DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2019/013231, as cited in the IDS dated 7/25/2023, wherein Kobori et al. (US 2021/0317342), as cited in the IDS dated 7/25/2023, hereinafter “Kobori,” is used as an English language equivalent, in view of Liang et al. (US 2009/0181165), hereinafter “Liang.”
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Kobori teaches an electro-conductive adhesive composition comprising silver particles having an average diameter of 0.8 µm (corresponding to silver particles B) and silver particles having an average diameter of 0.09 µm (90 nm, corresponding to silver particles A), which satisfies a relationship in which the average particle diameter of the silver particles B is 5 to 11 times the average particle diameter of the silver particles A (0.8 µm / 0.09 µm 8.89) (Abstract, [0081]-[0088]). Kobori further teaches wherein the mass ratio of the silver particles corresponding to silver particles A to the silver particles corresponding to silver particles B is 0.75 (see Table 1: Ex. 8), which falls within the instantly claimed range of 1:9 to 9:1.
Kobori further teaches that an electro-conductive adhesive composition may further comprise an amine-based curing agent ([0062]), which would necessarily adhere to the silver particles, including the silver particles having an average diameter of 0.09 µm corresponding to the instant silver particles A. Kobori teaches that the amine-based curing agent such as tertiary amines, akylureas, and imidazole may be used. Kobori does not specify that the alkylamine may be used as the amine-based curing agent.
However, Liang teaches that alkyl amines and imidazoles are both suitable for use as curing agents ([0043]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to substitute the imidazole of Kobori with an alkyl amine, with a reasonable expectation of success, as imidazoles and alkyl amines are art recognized equivalents for the same purpose as curing agents, as taught by Liang ([0043]).
Regarding claim 4, Kobori modified by Liang teaches wherein its electro-conductive adhesive composition comprises silver particles having an average particle diameter of 10-200 nm (Kobori: [0026]), which overlaps with the claimed range of less than 50 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 3-4, filed 7/7/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. 103 both over WO2019/013231, wherein Kobori (US 2021/0317342) is used as an English language equivalent, have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the current amendments to the claims. Therefore, the previous rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of WO2019/013231, wherein Kobori (US 2021/0317342) is used as an English language equivalent, and Liang (2009/0181165), as detailed above.
Applicant’s arguments, see p.4, filed 7/7/2025, with respect to the previous nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-4 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the current amendments to the claims. Therefore, the previous double patenting rejection of claims 1-4 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734