DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Any rejections and/or objections, made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn. The response by applicants filed 17 November 2025 is sufficient to overcome all of the rejections made in the previous action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto et al. (US 2019/0366691 A1) as evidenced by Dixit et al. (“3D-printed miniaturized fluidic tools in chemistry and biology,” Trends in Analytical Chemistry, 106 (2018) 37-52).
Iwomoto et al. teaches a laminate structure corresponding to claim 1 as follows:
Claim 1
Relevant disclosure of Iwomoto et al. and location:
A laminated glazing, comprising:
Provided is an interlayer film for laminated glass (abstract)
a first glass sheet;
Laminated glass 31 shown in FIG. 12 includes a first lamination glass member 21 (paragraph [0243])
a first interlayer;
The interlayer film 11 is provided with … a second layer 2 …. (paragraph [0062])
a photopolymer film;
The interlayer film 11 is provided with a first layer 1 …. (Paragraph [0062])
It is preferred that the first layer contain a thermoplastic resin (hereinafter, sometimes described as a thermoplastic resin (1)), or contain a cured product of a photocurable compound (paragraph [0123])
a second interlayer;
The interlayer film 11 is provided with … a third layer 3.
a second glass sheet,
Laminated glass 31 shown in FIG. 12 includes … a second lamination glass member 22 (paragraph [0243])
wherein a total thickness of the second glass sheet and the second interlayer is from 0.5 mm to 2.5 mm,
wherein the first glass sheet and the second glass sheet are the only glass components of the laminated glazing and each of the first interlayer, the photopolymer film, and the second interlayer are disposed between the first glass sheet and the second glass sheet
[The glass laminate in Figures 1 and 12 of Iwamoto et al. has these features]
Claim 1 recites a” photopolymer” film whereas Iwamoto et al. teaches a “photocurable” resin layer. “Photopolymer” is defined as “the class of materials which when exposed to specific wavelength of light undergo polymerization.” See page 41, section 3.2.2.1 of Dixit et al. This appears to be the same as a photocurable resin because “photo” indicates some form of light and “curable” indicates polymerization.
Iwamoto et al. teaches a total thickness for the interlayer of 0.1 mm to 3mm. See paragraph [0234]. The third layer (3) may have a thickness of 0.3 times the thickness of the interlayer or more, and 0.9 time the thickness of the interlayer or less. See paragraph [0236]. Multiplying these ranges, one arrives at a range for the third layer thickness of 0.03 mm to 2.7 mm. Iwamoto et al. teaches each of the glass members has a thickness of 1 mm to 5 mm. See paragraph [0253]. Thus, Iwamoto et al. suggests a total thickness of the second glass and third layer of 1.03 mm to 7.7 mm. These teachings result in a second glass lamination member (22) (i.e., second glass) thickness, a third layer (i.e., second interlayer), and total thickness of the glass sheet (22) and third layer (3) which overlap the ranges recited in claims 1, 2, 6, 7 and 10. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie evidence. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges taught by the reference, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 13, the laminate shown in Figures 1 and 12 of Iwamoto et al. shows third layer (3) formed on the second glass (22) and the first layer (1).
As to claim 16, Iwamoto et al. discloses the laminated is employed as an automotive glazing in paragraph [0011].
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto et al. (US 2019/0366691 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and, and further in view Cleary et al. (US 2012/0328843 A1).
Iwamoto et al. renders obvious claim 1 for the reasons recited above. The references fail to discuss a relationship between the thicknesses of the two glass substrates.
Cleary et al. teaches an automotive glazing having an outer glass sheet with a thickness of less than 1 mm, and an inner glass sheet having a thickness of less than 2.5 mm. See the abstract. In all of the exemplified embodiments, the internal glass sheet is thicker than the external glass sheet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the glass laminate of Iwamoto et al. with a thicker internal glass sheet, and thinner external sheet as suggested by Cleary et al. The structure of Cleary et al. results in a laminate of that can withstand high impacts while being lighter weight. See paragraph [0051] of Cleary et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered and have overcome the rejections made in the previous action.
Conclusion
/David Sample/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784