQ 721
||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 667 GTHKKGDNFNLKDCHALIDFFKAGINKHPEWQHFGFKFSPTSSYQDLSDFYREVEPQGYQ 726
Qy 722 VKFVDINADYINELVEQGQLYLFQIYNKDFSPKAHGKPNLHTLYFKALFSKDNLANPIYK 781
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||| |||||
Db 727 VKFVDINADYINELVEQGQLYLFQIYNKDFSPKAHGKPNLHTLYFKALFSEDNLVNPIYK 786
Qy 782 LNGEAQIFYRKASLDMNETTIHRAGEVLENKNPDNPKKRQFVYDIIKDKRYTQDKFLLHV 841
|||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||
Db 787 LNGEAEIFYRKASLDMNETTIHRAGEVLENKNPDNPKKRQFVYDIIKDKRYTQDKFMLHV 846
Qy 842 PITMNFGVQGMTIKEFNKKVNQSIQQYDEVNVIGIDRGERHLLYLTVINSKGEILEQRSL 901
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 847 PITMNFGVQGMTIKEFNKKVNQSIQQYDEVNVIGIDRGERHLLYLTVINSKGEILEQRSL 906
Qy 902 NDITTASANGTQMTTPYHKILDKREIERLNARVGWGEIETIKELKSGYLSHVVHQISQLM 961
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 907 NDITTASANGTQMTTPYHKILDKREIERLNARVGWGEIETIKELKSGYLSHVVHQISQLM 966
Qy 962 LKYNAIVVLEDLNFGFKRGRFKVEKQIYQNFENALIKKLNHLVLKDEADDEIGSYKNALQ 1021
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||
Db 967 LKYNAIVVLEDLNFGFKRGRFKVEKQIYQNFENALIKKLNHLVLKDKADDEIGSYKNALQ 1026
Qy 1022 LTNNFTDLKSIGKQTGFLFYVPAWNTSKIDPETGFVDLLKPRYENIAQSQAFFGKFDKIC 1081
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1027 LTNNFTDLKSIGKQTGFLFYVPAWNTSKIDPETGFVDLLKPRYENIAQSQAFFGKFDKIC 1086
Qy 1082 YNADKDYFEFHIDYAKFTDKAKNSRQIWKICSHGDKRYVYDKTANQNKGATKGINVNDEL 1141
||||: ||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |:||||||
Db 1087 YNADRGYFEFHIDYAKFNDKAKNSRQIWKICSHGDKRYVYDKTANQNKGATIGVNVNDEL 1146
Qy 1142 KSLFARHHINDKQPNLVMDICQNNDKEFHKSLIYLLKTLLALRYSNASSDEDFILSPVAN 1201
|||| |:|||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1147 KSLFTRYHINDKQPNLVMDICQNNDKEFHKSLMYLLKTLLALRYSNASSDEDFILSPVAN 1206
Qy 1202 DEGMFFNSALADDTQPQNADANGAYHIALKGLWVLEQIKNSDDLNKVKLAIDNQTWLNFA 1261
|||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:| ::||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1207 DEGVFFNSALADDTQPQNADANGAYHIALKGLWLLNELKNSDDLNKVKLAIDNQTWLNFA 1266
Qy 1262 QNR 1264
|||
Db 1267 QNR 1269
Match to instant SEQ ID NO:3
US-15-897-089A-7
(NOTE: this sequence has 5 duplicates in the database searched.
See complete list at the end of this report)
Sequence 7, US/15897089A
Patent No. 10253365
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: Chen, Janice S
APPLICANT: Doudna, Jennifer A
APPLICANT: Harrington, Lucas B
APPLICANT: Ma, Enbo
TITLE OF INVENTION: TYPE V CRISPR/CAS EFFECTOR PROTEINS FOR CLEAVING SSDNAS AND
TITLE OF INVENTION: DETECTING TARGET DNAS
FILE REFERENCE: BERK-375
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/15/897,089A
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2018-02-14
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/590,106
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-11-22
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/626,593
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-02-05
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 179
SEQ ID NO 7
LENGTH: 1269
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Moraxella bovoculi
Query Match 97.5%; Score 6492.5; Length 1269;
Best Local Similarity 97.3%;
Matches 1229; Conservative 21; Mismatches 10; Indels 3; Gaps 1;
Qy 2 LFQDFTHLYPLSKTMRFELKPIGKTLEHIHAKNFLSQDETMADMYQKVKAILDDYHRDFI 61
||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 10 LFQDFTHLYPLSKTVRFELKPIGKTLEHIHAKNFLNQDETMADMYQKVKAILDDYHRDFI 69
Qy 62 ADMMGEVKLTKLAEFYDVYLKFRKNPKDDGLQKQLKDLQAVLRKEIVKPIGNGGKYKAGY 121
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 70 ADMMGEVKLTKLAEFYDVYLKFRKNPKDDGLQKQLKDLQAVLRKEIVKPIGNGGKYKAGY 129
Qy 122 DRLFGAKLFKDGKELGDLAKFVIAQEGESSPKLAHLAHFEKFSTYFTGFHDNRKNMYSDE 181
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 130 DRLFGAKLFKDGKELGDLAKFVIAQEGESSPKLAHLAHFEKFSTYFTGFHDNRKNMYSDE 189
Qy 182 DKHTAITYRLIHENLPRFIDNLQILATIKQKHSALYDQIINELTASGLDVSLASHLDGYH 241
|||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 190 DKHTAIA YRLIHENLPRFIDNLQILATIKQKHSALYDQIINELTASGLDVSLASHLDGYH 249
Qy 242 KLLTQEGITAYNTLLGGISGEAGSRKIQGINELINSHHNQHCHKSERIAKLRPLHKQILS 301
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 250 KLLTQEGITAYNTLLGGISGEAGSRKIQGINELINSHHNQHCHKSERIAKLRPLHKQILS 309
Qy 302 DGMGVSFLPSKFADDSEMCQAVNEFYRHYADVFAKVQSLFDGFDDHQKDGIYVEHKNLNE 361
|||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||:|||||
Db 310 DGMGVSFLPSKFADDSEVCQAVNEFYRHYADVFAKVQSLFDGFDDYQKDGIYVEYKNLNE 369
Qy 362 LSKQAFGDFALLGRVLDGYYVDVVNPEFNERFAKAKTDNAKAKLTKEKDKFIKGVHSLAS 421
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 370 LSKQAFGDFALLGRVLDGYYVDVVNPEFNERFAKAKTDNAKAKLTKEKDKFIKGVHSLAS 429
Qy 422 LEQAIEHYTARHDDESVQAGKLGQYFKHGLAGVDNPIQKIHNNHSTIKGFLERERPAGER 481
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 430 LEQAIEHYTARHDDESVQAGKLGQYFKHGLAGVDNPIQKIHNNHSTIKGFLERERPAGER 489
Qy 482 ALPKIKSGKNPEMTQLRQLKELLDNALNVAHFAKLLTTKTTLDNQDGNFYGEFGALYDEL 541
||||||| |:|| :|||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||
Db 490 ALPKIKSDKSPE---IRQLKELLDNALNVAHFAKLLTTKTTLHNQDGNFYGEFGALYDEL 546
Qy 542 AKIPTLYNKVRDYLSQKPFSTEKYKLNFGNPTLLNGWDLNKEKDNFGIILQKDGCYYLAL 601
||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||
Db 547 AKIATLYNKVRDYLSQKPFSTEKYKLNFGNPTLLNGWDLNKEKDNFGVILQKDGCYYLAL 606
Qy 602 LDKAHKKVFDNAPNTGKNVYQKMIYKLLPGPNKMLPKVFFAKSNLDYYNPSAELLDKYAQ 661
|||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 607 LDKAHKKVFDNAPNTGKSVYQKMIYKLLPGPNKMLPKVFFAKSNLDYYNPSAELLDKYAQ 666
Qy 662 GTHKKGNNFNLKDCHALIDFFKAGINKHPEWQHFGFKFSPTSSYQDLSDFYREVEPQGYQ 721
||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 667 GTHKKGDNFNLKDCHALIDFFKAGINKHPEWQHFGFKFSPTSSYQDLSDFYREVEPQGYQ 726
Qy 722 VKFVDINADYINELVEQGQLYLFQIYNKDFSPKAHGKPNLHTLYFKALFSKDNLANPIYK 781
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||| |||||
Db 727 VKFVDINADYINELVEQGQLYLFQIYNKDFSPKAHGKPNLHTLYFKALFSEDNLVNPIYK 786
Qy 782 LNGEAQIFYRKASLDMNETTIHRAGEVLENKNPDNPKKRQFVYDIIKDKRYTQDKFMLHV 841
|||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 787 LNGEAEIFYRKASLDMNETTIHRAGEVLENKNPDNPKKRQFVYDIIKDKRYTQDKFMLHV 846
Qy 842 PITMNFGVQGMTIKEFNKKVNQSIQQYDEVNVIGIDRGERHLLYLTVINSKGEILEQRSL 901
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 847 PITMNFGVQGMTIKEFNKKVNQSIQQYDEVNVIGIDRGERHLLYLTVINSKGEILEQRSL 906
Qy 902 NDITTASANGTQMTTPYHKILDKREIERLNARVGWGEIETIKELKSGYLSHVVHQISQLM 961
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 907 NDITTASANGTQMTTPYHKILDKREIERLNARVGWGEIETIKELKSGYLSHVVHQISQLM 966
Qy 962 LKYNAIVVLEDLNFGFKRGRFKVEKQIYQNFENALIKKLNHLVLKDEADDEIGSYKNALQ 1021
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||
Db 967 LKYNAIVVLEDLNFGFKRGRFKVEKQIYQNFENALIKKLNHLVLKDKADDEIGSYKNALQ 1026
Qy 1022 LTNNFTDLKSIGKQTGFLFYVPAWNTSKIDPETGFVDLLKPRYENIAQSQAFFGKFDKIC 1081
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1027 LTNNFTDLKSIGKQTGFLFYVPAWNTSKIDPETGFVDLLKPRYENIAQSQAFFGKFDKIC 1086
Qy 1082 YNADKDYFEFHIDYAKFTDKAKNSRQIWKICSHGDKRYVYDKTANQNKGATKGINVNDEL 1141
||||: ||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |:||||||
Db 1087 YNADRGYFEFHIDYAKFNDKAKNSRQIWKICSHGDKRYVYDKTANQNKGATIGVNVNDEL 1146
Qy 1142 KSLFARHHINDKQPNLVMDICQNNDKEFHKSLIYLLKTLLALRYSNASSDEDFILSPVAN 1201
|||| |:|||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1147 KSLFTRYHINDKQPNLVMDICQNNDKEFHKSLMYLLKTLLALRYSNASSDEDFILSPVAN 1206
Qy 1202 DEGMFFNSALADDTQPQNADANGAYHIALKGLWVLEQIKNSDDLNKVKLAIDNQTWLNFA 1261
|||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:| ::||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1207 DEGVFFNSALADDTQPQNADANGAYHIALKGLWLLNELKNSDDLNKVKLAIDNQTWLNFA 1266
Qy 1262 QNR 1264
|||
Db 1267 QNR 1269
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, 21, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doudna (US10253365 B1), Kleinstiver et al 2019 (Nature Biotechnology 37:3, p.276-282) as applied to claims 1-4, 11, 16, 20, and 22 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (US 20160208243 A1).
Claims 6, 22, and 25 include embodiments wherein the polypeptide is encoded by a polynucleotide at least 95% identical to SEQ ID NO:27. SEQ ID NO:27 is a plant codon-optimized polynucleotide that encodes SEQ ID NO:9. Polynucleotides that are 95% identical to SEQ ID NO:27 can have up to 191 substitutions. If each of these substitutions were non-synonymous, the resultant polypeptide would have only 85% identity to SEQ ID NO:9. Thus, the claims include embodiments wherein the Cpf1 has as little as 85% identity to SEQ ID NO:9. As discussed in the rejection above, the references collectively teach a Cpf1 that is over 97% identical with any of the variants of SEQ ID NO:3 including SEQ ID NO:9.
Claim 5 is drawn to the method of claim 1 wherein said modified nucleotide sequence comprises insertion of a polynucleotide that encodes a protein that confers antibiotic or herbicide tolerance.
Doudna and Kleinstiver collectively do not teach codon-optimized sequences encoding a Cpf1.
Zhang teaches genome modification to confer antibiotic or herbicide resistance (Paragraphs 1112-1116). Zhang further teaches codon optimized polynucleotides encoding the Cpf1 for eukaryotes including plants (paragraphs 218, 840, 848, and elsewhere).
At the time of filing, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to use codon-optimized sequences encoding the Cpf1 to optimize expression of the genome modifying enzyme. Even if the codon-optimized sequence is not 95% identical to SEQ ID NO:27, it is an obvious variant as it encodes polypeptides greater than 97% identical to SEQ ID NO:9. Further, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the cited references to generate an herbicide resistant plant as this would confer an added utility to the plant.
Claim(s) 7, 23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doudna (US10253365 B1), Kleinstiver et al 2019 (Nature Biotechnology 37:3, p.276-282), and Zhang et al (US 20160208243 A1) as applied to claims 1-6, 8-13, 16, 18, 20-22, and 25 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (US 11447758 B2).
Claims 7 is drawn to the composition of claim 6 wherein said Cpf1 compromises a mutation in a position corresponding to positions 877 or 971 of SEQ ID NO:3.
Doudna, Kleinstiver, and Zhang A1 collectively teach all the limitations of claim 6.
Doudna, Kleinstiver, and Zhang A1 collectively do not teach wherein said Cpf1 compromises a mutation in a position corresponding to positions 877 or 971 of SEQ ID NO:3.
Zhang B2 teaches several variants of Cpf1 nucleases having mutations in the position corresponding to 877 which is 908 in their test Cpf1 (see alignment below and columns 149-150).
At the time of filing, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to make variants of the nuclease collectively taught by Doudna and Kleinstiver to make a Cpf1 with altered activity. Zhang B2 identified this region as important for activity and even exemplified variant having the aspartic acid substituted for another residue. As person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use variants with alter PAM specificity (as taught by Kleinstiver), so that as greater diversity of sites can been targeted. As such, claims 7, 23, and 26 are rejected as being obvious.
Qy 3 FQDFTHLYPLSKTMRFELKPIGKTLEHIHAKNFLSQDETMADMYQKVKAILDDYHRDFIA 62
|: ||:|| :|||:|||| | ||||:|| : |: :|: | |:::| |:| :: :
Db 4 FEGFTNLYQVSKTLRFELIPQGKTLKHIQEQGFIEEDKARNDHYKELKPIIDRIYKTYAD 63
Qy 63 DMMGEVKL--TKLAEFYDVYLKFRKNPKDDGLQKQLKDLQAVLRKEI----VKPIGN--- 113
: |:| |: | | | | : : | : || | | : |
Db 64 QCLQLVQLDWENLSAAIDSYRK----EKTEETRNALIEEQATYRNAIHDYFIGRTDNLTD 119
Qy 114 --GGKYKAGYDRLFGAKLFKDGKELGDLAKFVIAQEGESSPKLAHLAHFEKFSTYFTGFH 171
:: | || |:|| :|| | | | | |: | | |:||:|||:||:
Db 120 AINKRHAEIYKGLFKAELF-NGKVLKQLGT-VTTTEHEN----ALLRSFDKFTTYFSGFY 173
Qy 172 DNRKNMYSDEDKHTAITYRLIHENLPRFIDNLQILATIKQKHSALYDQIINELTASGLDV 231
:||||::| || ||| :|:: :| |:| :| | : :| : | | |: |
Db 174 ENRKNVFSAEDISTAIPHRIVQDNFPKFKENCHIFTRLITAVPSLREHFENVKKAIGIFV 233
Qy 232 SLASH----LDGYHKLLTQEGITAYNTLLGGISGEAGSRKIQGINELINSHHNQHCHKSE 287
| : |::|||| | || |||||| |||: ||:|:||::| :: :
Db 234 STSIEEVFSFPFYNQLLTQTQIDLYNQLLGGISREAGTEKIKGLNEVLNLAIQKNDETAH 293
Qy 288 RIAKLR----PLHKQILSDGMGVSFLPSKFADDSEMCQAVNEF--YRHYADVFAKVQSLF 341
|| | || |||||| :||: :| | |: |: :: :| ::||
Db 294 IIASLPHRFIPLFKQILSDRNTLSFILEEFKSDEEVIQSFCKYKTLLRNENVLETAEALF 353
Qy 342 DGFDDHQKDGIYVEHKNLNELSKQAFGDFALLGRVLDGYYVDVVNPEFNERFAKAKTDNA 401
: : |:: || | :| | :: : | : | ::
Db 354 NELNSIDLTHIFISHKKLETISS-----------ALCDHWDTLRNALYERRISE-----L 397
Qy 402 KAKLTKEKDKFIKGVHSLASLEQAIEHYTARHDDESVQ-----AGK-LGQYFK------- 448
|:|| | :: :: : :|:| ::| ||| | : ||
Db 398 TGKITK-------------SAKEKVQR-SLKHEDINLQEIISAAGKELSEAFKQKTSEIL 443
Qy 449 -HGLAGVDNPIQKIHNNHSTIKGFLERERPAGERALPKIKSGKNPEMTQLRQLKELLDNA 507
| | :| |: :|:| |:| || ||:
Db 444 SHAHAALDQPLP------TTLKKQEEKE-----------------------ILKSQLDSL 474
Qy 508 LNVAHFAKLLTTKTTLDNQDGNFYGEFGALYDELAKIPTLYNKVRDYLSQKPFSTEKYKL 567
| : | : : | | : |: : ||| |:| ::||:| ||:||
Db 475 LGLYHLLDWFAVDES-NEVDPEFSARLTGIKLEMEPSLSFYNKARNYATKKPYSVEKFKL 533
Qy 568 NFGNPTLLNGWDLNKEKDNFGIILQKDGCYYLALLDKAHKKV----FDNAPNTGKNVYQK 623
|| ||| :|||:||||:| |: |:| ||| :: | : |: | : : |
Db 534 NFQMPTLASGWDVNKEKNNGAILFVKNGLYYLGIMPKQKGRYKALSFEPTEKTSEG-FDK 592
Qy 624 MIYKLLPGPNKMLPK----------------------------VFFAKSNLDYYNPSAE- 654
| | | ||:|| : | | || |
Db 593 MYYDYFPDAAKMIPKCSTQLKAVTAHFQTHTTPILLSNNFIEPLEITKEIYDLNNPEKEP 652
Qy 655 --LLDKYAQGT-HKKGNNFNLKDCHALIDFFKAGINKHPEWQHFGF-KFSPTSSYQDLSD 710
||: | :|| | | ||| : ::|: : |:| |:|| :
Db 653 KKFQTAYAKKTGDQKGYREAL--C-KWIDFTRDFLSKYTKTTSIDLSSLRPSSQYKDLGE 709
Qy 711 FYREVEPQGYQVKFVDINADYINELVEQGQLYLFQIYNKDFSPKAHGKPNLHTLYFKALF 770
:| |: | | : | | | : || |:|||||||||||: ||||||||||: ||
Db 710 YYAELNPLLYHISFQRIAEKEIMDAVETGKLYLFQIYNKDFAKGHHGKPNLHTLYWTGLF 769
Qy 771 SKDNLANPIYKLNGEAQIFYRKASLDMNETTIHRAGEVLENKN--------PD------- 815
| :||| ||||:|::||| | : || || : || ||
Db 770 SPENLAKTSIKLNGQAELFYRPKS--RMKRMAHRLGEKMLNKKLKDQKTPIPDTLYQELY 827
Qy 816 --------------------NPKKRQFVYDIIKDKRYTQDKFMLHVPITMNFGVQGMTIK 855
| :: ::||||:|:| ||| |||||:|: |
Db 828 DYVNHRLSHDLSDEARALLPNVITKEVSHEIIKDRRFTSDKFFFHVPITLNYQAANSPSK 887
Qy 856 EFNKKVNQSIQQYDEVNVIGIDRGERHLLYLTVINSKGEILEQRSLNDITTASANGTQMT 915
||::|| :::: | :||||||||:|:|:|||:| |:|||||||| |
Db 888 -FNQRVNAYLKEHPETPIIGIDRGERNLIYITVIDSTGKILEQRSLNTI---------QQ 937
Qy 916 TPYHKILDKREIERLNARVGWGEIETIKELKSGYLSHVVHQISQLMLKYNAIVVLEDLNF 975
| | || || ||: || | : |||:|| |||| |:|:| ||: | | |||:|||
Db 938 FDYQKKLDNREKERVAARQAWSVVGTIKDLKQGYLSQVIHEIVDLMIHYQA-WVLENLNF 996
Qy 976 GFKRGRFKV-EKQIYQNFENALIKKLNHLVLKDEADDEIGSYKNALQLTNNFTDLKSIGK 1034
||| | : || :|| || || ||| ||||| :::| | |||: || :|
Db 997 GFKSKRTGIAEKAVYQQFEKMLIDKLNCLVLKDYPAEKVGGVLNPYQLTDQFTSFAKMGT 1056
Qy 1035 QTGFLFYVPAWNTSKIDPETGFVD-LLKPRYENIAQSQAFFGKFDKICYNADKDYFEFHI 1093
|:|||||||| |||||| ||||| : :| : | || : |: | |
Db 1057 QSGFLFYVPAPYTSKIDPLTGFVDPFVWKTIKNHESRKHFLEGFDFLHYDVKTGDFILHF 1116
Qy 1094 DYAK---FTDKAKNSRQIWKICSHGDKRYVYDKTANQ----------------------N 1128
: | | | |::| |
Db 1117 KMNRNLSFQRGLPGFMPAWDI--------VFEKNETQFDAKGTPFIAGKRIVPVIENHRF 1168
Qy 1129 KGATKGINVNDELKSLFARHHINDKQ-PNLVMDICQNNDKEFHKSLIYLLKTLLALRYSN 1187
| : : :|| :| | : |:: : :|:| ::: |::::| :| ||
Db 1169 TGRYRDLYPANELIALLEEKGIVFRDGSNILPKLLENDDSHAIDTMVALIRSVLQMRNSN 1228
Qy 1188 ASSDEDFILSPVANDEGMFFNSALADDTQPQNADANGAYHIALKGLWVLEQIKNSDDLNK 1247
|:: ||:| ||| : |: |:| : | :||||||||||||| :| :| | || |
Db 1229 AATGEDYINSPVRDLNGVCFDSRFQNPEWPMDADANGAYHIALKGQLLLNHLKESKDL-K 1287
Qy 1248 VKLAIDNQTWLNFAQ 1262
:: | || || : |
Db 1288 LQNGISNQDWLAYIQ 1302
Response to Arguments - Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's amendments filed 22 May 2026 been fully considered and have overcome the rejections of record. However, the claims are rejected in view of different/additional prior art.
Claim Objections
Claims 15, 24, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Suggestion for Preparing Response
The claims include embodiments that are all variants of wild-type Cpf1 SEQ ID NO:3 which are all at least 99.8% identical to one another with the exception of SEQ ID NO:11 which is on 38% identical to SEQ ID NO:3. This is a clear outlier from the rest of the SEQ ID NOs recites directly or indirectly in the claims, and it suggested that SEQ ID NO:11 be removed from the claims simplify prosecution. Additionally, note that art that applies to one of the SEQ ID NO:3 variants will likely apply to another SEQ ID NO:3, so the amendments should be for all SEQ ID NOs to overcome an art rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MATTHEW R KEOGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663