DETAILED ACTION
The instant claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”. Per MPEP 2111.03 ‘The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps'. This open-ended definition has been taken into consideration in the following rejections.
Claims 1-7, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0155931 A1 to Ma et al (hereinafter Ma).
Regarding claim 1, Ma discloses a superconductor (para [0052]) comprising
a ferroelectric which comprises a piezoelectric material comprising PZT (para [0058]) having both a tetrahedral structure fraction and rhombohedral structure fraction (coexist at a morphotropic phase boundary, para [0059]),
wherein the PZT is lead zirconate having a formula PbZrxTi1-xO3 (para [0058]), where x is about (approaches) 52 (para [0059]), which is so close as to constitute overlap with the instantly claimed range of greater than about 53, the zirconium having no hafnium (Hf) fraction. Note that the broad teaching of the reference recites a Zr/Ti ratio between 60/40 and 80/20 (para [0060]) and states that tetragonal and rhombohedral phases coexist when the Zr/Ti ratio is about (approaches) 52/48 (para [0059]). See MPEP 2144.05(I), which states that ‘In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists…Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close’.
Claim 1 recites the product by process limitation “the Zr from zirconium oxide powder”. Ma does not explicitly teach the claimed process as written, however, MPEP 2113 states “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
MPEP 2113 also states “The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See, e.g., In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276, 279, 162 USPQ 221, 223 (CCPA 1979)”. In the instant case, it is found that the instantly claimed process of making the claimed product does not impart any structural or functional characteristics to the claimed product. Zirconium (Zr) oxide source powder having no Hf, as opposed to Zr derived from any other Hf free source, is not expected to significantly alter the final superconductor product, absent evidence to the contrary.
The limitations directed to the method for producing the claimed composition are not considered to add patentable weight to the examination of the product claims. It is well settled that if the examiner can find a product in the prior art that is the same or so similar as to have been obvious, the burden can be shifted to the applicant to demonstrate that the process for producing the composition somehow imparts a patentable distinction to the composition under examination.
Regarding claim 2, Ma discloses the superconductor as claimed in claim 1, but is silent regarding dielectric loss factor. However, Ma renders the ferroelectric of claim 1 obvious. See MPEP 2112.01(I), cited in the OA mailed 5/15/25. Therefore, the Ma ferroelectric material is expected to have overlapping properties including but not limited to a dielectric loss factor overlapping the instantly claimed range of 0.2% or less; a dielectric constant ε overlapping the instantly claimed range of more than 1000, and a piezoelectric effect d33 overlapping the instantly claimed range of more than 300.
Regarding claim 3, Ma discloses the superconductor as claimed in claim 1, wherein the ferroelectric comprises a two-phase (para [0059]) or multiphase material (para [0075]).
Regarding claims 4-6, Ma discloses the superconductor as claimed in claim 1. Ma renders the ferroelectric obvious. Therefore, the Ma ferroelectric is expected have overlapping properties wherein for a given electrical loss, the ferroelectric attains increases that overlap the instantly claimed range of at least 50% increase in a relative dielectric constant and/or in a piezoelectric effect d33. See MPEP 2112.01(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 7, Ma discloses the superconductor as claimed in claim 1, wherein the ferroelectric has a thickness of 4 to 20 nm (para [0070]), that overlaps the instantly claimed range of at least 5 nanometers up to 4 cm. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
Regarding claim 10, Ma discloses a device comprising the superconductor as claimed in claim 1, wherein the device is a memory device (NVM, para [0004]-[0005]), a processor (para [0077]), or a sensor (para [0078]).
Regarding claim 12, Ma discloses a method for producing the superconductor as claimed in claim 1, wherein a sintering method is used to produce the ferroelectric (heating to a temperature of 400 to 1000C, para [0072] and [0074]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 2, filed 6/17/26, with respect to the 112(a) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The most recent amendments to the claims resolve the issues.
Therefore, the 112(a) rejection of claims 1, 10, and 12 has been withdrawn.
The 112(a) rejection of claims 15 and 16 is moot because the claims have been canceled.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/26, regarding Ma, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is agreed that canceled method claim 13 was not rejected over Ma. The subject matter of canceled claim 13 was added as a product by process limitation to claim 1. However, claim 1 is a product claim. The newly added product by process limitation does not overcome the rejection of the product claims over Ma. See MPEP 2113, cited above.
Therefore, the 103 rejection of claims 1-7, 10, and 12 as obvious over Ma stands.
The 103 rejection of claims 15-17 as obvious over Ma is moot because the claims have been canceled.
Applicant's arguments, regarding Kobayashi, filed 6/17/26 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Kobayashi does not teach or disclose a superconductor, as required by the newly amended claims.
Therefore, the 103 rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10, and 12 as obvious over Kobayashi has been withdrawn.
The 103 rejection of claims 13, 16, and 17 as obvious over Kobayashi is moot because the claims have been canceled.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.E./ Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/Matthew E. Hoban/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734